Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #6
4 / 369ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Better than your average niner

1    11/15/2013   11/20/2013
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 163  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, reasonably challenging course wraps around a multi-sport park featuring a nice creek and some decent elevation changes.
• Variety: Nice mix of hole lengths, fairway shapes and elevation changes featuring uphill, downhill and flat fairways, left/right/straight fairways, short/med/long holes (including a 585' hole on level ground), and semi-open to somewhat wooded, brush-lined holes. Hard to believe all the shot variety they packed into 9 holes. No two holes feel the same and I genuinely liked every hole on the course - each has its own appeal.
• Property Use: makes good use of the land's features to create challenge, ambience and eye appeal. Additionally, the first 4 holes make good use of small (perhaps otherwise useless) parcels around the park to fit holes in nicely around other park activities while minimizing the chance of interference (except for Hole 2).
• Fairways felt natural, as if they presented themselves amid the trees and brush, requiring little clearing and fairly little maintenance compared to some courses. All were well-defined and nicely groomed with obvious routes to follow (although a few holes offer multiple ways to reach the pin, so some decision making is called for).
• Holes 5, 8 and 9 play over and along a clear running stream which adds to the ambience and aesthetics (and can also come into play).
• Signature Hole 8 plays 360' down a pretty good hill and across the creek to a large flat green. Big arms should carry the water without worry, but for many rec players, the downhill will add just enough distance to bring the creek within reach. Can you carry the water or should you play it safe and lay it up?
• Equipment: Yellow Discatchers were older but easy to see and caught fine. Concrete tees were in good shape. Tee signs were graffiti free (if I recall correctly), an effective aid to navigation with distances that seemed accurate.
• Routing/Nav: Course layout isn't exactly compact and efficient, but routing and signage was good enough to allow two first-timers to get a late start in mid fall and finish all 9 before daylight was gone.
Cons:
• Hole 2: I love hole itself, and could have fun throwing disc after disc running the pin from the tee, but the placement is close enough to the parking lot that hitting cars and people is a more than just a possibility, especially if a headwind kicks up. Plus, I hate the possibility of my discs hitting asphalt (also possible on 9's OB walking/bike path).
• Tee signs were a little too close to the tee boxes. Maybe I'm strange (OK, so get rid of the "maybe"), but sometimes I like to start my run-up from the side of the tee box (particularly when throwing a big annie), and felt the tee signs were in my way a few times during the round.
• More of an FYI than a true "con," because I happen to think they got this right: course flow is a bit disjointed and hard to follow in spots, but I think they opted to create the best holes available while avoiding filler holes and most safety issues. Nonetheless, there are a couple of long, non-intuitive walks (from parking to hole 1, then again between holes 4 and 5), plus a fairly long trot from 9 back to parking. The real shame is that this results in a really long walk from 9 to the 1st tee, which kind of discourages playing multiple rounds. First timers: PRINT THE MAP - you'll be glad you did.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best niner I've played to this point. I tip my cap to whoever had the vision to see this would make a great nine-hole course and resisted the temptation to shoe horn in more holes to make a "more complete" piece of meh.

Not super challenging, but a lot of fun. Suitable for skill levels ranging from beginner to advanced, particilarly recreational and intermediate players.

Mason really had me thinking about ratings, especially since I haven't awarded anything higher than a 3.0 to a nine basket course - and both of those have dual tees offering different looks at the pin... Mason doesn't. If Mason had another nine holes as good as the ones it already has, I'd give it a 4.0... but it doesn't.

IMHO, Mason's definitely better than "good." I say that because walking back to the car, I realized I'd rather play two rounds at Mason than one round at most 3.0 courses, but don't think I'd choose it over a truly excellent course… that's how I arrived at 3.5.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

First Timer

1    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: RlemontW
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Each hole presented a diferent challenge. Both left and right hand doglegs. Two holes has a creek you need to cross over which adds to the beauty of this course. Seems like a good course to learn and practice the game.
Cons: Long walk to first and fifth hole.
Other Thoughts: I am brand new to this game. In fact yesterday was my first time out. So this is my first course this review may not help much but I can say that as a newbie this course has showed me the different types of shots I must learn.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Long shot, but short

2-4    2/4/2012   3/9/2012
Review By: morgantobin
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is a great place to practice your long shot, and has lots of scenery and landscaping to enjoy while you are there.
Cons: The course is very short (9 holes), and you will find that you are throwing toward the top or bottom of a hill at almost every hole.
Other Thoughts: It was very difficult finding the course sequence, so you may spend some time walking to find the next tee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Grad A 9 Hole Course

