Manor, TX 
East Metro Park Share
Uploaded By: jdawg2008 Hole #5
3 / 192ft.   3 / 192ft. Par / Distance:
Hole 5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Metro East

1    4/19/2009   4/20/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Quite possibly the best course around here. This course is professional grade. Be prepared for long, VERy accurate drives with only one, maybe two, options at a drive. This course was well suited for all types of players.
Cons: Man, it was a tough one.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course

1    3/7/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: Dude
Played: 139  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is my favorite course around Austin. It is extremely challenging and since we've started playing there it surpassed Wilco as my fave. The main reasons I find it superior are: elevation changes and it's a bit more diverse in shot selection (i.e. not as many lefty holes.) There are a few holes that could probably use some improvement but for the most part every round I finish I want to go immediately back and play it again.

The work that went into this course is really what makes it stand out. There are wooden bridges over the gullies and carved steps down into them for when your disc goes astray.

There are pro and am teepads on most holes. You'll need a wide variety of shots and discs to truly master this course. There are long uphill straight fairways littered with trees and LONG downhill fairways where wind comes into play and if you find yourself in the rough, you will pick up some strokes. You'll need some left and right turns shots, accuracy and power.

The players out here have probably driven 15-30 minutes to get to the course and everyone I've met there was extremely friendly and mindful of their group size.

This really is a the perfect course for a nice day trip with a couple rounds.
Cons: A bit of a drive but worth it. The only real cons I can think of is that some of the concrete tee pads are too short and their elevation makes it tricky on some of the pads. Honestly there are a couple that are a good foot+ short and they really should be fixed.

Rattlesnakes! Try to avoid playing at dusk in the summer. We saw 2 on the same day...that was the only time we saw them but they're out there. We also saw a fox on hole 8 one day. Hopefully he was eating some snakes. But he just looked at us for a second and then went on his way. Maybe that's a Pro not a con. But just be careful if you walk into the rough and make noise to scare off snakes.

Brambles and thorns are everywhere here. If you play a full round and don't get punctured somehow it's probably amazing. Even in the middle of the fairways there are some thorn trees.

There's a short hike from 15 to 16 that's really not very well marked and we had to walk around a bit the first time we played the course.
Other Thoughts: The park itself, as a few others have noted, is a huge area. When you enter the front gate, just stay on the main road until you're in the last parking area by the basketball courts. The first teeboxes are 40 or so feet from the end of the parking lot.

It seems like most of the people who really like this course had Wilco as their fave before this...so chances are, if you're a fan of Wilco, you'll like this course as well.

If this course were hours away I would still visit at least once a month. It's that good.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 wow what a gem!

1    3/20/2009   3/20/2009
Review By: produce guy
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Big course,18 holes,good signage,2 tee boxes,trash cans at most tee pads,lots of short uphills and short down hills,lots of trees,cactus and other sticky things.All around nice park,good layout,fairly easy from one hole to the next.No bugs and only saw one snake.
Cons: Tee pads on some holes are more than a few feet away from each other,50 ft. or more,16th teepad is aways away from the 15th hole.Some say lots of trees and scrub brush.
Other Thoughts: This is now my favorite disc golf course,smack dab in the middle of the woods,this course will fill up soon.

 top course IMO

5+    3/6/2009   3/19/2009
Review By: teebob
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2009
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course combines distance with the need for accuracy. Many holes have several options for fairways. It is like the designer looked at shots for every throwing style and cut it out like a work of art in a scrubby brush riddled masterpiece. The course offers elevation changes, water hazards(without the water even) , left hand, right hand, annys, hyzers this course has it all. The scenery is not bad with the ocasional site of road runners and coyotes, around dusk you can here the coyotes getting fired up. Oh cant forget the cows to the right on hole 10s fairway. I have to say that hole 11 is my favorite, offering multiple throws through a semi-low ceiling of small diameter trees. this course is a blast and a must play.
Cons: during my last outing i ran into people hiking on the course fairway. waiting on slow groups
Other Thoughts: After having played this course everything i have played since seems like childs play.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AWSOME!!

2-4    3/12/2009   3/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: One of my top 5 courses I have ever played. There are some super sweet holes throughout this course and about 5 of them are stuff to remember. This course challenges every shot in your bag and lots of holes are 2 and 3 placement shots just to get a chance to attack the pin. The little creek is nice that runs through most holes because it offers OB challenge and your not going to lose your plastic. Not anywhere else you can lose your disc unless you just throw an awful shot into the trees somewhere. Alot of wooded shots and a good mix of open boomers too. There is also a great mix of annys and hyzers which makes it rating go up for me too. This course will also test your mental game as well because you have to think and have to keep your head straight too because if you get upset the course will eat your lunch!!!
Cons: Short boxes and the long walk from 15's pin to 16 tee are the only two things that I can say are cons.
Other Thoughts: This course was built up to me and it lived up to everything I heard and then some!!! Bring everything you need because you dont come back to the parking lot again. We played the other day when it was 40, raining hard, and windy as crap....and STILL had a blast. That says alot for me!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    2/22/2009   2/22/2009
Review By: biggio1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: BEAUTIFUL! Wonderful creek runs through most holes, mostly dry. New and very well maintained. Located in a beautiful city park with dense trees, cement tees some multiple. MY Favorite course at the moment.
Cons: Not many, The park has a curfew.
Other Thoughts: Nice bridges to cross creek and nets to warm up against. PLAY THIS COURSE

