Disc Golf Store
The Woodlands, TX 
Terramont Park Share
Uploaded By: mongoose700 Hole #3 (Taken 12/2012)
3 / 272ft.   3 / 331ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Course With Elevation

1    1/20/2014   1/22/2014
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting disc golf course that uses a hill for elevation to make shots more challenging. More than half the course plays using this hill and makes for a great round of disc golf. Holes 1,3. and 5 are downhill shots into the brush surrounding the course where the baskets are located for these holes. Careful attention must be paid so the throw doesn't land in the brush or goes into the wrong opening in the woods. A good tomahawk throw would also help on at least two of these holes. Holes 2, 4, and 7 shoot up the hill and require a good throwing strategy and good parking discs as chance for a roll away is very real. Holes 6 and 9 are flat straightaway holes and need good straight throws to stay in the fairway. Hole 8 plays across the top of the hill and is pretty much of a straight shot to the basket with minimal obstructions except wind.
Cons: The only cons I see here is that this is a shared use park, so that a constant watch must be kept out for park users in the fairway. Also the tee pads are in poor shape and need replacing. These are the only two cons I see here.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to go to and practice elevation play. No holes are too long and is one of the best in the area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable shared course, well done

5+    5/21/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: g00p
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes
Challenging narrow entrances to basket area
Variety of elevation seriously challenges the Texas player, as we normally don't get this amount of elevation changes
Cons: Need to be careful and considerate of other park goers as it is a shared park. I've not found any real issues, as most of the park goers have been considerate to me, and I return the favor and once and a while either skip or just throw a putter when I think I could accidentally throw to close to some folks.
Teepads are low quality, this is the one major negative. They pool water, become slipper, and can be frustrating. No biggee though. I can enjoy disc golf anywhere.
Other Thoughts: Well done for a shared park. I really enjoy the change of pace and visit this every few months.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    12/20/2012   1/3/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful park with a huge hill that the course plays up and down multiple times. If you are looking for a course with any kind of elevation this is your best option by far.

The course has interesting hole placements when you are shooting down the hill. The majority of the holes are perched into the trees which makes you be accurate on your tee shot or you will be shooting from the trees.

The course is not used very often from what I observe. You can throw multiple shots and play multiple times as the course plays quickly.

Navigation is not an issue if you can find the first tee on top of the hill. Most holes have nice tee signs that are very visible from the previous hole.

This course has a couple long, flat throws, and some short strategic shots. Shot variety is at a high at this course.
Cons: Not a lot comes to mind when it comes to cons at Terramont Park. But, a big con that I noticed are the rubber tee pads. They probably were suitable when they were first installed but they have became uneven or ripped.

The holes can be repetitive. There are 3 holes that are shooting down the hill and probably 3 holes that are shooting back up the hill. The best hole was #6 and that had no elevation change in it.

The park is busy with other activities. #8 and #9 play precariously close to the football/soccer field. There are also runners training on the hill. Just keep a wary eye on the people around you; they may not know what you are up to.

Hole #9 is the most uninspired finishing hole if there ever was one. Compared to the previous 8 holes, #9 is a huge let down with no elevation change and no obstacles to contend with.
Other Thoughts: Like previously mentioned, this course plays quick. Bear Branch is nearby for a longer 18 holes. This course can be played twice in an hour and is a good place to practice your elevation shots.

There are missing tee signs on three of the holes. The tee signs are very nice that if they are replaced this course would be better looking. Concrete tee pads also should be considered in the future. The rubber tee pads are not working anymore and do not their job as it was intended.

Still, this is a great course to come and play and is definitely worth checking out if you are in the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/15/2012   5/17/2012
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 176  Reviewed: 16
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course takes advantage of a large man made hill surrounded by woods. This means you get true elevation change in otherwise very flat Houston. The course layout uses the hill well -- most holes go up the hill, down the hill, or along it. Having the long straight hole 6 in the middle mixes things up nicely. The course flows very well, the only place that isn't super clear is going from 8 to 9. Most holes have nice tee signs.
Cons: The pin placements on top of the hill are pretty boring, the only challenge is to get up the hill. The few trees on top don't come into play. And the greens are flat, with few rollaway risks or uphill or downhill putts. The rubber tee pads are uneven, especially on hole 7 where a big puddle had collected. The tee signs were missing on several holes, and the chains for basket 1 were not in good shape. As other reviewers have mentioned, hole 9 is boring (nice to have an easy birdie though). A long throw on 9 could also potentially hit people on the basketball court.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 King of the Hill

5+    8/17/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: cj37
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ELEVATION!!!!! Downhill shots, uphill shots, shots on hills. Nice 500 ft. drive on hole 6.
Cons: Sometimes the back and forth ups and downs can get repetitive.
Other Thoughts: Be careful on hole 8 crosswinds can rip your disk away into the woods.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Holy Huge Friggin Hill

1    3/10/2011   3/20/2011
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 195  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 7.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -HUGE hill, awesome elevation shots!
-very cool signs with map of each hole, distance and par
-black rubber teepads
-long tees marked with bricks
-clean, well-kept park in a very nice neighborhood
-plenty of parking
-no crowds
-pavilion, bathrooms, and a playground for the kiddos
-feels secluded once away from the the pavilion, etc.
Cons: -rubber pads are decent but some are a little uneven
-signs missing on holes 1 & 9
-a couple holes are a bit repetitive: 1 & 5 and 2 & 4 are almost the same tee shot
-no trash cans out on the course (there are some by the pavilion and playground)
-navigation is not too bad but finding a couple of the holes requires some guesswork on the first time out
-hole 9 is lame
Other Thoughts: This is an awesome little neighborhood course. The area looks to be a wealthy suburb and the park reflects this: very clean, nice amenities, trophy wives hanging out by the pavilion while their kids play on the playground.

