Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #3 (Taken 4/2011)
4 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Better than your average niner

1    11/15/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, reasonably challenging course wraps around a multi-sport park featuring a nice creek and some decent elevation changes.
• Variety: Nice mix of hole lengths, fairway shapes and elevation changes featuring uphill, downhill and flat fairways, left/right/straight fairways, short/med/long holes (including a 585' hole on level ground), and semi-open to somewhat wooded, brush-lined holes. Hard to believe all the shot variety they packed into 9 holes. No two holes feel the same and I genuinely liked every hole on the course - each has its own appeal.
• Property Use: makes good use of the land's features to create challenge, ambience and eye appeal. Additionally, the first 4 holes make good use of small (perhaps otherwise useless) parcels around the park to fit holes in nicely around other park activities while minimizing the chance of interference (except for Hole 2).
• Fairways felt natural, as if they presented themselves amid the trees and brush, requiring little clearing and fairly little maintenance compared to some courses. All were well-defined and nicely groomed with obvious routes to follow (although a few holes offer multiple ways to reach the pin, so some decision making is called for).
• Holes 5, 8 and 9 play over and along a clear running stream which adds to the ambience and aesthetics (and can also come into play).
• Signature Hole 8 plays 360' down a pretty good hill and across the creek to a large flat green. Big arms should carry the water without worry, but for many rec players, the downhill will add just enough distance to bring the creek within reach. Can you carry the water or should you play it safe and lay it up?
• Equipment: Yellow Discatchers were older but easy to see and caught fine. Concrete tees were in good shape. Tee signs were graffiti free (if I recall correctly), an effective aid to navigation with distances that seemed accurate.
• Routing/Nav: Course layout isn't exactly compact and efficient, but routing and signage was good enough to allow two first-timers to get a late start in mid fall and finish all 9 before daylight was gone.
Cons:
• Hole 2: I love hole itself, and could have fun throwing disc after disc running the pin from the tee, but the placement is close enough to the parking lot that hitting cars and people is a more than just a possibility, especially if a headwind kicks up. Plus, I hate the possibility of my discs hitting asphalt (also possible on 9's OB walking/bike path).
• Tee signs were a little too close to the tee boxes. Maybe I'm strange (OK, so get rid of the "maybe"), but sometimes I like to start my run-up from the side of the tee box (particularly when throwing a big annie), and felt the tee signs were in my way a few times during the round.
• More of an FYI than a true "con," because I happen to think they got this right: course flow is a bit disjointed and hard to follow in spots, but I think they opted to create the best holes available while avoiding filler holes and most safety issues. Nonetheless, there are a couple of long, non-intuitive walks (from parking to hole 1, then again between holes 4 and 5), plus a fairly long trot from 9 back to parking. The real shame is that this results in a really long walk from 9 to the 1st tee, which kind of discourages playing multiple rounds. First timers: PRINT THE MAP - you'll be glad you did.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best niner I've played to this point. I tip my cap to whoever had the vision to see this would make a great nine-hole course and resisted the temptation to shoe horn in more holes to make a "more complete" piece of meh.

Not super challenging, but a lot of fun. Suitable for skill levels ranging from beginner to advanced, particilarly recreational and intermediate players.

Mason really had me thinking about ratings, especially since I haven't awarded anything higher than a 3.0 to a nine basket course - and both of those have dual tees offering different looks at the pin... Mason doesn't. If Mason had another nine holes as good as the ones it already has, I'd give it a 4.0... but it doesn't.

IMHO, Mason's definitely better than "good." I say that because walking back to the car, I realized I'd rather play two rounds at Mason than one round at most 3.0 courses, but don't think I'd choose it over a truly excellent course… that's how I arrived at 3.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course, hard to find tees

2-4    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed. Challenging shots. Even if a shot goes in the woods, it was fairly easy to get in after it. I liked the par 4 and par 5 holes. Nice change from the typical par 3 courses I've played. There was a creek in play, but it was shallow and had flagstones. You could step on stones to navigate your way to your disc in most areas without getting too wet.
Cons: Finding the tees 1,3 and 5 was a challenge, as someone mentioned in earlier reviews. I would have never found them if not for another player telling me and he told me he also had to ask another player when he played it for the first time. As I was leaving I found myself telling yet another new player where to find the tees. As you drive in and take the right fork to the lower parking lot you will see Tee 1 on your left, next to the road. Tee 3 is up the hill and to the right of the pavilion. There is an alley cut through the trees for the hole. Tee 5 is 100 yards from hole 4 next to the bridge. Tee 9 is along the edge of the trees as you go back toward the parking lot past tee 5. The rest of the tees are close to the previous hole. It would be nice if they had a pointer showing the next hole.

