College Station, TX 
Wolf Pen Creek Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #2 (Taken 10/2008)
4 / 379ft.   3 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Innova DISCatcher baskets



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
does anyone even play here?

1    8/1/2016   8/2/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 267  Reviewed: 119  Exp: 28.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course does have a few good holes
good use of creek and hills on the last few holes
Cons: missing #4 tee sign and #9 is only a pole
grass tee boxes, #1 is horrible, and I mean horrible
Course says there are multiple tee boxes on some of the holes, they are not marked so there is no way of finding them. No different than just making up your own.
Baskets are black, they look cool up close, but I can't see several of them from the tee boxes because they blend into the background
Throws across park roads and park walking paths
Other Thoughts: Let me say this up front, this is a John Houck designed course. I could tell, but this is not one of his better designs. I believe that there has been major construction on the park sense he designed it.

It starts off with hole 1, the tee area is almost totally unplayable. Not only is it uphill, but it is majorly eroded. I would up just taking a stance and throwing as a run up would have been dangerous

Hole 2's tee box is under a tree, there was no way to throw from next to the tee sign (as you do in most grass tee courses) I had to just throw the hole blind as I could not see the basket. After I threw, I found out there was a road across the fairway. The basket was towards the playground,

Hole 3's tee is almost to the road, I had a hard time finding this one because I didn't think it would be throwing over the parking lot. Again, I had to throw this hole blind as I could not see the basket. There are no trees on this hole, there is one light pole (broken) near the basket. And sure enough, I hit it on my upshot :p

I looked for several minuets for this tee sign or pole. I can only assume it is completely gone, or is off in the overgrowth and unplayable. I threw from where I thought it should be based on the map at hole one. This throws down along a walking path. Poor design.

Hole 5 was a little hard to find, I found the basket and had to backtrack to find the tee. I sunk in the mud trying to get to it and it was 100 today. Good hole though. Blind shot around the edge of some overgrowth.

Hole 6 is your run of the mill 250 shot over a small creek. with the hill right behind the basket, I was able to make a run for the hole and not worry about the come back putt. But the basket is leaning quite a bit.

Hole 7 had hidden danger with the DEEP creek behind the basket. Nothing in the way, just don't overthrow it.

Hole 8 is up next to the pavilion, I have no idea where to tee off from here. The trees in front of the tee sign block any shot. I actually played from the pavilion with a big huge hyzer shot.

Hole 9 tees off near the road, only a pole marks the tee. There is no shot from the right side of the tee and on the left, there is a pretty deep rut. I played from the sidewalk. The basket is near the bridge. This is a munchkin basket. It looks like the basket sank and the pan was raised up so you have a much smaller window to put into and the chains actually hung below the pan.

While not a bad course, this course is in poor shape. It does have a map sign near hole one, but it has been damaged (vandalized) and at least 2 tee signs are missing. This course could really use a slight redesign. Move holes 1 to 4 so they are playable and don't threaten other park users. Plus hole 1's tee box is unplayable.

edit note: I looked at the media files on this course uploaded in 2008, the roads and pathways were all added after this course was installed and the tree's grew up in front of hole 8

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, Okay Experince

1    3/25/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: AndrewB
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Open, feel free to air it out

-Chance to utilize all of your discs

-Multiple tee positions
Cons: -When I went it was extremely wet, and muddy

-After first 4 or 5 holes becomes difficult to navigate
Other Thoughts: This is a great design in a great area, I just had a bad experience.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wolf Pen Creek

5+    2/6/2016   2/18/2016
Review By: papabearvas79
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice layout, suggest looking at the map available online before playing for the first time. Well kept. Decent degree of difficulty.
Cons: Dirt tee spots. Holes 5, 8, & 9 typically stay muddy around the chains making it difficult and nasty to navigate around, lets say you make the bucket, now you have to retrieve your disc, in the mud. Now im not a very large guy but even with my wieght i sank past my ankles more then once on hole 9 just trying to get my disc out of the catcher.
This park tends to be full of college kids with a certain ideal in mind that they have no need to be courteous to anyone trying to play through the third hole. Almost everytime i go i have to try and get some one/or group of people to be aware that they are in the flight path and with as hard as most of us throw it wouldnt feel great to be struck by one of these discs. I suppose this adds to the degree of difficulty having to go around inconsiderate park users.other then this my only other complaint about this course is the nasty amounts of dog poo throughout the whole park. For the love of decency folks. Pick up after your animals! Turning a nice park into an unenjoyable experience. Not cool
Other Thoughts: I play this course at least twice a week and will continue to do so. Would be nice to see some of the minor issues fixed like the muddy 5, 8, & 9 but if not im still going to play. Also wouldnt hurt to replace signage for hole 9. Someone decided to take it home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/6/2013   10/16/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 176  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 4.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a longer 9 hole course in the CStat-Bryan area in a nice park. The baskets are nice DisCatchers and in normal Houck fashion there are bright colorful tee signs at each tee as well as a big overview map at the beginning of the course.

The first half plays in a semi open field with a lot of length and tough basket placements. There is a fair amount of elevation. Hole 1 and 2 play uphill while Hole 3 plays back down on a gentle slope.

The last five holes play around a creek and are much shorter. and very scenic feeling as it plays in a bowl like area. The walking path is mostly secluded from this part of the course.

Natural tees have turned into a solid dirt, so the tee pads are as good as they are going to get without putting in concrete.