5+    3/14/2011   3/14/2011
Review By: DrewMillerRH
Played: 83  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent Nine Hole Course, well maintained, challenging course that makes excellent use of elevation and water. Great course for building decision making skills and for learning the importance of placement.
Cons: Small tee pads and ONLY 9 HOLES!!! If this had 9 more holes of the same caliber it would be a professional grade course.
Other Thoughts: Just north of Kings Island!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good 9 Hole Course

2-4    12/31/2010   12/31/2010
Review By: hooked312
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very nicely maintained course.
- Nice concrete tee pads with well maintained fairways and good baskets.
- Plenty of benches and trash cans around course.
- Nice elevation changes and some unique holes over a creek.
- Good signage and easy to navigate once you find the first hole.
- A decent mix of easy and more challengin holes for both beginners and more advanced players.
Cons: - Only 9 holes. I wanted this course to continue, but it is surrounded with other sports facilites and it doesn't look like they have enough room for a full 18.
- On the fourth hole if you throw OB it is over a barbed wire fence, so watch out left.
Other Thoughts: The first 9 hole course I have played that was thought out and unique. Even though it was a short round I thought each hole was a fun new challenge and I liked the way the creek was brought in to the course. I would recommend for all levels of players looking for a different course to play in the greater Cincy area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/7/2009   9/23/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice dgc located in sports park
-nice big parking lot
-very well maintained
-easy to navigate
-nice teepads and baskets
-no wait to throw
-a couple holes play over a nice little creek
-great setup for only being 9 holes
Cons: -some wooded area get pretty thick so there is a chance of losing a disc
Other Thoughts: have only played this once but i'd like to get back to this course, had a lot of fun here and thought it was one of the best 9 hole course i've come across

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lot's of Style, but not much Substance

2-4    7/3/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured. Variety of doglegs/fairways. Uphill and downhill shots. Scenic.
Cons: Easy, especially after playing more than once. Although there is a river/creek running through and along the course, it's mostly aesthetic and does not pose a challenge. Not a lot of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely worth visiting, but it might be worth the extra ten miles to go play Turtlecreek.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden 9 Hole Gem

5+    4/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 88  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Mason Sports Park Disc Golf Course is a very well-manicured course that favors neither righties or lefties. You will find a rock-solid nine holes where 18 could have been crammed. Distances north of 300 feet, as well as elevation changes are abundant while still emphasizing accuracy and intelligent play. Of particular note is hole 8, with its' tunnel shot across a creek placed at a score punishing 325-350 feet.
Cons: The rough is very thick and can swallow discs. If you're not careful with your shots, you could spend more time looking for your discs than you do playing your round.
Other Thoughts: With so many wonderful choices of 18 hole courses available in the Greater Cincinnati area, it's hard to schedule driving/playing time for a nine hole course. This course does not disappoint if you're looking for something besides the Big Cincinnati 3.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Feel of an 18

2-4    7/28/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete teepads
-Low player traffic
-Located at a sports park
-Water fountains
-Beauty scenery
-Creek w/ great bridge
-Two shots across water
-Elevation changes
-Decent distances
-Some doglegs
-Course is well kept
-Fairways are wooded
Cons:
-Only 9 holes
-Walk to the first tee
-Ending point isn't the same as beginning
-#4 runs alongside a football field
-Fairways are wide
-Doesn't test too many shots
-#9 needs a mando to prevent from throwing into the football field
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great 9 hole course. Not too challenging, however, it is one of the more challenging 9 hole courses. Fairways are wide but still wooded.

Signature Hole:
-#8 is a 360ft blind throw over a creek, with a good elevation drop.

Final Verdict:
One of the best 9 hole courses in Cincinnati. Beautiful scenery and well kept. Not an easy course but also not a difficult one either. If coming out to play it, definitely play Monroe or Turtlecreek along with it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 I Concur

1    10/26/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Nivek9
Played: 117  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not your average nine-hole course. This course has design features that evoke thoughts of a serious disc golf course. Too bad it's only nine. I completely agree with positive comments from others.
Cons: Some long walks from hole to hole and an odd walk required to get to #1. If you take each hole on it's own merits these walks can be forgiven as a necessary evil to get what they wanted out of the land they had.
Other Thoughts: If you avoid playing nine-hole course because they don't usually stack up, don't avoid this one. You will be pleasantly surprised. I wish I would have had time to play it again. Maybe next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center