Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #4
4 / 425ft.   4 / 564ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 A new Top Favorite

1    4/15/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment: 9.1 (out of 10)

Design
*From the Long tees this is a Gold level course, so it will test even the most highly skilled players. Even though my skill level is much lower (White level) I especially enjoy occasionally playing such high caliber courses as a way to gauge my game against what the best players would play.
*Fairways- have great shape variety and a very good mix of terrain. Some holes are fairly open and you can air it out, some have nice grass with scattered trees, some are classic tight woods holes needing lots of accuracy.
*Ideal Length variety- There's a smattering of lengths in every range! Blue tees: 2 <199/ 5 of 200-299/ 2 of 300-399/ 2 of 400-499/ 3 of 500-599/ 3 of 600-699/ 1 of 805. (Notice that 10 holes are over 400 ft.) The long holes are legitimate par 4s, so that adds variety too.
*Creek beds and water- There are creek beds on 15 holes! Not every creek had water in it, but these add to the beauty and when they have water in them they add to the challenge. It appears that the water levels vary throughout the year. You can also find a description of the water holes at my East Metro Course notes page.
*Beauty- I think the course is really beautiful in a rugged, Texas kind of way. Cacti mix with blue bonnets and old trees.
*Challenging greens- lots of protected baskets and risk vs. reward with stream beds or possible roll aways.

Basics
*Signs- Fantastic colorful Houck signs with good maps and everything you'd want on a sign.
*Tees- 2 sets of cements tees on 10 holes. 8 holes have 1 tee.
Cons:
Basics
-Maintenance. It was Spring, but quite a few fairways had knee deep grass covering the whole fairway. Even with good throws you could lose a disc right in the middle of the fairway if you didn't track it closely. This took a good deal of extra energy and added unnecessary tension. This is the biggest factor that lowered my enjoyment of the course.
-Navigation. Some baskets are hard to see, so the maps on the tee signs help a lot.
-Rough. It can be very thick and thorny in places.

Design
-Navigation. There are a few long walks to the next tees, most notably tee 16, but tees 9 and 2 were a hike too.

Amenities
-Course map. The online map needs improvement. It doesn't have any hole numbers, so it's a bit confusing to figure out. Plus it's rather drab.
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level = Gold (most suitable for Pro players rated >975)

~The course is new, but in time it would be good if they could add some more amenities like score cards, a practice basket, trash cans, and some benches.

East Metro is now in my Top Favorites category, so I can't wait to get back there again! My thanks go to the designer, Mike Olse, the builders, and everyone who works on it. I consider this a destination course and a "must play" in the Austin area, so it's worth making a long drive to play. If you have the chance, don't miss this course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 In the running for best TX course

1    5/29/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is not your father's disc golf course. This is not a simple Sunday stroll though the park. This is a course that will challenge your ability to throw a disc. Distances range from under 200' to over 800'. Lefty holes, righty holes, uphill and downhill... the balance of shots is just fantastic. To conquer this course you'll need a full repertoire of shots. The fairways are fair and the rough is rough. Realistic par 4's are sprinkled throughout this course. The tee signs are top notch HouckDesign quality. The park is beautifully maintained. There are restrooms in the park (though not near the course). Top quality DISCatcher baskets in good shape. Concrete tee pads that are large enough for a standard 3 step x-step run up. Long and short tees available (both concrete) make this course applicable to a wider range of players. Course is located away from other park activities so interference from non-disc golfers should be at a minimum. There are several trash cans along the course.
Cons:
If you throw a disc more than a few feet off the fairway into the rough prepare yourself for a Safari adventure through sharp/thorny/prickly fauna.

A few navigation issues will hinder first timers: we had issues going from #5 to #6 and then #15 to #16. Could use some next tee markers along the way. A printed map will help you but the one on DGCR right now could use some numbers instead of the color coding. Make note of the "Next Tee" arrows on the tee signs before you leave the box.
Other Thoughts:
This is a multi-use park with boatloads of other amenities (see the park website). Read the directions on DGCR for getting to the first tee once you enter the park.

Adding to the aesthetics of the course were several holes with creative hole numbers marked out, e.g. #5 has a large "5" built out of rocks; #9 has a "9" made from old fence wire hanging in the tree. How they got concrete back to some of the tee locations is really an impressive feat. We saw several small furry animals and a roadrunner, but luckily no snakes.