The course takes advantage of the large, man-made hill in the center of the park. Most of the holes play up (2, 4), down (1, 5, 8) or across (3, 7) this hill. There are trees dotting the side and top of the hill and the areas around the hill are thickly wooded. As such, many of the holes play down or across the hill to a pin hidden inside the tree line (holes 1, 3, 5) or start inside the trees and play out and up the hill (2, 4). Hole 6 is a monster 500' in one of the few areas away from the hill.

There are some unique tee signs that show a color map of the hole as well as the hole number, distance and par. The signs are about waist high and face upward instead of outward like most tee signs. Unfortunately, the signs were missing on holes 1 and 9. The black rubber mats are sufficient in most cases but in some places they are uneven.

I found the course to be really fun to play. The elevation adds much to the enjoyment. I imagine it keeps the course interesting for the locals because of the potential for rollaways. I really wanted to play another round here but I had limited time to hit a few other courses. I would have liked to play from the longs. I wasn't really looking for them but only saw 2 or 3. Some other reviews have said that some are hard to find.

After having such a great time at this course, I was so disappointed to see hole 9: just a wide open, 200' straight shot. It isn't even near the rest of the course and seems to have been added as an afterthought just to get 9 total holes. As other reviewers have said, it seems that scrapping this hole and putting in another one elsewhere would be a good thing for the course.

Between this course and Bear Branch nearby, The Woodlands has some pretty solid disc golf. I was just in the area overnight and played the Woodlands courses and the Conroe courses. This was my favorite of all of them.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fool on the Hill

5+    11/19/2009   11/19/2010
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.9 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Nicely kept. Elevation! whoo hoo!
Occasional Hot chicks/moms in area.
Cons: Kinda boring. Hot as can be in the summer (little shade on top of hill)
Other Thoughts: Main feature is the giant hill in the middle of the park. Would be a good sledding hill if Houston ever saw snew. Whats snew? Dunno, what snew with you?

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT 9-HOLE!!

5+    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: rbsold
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Love the elevation change on the course. No doubt though, the hills we're manmade. But thats fine. It's nestled in a quiet area in the woodlands, and there has never been to much of a crowd when I've played there. The course has it all, elevation and woods, long and short. Downhill and uphill.
Cons: Hole 9 is kind of a throwaway. just a straight, no trees except to the right, 200 ft. hole. Almost aced it with an aviar. Also, course is very much catered to RHBH players. I'm right handed, but I have a mean flick I like to pull out every so often.
Other Thoughts: Overall, course is great, you're gonna get good exercise, especially for a 9-hole because of the hills. My favorite hole would probably be 3,5, or 8. Lot of chances for birdies, even if I tend to mess that up alot!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big Throws

2-4    4/24/2010   4/24/2010
Review By: Bekavee
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: If you have a big arm you'll love this course. Take the kids. They'll have a blast. Plus, the kids good for mulligans.
Cons: My weak arm. Some of the uphill throws will mess you up
Other Thoughts: Love the big hills. Hate the 500 foot throws.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/1/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 356  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.3 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -course is located in a really nice park with ample parking, pavillion, bathrooms, dogpark, playground equipment, but the course is away from all this and is the only thing in the park that utilizes the massive fill hill.
-The elevation is used quite well at the course with 4 holes playing downhill, 3 playing uphill and 2 flat holes. This all provides for some decent variety in holes, although there are some cons associated with this type of variety.
-All the holes have good back tees marked by blocks which all change the hole pretty drastically. The best example of this being hole 3 which plays downhill from the normal tees but plays an uphill placement shot and then downhill to the pin from the back tee. Really nice hole. Another good example of the hole changing both line and distance is hole 6 which is a flat 500' from the short tees but a shorter, tight rhbh hyzer shot out of the woods long tees.
-the hill is also utilized in a variety of ways, while most either shoot straight up or straight down, holes 3 , 7, and 8 are different, 3 plays along the side, 8 is a long slopeing shot down the broad side of the hill and 7 plays along the flat for the first shot and the ends at the top of the hill
-Decent tee signs and pads on the shorts
Cons: While I eluded to there being quite a bit of variety here, the play feels a bit repetitive, holes 1 and 5 are the same as well as 2 and 4 are the same. There is also a strong rhbh bias.
-The longs tees were tough to find even with a map, and sometimes placed strangely like 3 whose brick is on an uphill slope when 10 ft behind was flat. A few bricks were totally gone or not where they were supposed to be. 2 and 9 weren't able to be found. Where nine looked to be, there was another dirt fill going on.
-I had a minor issue with the design as well. 9 is a complete throw-away hole, and there is a ridiculous walk up the hill to the first tee just to go back down moments later. It would have been nice to make an uphill or along the side of the hill first hole, and junk 9. Just my opinion though.
Other Thoughts: Overall I enjoyed this course a lot, and would probably hit it again for 9 holes if I made my way down to H-town again. I just had a bunch of minor issues that snowballed for me and caused the lukewarm review.

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.