There are bathrooms and water fountains on the park as well as a playground for kids.
Cons: The flow of the course is very bad. The designated parking lot is a quarter of a mile walk to the first tee and the course does not finish anywhere near the first tee or the parking lot. But walking never killed anyone.

The first tee pad is literally on a 45 degree incline on a hill. You can tell most people that play, play on top of the hill as there is a now a rutted box at the top.
If you over shoot any of the last five holes you may have a wet or lost disc. The last few holes do not play super long compared to their lengths so be aware.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor was lacking here compared to Southern Oaks which is this course's rival in the 9 hole courses in the CS/B area.
You can play here and literally less than a mile away is Oaks Park which is a fun short course that is very different from here. This still is one of the better courses in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wolfpin

2-4    9/12/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has a good mixture of medium length and shorter holes. Holes 2,3 and 4 are a little longer while 1, and 5-9 are all birdiable (is that a word).
-Baskets were all in good shape.
-Signs at most of the tees that I can remember
-Tees weren't too terrible although they are natural.
-There were some holes that had really fun lines. Hole 2 was a really interesting hole that required pretty good placement off the tee. Hole 4 was nice. It's slightly downhill and you can just air it out and watch it glide.
-The park is in really good shape. There wasn't trash laying all over the place and there were definately adequate trash cans.
Cons: -Layout could be a little better in that the course starts and finishes on different sides of the park.
-I wasn't sure where the best place to park was. I ended up parking in a parking lot and walking across an intersection by hole 8 to the park. Then having to walk across the whole park just to get to the first basket.
-The last 4 holes are all pretty similar. The only difference is that 9 has some elevation change. But they are all just pretty straightforward shots that need to not go in the ditch.
-Overall nothing that would stop me from playing this course again (except that I live in Houston(But, that has nothing to do with the course))
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a pretty good course. There wasn't anything that made it stand out among the courses that I've played. If you live in the area it's worth playing. However I would probably prefer to play Research Park. I wouldn't travel over about 25 min. just to play this course but if you are in the area you should maybe check it out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Decent

2-4    8/29/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: Turner512
Played: 44  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good hole placement and fairway choice. Some different opportunities on most holes. Makes for fun play. Nice tee-signs and not too difficult to find holes. The first 4 holes are pretty open longer (at least for the course) shots that are fun for big arms. The next 5 holes are around a creek making placement everything. Short holes there.
Cons: Last 5 holes feel repetitive to me. Hole 3 is just an open hole. While being fun for some people, the fact that you are your only mistake for that hole seems no fun to me. 7 (or maybe 8) is like that also but shorter.
Other Thoughts: Course is worth playing but definitely not my favorite in College Station. If you are looking for an good course play Research and if you are trying to play a good 9 hole play Southern Oaks Park.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 best scenery

5+    8/27/2011   9/2/2011
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Hot chicks everywhere. Nice mix of short and medium distance holes. Hot chicks. Not a lot of traffic so you can take your time. Oh yeah hot chicks.
Cons: steep banks on the creek can roll a disc into the nasty water.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

1    12/23/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: Noobaque
Played: 39  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great well kept park. lots of cool placement shots require some skill to get it in bird range.

9 holer with par 4's....sweet

the creek on the back 4 is pretty cool to navigate
Cons: some next tee signs would be cool, some of the holes were troublesome to spot. even more so if you were playing the short tee's.

AFTER HOLE 9 MAKE SURE YOU WALK over the bridge towards the ampitheatre....or your gonna have a hard time getting across the creek to the parking lot...or walk across a pipe like i did.
Other Thoughts: other than navigating. this course didnt suck..its open, but required a different type of needle threading to make it fun for all levels of players.

restrooms at the parking lot with a playground i believe.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 oh $hit, you sendin' the wolf??

1    10/8/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/26/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -like 2 courses in one!
-variety in hole lengths
-nice houck signs, solid discatchers
-front 4 are long and mostly open
-back 5 are short but fun, avoid the creek, duece or die
-dual tees on 2,4,5,6
-natural tees in reasonable condition
-very close to Oaks Park
Cons: -back 5 is on a flood plain
-creek is easy to avoid but very deep if one goes in
-navigation can be an issue with the long walks between 2/3, 4/5, 9/parking lot
-favors RHBH but doesn't overly punish others
Other Thoughts: This nice 9 holer is spread across a big multi-use park. The two contrasting areas of the park offer a nice change of scenery halfway through the round and different kinds of holes. Big distance with minimal obstacles on the front 4 (except #2) and short birdie opportunities while avoiding a creek on the back 5.

While it is nice that the holes are not all crammed together, there is quite a bit of walking between the two areas of the park, between each of the first 4 holes and from 9 to the parking lot. It would almost be worth adding another hole to the front area or just moving the tee for #3 closer to the basket for #2.

The course is certainly a lot of fun to play. All the holes are very birdie-able except 2 & 4 for those that can throw around 300'. The creek on the back 5 will keep you on your toes but most will be challenged by the distance on the front 4.

Wet weather will probably make this course pretty unpleasant. The back will be flooded and the natural tees will be a mess.

This course makes a great complement to Oaks Park which is very close. A great option if you're trying to avoid the crowd at Research Park.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice, short course

5+    6/6/2009   4/29/2010
Review By: joesiya
Played: 23  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Signs at all tee boxes. Semi challenging and easy to navigate. Good beginner to intermediate course. Usually not very busy.
Cons: Duck Jams...the city allowed them to destroy the layout of the top four holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center