Aptos, CA 
Aptos High School DGC Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #11
3 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good course with some flaws

1    4/19/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: mdegs
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 6/12/2014
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The layout is pretty good and the shots are varied. Holes 6/7 as others have mentioned are a great sequence; 8 would be better if not so hairy on either side of the fairway (I suggest a spotter).
Cons: Due to construction the course layout has suffered quite a bit. It is not easy to navigate and does not appear to be as well maintained as one might hope.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little 18 At Aptos High School!

1    8/22/2010   9/3/2010
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 662  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Aptos High School course starts on the street leading up to the football field with hole one then plays up into woods beyond the field before coming back across a parking lot for hole # 4. Then 5-17 play through a rugged land area across street before returning to school grounds for # 18 which is a fun little downhill ACE run above the ball field. As previously mentioned, this course has a wide variety of terrain featuring a little bit of everything. This includes wooded areas with Oak and Eucalyptus trees, lots of scrubby brush, smaller trees, ravines, some very steep hills to contend with, coastel winds, open desert areas along with some vacant lot at the end along with the standard issue street feel of # 1 gives you the complete mixed bag effect here. The Disccatcher baskets are fairly new. Concrete teepads work well enough. We had very little problem navigating the course. While # 8 is a kick in the pants adrenalin rush, a spotter is maybe advisable. This course has open been open less than two years. It's a great little piece of land.
Cons: # 1 is not a good idea throwing up the street with the traffic. Neither is # 4 (?) throwing across the parking lot by the parked cars. #16 and 17 kind of had that filler hole feel to them. The signs had plenty of grafitti on them already. That's probably just the problem of being so near a high school. This course can be very hot, dry and dusty so bring sun protection and water.
Other Thoughts: The designers possibly could have taken a lesson from De La Raza. They might have been better off putting in a really nice 9 or possibly 12 hole course here instead of squeezing in a 18 holer. I don't know? Just a thought. All I know is that the students of Aptos High School are damn lucky to have this course on their campus.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Poison Oak Course

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Hike
#7 is a doosie Bombs Away!!!
concrete pads are nice
Cons: Poison Oak is everywhere. If you stray you will land in it or near it on almost every hole

#7 hole is a great bomb of a shot but getting down that hill is not very easy. If you are older and/or have a problem with balance this can be tricky

I couldn't find the tee box to hole #17
Other Thoughts: Nice course that might play differently at a different time of year. Poison Oak might be a problem at all S.C. courses but I found it literally at almost every hole here

I would play it again and I shot around +14 anyone playing this course at 6 under their first time is really good!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No crowds, nice elevation changes, some challenging holes, many easy holes. I finished 6 under my first time there.
Cons: No signs. You better have a map!!! You will refer to it on almost every hole.

There's a lot of trash on the course, which I didn't expect from the Aptos/Santa Cruz community.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a hidden gem, because people don't want to go play at a high school. There is a no smoking/drinking policy that seems pretty well enforced. Also a sign saying that all cars are subject to search, which I think scares many golfers away. It is a great alternative to the crowds at De La and I was thoroughly surprised at what a great course it is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2008   1/20/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 78  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: some very difficult shots at the pin, with some locations as close as 10 feet away from a ravine. several short holes that play much longer with wind and pin placement. great use of the land surrounding the school, holes flow well and don't interfere with school activities or roads on campus. great mix of lefty and righty shots throughout the course.
Cons: some holes were very short, one was less than 100' and it played like a long putt. tee pads were unfinished or only 5' long.
Other Thoughts: from other reviews and what friends have told me this course has had a major upgrade since the last time i played it, so i am loking forward to checking it out soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Mariners get it done!

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: big d from sc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's great to see the local high school kids in Santa Cruz bringing the amazing sport of disc golf to their school. Way to go Mariners! I hope many more young locals will discover this great game thanks to your efforts.


2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.