Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/7/2009   9/23/2010
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -very nice dgc located in sports park
-nice big parking lot
-very well maintained
-easy to navigate
-nice teepads and baskets
-no wait to throw
-a couple holes play over a nice little creek
-great setup for only being 9 holes
Cons: -some wooded area get pretty thick so there is a chance of losing a disc
Other Thoughts: have only played this once but i'd like to get back to this course, had a lot of fun here and thought it was one of the best 9 hole course i've come across

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good 9 Holes

1    8/26/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: hendersondayton
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/16/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All the same as above. The company I work for designed/installed the pedestrian bridge used for #5 and #8 so it was nice to see that "in play".

Holes are really well manicured (as stated). It was really a nice course to look at. I know that sounds funny but, not all disc golf courses are pleasing to the eye. This one is.

It is not a difficult walk either.

We played around 11:50am on a Thursday and we were the only ones on the course.

Throwing your disc in the trees is not too hurtful as there are a lot of trails in and out. It is not really dense.
Cons: As stated above, the repative LEFT to RIGHT holes was annoying but it really does test your RHBH An-Hyzer skill.

Other Thoughts: Although I see the comments about a mando on #9 forcing players to throw down the line LEFT of the tree line, it takes a pretty accurate throw to get it threw the tree line and out to the field.

I enjoyed this course a lot. Made for a nice lunch break round.

P.S. - People are listing #8 as a par 5. It is not. As a PDGA course designer myself, this is at best, a Par 4. Even if you lay up short of the creek, you are still in the circle in 2. If you have to play it as a 5 it is because you tossed it into the trees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 My home course...

5+    6/2/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is the a great course for only having 9 holes.

+Cement Teepads and good signage

+Believable Pars and distances of 300+ on many

+Picturesque creek you throw over on Holes #5 and #8

+Great use of terrain and elevation changes!

+A great course to practice your RHFH shots or LHBH shots with dogleg rights on Holes #1, #5, #6, and #9

+Hole #8 will make a lot of discs wet, but the creek is shallow enough to wade in after them.
Cons: - Long walk between hole #4 and #5 next to the Lacrosse fields, not readily apparent or well marked.

-Hole #1 is back up the road from the parking lot, but not too bad a walk

- The woods can be dense in places, and when I bring beginners out to this course, sometimes discs get lost. I've found 5 discs on this course, though, so it evens out...

-A misplaced shot on hole #2 can land in the road/parking lot, so be careful where you park and keep a lookout as you enter the park

-Hole #6 goes uphill and is challenging, but there's a fence on the right that if you go over, your disc is on the grounds of a sewage treatment plant and you have to climb it to go get it. It also can smell.

-The drinking fountain by #3's tee hasn't been on yet this summer.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and I get pretty bored with it, but there are some great holes.

#1 goes uphill and blindly right, making it a hard ace even though it isn't supremely far.

#2 is a fun shot from the top of the hill back down through some trees and next to the parking lot. A well -placed RHBH shot can be right on the money

#3 is a dogleg left uphill through the woods, and as my BH isn't as good as my FH, it's the toughest hole for me to do.

#4 has an S-shaped curve down the big hill and back out by the open fields. Be careful or your disc can get a little damp in the wetlands at the edge of the field in the ditch.

#5 is across the fields by the creek. You tee off over the creek and the hole curves to the right. Another great RHFH shot but if you don't have a good FH, it can be a challenge.

#6 is uphill and to the right, with OB being a nasty fence over to the sewage treatment plant gounds. Birdie on this hole is definitely a challenge.

#7 is a great wooded dogleg left, with a row of trees directly in front of the tee pad just to taunt you and throw off your confidence. Lots of wood chopping on this one!

#8 Is my favorite hole. Tee off on level ground that suddenly drops steeply to the creek, and the hole is over the creek. To clear it you need to throw a good 300 feet through a wooded tunnel. I recommend if you're playing with someone you have someone watch at the crest of the hill to see where your disc goes, as it's blind.

#9 is a long sweeping dogleg right back towards the parking lot. The woods and the trees provide a nice-sized fairway for you to throw on. Play the path as OB.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/13/2009   9/12/2009
Review By: agentdozzer
Played: 87  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Elevation Change there is plenty of up and down on this course, and the design takes full advantage.
-Varity Course offers many dog legs, and a good mix of short and long.
- The fairways were very well kept and very wide.
-Lots of Mature trees, the one on hole 8 is just awesome.
-The grass is always been in top notch condition when I have been there.
Cons: -Nine holes
-The teeboxes are small and one wasnt really straight it kinda sent you into the woods. This isnt a huge con to me they are concrete which is sweet.
Other Thoughts: So many of the holes are very scenic with the elevation makes for a very fun relaxing round of golf. Holes 7,8,9 are three back to back signature holes, that being said i have only played it three times, but the impression it gave me so far is that its the best nine hole i have played.
EDIT after playing a few more times bigger teepads and nine more holes like the ones they have I might be wondering if this place is a five.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lot's of Style, but not much Substance

2-4    7/3/2009   7/8/2009
Review By: Kellermeyer14
Played: 10  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured. Variety of doglegs/fairways. Uphill and downhill shots. Scenic.
Cons: Easy, especially after playing more than once. Although there is a river/creek running through and along the course, it's mostly aesthetic and does not pose a challenge. Not a lot of obstacles.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely worth visiting, but it might be worth the extra ten miles to go play Turtlecreek.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Hidden 9 Hole Gem

