Mason, OH 
Mason Sports Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
4 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Feel of an 18

2-4    7/28/2008   12/15/2008
Review By: CincyRocs
Played: 46  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Concrete teepads
-Low player traffic
-Located at a sports park
-Water fountains
-Beauty scenery
-Creek w/ great bridge
-Two shots across water
-Elevation changes
-Decent distances
-Some doglegs
-Course is well kept
-Fairways are wooded
Cons:
-Only 9 holes
-Walk to the first tee
-Ending point isn't the same as beginning
-#4 runs alongside a football field
-Fairways are wide
-Doesn't test too many shots
-#9 needs a mando to prevent from throwing into the football field
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great 9 hole course. Not too challenging, however, it is one of the more challenging 9 hole courses. Fairways are wide but still wooded.

Signature Hole:
-#8 is a 360ft blind throw over a creek, with a good elevation drop.

Final Verdict:
One of the best 9 hole courses in Cincinnati. Beautiful scenery and well kept. Not an easy course but also not a difficult one either. If coming out to play it, definitely play Monroe or Turtlecreek along with it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wish it was 18

5+    11/1/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: SigmaChris
Played: 47  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean park, with 9 fun holes that are well laid out. Two holes (#5 and #8) have obvious water hazard with a creek running through the hole. It is slow and shallow so you can find the errant disc. Hole #9 the same creek can come into play if your shot goes high and left.

#8 is a fun hole being a downhill short par 5. You don't see the creek at the bottom of the hill from the tee box so have a spotter. I look forward to next year when it warms up...then I will attempt to cross the river from the tee box. Now it is a lay up shot and an easy birdie if your lay up goes straight and lands short of the water.
Cons: The first tee is way too far away from the parking lot, not a big deal but still a con.

There is a water treatment plant next to the course, so there can be an odor around #6 sometimes.
Other Thoughts: Hole #4 kicks my butt every time...the best I have is a 5 but I need to master my Annie or buy a sidewinder.

I would also like to see a mandatory on #9 keeping the discs left of the line of trees...or make the bike path to the right OB. It will make this closing par 5 much better if you can't use the football field as a bailout / short cut.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Concur

1    10/26/2008   10/30/2008
Review By: Nivek9
Played: 117  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not your average nine-hole course. This course has design features that evoke thoughts of a serious disc golf course. Too bad it's only nine. I completely agree with positive comments from others.
Cons: Some long walks from hole to hole and an odd walk required to get to #1. If you take each hole on it's own merits these walks can be forgiven as a necessary evil to get what they wanted out of the land they had.
Other Thoughts: If you avoid playing nine-hole course because they don't usually stack up, don't avoid this one. You will be pleasantly surprised. I wish I would have had time to play it again. Maybe next time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A great quickie...

2-4    5/23/2009   10/27/2008
Review By: adam423
Played: 27  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent hole variety with some sharp dog legs, sweeping hyzer/anhyzer shots, and straight holes. Long concrete tees and beautiful, wide fairways with no erosion and very little chance of losing a disc in the woods. The water hazards on 4* and 8 were well placed. Nice elevation changes to keep things from getting too boring.
Cons: The #1 tee was placed a little far from the parking lot and the #5 tee was a little confusing to find, but other than that the course flowed very well. #2's basket is somewhat close to the parking lot, and is very reachable from the tee, so watch out for cars. Also, the #4 basket is next to the endzone on a football field, and could be hard to play in football season, unless that team sucks. :-P #6 is next to a water treatment plant, and during a hot summer day it can be odorific.
Other Thoughts: One thing that stood out to me was that because of the elevation changes on some holes (2, esp. 4, & 8) they play much shorter than what the signs say. Not really a pro or con, just something I noticed.

The fairways were very well cleared for such a new course. All of the holes except 9 run through the fairly dense woods, but you can't tell it when you're in the middle of the fairway, there are no stumps or roots to trip over and no saplings to knock down your disc.

*4's water hazard is in the form of a storm basin, so if it rains, it will be there, but if not, its dry.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great 9 holer

1    8/31/2008   9/5/2008
Review By: timg
Played: 243  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 12.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course with nice concrete tee pads, good signage and a little elevation thrown in for good measure. The course was also easy to follow without a map for the most part.
Cons: As the previous review stated, some holes play around a football field and if a game is going on I'd guess you might have to skip them or be very careful with your drive.

Also, hole #1 starts far away from the parking lot off the road you use to get to the football area. I had to back track from the #2 basket (which is by the lot) to find the first tee. Otherwise, the course flows well.

Speaking of the #2 basket, it is a little too close to the parking lot. A poor shot has a very good chance of hitting a car.
Other Thoughts: I was expecting a basic pitch-and-putt course going in but was pleasantly surprised by what I found. All the holes were of decent length and each one was fairly unique. A lot of them were placed in wide alleys in the woods and you didn't have to worry much about losing a disc as the rough wasn't too thick. I can't comment on the traffic or other park amenities as I played later in the evening (7:30ish) and the whole place was deserted.

Hole #8 stood out in my mind as the "signature hole". You start farther back on the top of a hill and have to throw over a wooded and wide creek. You can lay up but if you decide to go for it, the creek is very shallow so retrieving a shot that doesn't make it isn't a big deal. It's one of those holes that you'll want to try until you "make it".

The course itself wasn't terribly challenging but it was definitely fun. A good player will have the potential for a lot of deuce opportunities here but it will take some decent drives to pull it off. I could see playing here regularly if I was a local and would recommend stopping by Mason if you're in the area and looking to get a quick 9 holes in.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Mason Sports Park DGC

5+    1/24/2010   8/16/2008
Review By: discgolferjr
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2010
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course. The teepads are now cemented. The course has the new DISCatcher Baskets. Nice teesigns. Mix of wooded and open holes. Water fountain near #9 Basket. Portible restrooms in parking lot. Get deuces and pars. Good parking. Combo of righty and lefty holes. Hilly in some parts of course. I recommend parking in baseball lot during football season. Rarely lose discs. Some trashcans through the course. Quick flow. They cleared out most fallen trees.
Cons: Hard to play Holes 4 and 9 during football practice and games. Hole 1 tee far away from the parking lot. Basket 2 a little close to the parking lot. NOTE: I had a disc go over the fence on hole 4. IT IS A DOUBLE LAYERED FENCE, SO IT CAN BE VERY HARD TO GET YOUR DISC BACK (i got mine back). Same on hole 7.
Other Thoughts: Monroe and Turtlecreek are a few minutes away. If your to one of these courses make it a double or triple day. Great beginner course but also good for pros. Good 9 Hole course to play if passing through town.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.