Aptos, CA 
Aptos High School DGC Share
Uploaded By: Hwy1DG Hole #8 (Taken 1/2009)
3 / 435ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 Poison Oak Course

1    7/2/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: The Ghostman
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice Hike
#7 is a doosie Bombs Away!!!
concrete pads are nice
Cons: Poison Oak is everywhere. If you stray you will land in it or near it on almost every hole

#7 hole is a great bomb of a shot but getting down that hill is not very easy. If you are older and/or have a problem with balance this can be tricky

I couldn't find the tee box to hole #17
Other Thoughts: Nice course that might play differently at a different time of year. Poison Oak might be a problem at all S.C. courses but I found it literally at almost every hole here

I would play it again and I shot around +14 anyone playing this course at 6 under their first time is really good!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/1/2009   3/2/2009
Review By: 916er
Played: 23  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: No crowds, nice elevation changes, some challenging holes, many easy holes. I finished 6 under my first time there.
Cons: No signs. You better have a map!!! You will refer to it on almost every hole.

There's a lot of trash on the course, which I didn't expect from the Aptos/Santa Cruz community.
Other Thoughts: I think this course is a hidden gem, because people don't want to go play at a high school. There is a no smoking/drinking policy that seems pretty well enforced. Also a sign saying that all cars are subject to search, which I think scares many golfers away. It is a great alternative to the crowds at De La and I was thoroughly surprised at what a great course it is.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/20/2008   1/20/2009
Review By: BENFTS
Played: 80  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 20.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: some very difficult shots at the pin, with some locations as close as 10 feet away from a ravine. several short holes that play much longer with wind and pin placement. great use of the land surrounding the school, holes flow well and don't interfere with school activities or roads on campus. great mix of lefty and righty shots throughout the course.
Cons: some holes were very short, one was less than 100' and it played like a long putt. tee pads were unfinished or only 5' long.
Other Thoughts: from other reviews and what friends have told me this course has had a major upgrade since the last time i played it, so i am loking forward to checking it out soon.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Atop the sand dunes of Aptos

5+    12/8/2008   12/4/2008
Review By: Hwy1DG
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2009
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A fun challenge! Not your average pitch and putt! Lots of downhill shots, long open drives and classic short holes. Most all the poison oak in play has been removed and the grass in the fairway is growing in nicely. Broke in trails and tee signs installed.
Cons: Can't play during school hours (8-3pm). The cement tee pads are almost finished(last played 12/08)
Other Thoughts: This course is still only less than one year old, but the seeded grass and course are maturing and defining the course quickly. Great job Aptos High!
Park in the lot between the Baseball field and the Football stadium(you'll see #4's basket). #1 is at the bottom of the stadium steps, and plays up the street(witch plays o.b.). Walk across the street to the #2 basket, and tee is up the hill. 3-4 are obvious, then #5 is across the street and up the hill.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  aptos dgc

7/7/2008   7/25/2008
Review By: marklar
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course for finesse and beginner players. good variety of holes where accuracy matters more than distance. no crowds
Cons: poison oak on fairways, ticks and the hike to hole #1. play is limited being on a school campus. untapped potential for better starting holes (ie. left of pin on hole #1)
Other Thoughts: overall, aptos dgc is a fun place to play and it's nice to have another option in the area. its no delaveaga, so don't expect it to be!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Mariners get it done!

7/1/2008   7/1/2008
Review By: big d from sc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It's great to see the local high school kids in Santa Cruz bringing the amazing sport of disc golf to their school. Way to go Mariners! I hope many more young locals will discover this great game thanks to your efforts.


2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.