Elgin, TX 
Thomas Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8
3 / 165ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thomas Memorial Park

1    5/8/2011   5/10/2011
Review By: Mr. Yuck
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good course to take a 12 year old for their 1st round. SHORT holes. Not many trees to get in the way. Pretty open course. A picnic table and grill are obstacles on a hole.
Cons: SHORT!!! Who laid this course out? Not 1 hole over 300 ft. Tee signs were missing on half of the boxes. Had to worry about beginner throw going into a backyard on hole 1.
Other Thoughts: This could be a good pitch and putt course with just a little work. Played on a Sunday morning and did not see a single person in the park. Played a round with 2 beginners and 2 ams in about an hour.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  my back yard

2-4    3/18/2010   3/18/2010
Review By: liamcagle
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: no one is ever there,if you want a basket to throw at this is it, if your a lazy disc golfer very little walking is involved
Cons: this course i s crammed together not sure who came up with the layout but they dont play disc golf, also the hood that it is in becareful, lockup and dont be suprised if your approached to buy things you dont need
Other Thoughts: pulled into elgin memorial park and thought this is it and this is going to be a great course /come to find out I was in the wrong park , the disc golf course was in a smaller park about a 1/3 the size of elgin memorial after playing the course i could help but think if this course was moved to elgin memorial it would be a nice course to go out and play around on but until then dont waste your time or gas coming out to play this course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/24/2009   11/24/2009
Review By: AlexBradford
Played: 71  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.1 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well, for a pro, if you happen to be stuck in Elgin Texas for a day or so, you can at least have baskets to throw at.
Cons: The holes are way too short to challenge any one. Also, if there happens to be any other people in the park, you will likely have to skip a hole or two.

Hole 1 is also difficult to find the tee box. I figure you just start at the big sign between the play ground and the softball field.
Other Thoughts: Like I said, it at least gives you a place to play in Elgin. But if you have any additional time whatsoever, go to Metro East or Austin.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2008   9/29/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a couple of posted mandatories that are unusual and interesting. One creates a dogleg and takes away a wideopen 130' ace run hole. One creates a dogleg through a picnic area and has a warning not to follow the mandatory if someone is using the picnic area. There is one hole (#6) that is pretty technical with low canopies and OB on right. The other 6 holes are very short and open.
Cons: I never found Tee Pad #1 which is not a way to start a course. I found #3 and then backtracked to #2 but never found #1. There are no signs or maps posted anywhere to help and since noone plays this course you can't look for the usual warn spots.

The flow of the course is very confusing. It's basically three triangles with the 2nd two triangles overlapping. After the first triangle (hole 1-3) you have to walk around a baseball field to get to #4. After #8 you have to walk around the other side of the baseball field to get to #9.

The pin for hole 9 was right up by a playscape. Since there were kids playing and it was windy I had to skip #9.

The distances are super short. The longest is 235'. Most are 135'-175'.

This park is in a bad neighborhood. There were a couple of groups of local thugs sitting on the picnic tables smoking and drinking and listening to loud music. They actually yelled obsinaties at me as I was leaving.
Other Thoughts: I will never go back to this course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  small town course

6/16/2008   6/16/2008
Review By: sdrawkcabssa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very clean park, well marked holes, alot of parking.
Cons: the course had short holes, not very many obsticals to play around, no tee box on most of the holes.
Other Thoughts: easy to play and great for new comers to the sport.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.