Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #12
4 / 377ft.   4 / 492ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 12 Tee SIgn



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A new Top Favorite

1    4/15/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
22 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
My Enjoyment: 9.1 (out of 10)

Design
*From the Long tees this is a Gold level course, so it will test even the most highly skilled players. Even though my skill level is much lower (White level) I especially enjoy occasionally playing such high caliber courses as a way to gauge my game against what the best players would play.
*Fairways- have great shape variety and a very good mix of terrain. Some holes are fairly open and you can air it out, some have nice grass with scattered trees, some are classic tight woods holes needing lots of accuracy.
*Ideal Length variety- There's a smattering of lengths in every range! Blue tees: 2 <199/ 5 of 200-299/ 2 of 300-399/ 2 of 400-499/ 3 of 500-599/ 3 of 600-699/ 1 of 805. (Notice that 10 holes are over 400 ft.) The long holes are legitimate par 4s, so that adds variety too.
*Creek beds and water- There are creek beds on 15 holes! Not every creek had water in it, but these add to the beauty and when they have water in them they add to the challenge. It appears that the water levels vary throughout the year. You can also find a description of the water holes at my East Metro Course notes page.
*Beauty- I think the course is really beautiful in a rugged, Texas kind of way. Cacti mix with blue bonnets and old trees.
*Challenging greens- lots of protected baskets and risk vs. reward with stream beds or possible roll aways.

Basics
*Signs- Fantastic colorful Houck signs with good maps and everything you'd want on a sign.
*Tees- 2 sets of cements tees on 10 holes. 8 holes have 1 tee.
Cons:
Basics
-Maintenance. It was Spring, but quite a few fairways had knee deep grass covering the whole fairway. Even with good throws you could lose a disc right in the middle of the fairway if you didn't track it closely. This took a good deal of extra energy and added unnecessary tension. This is the biggest factor that lowered my enjoyment of the course.
-Navigation. Some baskets are hard to see, so the maps on the tee signs help a lot.
-Rough. It can be very thick and thorny in places.

Design
-Navigation. There are a few long walks to the next tees, most notably tee 16, but tees 9 and 2 were a hike too.

Amenities
-Course map. The online map needs improvement. It doesn't have any hole numbers, so it's a bit confusing to figure out. Plus it's rather drab.
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level = Gold (most suitable for Pro players rated >975)

~The course is new, but in time it would be good if they could add some more amenities like score cards, a practice basket, trash cans, and some benches.

East Metro is now in my Top Favorites category, so I can't wait to get back there again! My thanks go to the designer, Mike Olse, the builders, and everyone who works on it. I consider this a destination course and a "must play" in the Austin area, so it's worth making a long drive to play. If you have the chance, don't miss this course!

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my reviews and rating notes at the Yahoo Group, DG Course Reviews

22 of 23 people found this review helpful.

 In the running for best TX course

1    5/29/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.8 Years
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This is not your father's disc golf course. This is not a simple Sunday stroll though the park. This is a course that will challenge your ability to throw a disc. Distances range from under 200' to over 800'. Lefty holes, righty holes, uphill and downhill... the balance of shots is just fantastic. To conquer this course you'll need a full repertoire of shots. The fairways are fair and the rough is rough. Realistic par 4's are sprinkled throughout this course. The tee signs are top notch HouckDesign quality. The park is beautifully maintained. There are restrooms in the park (though not near the course). Top quality DISCatcher baskets in good shape. Concrete tee pads that are large enough for a standard 3 step x-step run up. Long and short tees available (both concrete) make this course applicable to a wider range of players. Course is located away from other park activities so interference from non-disc golfers should be at a minimum. There are several trash cans along the course.
Cons:
If you throw a disc more than a few feet off the fairway into the rough prepare yourself for a Safari adventure through sharp/thorny/prickly fauna.

A few navigation issues will hinder first timers: we had issues going from #5 to #6 and then #15 to #16. Could use some next tee markers along the way. A printed map will help you but the one on DGCR right now could use some numbers instead of the color coding. Make note of the "Next Tee" arrows on the tee signs before you leave the box.
Other Thoughts:
This is a multi-use park with boatloads of other amenities (see the park website). Read the directions on DGCR for getting to the first tee once you enter the park.

Adding to the aesthetics of the course were several holes with creative hole numbers marked out, e.g. #5 has a large "5" built out of rocks; #9 has a "9" made from old fence wire hanging in the tree. How they got concrete back to some of the tee locations is really an impressive feat. We saw several small furry animals and a roadrunner, but luckily no snakes.

Definitely a destination course despite being off the beaten path in Austin.