I tried finding the course with my iPhone and the street names on the signs didn't match the names on the map. For example Cincinnati Street was Main Street.
Other Thoughts: Lots of elevation change shots. More than half the shots are blind either due to elevation or dogleg. The wide open shots hug the tree line around the park. The alleys cut through the woods are about 15-20 feet wide. well groomed grass with thick woods on either side. Almost impossible to play out of the woods, but getting in to find your disc is not that bad. The ground was pretty bare because of the shade from the trees. In the wooded areas I went into there was no grass and the sticker bushes were sparse. Lots of vines.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

First Timer

1    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole presented a diferent challenge. Both left and right hand doglegs. Two holes has a creek you need to cross over which adds to the beauty of this course. Seems like a good course to learn and practice the game.
Cons: Long walk to first and fifth hole.
Other Thoughts: I am brand new to this game. In fact yesterday was my first time out. So this is my first course this review may not help much but I can say that as a newbie this course has showed me the different types of shots I must learn.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mason 9

2-4    10/13/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: scenic, incredibly well made 9 hole course in mason, enough room to make it an 18.
Cons: 2 pond shots, over a bridge can be a doozy, bugs can be a problem at night, otherwise a great experience if you go in the day, wish they would add more in the field and woods.
Other Thoughts: has room for more holes i think, so well done though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT 9 hole course !

2-4    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: DiscDogNation
Played: 127  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: When you enter the complex take the fork to the right and head towards the lower parking lot and park as far from the football field as you can (preferably in the middle parking row). The basket you see is actually #2 … walk back where you just drove from and you'll see #1 tee on the hill which is a dogleg right up at the top of the hill. #2 is easy to find … after that head along the ridge till the trees break and #3 will be up the hill on the right. After #4 look across the field and head towards the bridge to tee #5. Be careful on #8 as the water is reachable so you'll need to walk up the ridge and plan your shot accordingly! #9 will bring you along the tree line and back to the parking lot. While this course may be small it is magnificent in that there is a nice variety of shots, the fairways were meticulously maintained and it's truly a parklike setting. While I've only been there twice so far I have completely enjoyed both rounds I've played there and since it's close to where I am moving to I will be happy to spend a lot of time here getting to know how to hit every hole.
Cons: could use a few "next tee" markers otherwise no cons at all

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wish there was room for more

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 155  Reviewed: 129  Exp: 2.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most challenging nine hole course in the Greater Cincinnati area, the Mason DGC is truly embedded in a very well maintained (and heavily invested in) Sports Park. Of course there are hiking paths, soccer/football fields, top-notch baseball fields, and all the amenities that go with them (plenty of parking, bathrooms, concession stand, etc). But I think the neatest feature is the expensive and sturdily built bridge leading walkers, and specifically disc golfers, over the picturesque creek to the further half of the course.
The location (Near Kings Island Amusement Park) means there are plenty of nearby restaurants, gas stations, hotels, and other attractions for the whole family to make this a travel destination, and this course is worthy of a visit.
Nine holes of challenging, Intermediate to Advanced level disc golf weave through the parts of the park that are not suitable for other sports. There is tremendous use of the elevation here, with 1, 3 & 6 being essentially uphill, 5, 7 & 9 being level, and 2, 4 & 8 being downhill. There is a fairly even distribution of left and right turning shots. There are a couple of 400 footers, one nearly 600', and only one hole under 310 feet.
Tees are in good shape, and very few holes have much chance of interaction with other park users…which is good because almost every hole is 'blind' from the tee, and generally pushes even the best players to par 3's (birdies are possible, but demand a great deal of skill). The lanes of foliage you must navigate are fair, but very challenging. As a first year player, this course demands I play a conservative round, if I want to have any chance at shooting par. What makes that hard is that the distances and accuracy require good shots every time for a Recreational, or even an Intermediate player to play bogie free.
The signature hole is the 360' #8, which requires a drive of over 280', avoiding the trees, to carry the creek, which is hidden from the tee, and 25 feet below your feet. If the creek is running low, it almost requires you go for it. If it's high, you may look like Tin Cup if you hit a gust of wind, or a branch, or…
Cons: The most noticeable design feature that is worth mentioning is the fact that there is no parking near the #1 tee. Our league players generally start on #3, in order to finish at the #2 basket, which is right next to the lot.
While the tee signs are good, and accurately relate the necessary info for each hole, first timers might want to print a map or hook up with a guide, as there are long walks from the lot to #1 (or from #9 to #1), from #2 to #3, and from #4 to #5.
The Innova baskets here (yep, with the 'chastity belt' tops) have a little rust going on, but since I have trouble enough putting my disc in the chains like I should, I'm not gonna blame the baskets!
Other Thoughts: I have played here five rounds, but have been so focused on the challenge, I didn't note whether or not there are trash cans. I did notice the lack of benches, because playing two rounds here (18 holes) can be as fatiguing as a round at Mt. Airy (and I score about the same for 18 holes at these two parks).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Long shot, but short

