Lancaster, PA 
Hobson Park Mini DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #15 (Taken 7/2010)
4 / 189ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Mini Discing In A Public Park Setting!

1    7/16/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole Mini Course in a lovely public park. Hobson Park features rolling hills, mature trees and manicured lawns, perfect for a disc course course. As mentioned before, loaners are available with a box to return them at 18. There is a tee post with hole #, par and distance. This courses features some par 4's and a par 5. There are colored patio block set in the ground showing you where to tee off from.

The baskets are like new minis.

The course forces you to throws all types of mini shots, hysers, anhysers, long downhills, tough uphills.
Cons: I guess there are a few too many wide open holes. Mini players appear to like a few more technical throws. To me, this course had the feel of a regular disc golf course.

I still have to question of how well these baskets will hold up in a public park setting. They're extremely well made but being made from a thinner gauge steel still seem more prone to vandalism than regular disc golf baskets.
Other Thoughts: Having now played four Mini courses (two in public parks vs. two private) I think I like the creative feel of the private courses better. To me, it seems to add some pizazz to the Mini game.

My rating here is compared only to other Mini Disc Golf Courses.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty cool, short layout

1    3/31/2012   4/5/2012
Review By: softball29
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was a cool course in that it was a mini course in a public park.

- Great baskets. They are what mini baskets should be!

- Easy for beginners, which is good when doing mini. Shorter holes make it easier for people.

- Loaner discs available at the first hole and a spot at the end of 18 to drop them in when done.

- Plenty of parking, restrooms and all the amenities of a park.
Cons: - No scorecards, which I would think is normal at a public park course.

- Hole selection. Pretty straight forward and not a lot of different shots, which is what I had seen in other mini course.

- Rules could be better pointed out (see: scorecards) so if playing without having locals, you could know what's up.
Other Thoughts: Very nice little mini course that people of all skill levels and interest could enjoy and play. It utilizes the land quite well, though some of the holes could be made a little more challenging. Overall a great little course and I would definitely play it again!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini mini mini

2-4    7/10/2011   2/10/2012
Review By: harmonicajoe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very nice layout with rolling hills and Amish farmland.It's in a public park that is meticulously maintained. A nice course for the beginner to pro. There is something for everybody. Long holes, challenging holes, turning fairways and evlevation changes. The baskets are fantastic and made of stainless steel so there is no rust. Loaner discs at hole 1. when you are finished playing drop them in the box at hole 18 so someone else can use them.
Cons: No map but the course flows nicely and you really don't need one.
Other Thoughts: New course stamped minis available at the township office down the street.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 World Class Mini

1    1/20/2012   1/21/2012
Review By: beaverdisc
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 44.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Public restrooms, Loaner discs at hole #1, Beautiful landscaping and the course takes advantage of these. Elevation changes, tee pads and tee signs easily visable, course flows very well. Mini Baskets are beautiful and are the best I have ever seen. This is the worlds first public 18 hole Mini Disc Golf Course. Great park for the whole family. Picnic areas throughout the park. Highly reccomend this course for all. There are 7 Mini Disc Golf Courses in Lancaster county. So you can play other courses that are considered World Class.
Cons: No score cards available,
Other Thoughts: You are missing out if you do not play this course as well as the others in the area. Amish country rocks.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch mini

1    7/18/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: gottafixit
Played: 440  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 11.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Rules sign explaining how to play MINI DG
- Nice tee post with par and distance, and a little arrow to point you in the right direction
- Highly visible Tee stones
- Easy to navigate, with signs when not obvious
- Excellent baskets
- Loaner discs available at the start of the course(make sure to return them)
- Well mantained and landscaped park
- Family friendly park
Cons: - Mostly open or bending shots could use a few tight shots
- Second player level
Other Thoughts: This is rated against other Mini DG courses. This was my second Mini course(codorus was my first) and it was so much more enjoyable this time. I spent the day in Lancaster so I played all the mini and full sized courses in the area and this one was better marked and maintained then two of the full sized I played that day. The course was layed out through a good bit of the park and played through it's fantastic landscaping. The tee signs and tee stones were easy to find and navigation between them when not obvious was aided by signs. I really enjoyed the course as the park is great and the holes made for an interesting mix of shots. I could have used a few more technical shots as most are fairly open, but becuase it is this means this is a great course for beginners and kids as well.

It would be nice to see a map and scorecard available and maybe a second set of tees or more challenging pin placements. Over all this is one great course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Good Time

1    7/11/2010   7/15/2010
Review By: Kstoebenau
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is marked well and you can follow the course. There is a box with discs that you can borrow to play and return at last hole. Baskets are in great shape. Course is well kept. Short and long distance baskets.
Cons: Office to puchase discs are not open during weekends and only open during day when everyone is working. Course could be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: The course was quiet, and peaceful. Very pretty with lots of landscaping. Restrooms open on weekend. Nice place to picnic and lots of shade. Overall very good condition.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun mini course

1    11/6/2009   11/6/2009
Review By: Joe Hollywood
Played: 54  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is the first 18 hole mini disc golf course in the United States. From my understanding Lancaster, PA is the birth place of mini disc golf. This course has a couple long holes that are long enough for a regular size disc course. The signs at each hole are marked well. It is in a very nice, well kept park. Perfect atmosphere for the whole family. A couple good holes with trees to go around and a couple are on rolling terrain. Baskets are nice mini discatcher style. At hole 1 there is a box with a few used mini discs that are there for borrowing to play (It's nice of them to do something like that for people. Please don't take advantage by keeping these. Return them when your done playing).
Cons: Some of the holes were straight wide open shots. For those that like wooded areas with shot paths through the trees, this doesn't have any wooded areas. There are trees and some of them are clumped together but most of this is in the open with a couple shots that go around a tree or two.
Other Thoughts: I like this course...it had a nice flow to it. It would be nice to have some woods to go through but I had a good time there. Dogs are allowed at this park as long as they are leashed. They have little doggy trash bag stations so you can clean up after your dog if needed.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.