Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
4 / 411ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great course, hard to find tees

2-4    9/15/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: JerryW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well groomed. Challenging shots. Even if a shot goes in the woods, it was fairly easy to get in after it. I liked the par 4 and par 5 holes. Nice change from the typical par 3 courses I've played. There was a creek in play, but it was shallow and had flagstones. You could step on stones to navigate your way to your disc in most areas without getting too wet.
Cons: Finding the tees 1,3 and 5 was a challenge, as someone mentioned in earlier reviews. I would have never found them if not for another player telling me and he told me he also had to ask another player when he played it for the first time. As I was leaving I found myself telling yet another new player where to find the tees. As you drive in and take the right fork to the lower parking lot you will see Tee 1 on your left, next to the road. Tee 3 is up the hill and to the right of the pavilion. There is an alley cut through the trees for the hole. Tee 5 is 100 yards from hole 4 next to the bridge. Tee 9 is along the edge of the trees as you go back toward the parking lot past tee 5. The rest of the tees are close to the previous hole. It would be nice if they had a pointer showing the next hole.

I tried finding the course with my iPhone and the street names on the signs didn't match the names on the map. For example Cincinnati Street was Main Street.
Other Thoughts: Lots of elevation change shots. More than half the shots are blind either due to elevation or dogleg. The wide open shots hug the tree line around the park. The alleys cut through the woods are about 15-20 feet wide. well groomed grass with thick woods on either side. Almost impossible to play out of the woods, but getting in to find your disc is not that bad. The ground was pretty bare because of the shade from the trees. In the wooded areas I went into there was no grass and the sticker bushes were sparse. Lots of vines.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mason 9

2-4    10/13/2012   8/6/2012
Review By: preludedrew
Played: 67  Reviewed: 43
This review was updated on 11/12/2012
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: scenic, incredibly well made 9 hole course in mason, enough room to make it an 18.
Cons: 2 pond shots, over a bridge can be a doozy, bugs can be a problem at night, otherwise a great experience if you go in the day, wish they would add more in the field and woods.
Other Thoughts: has room for more holes i think, so well done though.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT 9 hole course !

2-4    7/3/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: DiscDogNation
Played: 142  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: When you enter the complex take the fork to the right and head towards the lower parking lot and park as far from the football field as you can (preferably in the middle parking row). The basket you see is actually #2 … walk back where you just drove from and you'll see #1 tee on the hill which is a dogleg right up at the top of the hill. #2 is easy to find … after that head along the ridge till the trees break and #3 will be up the hill on the right. After #4 look across the field and head towards the bridge to tee #5. Be careful on #8 as the water is reachable so you'll need to walk up the ridge and plan your shot accordingly! #9 will bring you along the tree line and back to the parking lot. While this course may be small it is magnificent in that there is a nice variety of shots, the fairways were meticulously maintained and it's truly a parklike setting. While I've only been there twice so far I have completely enjoyed both rounds I've played there and since it's close to where I am moving to I will be happy to spend a lot of time here getting to know how to hit every hole.
Cons: could use a few "next tee" markers otherwise no cons at all

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wish there was room for more