17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Manor-Mania

1    5/27/2010   5/28/2010
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.6 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is very challenging and quite long but playing conservative is also a good game plan for those looking to remain "in the hunt". Trying to be aggressive can lead to amazing scores like the designer, Mike Olse's 55 or it could lead to MANY MANY 5s,6s, and even the possibility of 8s and more,

Good shots are rewarded by better looks to the pin on the par 4 and 5s and on the shorter holes a accurate smooth throw will leave you with a birdie putt.

One thing I like about this course is the different mindset the designer had when it came to the par 3s. Most of the par 3s are 260 or under with 3 or so being <220ft but these holes bring very definite lines into play that you either hit or kick off leaving a tough upshot.

Every shot in the bag is needed and no one shot is constantly repeated with the course favoring neither a righty or lefty but the player who plays the smartest, chooses the right time to attack, and executes their shots.
Cons: The terrain if somewhat rough with small rocks and such that are common to the Texas Hill Country along with prickly trees and underbrush that can leave you bloodied and you discs missing.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for competitive golf but I don't think I would make it my casual course of choice (especially in the hot Texas summer) but if you do it will only improve your game

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Top ten!

1    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: dustingrodriguez
Played: 29  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excelent layout with good elevation change. Accuracy and distance a must if you want to shoot near par. Great scenery and challenging holes made this course one of my top 10! In my opinion, one of the best maintained courses outside of pay to play courses. Nice trimmed fairways, clear walking paths, clean t boxes, and nice hole signs. Fun and technical course!
Cons: FIRE ANTS!!!! watch out for ant hills, they are nasty! and a small bee hive on 17! they dont mess with you if you dont mess with them. LOTS of nature so be carefull around brush and in the woods. Wear shoes with good grip after rain because some of the banks are kind of muddy.
Other Thoughts: Will deffinately play this course many more times! Love to play all over the state, this is one of the best so far!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top 5 Course-Austin Area

2-4    4/28/2010   4/29/2010
Review By: Overhanding4distance
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Superb mixture of tight tunnels and wide open and well groomed holes.
-Set in the tall grass prairie; rolling plains with a savanna like feel to it.
-Pro and Amateur tee boxes, plenty of trash cans and benches
- I love the holes that are well groomed and nice and long. Decent Elevation present
All in all, this course is a must play. Don't let my rattlesnake encounter scare you. I find it funny people give negative reviews on this site when someone is just trying to tell the truth.
Cons: It would be nice to see a few more benches as there are some long walks from hole to hole.
**Watch Your Step**
I saw a 5 foot Western Diamondback Rattlesnake that was resting on the fringe, just outside the fairway. My friend came really close to stepping on him, and the snake didn't rattle !!! I think they're learning not to rattle so be careful out there.
Ironically enough, just before seeing the beautiful serpent, I saw a plump looking cottontail rabbit hopping around about 10-15 yards away from where the snake was.
Other Thoughts: There is no question about it, East Metro Park definitely exhibits the characteristics of a world class course. Easily a top 5 course for Central Texas.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In My Top 5

1    12/19/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: LewisFlameworks
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/21/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even after touring the west coast, this one is in my top 5 favorite courses of all time. Beautiful from the first drive. Very clean and well maintained. Defined fairways that don't throw back on each other. Fairway grass was short when present and trees seemed to be trimmed up. Nice elevation changes throughout. Long deep drives and control are definitely a must, but your ability to have a good recovery shot is also important. While the fairways on most holes give a nice tunnel, if you shank one, its in the ROUGH.
Course plays smooth. Some holes are a little far apart and a little confusing for a first timer (#15>#16), but overall easy to follow. Nice signs and boxes.
I like how the creek runs through most of the course and some holes fairways almost have islands you throw to = makes precision a must. At least one water stroke is probable. And some of the pins have water backdrops so good putting is a plus.
Also, I like the variety of hole distances. While most holes here are big, there are some nice ace runs. Nice left and right shots, with a variety of wooded and open shots.
Hole 18= awesome! Nice deep open hole that you can open up on. Big elevation drop with creek on right side wrapping around the back of the pin.
Parking is free and right next to the first tee box so that is convenient.
Cons: Short tee boxes.
Maybe signs at end of hole 15 to help direct to 16
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the cactus and mesquite trees = OUCH!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Focus! feel the disc, be the disc

