Mesquite, TX 
Paschall Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ   (Taken 4/2009)
Course Info Board



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
First Experience was Windy!!

5+    11/26/2011   11/26/2011
Review By: AthruZ
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very nice park, I enjoy the layout and the scenery is very nice... Nothing is in the way of the drive, mid drive and putter. I will go back again once the weather is in better shape.
Cons: Only con that I have discovered is the wrong day to play is when it was very windy making it almost impossible to play...
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to give this course a bad review since my good friend and I decided to play on one of the worst, windiest days in North Texas. We gave it a shot and ended up calling it quits during the 6th hole, sadly...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Morning

1    10/26/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: Bmar04
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park and grounds well maintained. Driving range right off the parking lot big plus, great course layout. Multiple tees if your wife or girlfriend wants to play with you. Spike heisers came into play alot for me and got more practice with my whippet disc than normal. Back 9 is carved through the woods, most of the trees have dropped their leaves making it easier to find discs if necessary. Had a relaxing morning, will come back with friends next time. Great course to practice on for sure. Also, lot of the creeks you have to carry were low, easy to find discs if they take a swim.
Cons: I went out there solo, always better with a friend. It was really muddy but was tolerable since course has moderately flat layout.
Other Thoughts: Wish they would have had baskets by driving range to make a complete practice area. Do check it out if you have time, it's worth the round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/11/2012   7/8/2011
Review By: JezCat
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2013
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean.
Easy to follow.
Cons: This course isn't very technical from the beginner tee pads so play the advanced tees after you've played for a year or so to add some distance and a few extra obstacles to spice it up.
Can get muddy after recent rain from poor drainage on the back 9.
No elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: Hole #1 should be a par 3 from both tee pads. Back 9 gives you plenty of opportunity to lower your score.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

1    6/29/2011   6/29/2011
Review By: Nic_Farley83
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2011
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great course, well maintained, Driving Range, Great scenery. Perfect for the beginning player. You will probably never lose a disc here as everything is kept nice, (no crazy thick stuff). 3 to 4 long holes rest are ace able. Would play again.
Cons: The sewer hole..
Other Thoughts: Love It!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    1/10/2011   2/22/2011
Review By: coolpooky7
Played: 32  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.8 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Great course. A lot of fun because there are many short holes to try to ace. There is one long hole on the front nine that will test your power a bit. There is also a driving range near by so you can see how far you can chunk a disc.
Cons: No cons.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great tournament location, me thinks.

1    2/15/2011   2/15/2011
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/11/2012
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Overall a great course. I will play here again as soon as I am back here to do so. see complete review in other box. Played again 2/2012. Played all 18. This is a truly great course. Plays like 3 separate courses... First 6 holes play through trees and creeks. Good basket placements and use of terrain. 6 is a nice tree tunnel. % plays to a drop off basket wedged between the creek and the puddle. These first six are overall great holes.8 through 16 play through the woodsiness. A nice combination of lefts and rights. 7, 17 and 18 are just wide open pints and shoots along the creek. I played the perfect small bag of discs for this course. I played them all. I had what I needed when I reached in. No disc was unplayed. I brought a stable and understable driver. A stable, an understable and an overstable middie and a preferred putter. 1 through 6 and 8 through 16 could be played just with the set of 3 middies, perfectly Park is clean, trash free and enjoyable. Locals were quite friendly. Great spot for tourneys and events.
Cons: I did not find any other than the mud on the back side... but that is seasonal and will be gone soon. Back almost exactly 1 year later and the muddy parts are right where they were last time. Again, likely seasonal. Some info on some of the white tee posts is missing... but except wanting to know the difference, not really needed. Easy to navigate as long as you are aware of the 6 to 7 transition and the 16 to 17 jump across the creek.
Other Thoughts: This is my disc golf course rating system. Each element of the course is worth ½ disc for a total of 10, ½ disc units or 5 full discs of rating.
My 10 categories are:
1. Quality of tee pads.
2. Quality of signage, both individual hole signs as well as a sign board and course layout at the hole one beginning location.
3. Course amenities. Benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Overall park amenities. Things like bathrooms, drinking fountains, playground areas, anything that improves the overall location.
5. Overall use of available terrain features. How well did the designers use what they had to work with?
6. Changes in elevation. Some courses have this occurring naturally. Others have created it. Either way it is vital that a good course is beyond flat… even in Iowa or Nebraska.
7. Variety of hole length. Is it mixed up? Some long, some short. Keep things interesting.
8. Tee and basket options. Are there tee options and/or alternate basket locations? Can the course be played different on different visits?
9. Signature hole? Is there one hole in specific that leaves an impression? Creates a unique memory?
10. Fun Factor - Purely subjective on my part. Did I have fun?

