New Prague, MN 
Southside Park Share
Uploaded By: bigbeano Hole #9 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A decent city 9-holer

2-4    3/31/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: bigbeano
Played: 22  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 8.2 Years
Pros: -Baskets in good shape
-Signs at each teepad so you know which hole it is for (the distance and shape are worn off though)
-Sign at beginning that has a map of the whole course
-Makes good use of the few obstacles that are present
-Water comes into play on a couple of holes
Cons: -The area is a little low and swampy which could be a real problem after even a just a small rain
-Tee pads are gravel with rocks in it which is pretty easy to slip on
-All baskets are easily reachable from the tees as the longest hole is about 300'
Other Thoughts: The first two holes are very uninspired here; I was starting to question the course as a whole until I got to hole 3. From that point on there are obstacles and some shaping of shots required. I found myself somewhat impressed by the use of the natural obstacles as there isn't much to work with, but what's there is used well. Hole 8 is a very nice design, requiring a rather accurate tee shot to fit through a small opening towards the basket. There is plenty of room to make the holes longer or add more; it's a little bit of a shame that a couple of the holes don't use this extra space.
A large drainage ditch comes into play on 2-3 holes. The ditch had a slight smell to it, but it wasn't too bad. I could see this becoming an issue however. Also, the land the course is on is mostly low swampy land; the kind of land that never is completely dry. Be prepared to have your feet get wet when playing here; bring a change of socks and/or shoes. I would assume that this would be a mosquito haven; however I cannot say this with complete certainty since the mosquitos weren't out yet when I was here. The longest hole here is 300' so you can probably leave the drivers at home. The teepads are gravel, and as such are fairly easy to slip on. All in all, this course is decent for what it is and I wouldn't mind coming here again for a quick round if I'm in the area.

 Needs some TLC

1    7/16/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 26  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
Pros: This course is located in a small park in the tiny town of New Prague.

There are a few well-designed holes. One ends in a blind approach up a hill and around a corner. One is through a skinny alleyway in the trees, and the last is over a small pond.

It is a good course for recreational players and beginners who live in the area.
Cons: Gravel tee boxes can be easy to slip on.
When we played it was swampy and our shoes got wet.

The grass hadn't been mowed for a while, so it was fairly long, and a lot of areas hadn't been mowed, leaving very tall grass to lose a disc in.

The holes are all short, making this not a challenge for an intermediate level player like myself.
Other Thoughts: The blind approach hole I mentioned has a small creek behind the hole, so don't get too zealous with your throw.

  southside, needs improvements

5+    9/10/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: mrjangels1988
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
Pros: the coarse in widely spread, its mostly open. Its easy for beginners to learn. Baskets are in great shape with no flaws.
Cons: The holes are unorganized and not very well planned out. There is a possible 18 hole coarse, but needs to be planned differently. The tee spots need to be changed from rocks/gravel to either wood chips or cement. IT NEEDS TO BE UPDATED.
Other Thoughts: IT has alot of potential to being a fun and challenging coarse, just needs replanning and more trees.

 Southside Park

7/7/2008   7/7/2008
Review By: mike_riewer
Played: 44  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: Baskets are nice and have hole markers on them, which helps with navigation. There are hole descriptions on each tee off but they are worn and cant be read.
Cons: The tee off's are gravel which can be very slippery. I would rather throw from grass. Some holes have multiple tees while others only have one. Very large possibility for lost discs in tall grass or marsh lands. Navigation was easy for all but hole eight.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course when even played from the long tees. There is ace run potential. I liked the flow of the course but hole eight doubles back from seven. I couldn't find the tee off for eight at first. ( by tee off for six in woods.) If in the area not a bad course to play. Short, but offers challenging shots. Definitely stay to the right!


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.