Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #5
3 / 192ft.   3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Get Ready to be Tested

2-4    9/4/2010   8/5/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From your first drive to the last putt, East Metro Park is a course that shouts there are no gimmies - you will be tested. Each hole forces you to pick a specific line or angle and demand accuracy. Don't confuse this with a pinball course where shots are more luck than skill. East Metro plays fair - it just simply demands more out of a player, which is what any high quality course should do.

Set in the outskirts of east Austin, the 273-acre East Metro Park is a multiple-use recreational area with recreational facilities, baseball fields, soccer fields, a covered basketball court, youth play areas, restrooms, hiking trails, and three fishing ponds. Basically, the entire family will be able to do something while you're out on the course, but keep in mind the course is not very stroller friendly.

Holes range from under 200' to over 800' and play various dogleg left and rights through open areas as well as tight terrain. There is a good canopy on many holes helping to protect you from the hot Austin sun, and dry creek bed that could be very interesting if it would ever rain. There are few OB areas, but an errant shot is usually penalized by playing your next shot from the prickly pear cactus that lines many of the fairways. Playing here - you fully understand what it means to be playing a round in Texas Hill Country.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #5; #10
Cons: Print a map because the course has multiple long walks between holes. As a caveat, the observant player will note that each sign has a convenient "to next tee" arrow, but even then watch for the transitions between holes #6 to #7, #8 to #9, and #15 to #16. Some of walks are unusually long, however the hill country scenery is great, so many will take it a grain of salt.

Also, even though the high quality tee signs are beautiful to look at, I continually wonder how accurate the distances are - this is something I am beginning to be aware of on most Houck signage courses I've played. Not a big con - just something a person should note. On the flip side, I have become an advocate of holes being labeled as more than just a par 3 based on their length and difficulty. It's a trend I hope will continue to grow throughout the disc golf society.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: While the finishing touches on East Metro may not be as polished as the newly revamped Circle C, any player will be thankful to have a shot at this monster. With both Circle R courses having limited public access - I believe with its concrete tees, undulating terrain, and great hole diversity, East Metro is the second best course in the Austin area, ranking only slightly lower than Circle C at Slaughter Creek. However, while rankings can be debated until your blue in the face - no one can argue that East Metro sets the bar high for any golfer and any course.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Big course in lil Manor.

5+    5/4/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Lots of trees, so not very windy. Concrete tee boxes!!! Not crowded during the week. Not much water. Great baskets with bridges and trails winding through the trees and creek beds.
Cons: Lots of trees to hit! The rough is real rough! We have seen multiple snakes on this course and been in the cactus plenty. Be careful playing this course. Keep it straight.
Other Thoughts: A 800+ foot hole. They seem to clean it up for tourneys and kinda let it go the rest of the time. In the fall and winter, it is not near as overgrown and makes it easier to find your disc. I have lost at least 2 in the brush, so watch it if you don't hit fairway. If hole one is crowded, drive to the other side of the park by the soccer fields and start at hole 11. It'll save you waiting on a big group sometimes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Metro East

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best course around here. This course is professional grade. Be prepared for long, VERy accurate drives with only one, maybe two, options at a drive. This course was well suited for all types of players.
Cons: Man, it was a tough one.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course

1    3/7/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 151  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course around Austin. It is extremely challenging and since we've started playing there it surpassed Wilco as my fave. The main reasons I find it superior are: elevation changes and it's a bit more diverse in shot selection (i.e. not as many lefty holes.) There are a few holes that could probably use some improvement but for the most part every round I finish I want to go immediately back and play it again.

The work that went into this course is really what makes it stand out. There are wooden bridges over the gullies and carved steps down into them for when your disc goes astray.

There are pro and am teepads on most holes. You'll need a wide variety of shots and discs to truly master this course. There are long uphill straight fairways littered with trees and LONG downhill fairways where wind comes into play and if you find yourself in the rough, you will pick up some strokes. You'll need some left and right turns shots, accuracy and power.

The players out here have probably driven 15-30 minutes to get to the course and everyone I've met there was extremely friendly and mindful of their group size.

This really is a the perfect course for a nice day trip with a couple rounds.
Cons: A bit of a drive but worth it. The only real cons I can think of is that some of the concrete tee pads are too short and their elevation makes it tricky on some of the pads. Honestly there are a couple that are a good foot+ short and they really should be fixed.

Rattlesnakes! Try to avoid playing at dusk in the summer. We saw 2 on the same day...that was the only time we saw them but they're out there. We also saw a fox on hole 8 one day. Hopefully he was eating some snakes. But he just looked at us for a second and then went on his way. Maybe that's a Pro not a con. But just be careful if you walk into the rough and make noise to scare off snakes.

Brambles and thorns are everywhere here. If you play a full round and don't get punctured somehow it's probably amazing. Even in the middle of the fairways there are some thorn trees.

There's a short hike from 15 to 16 that's really not very well marked and we had to walk around a bit the first time we played the course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself, as a few others have noted, is a huge area. When you enter the front gate, just stay on the main road until you're in the last parking area by the basketball courts. The first teeboxes are 40 or so feet from the end of the parking lot.

It seems like most of the people who really like this course had Wilco as their fave before this...so chances are, if you're a fan of Wilco, you'll like this course as well.

If this course were hours away I would still visit at least once a month. It's that good.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 wow what a gem!