Definitely a destination course despite being off the beaten path in Austin.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 Course-Austin Area

2-4    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Superb mixture of tight tunnels and wide open and well groomed holes.
-Set in the tall grass prairie; rolling plains with a savanna like feel to it.
-Pro and Amateur tee boxes, plenty of trash cans and benches
- I love the holes that are well groomed and nice and long. Decent Elevation present
All in all, this course is a must play. Don't let my rattlesnake encounter scare you. I find it funny people give negative reviews on this site when someone is just trying to tell the truth.
Cons: It would be nice to see a few more benches as there are some long walks from hole to hole.
**Watch Your Step**
I saw a 5 foot Western Diamondback Rattlesnake that was resting on the fringe, just outside the fairway. My friend came really close to stepping on him, and the snake didn't rattle !!! I think they're learning not to rattle so be careful out there.
Ironically enough, just before seeing the beautiful serpent, I saw a plump looking cottontail rabbit hopping around about 10-15 yards away from where the snake was.
Other Thoughts: There is no question about it, East Metro Park definitely exhibits the characteristics of a world class course. Easily a top 5 course for Central Texas.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In My Top 5

1    12/19/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: LewisFlameworks
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even after touring the west coast, this one is in my top 5 favorite courses of all time. Beautiful from the first drive. Very clean and well maintained. Defined fairways that don't throw back on each other. Fairway grass was short when present and trees seemed to be trimmed up. Nice elevation changes throughout. Long deep drives and control are definitely a must, but your ability to have a good recovery shot is also important. While the fairways on most holes give a nice tunnel, if you shank one, its in the ROUGH.
Course plays smooth. Some holes are a little far apart and a little confusing for a first timer (#15>#16), but overall easy to follow. Nice signs and boxes.
I like how the creek runs through most of the course and some holes fairways almost have islands you throw to = makes precision a must. At least one water stroke is probable. And some of the pins have water backdrops so good putting is a plus.
Also, I like the variety of hole distances. While most holes here are big, there are some nice ace runs. Nice left and right shots, with a variety of wooded and open shots.
Hole 18= awesome! Nice deep open hole that you can open up on. Big elevation drop with creek on right side wrapping around the back of the pin.
Parking is free and right next to the first tee box so that is convenient.
Cons: Short tee boxes.
Maybe signs at end of hole 15 to help direct to 16
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the cactus and mesquite trees = OUCH!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Focus! feel the disc, be the disc

5+    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tough. If you can't aim you better stay at Zilker and not loose your discs in the Manor thicket course. However if you can aim or want to improve your needle threading abilities, this course should be just what the doctor ordered. Do you have a buddy that can drop 500' bombs but couldn't hit the broadside of a barn with a handful of corn and brags how good he is, take him out to Manor for a payback. Big and small trees in play as well as awesome water hazards and OBs.This is my 2nd favorite course, I chained a 185 footer for birdy on 15 then a 100 footer at 16 "back to back" on Christmas Day "CHING" Absolutely awesome course design, your first time here you'll be amazed as you step into the box. This isn't the place to bring a beginner by any means, but anyone who loves a challenging course or wants to test their abilities should have this one on there wish list.
Cons: Better wear your jeans and hiking boots, for when you toss a disc 5 ft off the fairway into where a rabbit couldn't go for all the cactus, mesquites, stickers and green briars. The county needs to go find out what the park maintanence guys are doing since they don't pick up trash or mow the course. It's not as rough during the winter or as overgrown. Needs benches and more trashcans
Other Thoughts: By the way, after you play #15 look to your left "opposite side of the fairway from the old house" there's a trail through the woods that takes you to #16. Walk through the woods to a small clearing where you will see a pond to your right, keep walking straight ahead, stay off the sidewalk. Go past the pond and behind the ponds dam is the tee box for 16

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ready to be Tested

2-4    9/4/2010   8/5/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From your first drive to the last putt, East Metro Park is a course that shouts there are no gimmies - you will be tested. Each hole forces you to pick a specific line or angle and demand accuracy. Don't confuse this with a pinball course where shots are more luck than skill. East Metro plays fair - it just simply demands more out of a player, which is what any high quality course should do.

Set in the outskirts of east Austin, the 273-acre East Metro Park is a multiple-use recreational area with recreational facilities, baseball fields, soccer fields, a covered basketball court, youth play areas, restrooms, hiking trails, and three fishing ponds. Basically, the entire family will be able to do something while you're out on the course, but keep in mind the course is not very stroller friendly.

Holes range from under 200' to over 800' and play various dogleg left and rights through open areas as well as tight terrain. There is a good canopy on many holes helping to protect you from the hot Austin sun, and dry creek bed that could be very interesting if it would ever rain. There are few OB areas, but an errant shot is usually penalized by playing your next shot from the prickly pear cactus that lines many of the fairways. Playing here - you fully understand what it means to be playing a round in Texas Hill Country.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #5; #10
Cons: Print a map because the course has multiple long walks between holes. As a caveat, the observant player will note that each sign has a convenient "to next tee" arrow, but even then watch for the transitions between holes #6 to #7, #8 to #9, and #15 to #16. Some of walks are unusually long, however the hill country scenery is great, so many will take it a grain of salt.