5+    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: mc lazer
Played: 28  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/29/2009
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tough. If you can't aim you better stay at Zilker and not loose your discs in the Manor thicket course. However if you can aim or want to improve your needle threading abilities, this course should be just what the doctor ordered. Do you have a buddy that can drop 500' bombs but couldn't hit the broadside of a barn with a handful of corn and brags how good he is, take him out to Manor for a payback. Big and small trees in play as well as awesome water hazards and OBs.This is my 2nd favorite course, I chained a 185 footer for birdy on 15 then a 100 footer at 16 "back to back" on Christmas Day "CHING" Absolutely awesome course design, your first time here you'll be amazed as you step into the box. This isn't the place to bring a beginner by any means, but anyone who loves a challenging course or wants to test their abilities should have this one on there wish list.
Cons: Better wear your jeans and hiking boots, for when you toss a disc 5 ft off the fairway into where a rabbit couldn't go for all the cactus, mesquites, stickers and green briars. The county needs to go find out what the park maintanence guys are doing since they don't pick up trash or mow the course. It's not as rough during the winter or as overgrown. Needs benches and more trashcans
Other Thoughts: By the way, after you play #15 look to your left "opposite side of the fairway from the old house" there's a trail through the woods that takes you to #16. Walk through the woods to a small clearing where you will see a pond to your right, keep walking straight ahead, stay off the sidewalk. Go past the pond and behind the ponds dam is the tee box for 16

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Prison golf

1    8/30/2009   8/31/2009
Review By: osbogosley
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 31.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2010
2 Helpful / 62 Not
Pros: Hole 1 was kinda nice. Just walk half the hole the first time to figure out where the basket is.
Cons: I have a severe case of tunnel-phobia. Only one throw required, low, strait and lucky. Close your eyes and throw. Hemophiliacs stay home its impossible to leave the rough without being cut from the thorns.
Other Thoughts: Brain dead course design. Its way too easy to design a "man that course kicked my ass" course. Try designing something fun to play next time. You don't need any new fast discs here, they just hit the trees faster. This design is for the beginner who can throw 250 and if he's lucky his pals will hit just as many trees as he does. Distance doesn't help at all. I've added one disc to this review because of all the grunting about it.

2 of 64 people found this review helpful.

 Get Ready to be Tested

2-4    9/4/2010   8/5/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/7/2010
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: From your first drive to the last putt, East Metro Park is a course that shouts there are no gimmies - you will be tested. Each hole forces you to pick a specific line or angle and demand accuracy. Don't confuse this with a pinball course where shots are more luck than skill. East Metro plays fair - it just simply demands more out of a player, which is what any high quality course should do.

Set in the outskirts of east Austin, the 273-acre East Metro Park is a multiple-use recreational area with recreational facilities, baseball fields, soccer fields, a covered basketball court, youth play areas, restrooms, hiking trails, and three fishing ponds. Basically, the entire family will be able to do something while you're out on the course, but keep in mind the course is not very stroller friendly.

Holes range from under 200' to over 800' and play various dogleg left and rights through open areas as well as tight terrain. There is a good canopy on many holes helping to protect you from the hot Austin sun, and dry creek bed that could be very interesting if it would ever rain. There are few OB areas, but an errant shot is usually penalized by playing your next shot from the prickly pear cactus that lines many of the fairways. Playing here - you fully understand what it means to be playing a round in Texas Hill Country.

BEST HOLE/S: #4; #5; #10
Cons: Print a map because the course has multiple long walks between holes. As a caveat, the observant player will note that each sign has a convenient "to next tee" arrow, but even then watch for the transitions between holes #6 to #7, #8 to #9, and #15 to #16. Some of walks are unusually long, however the hill country scenery is great, so many will take it a grain of salt.

Also, even though the high quality tee signs are beautiful to look at, I continually wonder how accurate the distances are - this is something I am beginning to be aware of on most Houck signage courses I've played. Not a big con - just something a person should note. On the flip side, I have become an advocate of holes being labeled as more than just a par 3 based on their length and difficulty. It's a trend I hope will continue to grow throughout the disc golf society.

WORST HOLE/S: #13; #14
Other Thoughts: While the finishing touches on East Metro may not be as polished as the newly revamped Circle C, any player will be thankful to have a shot at this monster. With both Circle R courses having limited public access - I believe with its concrete tees, undulating terrain, and great hole diversity, East Metro is the second best course in the Austin area, ranking only slightly lower than Circle C at Slaughter Creek. However, while rankings can be debated until your blue in the face - no one can argue that East Metro sets the bar high for any golfer and any course.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Big course in lil Manor.

5+    5/4/2009   5/15/2009
Review By: sam_puck
Played: 21  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Lots of trees, so not very windy. Concrete tee boxes!!! Not crowded during the week. Not much water. Great baskets with bridges and trails winding through the trees and creek beds.
Cons: Lots of trees to hit! The rough is real rough! We have seen multiple snakes on this course and been in the cactus plenty. Be careful playing this course. Keep it straight.
Other Thoughts: A 800+ foot hole. They seem to clean it up for tourneys and kinda let it go the rest of the time. In the fall and winter, it is not near as overgrown and makes it easier to find your disc. I have lost at least 2 in the brush, so watch it if you don't hit fairway. If hole one is crowded, drive to the other side of the park by the soccer fields and start at hole 11. It'll save you waiting on a big group sometimes.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.