5+    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 180  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 3.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The most challenging nine hole course in the Greater Cincinnati area, the Mason DGC is truly embedded in a very well maintained (and heavily invested in) Sports Park. Of course there are hiking paths, soccer/football fields, top-notch baseball fields, and all the amenities that go with them (plenty of parking, bathrooms, concession stand, etc). But I think the neatest feature is the expensive and sturdily built bridge leading walkers, and specifically disc golfers, over the picturesque creek to the further half of the course.
The location (Near Kings Island Amusement Park) means there are plenty of nearby restaurants, gas stations, hotels, and other attractions for the whole family to make this a travel destination, and this course is worthy of a visit.
Nine holes of challenging, Intermediate to Advanced level disc golf weave through the parts of the park that are not suitable for other sports. There is tremendous use of the elevation here, with 1, 3 & 6 being essentially uphill, 5, 7 & 9 being level, and 2, 4 & 8 being downhill. There is a fairly even distribution of left and right turning shots. There are a couple of 400 footers, one nearly 600', and only one hole under 310 feet.
Tees are in good shape, and very few holes have much chance of interaction with other park users…which is good because almost every hole is 'blind' from the tee, and generally pushes even the best players to par 3's (birdies are possible, but demand a great deal of skill). The lanes of foliage you must navigate are fair, but very challenging. As a first year player, this course demands I play a conservative round, if I want to have any chance at shooting par. What makes that hard is that the distances and accuracy require good shots every time for a Recreational, or even an Intermediate player to play bogie free.
The signature hole is the 360' #8, which requires a drive of over 280', avoiding the trees, to carry the creek, which is hidden from the tee, and 25 feet below your feet. If the creek is running low, it almost requires you go for it. If it's high, you may look like Tin Cup if you hit a gust of wind, or a branch, or…
Cons: The most noticeable design feature that is worth mentioning is the fact that there is no parking near the #1 tee. Our league players generally start on #3, in order to finish at the #2 basket, which is right next to the lot.
While the tee signs are good, and accurately relate the necessary info for each hole, first timers might want to print a map or hook up with a guide, as there are long walks from the lot to #1 (or from #9 to #1), from #2 to #3, and from #4 to #5.
The Innova baskets here (yep, with the 'chastity belt' tops) have a little rust going on, but since I have trouble enough putting my disc in the chains like I should, I'm not gonna blame the baskets!
Other Thoughts: I have played here five rounds, but have been so focused on the challenge, I didn't note whether or not there are trash cans. I did notice the lack of benches, because playing two rounds here (18 holes) can be as fatiguing as a round at Mt. Airy (and I score about the same for 18 holes at these two parks).

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 9 Hole DG At It's Best

5+    4/4/2011   4/6/2011
Review By: hipster
Played: 77  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 33.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed 9 hole course that demands your focus to get a good score. Along with the decent distance, the course has decent elevation changes on a majority of holes. The creek comes into play mainly on two holes. Course is rarely crowded and you can practice shots on the sports fields if they are not in use. Clean park with portables in this area of the park.

#1 shortest hole on the course, challenging little 200 ft plus uphill shot to the pin out of sight on the right.
#2 is a 300 ft plus gradual downhill shot with trees in the fairway guarding the basket. After holing out here, walk to the left end corner of the parking lot to the path uphill to next tee.
#3 blind 300 ft plus dogleg left shot on a backslashed slanted fairway to slightly elevated pin.
#4 blind 400 ft plus downhill left to right shot to open pin. After holing out here, it's a long walk along the sports fields on the right to the next tee.
#5 blind 330 ft plus dogleg right shot over the creek. First level hole of three.
#6 370 ft uphill dogleg right shot, heavy brush on the right. Seen people lose disc on this hole shooting over fence on the right.
#7 430 ft blind dogleg to the right. Second level hole.
#8 blind 360 ft shot that starts level then drops downhill after 70 ft or so to the pin located 50 ft over the creek. Signature hole for sure.
#9 585 ft level dogleg right with rough and creek on the left and trees and walking path OB on the right.


Cons: When the sports fields are in use, course be crowded with people walking around. The main con about this course is that it is only 9 holes. The long walks to tees 3 and 5 can be confusing for the first time, but, no sweat. Short tee pads considering the hole distance and elevation. Bugs can be a problem at times, we're talking mosquitos, tics, and chiggers. Stay out of the bramble and brush if you can. Course can be a pain if wet.
Other Thoughts: This is a sturdy 9 hole course with distance and elevation. Challenging course for most players. Worth the visit if you are in the area to play this 9 hole DG gem. Located between two major interstate highways. Other nice courses in the general area to make a day of it.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My home course...

5+    6/2/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the a great course for only having 9 holes.

+Cement Teepads and good signage

+Believable Pars and distances of 300+ on many

+Picturesque creek you throw over on Holes #5 and #8

+Great use of terrain and elevation changes!