5+    4/7/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: tbird888
Played: 89  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Mason Sports Park Disc Golf Course is a very well-manicured course that favors neither righties or lefties. You will find a rock-solid nine holes where 18 could have been crammed. Distances north of 300 feet, as well as elevation changes are abundant while still emphasizing accuracy and intelligent play. Of particular note is hole 8, with its' tunnel shot across a creek placed at a score punishing 325-350 feet.
Cons: The rough is very thick and can swallow discs. If you're not careful with your shots, you could spend more time looking for your discs than you do playing your round.
Other Thoughts: With so many wonderful choices of 18 hole courses available in the Greater Cincinnati area, it's hard to schedule driving/playing time for a nine hole course. This course does not disappoint if you're looking for something besides the Big Cincinnati 3.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best 9 Hole in Cincy

5+    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -large open field to warmup/practice in. Even has field goal posts to aim. Big enough for monster arms.
-This course will challenge all levels and reward them aswell.
-Plays to both RH/LH and forces Int-Adv players to really work a disc to get a 2.
-Played as a par 3 this is very fun, if your new play it with listed pars to build confidence.
-This course is very well maintained.
-Long concrete tee pads
-Cold water fountains
*others have been covered
Cons: -This frustrates me more than anything else on this course. The tee pads on several of the holes make no sense. They are aligned in very weird directions.
-Hole 2 can lead to car damage.
*others covered
Other Thoughts: Ok im going to be very descriptive in my posts of cincy courses. So if you dont want hole by hole then stop reading now.

-Hole 1. Short shot but adds some difficulty with a steep incline and a blind shot with trees to the right. LH's will have a decent mid range shot. RH's will have to force a turnover shot uphill which can be hard. *A great shot to try for anyone is a thumber/tomahawk. If thrown right it parks..
Hole 2. Amazing layout. This hole is on a hillside and makes LH's throw a dead straight shot between two big trees. Rh's can throw a straight light fading shot or a big hyzer to park.
Hole 3. A big hyzer for rightys and a difficult turnover of LH's. This seems like a simple hyzer but requires good line shaping and can be more difficult than you imagine because the fairway slopes downhill.
Hole 4. Great layout. S shot for both LH/RH, plays downhill and through a tunnel. Very challenging hole for all levels.
Hole 5. Easy shot for LH. RH's this hole can harm you. This requires some big turnover or creativity and watch out for the creek.
*The next 4 holes seperate the wannabe's from the true players.
Hole 6. Long uphill hole bending to the right with a scary fence to watchout for. LH's can throw a bomb driver, RH's have to work a long controlled turnover line.
Hole 7. Tight fairway bending to the right and long. This shot builds confidence for the next hole one of the best in cincy. Long hyzer line for RH and long tough turnover for LH. Trees down the fairway make approaches for 3's very tough.
Hole 8. In my opinion the best in Cincy. A beautiful shot downhill and over a wide creek. If you park this hole you will remember it and fall in love with this course. This hole really plays with your head and its relatively short.
Hole 9. A very tight fairway and lots of length. LH's will love it for controlled bomb shots and RH's can get creative. real players must call the cart path OB.


8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Hardest 9 hole course around Cincy

1    6/11/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: CincyDiscGolf
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Almost every hole doglegs right: This will force you to work on bending your throws right. (tilting the disc or sidearm)

- Nice elevation Changes: There are several holes that either go up hill or have a drop off somewhere along the way.

- Creek: There is a creek that is pretty deep in spots (even more so after a rain). Most creeks on the courses around cincy don't have much water in them, but this thing is like a mini river. Its probably around 20 feet wide and even when its low you can actually hear the water flowing.

Cons: - Only 9 holes: If this were 18 it would be excellent.

- There are so many dogleg rights that its almost unfair. My dad has a mean side arm and he always beats me and my cousin there because we mostly toss backhanded. It will make your right curving throws better. It will force you to find a way.
Other Thoughts: One of the best 9 hole courses around.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    6/2/2009   6/3/2009
Review By: calcuttajoe
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice layout. Concrete tees. Pretty easy and partially open course. Easy access and seem to be family friendly. Lots of parking and wide open feeling
Cons: It is what it is. Not too challenging even for a beginner.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Cool Course, but Only 9 Holes :-(

1    5/9/2009   5/11/2009
Review By: Andy Hlavac
Played: 35  Reviewed: 20
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers nice scenery, a variety of holes, and a decent challenge.

It is located in a new, clean park with lots of other activites (i.e. lacrosse, soccer, brand-new baseball fields, sweet playgrounds for the kids, etc.). The city of Mason obviously intends for the park to see heavy traffic from everyone in the community, which should motivate them to keep it clean and manicured. Also, Mason is an affluent area in general, so the course shouldn't suffer from dilapidation.

As far as play/challenge, I would rate the course a 3.5 out of 5. The holes are mixed between 215 ft. birdies to 400+ ft. "testers". Also, shifts from tighter wooded holes to more open fairways require you to break out all of your shots.

Finally, as previously mentioned, hole #8 is about 300ft., with a babbling brook crossing at about the 225 ft. mark. My friend had a killer drive on this one which was cruising over the water when it hit a tree squarely, reversed direction, and spiraled into the creek. Needless to say, we all lost it...ha ha ha...
Cons: My only gripe is that the course is only 9 holes. Because much of the space is already occupied by other activites/ball fields, I don't see expansion as a possibility.
Other Thoughts: This course is nearby several other courses including Turtlecreek, Gulley, and the brand new Countryside YMCA course in Lebanon. (Countryside YMCA just opened on 5/5/09 and isn't yet listed in this website, but I plan to take pictures and add it soon). We drove from Cincinnati up to Mason Sports Park (30 minutes) on 5/9/09 and also played Countryside YMCA's 9 holes (twice). I could have driven over to Gulley (5 miles away) and played 18 more if not for prior obligations.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.