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Design

1    2/15/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: skurf
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 12.1 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: To say that this course is challenging is a vast understatement. It is the most difficult course I've ever played. That could be a bad thing on some courses that just try to be difficult for the sake of being difficult like at Old Settlers where they just make every hole absurdly long. On this course, every hole is difficult for a different reason.

There are some truly memorable holes on this course and the pin locations are the best and most challenging placements I've ever seen. One of the pins is on this little "island" in the nook of the creek, another on the side of a hill above the creek, another guarded by leaning oaks, and the list just goes on.

There's this hole on the back 9, I think it's hole 17, that has a blind bend to the left and you better make sure your disc turns in time because if it doesn't it will head straight into a huge cactus. I thought it was pretty tricky to avoid that cactus, but as I made the turn around the bend the entire fairway was just dotted with these enormous cactus patches, including a huge one directly behind the pin. I just stared in awe as I tried to line my shot up to avoid the patches. It was ridiculous-- in the best possible sense of the word. I'd never seen anything like it, and likely never will again, at least until the next time I play this course.

Another great feature of this course are the multiple paths/fairways that some of the holes offer. There's huge risk/reward payoffs on many of the holes. Can you drive it long and straight enough to make it to the "2nd fairway" which has a much easier path to the basket, or do you decide to play it safe and lay it up in the "1st fairway" which makes your 2nd shot more difficult? There's so many different ways to play some of these holes that it really makes you want to play this course over and over, especially when your first choice doesn't work out so hot.

Also, there are very nice bridges and non-invasive wood steps built into the natural slopes. There are few courses that have enjoyed this level of attention to every aspect of the design. Major props to the designer Mike Olse.

The new signs are the nicest I've seen and really help on the blind shots as well as determining where the next tee box is.

The park that it's in is just enormous. It rivals the size of Zilker and seems to have more amenities than Zilker, such as a kiddie water park, multiple covered basketball courts, soccer fields, baseball, playgrounds, restrooms, and so on. However, none of this gets in the way of the disc golf course and there is zero pedestrian traffic on the course.
Cons: As people have mentioned, some of the tee boxes are a bit short with some of them having significant drop-offs at the end of them. There needs to be more trash cans along the course. People would just throw their beer cans or water bottles in pile at the tee box which is really an eye-sore on such a natural and rugged course. I had to carry my empty for 5 holes before I came across a trash can.

I don't consider the cacti a con as some others have. To me, it adds to the course's challenge and uniqueness.
Other Thoughts: I'm only a recreational player, but this course seems like it would challenge even the pros. I wouldn't be surprised to see this course included in one of the major touring leagues. It's just that good.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Just a GREAT course

2-4    2/6/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: forker
Played: 24  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I spent the last few days trying to come up something else to say about this course; it's all been said in previous reviews. But this course is worth reiterating just how fun it is to play. And now I'm not ashamed to say I grew up in Manor. All they need now is a Dairy Queen and they could be a real Texas small town. But I digress.

Being out of the way as it is, crowds are usually low. Expect this to change though as the word gets out. I'm not that skilled in the art of disc golf, this course repeatedly reminds me. The trees resonate with constant "thonks" of disc-meet-tree, and you can't help but smile.
Cons: Yeah, short tee boxes, long walk, but with the scenery, you really don't notice until the walk to 16. Other than the field mice, I haven't seen much wildlife, but I did find a five foot snake skin while locating an arrant disc. Keep an eye on where you put your foot.
Other Thoughts: This course just has to be played to really be appreciated. The drive from Austin is not to bad. Between carpooling and drink stops, still only take me about 30 minutes from Round Rock.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Captures the best of Texas disc golf all in just 18 holes.

1    1/18/2009   1/21/2009
Review By: t i m
Played: 214  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2009
19 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In Short: This is Texas disc golf at it's best.

The terrain really captures the heart of Texas in it's look and feel. The course creates that atmosphere and proclaims it loud and without any apology. Some of the best Texas courses (like the two courses at Lester Lorch in Cedar Hill), are rolling green and beautiful and feel more like the Carolinas than they do like Texas... On the other hand, the setting for East Metro Park includes rugged hills, abundant cacti (cactuses), mesquite trees (and lots of other, larger trees), dry grass, dusty trails, rocky creekbeds, wild wind, blazing sun, circling buzzards, and 18 holes of knock-your-socks off disc golf that will leave you begging for more.

