Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #9
3 / 229ft.   3 / 229ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Focus! feel the disc, be the disc

5+    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tough. If you can't aim you better stay at Zilker and not loose your discs in the Manor thicket course. However if you can aim or want to improve your needle threading abilities, this course should be just what the doctor ordered. Do you have a buddy that can drop 500' bombs but couldn't hit the broadside of a barn with a handful of corn and brags how good he is, take him out to Manor for a payback. Big and small trees in play as well as awesome water hazards and OBs.This is my 2nd favorite course, I chained a 185 footer for birdy on 15 then a 100 footer at 16 "back to back" on Christmas Day "CHING" Absolutely awesome course design, your first time here you'll be amazed as you step into the box. This isn't the place to bring a beginner by any means, but anyone who loves a challenging course or wants to test their abilities should have this one on there wish list.
Cons: Better wear your jeans and hiking boots, for when you toss a disc 5 ft off the fairway into where a rabbit couldn't go for all the cactus, mesquites, stickers and green briars. The county needs to go find out what the park maintanence guys are doing since they don't pick up trash or mow the course. It's not as rough during the winter or as overgrown. Needs benches and more trashcans
Other Thoughts: By the way, after you play #15 look to your left "opposite side of the fairway from the old house" there's a trail through the woods that takes you to #16. Walk through the woods to a small clearing where you will see a pond to your right, keep walking straight ahead, stay off the sidewalk. Go past the pond and behind the ponds dam is the tee box for 16

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Prison golf

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 33.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
2 Helpful / 64 Not
Pros: Hole 1 was kinda nice. Just walk half the hole the first time to figure out where the basket is.
Cons: I have a severe case of tunnel-phobia. Only one throw required, low, strait and lucky. Close your eyes and throw. Hemophiliacs stay home its impossible to leave the rough without being cut from the thorns.
Other Thoughts: Brain dead course design. Its way too easy to design a "man that course kicked my ass" course. Try designing something fun to play next time. You don't need any new fast discs here, they just hit the trees faster. This design is for the beginner who can throw 250 and if he's lucky his pals will hit just as many trees as he does. Distance doesn't help at all. I've added one disc to this review because of all the grunting about it.

2 of 66 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ready to be Tested

2-4    9/4/2010   8/5/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 153  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From your first drive to the last putt, East Metro Park is a course that shouts there are no gimmies - you will be tested. Each hole forces you to pick a specific line or angle and demand accuracy. Don't confuse this with a pinball course where shots are more luck than skill. East Metro plays fair - it just simply demands more out of a player, which is what any high quality course should do.

Set in the outskirts of east Austin, the 273-acre East Metro Park is a multiple-use recreational area with recreational facilities, baseball fields, soccer fields, a covered basketball court, youth play areas, restrooms, hiking trails, and three fishing ponds. Basically, the entire family will be able to do something while you're out on the course, but keep in mind the course is not very stroller friendly.

Holes range from under 200' to over 800' and play various dogleg left and rights through open areas as well as tight terrain. There is a good canopy on many holes helping to protect you from the hot Austin sun, and dry creek bed that could be very interesting if it would ever rain. There are few OB areas, but an errant shot is usually penalized by playing your next shot from the prickly pear cactus that lines many of the fairways. Playing here - you fully understand what it means to be playing a round in Texas Hill Country.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #5; #10
Cons: Print a map because the course has multiple long walks between holes. As a caveat, the observant player will note that each sign has a convenient "to next tee" arrow, but even then watch for the transitions between holes #6 to #7, #8 to #9, and #15 to #16. Some of walks are unusually long, however the hill country scenery is great, so many will take it a grain of salt.

Also, even though the high quality tee signs are beautiful to look at, I continually wonder how accurate the distances are - this is something I am beginning to be aware of on most Houck signage courses I've played. Not a big con - just something a person should note. On the flip side, I have become an advocate of holes being labeled as more than just a par 3 based on their length and difficulty. It's a trend I hope will continue to grow throughout the disc golf society.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: While the finishing touches on East Metro may not be as polished as the newly revamped Circle C, any player will be thankful to have a shot at this monster. With both Circle R courses having limited public access - I believe with its concrete tees, undulating terrain, and great hole diversity, East Metro is the second best course in the Austin area, ranking only slightly lower than Circle C at Slaughter Creek. However, while rankings can be debated until your blue in the face - no one can argue that East Metro sets the bar high for any golfer and any course.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Big course in lil Manor.