2-4    2/4/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great place to practice your long shot, and has lots of scenery and landscaping to enjoy while you are there.
Cons: The course is very short (9 holes), and you will find that you are throwing toward the top or bottom of a hill at almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: It was very difficult finding the course sequence, so you may spend some time walking to find the next tee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 9 Hole DG At It's Best

5+    4/4/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: hipster
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed 9 hole course that demands your focus to get a good score. Along with the decent distance, the course has decent elevation changes on a majority of holes. The creek comes into play mainly on two holes. Course is rarely crowded and you can practice shots on the sports fields if they are not in use. Clean park with portables in this area of the park.

#1 shortest hole on the course, challenging little 200 ft plus uphill shot to the pin out of sight on the right.
#2 is a 300 ft plus gradual downhill shot with trees in the fairway guarding the basket. After holing out here, walk to the left end corner of the parking lot to the path uphill to next tee.
#3 blind 300 ft plus dogleg left shot on a backslashed slanted fairway to slightly elevated pin.
#4 blind 400 ft plus downhill left to right shot to open pin. After holing out here, it's a long walk along the sports fields on the right to the next tee.
#5 blind 330 ft plus dogleg right shot over the creek. First level hole of three.
#6 370 ft uphill dogleg right shot, heavy brush on the right. Seen people lose disc on this hole shooting over fence on the right.
#7 430 ft blind dogleg to the right. Second level hole.
#8 blind 360 ft shot that starts level then drops downhill after 70 ft or so to the pin located 50 ft over the creek. Signature hole for sure.
#9 585 ft level dogleg right with rough and creek on the left and trees and walking path OB on the right.


Cons: When the sports fields are in use, course be crowded with people walking around. The main con about this course is that it is only 9 holes. The long walks to tees 3 and 5 can be confusing for the first time, but, no sweat. Short tee pads considering the hole distance and elevation. Bugs can be a problem at times, we're talking mosquitos, tics, and chiggers. Stay out of the bramble and brush if you can. Course can be a pain if wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a sturdy 9 hole course with distance and elevation. Challenging course for most players. Worth the visit if you are in the area to play this 9 hole DG gem. Located between two major interstate highways. Other nice courses in the general area to make a day of it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Grad A 9 Hole Course

5+    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 85  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent Nine Hole Course, well maintained, challenging course that makes excellent use of elevation and water. Great course for building decision making skills and for learning the importance of placement.
Cons: Small tee pads and ONLY 9 HOLES!!! If this had 9 more holes of the same caliber it would be a professional grade course.
Other Thoughts: Just north of Kings Island!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9 Hole Course

2-4    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very nicely maintained course.
- Nice concrete tee pads with well maintained fairways and good baskets.
- Plenty of benches and trash cans around course.
- Nice elevation changes and some unique holes over a creek.
- Good signage and easy to navigate once you find the first hole.
- A decent mix of easy and more challengin holes for both beginners and more advanced players.
Cons: - Only 9 holes. I wanted this course to continue, but it is surrounded with other sports facilites and it doesn't look like they have enough room for a full 18.
- On the fourth hole if you throw OB it is over a barbed wire fence, so watch out left.
Other Thoughts: The first 9 hole course I have played that was thought out and unique. Even though it was a short round I thought each hole was a fun new challenge and I liked the way the creek was brought in to the course. I would recommend for all levels of players looking for a different course to play in the greater Cincy area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.