Waterloo, WI 
Firemen's Park Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #8 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 373ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / 520ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great little park course

1    5/16/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 73  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course in a scenic park full of mature trees and nice elevation. Don't be fooled by the fact that you can see almost all the baskets from the road...this isn't a pitch n' putt, for the most part.

For 9 holes, there's a LOT of elevation here. Several holes (4, 8, 9) play very uphill/downhill, and a couple of the other holes play at smaller grades. Nearly every hole has you weaving through large deciduous trees, but with several lines at most baskets.

Hole 2 plays over the river, with taller trees lining it...a fun little shot.

Hole 3 offers a big chance for a rolloaway down the right side.

Solid catching baskets, in good repair.

Hole distances provide a nice mix. Some short, some long.
Cons: Mostly rubber tee pads here, which can be slick when wet. They were level, for the most part, so they weren't the worst thing in the world.

It would be nice if hole 9 could end somewhere closer to hole 1. You'll need to either park in the middle on the street, or hoof it back to the car. This could also be used as an excuse to play some safari on the way back.

Holes 2 and 3 play somewhat close to the baseball diamond, so playing here during sporting events could prove difficult.
Other Thoughts: Parking on the street is advised, as hole 1 starts right next to the road, on the pathway leading towards the baseball diamond.

Don't mistake this for a pitch n putt...we didn't bother to look at distances beforehand, and decided (based on so many baskets visible from the road) to play this as a 2 disc challenge. While many of the holes are reachable with a putter/mid, several were not.

Overall, a super solid 9 hole course in a small town. We played Birds, hit this, then on to Rock River. There's also a whole corridor of 9 holers from here to Hartford, if you're so inclined.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Check it Out

5+    9/16/2009   8/23/2010
Review By: Bushmaster
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of elevation changes. An ace chance. The course is not heavily played, I have never seen anybody else there while playing. The Maunesha River runs alongs hole 2 making it a little tougher.
Cons: Road goes through the course and comes into play on a hole 4.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area definetly check it out. One of the best 9 hole courses I have played. Used to have dirt tee boxes but now has rubber tee pads. Hole 3 is a tough par but can be done.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 very nice nine

1    5/12/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 702  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rare that I would give a nine hole course a 3 rating. As mentioned in other reviews, this one is a gem. Except for hole #1, I consider all holes a tough deuce. #1, #4 and #5 are possible twos. However, my companion and I both were in the road next to #4, and considered this out of bounds. Other reviews stated river is not in play on water hole. I disagree, as to get close to bucket requires going over river the entire way. I was in both times, with one lost disc. We were mopping up small courses we had not played in Wisconsin as well as a number of courses a little west of Chicago. We knew there were not many great courses along our route. With that said, Fireman's Park, Waterloo, beat out a number of Illinois 18's and was our favorite course of trip. We played 18 total courses. In other words, this one is pretty darn good....
Cons: To get to hole #1 from 9 requires a walk. We played #7 a second time each round to return to beginning. #7 is a nice hole, and so, was no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Am interested in trying alt. 9 next time I get out there; which I plan to do. Combine this course with the course at Watertown; which has recently added a very good back nine and I think you will have added a couple of hidden gems to your list..

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 NIfty Nine

2-4    3/11/2009   3/12/2009
Review By: trifocal
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is challenging 9 holer in Waterloo's Firemans Park. The course sits on hill adjacent to the Crawfish River. Elevation changes on every hole, except # 2 which runs along the bank of The Crawfish. There is no rough to speak of, but lots of mature trees that define possible lines. The course is very clean and apparently gets little play. A player will need to make low throws on 6 of the nine holes. Baskets are numbered as are the 4x4 posts that designate the tee. Dogs on leash okay.
Cons: There are no tee pads. The first tee is located in the extreme SW corner of the park...not really close to the parking lot next to the baseball diamond. # 9 finishes near the hill top on the north side of the park, at least 1000' from the first tee. No benches or trash cans.
Other Thoughts: There is a significant amount of walking or back tracking between baskets and tees, but I believe this was neccessary to make the best use of a limited space...the confines of a muncipal park. Although there are no tee pads, the tee areas were not muddy or even packed earth, the course appears to get little play...kind of a shame as it really is a nice 9 holer with challenging tee shots on 8 of the 9 holes.# 1 is the only easy deuce. After finishing 9, I headed back to #1 by playing #7 and # 4 again. This gets you back to the 1st tee. There's really only one wide open hole...# 8. If you enjoy courses with trees in the fairway, you will probably like this course. There are no pinball holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.