Muncie, IN 
McCulloch DGC Share
Uploaded By: Matthew boals Hole #10 (Taken 8/2010)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
An excellent place to learn!

5+    8/28/2014   9/1/2014
Review By: Tony Koch
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Map of the course at hole 1.
-Practice basket
-Signs with hole directions as well as where to go for the next hole.
-Concrete tee pads.
-Holes 1, 9, 10, and 18 are around the main pavilion so you don't have to travel too far.
-Most of the holes add something new with variety. Water hazard on holes 3, 4, and 5. A long bomb through a wooded area on hole 5 with the basket cleverly placed up some stairs. And other holes that are placed in spots where you really have to be careful to not shank a tree or two. Hole 14 is throw way downhill where an old soapbox derby race station was. Good time to let one really fly.
-Hole 2 is now placed way up on a stack of railroad ties. Good time to work on elevated putting.
-Pretty good amount of parking.
-Baskets are older but still in fair condition.
-Pavilion near hole 14.
-Besides occasional trash near tee off pads, the park is mowed and kept up well.
-Going along with the variety, almost every hole presents some sort of challenge. Water, rough spots, trees, roads that are OB. Unless you pin point everything (or are a pro), there are only a handful of "easy" holes here.
Cons: -Few patches that are rough. Toss a disc in there and it may take awhile to find.
-Don't anhyzer anything too much on holes 3, 4, and 5 because of the stream to the right.
-Some may view this as a con and others may not...McCulloch has in the past moved the baskets on some holes to different spots. Such on hole 5 where it is currently a straight shot against the stream to the right. A basket used to lie under the trees way to the left.
-Poison ivy and sticker bushes.
-No restrooms.
-Not the best area to be around as day turns to night. A little sketchy.
-Not too much shade.
-Not really any trash cans other than at the main parking lot.
-Hole 3 tees off right by a sewage plant. So be prepared to grab a whiff of some stinky stuff!
Other Thoughts: -Love this course! Overall, the variety is great when it comes to all the holes. Some after you get the hang of it can be pretty easy to at least par but challenges still are present. Some of the holes will challenge your accuracy with the amount of trees! Good mixture of distances to really work on all of your discs.
-Because of the variety it rarely plays the same. Well, unless you're just a pro I guess.
-It sucks to lose a disc or to have to look for one, but the holes near the water and rough will help you with accuracy in the long run. Also I find it cool that there are challenges.
-Usually there isn't a ton of people playing here, which makes it flow well if you're just out for a quick round of 18.
-Overall, I really recommend playing here if you've been playing for a year or two or just started. I'm still learning and playing here has helped me figure out how to do new things and what are the strengths and weaknesses of the discs in my bag. Even after playing it multiple times, I still love going here to catch a round or 2!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun course

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Cjnichter
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was a fun course to play. It made great use of the large park. Also made great use of the trees throughout the park. I had to use many different types of shots, which I enjoy. Good mix of short and long holes. I played early in the morning during the week, so I was the only person on the course at the time. The course had a good flow to it and the tee signs helped find the next tee pad.
Cons: If you don't pay attention to the tee signs, then the next tee is sometimes hard to find. I can't think of any other cons about this course.
Other Thoughts: There were lots of mosquitos, so take bug spray with you. Also, with all of the recent rain, it's good to have a towel with you. Overall, a really good, challenging course. I'm not from the area, so if I am ever in town again I will definitely stop to play another round here.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/9/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 54  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2012
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -course is easy to find, good signage
-holes are fun to play over and over again
-A & B courses
Cons: -2 holes near water are frustrating if you throw a disc in
Other Thoughts: -This was the course I 1st played and have been playing 2-3 times a week and it never gets stale. After playing this course a lot and playing other courses near it, to me, McCulloch is an outstanding course.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Will play here some more!

1    7/26/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 67  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: #1 the Park. This a pretty large park, about 3 X 2 city blocks in area which the course meanders through about 2/3rds of. Well dispersed mature hardwoods throughout the park with moderate elevation changes make for a great layout. Even with the many trees there are adequate lanes for most throwing styles. There is a decent mixture of hole lengths which can also change as many holes have multiple pin locations (as displayed on some of the hole maps. This could also be a con)

This is a very clean park for a city facility. New concrete tee pads offer very good footing (I played on a wet from dew early morning) and are generous in size. There are signs at every pad although some were missing the hole info.
Cons: Not many cons. The signs in most cases showed the multiple basket locations and distances for them. as a first timer at this course, with no guide, I almost had to walk a couple holes to find the basket direction before throwing from the tee. Related to this in some cases the tee may not be "directly" ained at a couple alternate basket spots.