Also, even though the high quality tee signs are beautiful to look at, I continually wonder how accurate the distances are - this is something I am beginning to be aware of on most Houck signage courses I've played. Not a big con - just something a person should note. On the flip side, I have become an advocate of holes being labeled as more than just a par 3 based on their length and difficulty. It's a trend I hope will continue to grow throughout the disc golf society.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: While the finishing touches on East Metro may not be as polished as the newly revamped Circle C, any player will be thankful to have a shot at this monster. With both Circle R courses having limited public access - I believe with its concrete tees, undulating terrain, and great hole diversity, East Metro is the second best course in the Austin area, ranking only slightly lower than Circle C at Slaughter Creek. However, while rankings can be debated until your blue in the face - no one can argue that East Metro sets the bar high for any golfer and any course.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Big course in lil Manor.

5+    5/4/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Lots of trees, so not very windy. Concrete tee boxes!!! Not crowded during the week. Not much water. Great baskets with bridges and trails winding through the trees and creek beds.
Cons: Lots of trees to hit! The rough is real rough! We have seen multiple snakes on this course and been in the cactus plenty. Be careful playing this course. Keep it straight.
Other Thoughts: A 800+ foot hole. They seem to clean it up for tourneys and kinda let it go the rest of the time. In the fall and winter, it is not near as overgrown and makes it easier to find your disc. I have lost at least 2 in the brush, so watch it if you don't hit fairway. If hole one is crowded, drive to the other side of the park by the soccer fields and start at hole 11. It'll save you waiting on a big group sometimes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Metro East

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best course around here. This course is professional grade. Be prepared for long, VERy accurate drives with only one, maybe two, options at a drive. This course was well suited for all types of players.
Cons: Man, it was a tough one.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course

1    3/7/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 138  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course around Austin. It is extremely challenging and since we've started playing there it surpassed Wilco as my fave. The main reasons I find it superior are: elevation changes and it's a bit more diverse in shot selection (i.e. not as many lefty holes.) There are a few holes that could probably use some improvement but for the most part every round I finish I want to go immediately back and play it again.

The work that went into this course is really what makes it stand out. There are wooden bridges over the gullies and carved steps down into them for when your disc goes astray.

There are pro and am teepads on most holes. You'll need a wide variety of shots and discs to truly master this course. There are long uphill straight fairways littered with trees and LONG downhill fairways where wind comes into play and if you find yourself in the rough, you will pick up some strokes. You'll need some left and right turns shots, accuracy and power.

The players out here have probably driven 15-30 minutes to get to the course and everyone I've met there was extremely friendly and mindful of their group size.

This really is a the perfect course for a nice day trip with a couple rounds.
Cons: A bit of a drive but worth it. The only real cons I can think of is that some of the concrete tee pads are too short and their elevation makes it tricky on some of the pads. Honestly there are a couple that are a good foot+ short and they really should be fixed.

Rattlesnakes! Try to avoid playing at dusk in the summer. We saw 2 on the same day...that was the only time we saw them but they're out there. We also saw a fox on hole 8 one day. Hopefully he was eating some snakes. But he just looked at us for a second and then went on his way. Maybe that's a Pro not a con. But just be careful if you walk into the rough and make noise to scare off snakes.

Brambles and thorns are everywhere here. If you play a full round and don't get punctured somehow it's probably amazing. Even in the middle of the fairways there are some thorn trees.

There's a short hike from 15 to 16 that's really not very well marked and we had to walk around a bit the first time we played the course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself, as a few others have noted, is a huge area. When you enter the front gate, just stay on the main road until you're in the last parking area by the basketball courts. The first teeboxes are 40 or so feet from the end of the parking lot.

It seems like most of the people who really like this course had Wilco as their fave before this...so chances are, if you're a fan of Wilco, you'll like this course as well.

If this course were hours away I would still visit at least once a month. It's that good.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 wow what a gem!

1    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Big course,18 holes,good signage,2 tee boxes,trash cans at most tee pads,lots of short uphills and short down hills,lots of trees,cactus and other sticky things.All around nice park,good layout,fairly easy from one hole to the next.No bugs and only saw one snake.
Cons: Tee pads on some holes are more than a few feet away from each other,50 ft. or more,16th teepad is aways away from the 15th hole.Some say lots of trees and scrub brush.
Other Thoughts: This is now my favorite disc golf course,smack dab in the middle of the woods,this course will fill up soon.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.