1    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Big course,18 holes,good signage,2 tee boxes,trash cans at most tee pads,lots of short uphills and short down hills,lots of trees,cactus and other sticky things.All around nice park,good layout,fairly easy from one hole to the next.No bugs and only saw one snake.
Cons: Tee pads on some holes are more than a few feet away from each other,50 ft. or more,16th teepad is aways away from the 15th hole.Some say lots of trees and scrub brush.
Other Thoughts: This is now my favorite disc golf course,smack dab in the middle of the woods,this course will fill up soon.

 top course IMO

5+    3/6/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course combines distance with the need for accuracy. Many holes have several options for fairways. It is like the designer looked at shots for every throwing style and cut it out like a work of art in a scrubby brush riddled masterpiece. The course offers elevation changes, water hazards(without the water even) , left hand, right hand, annys, hyzers this course has it all. The scenery is not bad with the ocasional site of road runners and coyotes, around dusk you can here the coyotes getting fired up. Oh cant forget the cows to the right on hole 10s fairway. I have to say that hole 11 is my favorite, offering multiple throws through a semi-low ceiling of small diameter trees. this course is a blast and a must play.
Cons: during my last outing i ran into people hiking on the course fairway. waiting on slow groups
Other Thoughts: After having played this course everything i have played since seems like childs play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AWSOME!!

2-4    3/12/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 129  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 14.1 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my top 5 courses I have ever played. There are some super sweet holes throughout this course and about 5 of them are stuff to remember. This course challenges every shot in your bag and lots of holes are 2 and 3 placement shots just to get a chance to attack the pin. The little creek is nice that runs through most holes because it offers OB challenge and your not going to lose your plastic. Not anywhere else you can lose your disc unless you just throw an awful shot into the trees somewhere. Alot of wooded shots and a good mix of open boomers too. There is also a great mix of annys and hyzers which makes it rating go up for me too. This course will also test your mental game as well because you have to think and have to keep your head straight too because if you get upset the course will eat your lunch!!!
Cons: Short boxes and the long walk from 15's pin to 16 tee are the only two things that I can say are cons.
Other Thoughts: This course was built up to me and it lived up to everything I heard and then some!!! Bring everything you need because you dont come back to the parking lot again. We played the other day when it was 40, raining hard, and windy as crap....and STILL had a blast. That says alot for me!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL! Wonderful creek runs through most holes, mostly dry. New and very well maintained. Located in a beautiful city park with dense trees, cement tees some multiple. MY Favorite course at the moment.
Cons: Not many, The park has a curfew.
Other Thoughts: Nice bridges to cross creek and nets to warm up against. PLAY THIS COURSE

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Design

1    2/15/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.9 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To say that this course is challenging is a vast understatement. It is the most difficult course I've ever played. That could be a bad thing on some courses that just try to be difficult for the sake of being difficult like at Old Settlers where they just make every hole absurdly long. On this course, every hole is difficult for a different reason.

There are some truly memorable holes on this course and the pin locations are the best and most challenging placements I've ever seen. One of the pins is on this little "island" in the nook of the creek, another on the side of a hill above the creek, another guarded by leaning oaks, and the list just goes on.

There's this hole on the back 9, I think it's hole 17, that has a blind bend to the left and you better make sure your disc turns in time because if it doesn't it will head straight into a huge cactus. I thought it was pretty tricky to avoid that cactus, but as I made the turn around the bend the entire fairway was just dotted with these enormous cactus patches, including a huge one directly behind the pin. I just stared in awe as I tried to line my shot up to avoid the patches. It was ridiculous-- in the best possible sense of the word. I'd never seen anything like it, and likely never will again, at least until the next time I play this course.

Another great feature of this course are the multiple paths/fairways that some of the holes offer. There's huge risk/reward payoffs on many of the holes. Can you drive it long and straight enough to make it to the "2nd fairway" which has a much easier path to the basket, or do you decide to play it safe and lay it up in the "1st fairway" which makes your 2nd shot more difficult? There's so many different ways to play some of these holes that it really makes you want to play this course over and over, especially when your first choice doesn't work out so hot.

Also, there are very nice bridges and non-invasive wood steps built into the natural slopes. There are few courses that have enjoyed this level of attention to every aspect of the design. Major props to the designer Mike Olse.

The new signs are the nicest I've seen and really help on the blind shots as well as determining where the next tee box is.

The park that it's in is just enormous. It rivals the size of Zilker and seems to have more amenities than Zilker, such as a kiddie water park, multiple covered basketball courts, soccer fields, baseball, playgrounds, restrooms, and so on. However, none of this gets in the way of the disc golf course and there is zero pedestrian traffic on the course.
Cons: As people have mentioned, some of the tee boxes are a bit short with some of them having significant drop-offs at the end of them. There needs to be more trash cans along the course. People would just throw their beer cans or water bottles in pile at the tee box which is really an eye-sore on such a natural and rugged course. I had to carry my empty for 5 holes before I came across a trash can.

I don't consider the cacti a con as some others have. To me, it adds to the course's challenge and uniqueness.
Other Thoughts: I'm only a recreational player, but this course seems like it would challenge even the pros. I wouldn't be surprised to see this course included in one of the major touring leagues. It's just that good.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Just a GREAT course

2-4    2/6/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: forker
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I spent the last few days trying to come up something else to say about this course; it's all been said in previous reviews. But this course is worth reiterating just how fun it is to play. And now I'm not ashamed to say I grew up in Manor. All they need now is a Dairy Queen and they could be a real Texas small town. But I digress.

Being out of the way as it is, crowds are usually low. Expect this to change though as the word gets out. I'm not that skilled in the art of disc golf, this course repeatedly reminds me. The trees resonate with constant "thonks" of disc-meet-tree, and you can't help but smile.
Cons: Yeah, short tee boxes, long walk, but with the scenery, you really don't notice until the walk to 16. Other than the field mice, I haven't seen much wildlife, but I did find a five foot snake skin while locating an arrant disc. Keep an eye on where you put your foot.
Other Thoughts: This course just has to be played to really be appreciated. The drive from Austin is not to bad. Between carpooling and drink stops, still only take me about 30 minutes from Round Rock.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.