Merced, CA 
Fahrens Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: the slayer Hole #4 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 257ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Enjoyable 9 Hole Course In Merced!

1    6/23/2014   7/11/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
Pros: Fahrens Park is a nice, clean well maintained little city park. The course is mostly open, recreational length and at least one hole # 8 does take advantage of the pretty grove of Eucalyptus trees which line the creek bed.
There is a practice basket and a the standard "Rules of Disc Golf" sign at the beginning. The tee pads are natural and fairly easy to find as they've had enough use to be clearly worn.

The course plays as an easy recreational level mostly because of it's open layout. # 1 is just an easy little 225' ACE run. # 5 is an open 217' blast. Other holes play more in the 250-350' range.

I really like # 8 with it's basket set down in the grove of trees by the creek. That was just a pretty little hole. It really stood out for me compared to the other 8 "drab" holes here.
Cons: I couldn't find any tee pad area for # 7. But neither did the group playing behind me.

I got a little lost after # 4 and somehow missed # 5. I think it was the basket by the shelter???

Natural tee pads aren't the best answer.

Many holes were fairly uninspiring. I was mostly underwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: My first question is why the cool area by the creek wasn't utilized more in the design of this course? I'm sure there is a good reason...safety...danger...environmental??

My second comment after reading the reviews here is the locals obviously have spiced this course up a bit by making up their own longer, more difficult holes. That would definitely make the course more appealing to the average/or better player.

Good location that needs attention

5+    8/21/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: CrashnBansh
Played: 45  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very nice location near a eucalyptus lined creek with a good amount of available space for disc golfing. The course layout itself is for the most part straight-forward and easy to follow. The park itself isn't used all that frequently by non-disc golfers, so there's little in the way of non-course obstruction. There is a well used bike path that borders the park but has very little interaction with the course, except for hole 5. Good course to practice different shots.
Cons: The course design itself is uninspired and lacking in a couple of spots, specifically where holes 1 and 3 play past each other and where holes 6 and 9 interact. The course lacks much in the way of creating the need for more difficult shots because of how open it plays. It's possible on virtually every hole to throw any type of shot - which can make it good for practice, not so great for continuous play as a local course, it can become mundane due to a serious lack of challenge - even to newer players. The sign for hole 7 is missing and has been for some time, leaving it a mystery as to where to play the hole if new to the course. There are dirt and grass tee pads, no cement tee boxes as stated in another review.
Other Thoughts: There is a large population in the area which is beginning to familiarize itself with the game more with each passing day. Fahrens Park has potential but sadly lacks the attention required to turn it into something better, which it will sorely need soon. The resources are there to improve at the very least the layout of the course. There has been a club presence at the course for nearly five years but nothing much has happened in the way of course maintenance or course improvement. A lot has been said, but very little actually done. The course is begging for new blood to give it some life.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 merced ca

5+    6/9/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: giantsfan4life1
Played: 44  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - cement tee boxes
- all tee sigs are there
- very well maintained
- low traffic
- great people and club there
- looking to expand the course
Cons: - semi simple first 9 holes
- sometimes in the year there are puddles by the tee boxes
Other Thoughts: Fun little 9 holer with alternates to make it more difficult and there will be another 9 holes being put in as well. Local tourneys have a different course right by this course which is lots of fun and difficult. its not mapped or permanent so show up at there monthlys.The club there is fun they always want to make there dg better in there future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

1    6/22/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: adh56
Played: 113  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well manicured park with neat creek area
-9 nice DGA baskets and tee signs
-Practice basket by the parking area
-Beginner friendly course but also some holes with decent length
Cons: -Natural tee pads on the grass area are inconsistant & ackward
-Graffitti on most of the tee signs
-Creek area vastly under utilized in course design
Other Thoughts: This course has pontential. The most fun I had here was from the two spots I threw across the creek to the practice basket. Safari options abound here but I don't feel it's fair to judge a course on unofficial holes. This course is screaming for a redesign using the creek area. I could easily see a 3.5 rating for a course that utilized the whole park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Fahren's Park Review

5+    4/26/2010   4/27/2010
Review By: 2disc0player9
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best thing about this course is all the multiple tee pads. Other than the standard pads I usually play a super long course that incorporates the practice basket by parking lot into play while using alternate pads totaling a round of 12 holes ranging with holes over 400 ft to as small as 200 ft. over the creek and through the Eucalyptus trees. Also the monthly tourneys incorporate a total of 18 holes through the thick part of the trees which is challenging.
Cons: The worst part about this is not having concrete pads because of grass tees, gets slick. Another is that the normal 9 holes are pretty easy, it's a great course for beginners but it's easily played when mastered like -6 scores. Also be wary of the neighbors on the course after hole 5 you'll notice them by the "NO Trespassing" signs really avoid these people. I've had the cops called on me twice for walking to close to their wall.
Other Thoughts: With a little smart thinking you could easily squeeze a permanent 18 hole course into Fahren's Park utilizing the dense Eucalyptus trees on the other side of the creek.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Potential. Beginner Friendly.

2-4    6/21/2009   6/21/2009
Review By: zenbot
Played: 31  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For now this course has a lot of wide-open fairways which make it difficult to lose plastic and make it an easy place to work on a firm mid-range game. In time, however, there are tons of new trees that will grow out and add a lot of technical elements. None of the tee positions are too far over 300 feet making this a great course for learning the game. My favorite hole was 8. It's the only "official" one that makes use of the impressive old growth Eucalyptus grove that runs alongside the creek full of frogs, tadpoles and crawdads. This is a great course for little ones (and older ones) as the terrain is level and mostly grass.
Cons: Most of the fairways are heavily saturated. The tees are dirt. Given the high amount of moisture teeing off was very slippery in the morning dew. There isn't much diversity in shots. Right now practically every hole is a 200-300 wide open shot. This will change in time as those trees grow out.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has a lot of potential. I played my 2nd round with some locals that pointed out every hole has a hidden "pro" tee pad. We played alternating "traditional" and "pro" tees for 2 rotations which made up a fun 18-hole round. The guys also pointed out some "local" holes used during tournaments. (I knew there had to be some shots alongside and over the creek and in those nice big trees!) A few of the fairways are right next to some residential backyards. The tenants varied in spirit greatly. One guy seemed to kick it and wait for people to walk by so he could strike up a conversation. Another lady, your typical "curtain twitcher", looked for any excuse to yell at the golfers. You'll know her house. It's the one plastered with "No Trespassing" signs. Avoid her at all costs. Local legend has it that if she looks at you dead in the eyes you'll turn to stone.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/13/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: cracker
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: nice park, easy to determine pin locations, well taken care of
Cons: dirt or grass tees, short holes, only 9 holes

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.