5+    5/4/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Lots of trees, so not very windy. Concrete tee boxes!!! Not crowded during the week. Not much water. Great baskets with bridges and trails winding through the trees and creek beds.
Cons: Lots of trees to hit! The rough is real rough! We have seen multiple snakes on this course and been in the cactus plenty. Be careful playing this course. Keep it straight.
Other Thoughts: A 800+ foot hole. They seem to clean it up for tourneys and kinda let it go the rest of the time. In the fall and winter, it is not near as overgrown and makes it easier to find your disc. I have lost at least 2 in the brush, so watch it if you don't hit fairway. If hole one is crowded, drive to the other side of the park by the soccer fields and start at hole 11. It'll save you waiting on a big group sometimes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Metro East

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best course around here. This course is professional grade. Be prepared for long, VERy accurate drives with only one, maybe two, options at a drive. This course was well suited for all types of players.
Cons: Man, it was a tough one.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course

1    3/7/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 184  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course around Austin. It is extremely challenging and since we've started playing there it surpassed Wilco as my fave. The main reasons I find it superior are: elevation changes and it's a bit more diverse in shot selection (i.e. not as many lefty holes.) There are a few holes that could probably use some improvement but for the most part every round I finish I want to go immediately back and play it again.

The work that went into this course is really what makes it stand out. There are wooden bridges over the gullies and carved steps down into them for when your disc goes astray.

There are pro and am teepads on most holes. You'll need a wide variety of shots and discs to truly master this course. There are long uphill straight fairways littered with trees and LONG downhill fairways where wind comes into play and if you find yourself in the rough, you will pick up some strokes. You'll need some left and right turns shots, accuracy and power.

The players out here have probably driven 15-30 minutes to get to the course and everyone I've met there was extremely friendly and mindful of their group size.

This really is a the perfect course for a nice day trip with a couple rounds.
Cons: A bit of a drive but worth it. The only real cons I can think of is that some of the concrete tee pads are too short and their elevation makes it tricky on some of the pads. Honestly there are a couple that are a good foot+ short and they really should be fixed.

Rattlesnakes! Try to avoid playing at dusk in the summer. We saw 2 on the same day...that was the only time we saw them but they're out there. We also saw a fox on hole 8 one day. Hopefully he was eating some snakes. But he just looked at us for a second and then went on his way. Maybe that's a Pro not a con. But just be careful if you walk into the rough and make noise to scare off snakes.

Brambles and thorns are everywhere here. If you play a full round and don't get punctured somehow it's probably amazing. Even in the middle of the fairways there are some thorn trees.

There's a short hike from 15 to 16 that's really not very well marked and we had to walk around a bit the first time we played the course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself, as a few others have noted, is a huge area. When you enter the front gate, just stay on the main road until you're in the last parking area by the basketball courts. The first teeboxes are 40 or so feet from the end of the parking lot.

It seems like most of the people who really like this course had Wilco as their fave before this...so chances are, if you're a fan of Wilco, you'll like this course as well.

If this course were hours away I would still visit at least once a month. It's that good.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 wow what a gem!

1    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Big course,18 holes,good signage,2 tee boxes,trash cans at most tee pads,lots of short uphills and short down hills,lots of trees,cactus and other sticky things.All around nice park,good layout,fairly easy from one hole to the next.No bugs and only saw one snake.
Cons: Tee pads on some holes are more than a few feet away from each other,50 ft. or more,16th teepad is aways away from the 15th hole.Some say lots of trees and scrub brush.
Other Thoughts: This is now my favorite disc golf course,smack dab in the middle of the woods,this course will fill up soon.

 top course IMO

5+    3/6/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course combines distance with the need for accuracy. Many holes have several options for fairways. It is like the designer looked at shots for every throwing style and cut it out like a work of art in a scrubby brush riddled masterpiece. The course offers elevation changes, water hazards(without the water even) , left hand, right hand, annys, hyzers this course has it all. The scenery is not bad with the ocasional site of road runners and coyotes, around dusk you can here the coyotes getting fired up. Oh cant forget the cows to the right on hole 10s fairway. I have to say that hole 11 is my favorite, offering multiple throws through a semi-low ceiling of small diameter trees. this course is a blast and a must play.
Cons: during my last outing i ran into people hiking on the course fairway. waiting on slow groups
Other Thoughts: After having played this course everything i have played since seems like childs play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AWSOME!!

2-4    3/12/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 15.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my top 5 courses I have ever played. There are some super sweet holes throughout this course and about 5 of them are stuff to remember. This course challenges every shot in your bag and lots of holes are 2 and 3 placement shots just to get a chance to attack the pin. The little creek is nice that runs through most holes because it offers OB challenge and your not going to lose your plastic. Not anywhere else you can lose your disc unless you just throw an awful shot into the trees somewhere. Alot of wooded shots and a good mix of open boomers too. There is also a great mix of annys and hyzers which makes it rating go up for me too. This course will also test your mental game as well because you have to think and have to keep your head straight too because if you get upset the course will eat your lunch!!!
Cons: Short boxes and the long walk from 15's pin to 16 tee are the only two things that I can say are cons.
Other Thoughts: This course was built up to me and it lived up to everything I heard and then some!!! Bring everything you need because you dont come back to the parking lot again. We played the other day when it was 40, raining hard, and windy as crap....and STILL had a blast. That says alot for me!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL! Wonderful creek runs through most holes, mostly dry. New and very well maintained. Located in a beautiful city park with dense trees, cement tees some multiple. MY Favorite course at the moment.
Cons: Not many, The park has a curfew.
Other Thoughts: Nice bridges to cross creek and nets to warm up against. PLAY THIS COURSE

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.