Mesquite, TX
Paschall Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #4 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 222ft.   3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Bridges added make crossing the creek much easier



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    1/10/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course. A lot of fun because there are many short holes to try to ace. There is one long hole on the front nine that will test your power a bit. There is also a driving range near by so you can see how far you can chunk a disc.
Cons: No cons.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great tournament location, me thinks.

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Overall a great course. I will play here again as soon as I am back here to do so. see complete review in other box. Played again 2/2012. Played all 18. This is a truly great course. Plays like 3 separate courses... First 6 holes play through trees and creeks. Good basket placements and use of terrain. 6 is a nice tree tunnel. % plays to a drop off basket wedged between the creek and the puddle. These first six are overall great holes.8 through 16 play through the woodsiness. A nice combination of lefts and rights. 7, 17 and 18 are just wide open pints and shoots along the creek. I played the perfect small bag of discs for this course. I played them all. I had what I needed when I reached in. No disc was unplayed. I brought a stable and understable driver. A stable, an understable and an overstable middie and a preferred putter. 1 through 6 and 8 through 16 could be played just with the set of 3 middies, perfectly Park is clean, trash free and enjoyable. Locals were quite friendly. Great spot for tourneys and events.
Cons: I did not find any other than the mud on the back side... but that is seasonal and will be gone soon. Back almost exactly 1 year later and the muddy parts are right where they were last time. Again, likely seasonal. Some info on some of the white tee posts is missing... but except wanting to know the difference, not really needed. Easy to navigate as long as you are aware of the 6 to 7 transition and the 16 to 17 jump across the creek.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Paschall park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads. 2 for each hole. I played the white (shorter) course.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. Nice main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course.
3. Yes. Park amenities are good, some but few golf specific amenities are present. Nice driving range with distance signs but course specific amenities are few.
4. Yes. Very nice clean multi use park
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek like areas on the early holes. Nice use of woodsines in the tens/teens.
6. Yes. Some elevation on first few holes… back portion is mostly flat. What is avail. is well used.
7. Yes. Good assortment even when I played just the short tees… 7 is a long big-arm bomb. Early holes are short and technical. Woodsy holes are fun and well done.
8. Yes. 2 sets of tees on all holes. I did not see pin options, though. Mando markers on early holes, too.
9. No. I can not say there was a sign hole… no one hole stood out as a memorable experience in uniqueness… but entire course is just GREAT. If I was here another day I would play here again.
10. Yes. Great fun. Excellent course. I can see great tournaments held here. Big fun.

Rating = 9 yes, 1 no = 4.5 disc rating

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    12/21/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: loki
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the first 2 holes make getting through trees a big challenge hole 7 is wide open so you can really air out some long drives and the back 9 otherwise known as "birdie alley" lets you make up for all the tree love you will get on the first few holes.

restrooms on site werent bad at all playground close by and all the locals seem to really be helpful and friendly
Cons: hole 17 and 18 can eat a disc fast if mis thrown so be prepared to go swimming hole 1 should be listed as a par 3 instead of a par 4 even from the short tee
the back 9 can turn into swamp lands after a good rain but it looks like they are trying to fix that
on weekends this place is packed and weekday afternoons get busy as well
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a course that while it might not be the premier course in the dallas area it is a course that everyone should try at least once very fun course and have a blast everytime i play there you can easily make this a 36 hole course just by playing from both sets of tees
i consider this course to be my home course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Paschall Park

2-4    10/3/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: zflog
Played: 61  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging holes. Nice clean park. Great location. Lots of ace runs. Plenty of parking around the course.
Cons: Not a good place when people want to have a picinic lunch right in the fairway. Some of the park visitors have no clue of what is going on.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.