The Woodlands, TX
Terramont Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 7/2008)
Course map on side of restrooms



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Course With Elevation

1    1/20/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting disc golf course that uses a hill for elevation to make shots more challenging. More than half the course plays using this hill and makes for a great round of disc golf. Holes 1,3. and 5 are downhill shots into the brush surrounding the course where the baskets are located for these holes. Careful attention must be paid so the throw doesn't land in the brush or goes into the wrong opening in the woods. A good tomahawk throw would also help on at least two of these holes. Holes 2, 4, and 7 shoot up the hill and require a good throwing strategy and good parking discs as chance for a roll away is very real. Holes 6 and 9 are flat straightaway holes and need good straight throws to stay in the fairway. Hole 8 plays across the top of the hill and is pretty much of a straight shot to the basket with minimal obstructions except wind.
Cons: The only cons I see here is that this is a shared use park, so that a constant watch must be kept out for park users in the fairway. Also the tee pads are in poor shape and need replacing. These are the only two cons I see here.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to go to and practice elevation play. No holes are too long and is one of the best in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/20/2012   1/3/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with a huge hill that the course plays up and down multiple times. If you are looking for a course with any kind of elevation this is your best option by far.

The course has interesting hole placements when you are shooting down the hill. The majority of the holes are perched into the trees which makes you be accurate on your tee shot or you will be shooting from the trees.

The course is not used very often from what I observe. You can throw multiple shots and play multiple times as the course plays quickly.

Navigation is not an issue if you can find the first tee on top of the hill. Most holes have nice tee signs that are very visible from the previous hole.

This course has a couple long, flat throws, and some short strategic shots. Shot variety is at a high at this course.
Cons: Not a lot comes to mind when it comes to cons at Terramont Park. But, a big con that I noticed are the rubber tee pads. They probably were suitable when they were first installed but they have became uneven or ripped.

The holes can be repetitive. There are 3 holes that are shooting down the hill and probably 3 holes that are shooting back up the hill. The best hole was #6 and that had no elevation change in it.

The park is busy with other activities. #8 and #9 play precariously close to the football/soccer field. There are also runners training on the hill. Just keep a wary eye on the people around you; they may not know what you are up to.

Hole #9 is the most uninspired finishing hole if there ever was one. Compared to the previous 8 holes, #9 is a huge let down with no elevation change and no obstacles to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Like previously mentioned, this course plays quick. Bear Branch is nearby for a longer 18 holes. This course can be played twice in an hour and is a good place to practice your elevation shots.

There are missing tee signs on three of the holes. The tee signs are very nice that if they are replaced this course would be better looking. Concrete tee pads also should be considered in the future. The rubber tee pads are not working anymore and do not their job as it was intended.

Still, this is a great course to come and play and is definitely worth checking out if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/15/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 162  Reviewed: 15
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes advantage of a large man made hill surrounded by woods. This means you get true elevation change in otherwise very flat Houston. The course layout uses the hill well -- most holes go up the hill, down the hill, or along it. Having the long straight hole 6 in the middle mixes things up nicely. The course flows very well, the only place that isn't super clear is going from 8 to 9. Most holes have nice tee signs.
Cons: The pin placements on top of the hill are pretty boring, the only challenge is to get up the hill. The few trees on top don't come into play. And the greens are flat, with few rollaway risks or uphill or downhill putts. The rubber tee pads are uneven, especially on hole 7 where a big puddle had collected. The tee signs were missing on several holes, and the chains for basket 1 were not in good shape. As other reviewers have mentioned, hole 9 is boring (nice to have an easy birdie though). A long throw on 9 could also potentially hit people on the basketball court.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Huge Friggin Hill

1    3/10/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -HUGE hill, awesome elevation shots!
-very cool signs with map of each hole, distance and par
-black rubber teepads
-long tees marked with bricks
-clean, well-kept park in a very nice neighborhood
-plenty of parking
-no crowds
-pavilion, bathrooms, and a playground for the kiddos
-feels secluded once away from the the pavilion, etc.
Cons: -rubber pads are decent but some are a little uneven
-signs missing on holes 1 & 9
-a couple holes are a bit repetitive: 1 & 5 and 2 & 4 are almost the same tee shot
-no trash cans out on the course (there are some by the pavilion and playground)
-navigation is not too bad but finding a couple of the holes requires some guesswork on the first time out
-hole 9 is lame
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome little neighborhood course. The area looks to be a wealthy suburb and the park reflects this: very clean, nice amenities, trophy wives hanging out by the pavilion while their kids play on the playground.

The course takes advantage of the large, man-made hill in the center of the park. Most of the holes play up (2, 4), down (1, 5, 8) or across (3, 7) this hill. There are trees dotting the side and top of the hill and the areas around the hill are thickly wooded. As such, many of the holes play down or across the hill to a pin hidden inside the tree line (holes 1, 3, 5) or start inside the trees and play out and up the hill (2, 4). Hole 6 is a monster 500' in one of the few areas away from the hill.

There are some unique tee signs that show a color map of the hole as well as the hole number, distance and par. The signs are about waist high and face upward instead of outward like most tee signs. Unfortunately, the signs were missing on holes 1 and 9. The black rubber mats are sufficient in most cases but in some places they are uneven.

I found the course to be really fun to play. The elevation adds much to the enjoyment. I imagine it keeps the course interesting for the locals because of the potential for rollaways. I really wanted to play another round here but I had limited time to hit a few other courses. I would have liked to play from the longs. I wasn't really looking for them but only saw 2 or 3. Some other reviews have said that some are hard to find.