The Michael Olse-designed course features a beginner and pro layout and separate concrete tees for each on most holes. Signage is excellent throughout most of the course, and it's easy to tell from the tees where the baskets are going to be. It appears that thousands of hours of work have gone into designing the course, defining the fairways, building steps and bridges, and generally bringing the most out of what might otherwise seem to be just another lonely stretch of desolate Texas hill country.

The course is an unusual mix of short, medium and long holes. Pro tees range in length from 170' to 805', with six holes 250' or less, six holes between 251-550', and the remaining six holes over 550'. So there are plenty of deuce opportunities, even from the pro tees, but none of them are gimmes. The shorter holes tend to be tight shots near creekbeds and down narrow alleys of trees; the longer holes tend to have wide, fair alleys with plenty of room to air-it-out, but dense underbrush that will penalize any big shots that aren't well placed. The mix of tee shots is awesome -- and appropriate for players of all skill levels, thanks to the two sets of tees -- but it will challenge even the best players in the world to stay on their game on every shot.

Memorable holes include #8 -- 805' feet downhill in a medium-sized fairway with dense brush on both sides -- a hole that is better for a Roc than for a driver, but taunts your greed and leaves you wishing you had better sense. #10, which is 550+' out of a lightly treed cage into an open field with an approach into trees to fast-sloping green with sharp dropoffs on three sides. #17, which is 640' uphill and around an L-shaped left turn with hundreds of cacti lining the fairway and helping guard the approach to the basket. And, not to leave out the short holes, #5 - A 192' shot over a creekbed and down a densely-tree lined peninsula with more creekbed on both sides; this hole will make you want to laugh, cry, then rip ever putter and midrange in your bag up the tight fairway, trying for glory.

East Metro Park is more than just a stellar disc golf course. We didn't fully explore the options, but the basketball and tennis pavilions near the start of the course were fantastic -- among the best I've seen at any park anywhere. Playground and restroom facilities are brand new, convenient, and well-designed. The fishing pond (catch-and-release only) is beautiful with the cool water adding some moisture to the hot, dry Texas wind. This is a park I wish I had had more time to explore, but a family could easily make this an all-day destination.

I know there are pros I'm forgetting, but I know a lot of the minutiae are covered in some of the other reviews, so I'm not too worried about all the fine points. I think capturing the feel of the place is perhaps most important and is the angle that hasn't been achieved yet in reviews for this course.

I'll make it simple: If someone were visiting Texas and could only play one course in the state, East Metro Park (Manor) would be the best course I know of to show them what Texas disc golf can and should be. The rugged glory is very different from the lush, green beauty of courses in other parts of the country, but this course is boldly, unashamedly Texas, and that's something it can be proud of.
Cons: Cons are a shorter list:
* Teepads are often really short. This detracts from the overall play of the course -- it's not as bad on the short holes, but the longer holes really need some room for throwers to bomb.
* A few places, better signage is needed to help players navigate from each basket to the next teepad.
* Cacti, thorns, spiky trees, etc... make this a perilous course if you're not wearing the right gear (thorns and briars in some places are so sharp and strong they can puncture wayward discs, so be careful).
* Exposed areas and rugged land will make this a lot harder to play when summer hits -- this is true of all Texas golf to some degree, but I anticipate that the dusty feel of this place will really be an endurance exercise come summer.
* I didn't see any snakes, but I know they are there -- this is rural Texas hill country with lots of underbrush -- which means there are high odds of snakes aplenty, so be careful.
Other Thoughts: Manor, TX, (pronounced Mane-er), is a bit out of the way. We passed a lone Texas cowboy out riding down the road not far from the course. It's only 20-minutes or so from North Austin, but feels like it is a world away.

Downtown Manor is just a few old storefronts, but the Tex/Mex place (Ramo's) is worth the trip out -- at least based on our one visit. Chips and salsa are nothing to write home about, but the drinks were cold and the dessert sopapillas were the best I've ever had. The savory sopapillas (filled with chicken and covered with your choice of sauce) were visually nondescript but were joy to the senses once they hit your tongue. Brisket tacos, nachos, and everything else we ordered was well-above par. Orders came out wrong from the kitchen several times (waitress shared that "the cooks are still hungover," and this was after 2 p.m. on a Saturday.)

For me, few things make good disc golf even better, but hole-in-the-wall Tex/Mex a couple miles from the course makes it happen. Head to the course, then head 5 minutes to downtown Manor to chow down and you'll be in for the best day of disc golf that Texas has to offer.

19 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the Drive

2-4    7/26/2008   12/24/2008
Review By: WD09
Played: 253  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 9.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of technical shots and open holes. There are some holes where you have more than one possible route to the basket. Water in play at several points, plenty of elevation changes. In a public park, but the course has its own territory there and people using other facilities do not hinder play.
Cons: The tee pads are too short and better signage is needed.
Other Thoughts: Be careful not to throw your up shot into a cactus!

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.