There are a couple hikes from basket to next tee, especially as compared to my home course, but really not unreasonable.
Other Thoughts: An enjoyable round. I'll play this course a couple more times while I'm here in Muncie and may well re-visit this review but my first impression left me wanting to come back.

When I played this early morning the cicedas (sp?) where in full voice throughout the trees.

Enough open air for discs to fly while still needing to navigate. what fun.

It does surprise me that a city the size of Muncie has just one DG course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/6/2009   11/10/2009
Review By: FreddieC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Number of lengthy holes - plenty of room for a long arm but yet enough trees, elevation changes, and water hazards to make it interesting.
Cons: Very few finesse holes - course lacks technical layout that is crucial to the sport
Other Thoughts: Former home course - I learned the game on this course - but once I played others, I realized what was missing in my game and am still trying to recover!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Park

1    7/19/2009   7/20/2009
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 29  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great distance- mostly in the 300's and up.

Giant Park- McCholluch could fit three different 18 hole courses. Its that big.

Fantastic Park- A beautiful expansive, hilly park. Well landscaped with giant trees.

Navigation- For a first time playing at this course, as long as you concentrate you will follow the layout in order
Cons: Open layout- A number of holes are too open. A long hole that is only 2 straight shots and a putt is not all that interesting. This can be fixed with the planting of trees as obstacles

Hazard- A small stream plays along some long holes, but it is shallow so you could get your disc back.
Other Thoughts: I really love the feel of this course. The park is very scenic and charming. The layout is above average. I drove from Anderson to get here because it was the closest course in the area, which was thirty minutes. If I was in Indianapolis I still would have made this trip.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    4/12/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The guys from www.munciediscgolf.com do a great job doing up keep on the course, along with periodically changing basket locations. I find the course to be really easy to navigate, with nice signs, and good people to play with.
Cons: The creek / river sucks on three and four. Lack of trashcans, but I believe that will be taken care of soon.
Other Thoughts: Great course, designed by Indianapolis Pro Jerry Suiter. Nice long holes mixed with some tougher shorter holes. Hole 14 is probably the hole that most people would remember. I believe its between 430-450ft downhill with trees lining the fairway. Keep up the good work Muncie guys.

www.munciediscgolf.com

****edit****

This course continues to improve. The Club guys are in the process of having alternate sleeves for every hole. This is a great course if you are between Fort Wayne and Indy and want to throw. Check out their site for more information.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Long and Fun

2-4    1/21/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: zud00
Played: 119  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/26/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice signage, multiple pin placements, nice tee pads (alternate natural tees for shorter distances), good variety of holes, course returns to parking lot after 9th and 18th hole, nice use of elevation change.
Cons: Trash cans are few and far between, no benches, long walks between holes, restrooms are on opposite side of park.
Other Thoughts: This course offers a bit for everyone ranging from very long open holes to shorter holes with mature trees. The park is covered with very tall mature trees, which are spaced throughout the park so that they are not so much of a nusiance as they are on other courses I have been to.

Holes 3-6 play along a creek that may come into play with an errant shot.

There were many holes with long walks from the basket to the next tee pad. It makes it difficult for a first timer to naviagate the course.

On one hole, you get to launch a bomb from the top of a hill. Many of the holes allow you to rip into the drive going for maximum distance. There were only a few trees that you really have to avoid.

I really enjoyed the design of this course and appreciated it more the second time I played. The cons that I listed kept me from giving it a 4. If I would rate the course soley on design, I would give it a 4.

***Edit***
A very active club has done a great job with this course. Many new pin positions and the grounds are very well taken care of. The course is in the process of having 2 set-ups. I am bumping my rating up from a 3.5 to a 4:).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyed the course

1    6/18/2008   6/18/2008
Review By: edge3281
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is brand new. There are alternate pin locations and the holes have nice signs showing where the baskets are as well as where the next tee off is located. There is some elevations changes that are nice. One hole you throw down a hill only to turn around on the next hole and play back up it. Also there is one hole that the basket is right at the edge of a large hill. You over shoot it and roll forever, which adds to the difficulty of the course.
Cons: I felt like I had to walk a good distance between most holes and they could have used the space to get a few more holes in. Two holes run next to a river that you can easily loose a disc in. This adds to the challenge of the course but with a very steep bank and very tall grass on the bank you might as well forget any disc that goes in there and you don't see exactly where it went in.
Other Thoughts: The course is designed so that you can play the front 9 or back 9 and start and finish at the parking lot. This makes it very nice if you don't have time for a full round or try to squeeze in some extra holes before you leave. I have played this course a few times now and I enjoy it more every time I play it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.