After having such a great time at this course, I was so disappointed to see hole 9: just a wide open, 200' straight shot. It isn't even near the rest of the course and seems to have been added as an afterthought just to get 9 total holes. As other reviewers have said, it seems that scrapping this hole and putting in another one elsewhere would be a good thing for the course.

Between this course and Bear Branch nearby, The Woodlands has some pretty solid disc golf. I was just in the area overnight and played the Woodlands courses and the Conroe courses. This was my favorite of all of them.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fool on the Hill

5+    11/19/2009   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nicely kept. Elevation! whoo hoo!
Occasional Hot chicks/moms in area.
Cons: Kinda boring. Hot as can be in the summer (little shade on top of hill)
Other Thoughts: Main feature is the giant hill in the middle of the park. Would be a good sledding hill if Houston ever saw snew. Whats snew? Dunno, what snew with you?

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Storm The Hill!

5+    11/26/2009   12/1/2009
Review By: ChaseTheAce
Played: 89  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2010
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation in Houston!?!?! Whaaaa?
That's right. Terramont is centered around a large man made hill, incorporating elevation into almost every hole. The course makes fantastic use out of very little land and provides plenty of distance for the big arms.

The first thing one might notice is how stunning and clean this park is. The lucious greenery makes for quite the landscape.

This course lets you really bomb out some drives, but not without worry of them rolling down a hill. Terramont is a great course for learning how elevation affects throws. The combination of tight and open holes provides for a fairly well rounded 9 hole course.

The alternate tees make for a solid second round, giving a different perspective of shots on each hole. The alternate for #2 is a real punisher if you miss your line.

Rubber tee pads are in solid condition as well as the DGA baskets.

Cons: My biggest beef with this course is hole #9. It is argueably a "nice ace run to finish with," but we all know it's pretty much a throw away hole unless you play it as an island with the trees on the right being OB. This hole has me torn between a rating of 3 or 3.5

This course is definitely RHBH friendly. This could be a con if you're a forehand thrower who frequents Bear Branch.

There are almost always pedestrians on the course or in the way of a hole. Be respectful of them because many are unfamiliar with the sport and often aren't aware that they are in the way. Watch out for small children who tend to dart in front of you or pick up your disc.

The alternate tees are marked with bricks, making them very hard to find for players unfamiliar with the course layout.

If you are out of shape, you will definitely be feeling the burn from climbing the steep hill.
Other Thoughts: Terramont's location is within 10 miles of Bear Branch, Spring Valley, McDade, and Gwen Hruska, making it an ideal stop off for a long day of disc golf.

The Woodlands offers numerous resteraunts for those traveling to play the course.

This is an excellent course for competitive rounds because it provides plenty of score seperation between players.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 8 Great Holes One Throw Away

5+    5/15/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Im going to just come out and say it. This is the best 9 hole course in the Houston area. It really isn't even close. The course offers true drastic elevation changes. With many shots going up and down steep hills. There are alcove shots like 3 and 5 and a long bomber on 6. If you want to play a quick 9 and live in the area play this course period.
Cons: As the previous reviewers have stated 9 is a throw away hole. Its a 200 foot straight shot, although I will caution, do whatever you can to not throw into the woods on that hole. You will be lucky if you ever find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I organized a team building activity at work and took everyone out to Terramont. They loved it. Beginners and experienced players alike enjoyed the layout, the clean awesome park, and the surprising "Hill" that resides at the center of this nine hole gem. This is a great park to take your family to if you have kids, as it has one of the coolest playgrounds around with a kick butt slide that had me wishing I was 5 again. Play Terramont now you won't regret it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Now that's a big hill

5+    7/6/2008   7/10/2008
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 183  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/6/2010
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The hill! I've now played most of the Houston area courses and Terramont has the highest percentage of holes playing up or down a hill. The best place to work on your game with elevation changes. This hill rivals Tom Bass:Wilmont #15/#16.

Parking is convenient and close to the first hole. There shouldn't be much pedestrian interference as the course layout avoids most of the other park amenities. The wooded holes have well defined and nicely cleared fairways that allow good shots a path to the basket.

The rubber tee pads were playable and provide a well defined tee box, but they're starting to show some wear.
Cons:
The #4 tee sign graphic is wrong for the current basket placement. The sign shows the basket off to the right when in reality it's off to the left.

Hole #9 is an anti-climatic finishing hole: a 206' straight shot to the basket. I've since learned this was intended to be an "island hole" with the basket surrounded by a small brick wall (you can even see the wall on the detailed map graphic). That would make it much more interesting, but the Parks Department decided not to install the wall. So I guess you just finish the round with what should be an easy birdie.
Other Thoughts:
First timers should check the map at the restrooms when you arrive to locate tee #1 and get a general idea of the course layout.

This course has only one RHBH anhyzer shot vs. five or six RHBH hyzer shots (the remaining two or three holes are primarily straight).

With the #5 basket set so far back in the woods it requires a very interesting throw to bend a disc down the tunnel from the tee. That's a shot I do not yet have. UPDATE: Hurricane Ike knocked down a bunch of trees on this hole opening up a gap straighter towards the basket.

I enjoyed my round at Terramont a lot, which may have been related to playing well. I finished two down on four birdies. We took the opportunity to throw several practice drives on #7 and watched most of them roll back down the hillside. The downhill slope on #8 allowed me to register probably my longest birdie hole at 410'. :-)

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.