+A great course to practice your RHFH shots or LHBH shots with dogleg rights on Holes #1, #5, #6, and #9

+Hole #8 will make a lot of discs wet, but the creek is shallow enough to wade in after them.
Cons: - Long walk between hole #4 and #5 next to the Lacrosse fields, not readily apparent or well marked.

-Hole #1 is back up the road from the parking lot, but not too bad a walk

- The woods can be dense in places, and when I bring beginners out to this course, sometimes discs get lost. I've found 5 discs on this course, though, so it evens out...

-A misplaced shot on hole #2 can land in the road/parking lot, so be careful where you park and keep a lookout as you enter the park

-Hole #6 goes uphill and is challenging, but there's a fence on the right that if you go over, your disc is on the grounds of a sewage treatment plant and you have to climb it to go get it. It also can smell.

-The drinking fountain by #3's tee hasn't been on yet this summer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I get pretty bored with it, but there are some great holes.

#1 goes uphill and blindly right, making it a hard ace even though it isn't supremely far.

#2 is a fun shot from the top of the hill back down through some trees and next to the parking lot. A well -placed RHBH shot can be right on the money

#3 is a dogleg left uphill through the woods, and as my BH isn't as good as my FH, it's the toughest hole for me to do.

#4 has an S-shaped curve down the big hill and back out by the open fields. Be careful or your disc can get a little damp in the wetlands at the edge of the field in the ditch.

#5 is across the fields by the creek. You tee off over the creek and the hole curves to the right. Another great RHFH shot but if you don't have a good FH, it can be a challenge.

#6 is uphill and to the right, with OB being a nasty fence over to the sewage treatment plant gounds. Birdie on this hole is definitely a challenge.

#7 is a great wooded dogleg left, with a row of trees directly in front of the tee pad just to taunt you and throw off your confidence. Lots of wood chopping on this one!

#8 Is my favorite hole. Tee off on level ground that suddenly drops steeply to the creek, and the hole is over the creek. To clear it you need to throw a good 300 feet through a wooded tunnel. I recommend if you're playing with someone you have someone watch at the crest of the hill to see where your disc goes, as it's blind.

#9 is a long sweeping dogleg right back towards the parking lot. The woods and the trees provide a nice-sized fairway for you to throw on. Play the path as OB.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation Change there is plenty of up and down on this course, and the design takes full advantage.
-Varity Course offers many dog legs, and a good mix of short and long.
- The fairways were very well kept and very wide.
-Lots of Mature trees, the one on hole 8 is just awesome.
-The grass is always been in top notch condition when I have been there.
Cons: -Nine holes
-The teeboxes are small and one wasnt really straight it kinda sent you into the woods. This isnt a huge con to me they are concrete which is sweet.
Other Thoughts: So many of the holes are very scenic with the elevation makes for a very fun relaxing round of golf. Holes 7,8,9 are three back to back signature holes, that being said i have only played it three times, but the impression it gave me so far is that its the best nine hole i have played.
EDIT after playing a few more times bigger teepads and nine more holes like the ones they have I might be wondering if this place is a five.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mason Sports Park DGC

5+    1/24/2010   8/16/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. The teepads are now cemented. The course has the new DISCatcher Baskets. Nice teesigns. Mix of wooded and open holes. Water fountain near #9 Basket. Portible restrooms in parking lot. Get deuces and pars. Good parking. Combo of righty and lefty holes. Hilly in some parts of course. I recommend parking in baseball lot during football season. Rarely lose discs. Some trashcans through the course. Quick flow. They cleared out most fallen trees.
Cons: Hard to play Holes 4 and 9 during football practice and games. Hole 1 tee far away from the parking lot. Basket 2 a little close to the parking lot. NOTE: I had a disc go over the fence on hole 4. IT IS A DOUBLE LAYERED FENCE, SO IT CAN BE VERY HARD TO GET YOUR DISC BACK (i got mine back). Same on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Monroe and Turtlecreek are a few minutes away. If your to one of these courses make it a double or triple day. Great beginner course but also good for pros. Good 9 Hole course to play if passing through town.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.