Paschall park, Mesquite, TX

1. Yes. Good tee pads. 2 for each hole. I played the white (shorter) course.
2. Yes. Good signage on posts. Nice main map. Next tee indicators on baskets. Easy to navigate course.
3. Yes. Park amenities are good, some but few golf specific amenities are present. Nice driving range with distance signs but course specific amenities are few.
4. Yes. Very nice clean multi use park
5. Yes. Quite well done here. Nice use of the creek like areas on the early holes. Nice use of woodsines in the tens/teens.
6. Yes. Some elevation on first few holes… back portion is mostly flat. What is avail. is well used.
7. Yes. Good assortment even when I played just the short tees… 7 is a long big-arm bomb. Early holes are short and technical. Woodsy holes are fun and well done.
8. Yes. 2 sets of tees on all holes. I did not see pin options, though. Mando markers on early holes, too.
9. No. I can not say there was a sign hole… no one hole stood out as a memorable experience in uniqueness… but entire course is just GREAT. If I was here another day I would play here again.
10. Yes. Great fun. Excellent course. I can see great tournaments held here. Big fun.

Rating = 9 yes, 1 no = 4.5 disc rating

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

5+    12/21/2010   12/24/2010
Review By: loki
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the first 2 holes make getting through trees a big challenge hole 7 is wide open so you can really air out some long drives and the back 9 otherwise known as "birdie alley" lets you make up for all the tree love you will get on the first few holes.

restrooms on site werent bad at all playground close by and all the locals seem to really be helpful and friendly
Cons: hole 17 and 18 can eat a disc fast if mis thrown so be prepared to go swimming hole 1 should be listed as a par 3 instead of a par 4 even from the short tee
the back 9 can turn into swamp lands after a good rain but it looks like they are trying to fix that
on weekends this place is packed and weekday afternoons get busy as well
Other Thoughts: all in all this is a course that while it might not be the premier course in the dallas area it is a course that everyone should try at least once very fun course and have a blast everytime i play there you can easily make this a 36 hole course just by playing from both sets of tees
i consider this course to be my home course

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Mudfest

1    11/13/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: chalos13
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Mesquite uses these bright yellow poles with a red ball on top to mark their baskets, and it's great. Easy to see from a distance, makes courses flow really well. They put a sticker with par, distance, which tee your at and a general arrow pointing to the hole. Tees were all the bright yellow Innova baskets so easy to fine. Baskets are in great shape, couldn't be too old with very little graffiti. Great course flow, Good shot variety.
Cons: Poor drainage, we played after a rain the day before and we had more mud on our shoes than we could handle. A couple tee pads are in low spots, so mud flowed up over them and made them extremely slick, but according to a local the mud is common for Mesquite. A few holes around 15-16 got really close to some houses next to the park.
Other Thoughts: Great course, lots of variety in the shots needed, poor drainage. If it rained recently, pick another place to play, a local told me Lake Lewisville is usually really good after a rain (and it's a great course as well)

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Fun

2-4    8/29/2010   8/30/2010
Review By: razorsmith.com
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy to navigate even for the 1st timers, and from either teepad.
Well marked concrete teepads for both blue and white tees.
Water comes into play, however during dry summer not really an issue.
Holes 8-14 is in woods, however they are pretty open and easy to drop your score on these holes.
Nice pavillion with lots of tables.
Nice small playground for kiddos.
Lots of shade.
Driving range is a cool touch.
Cons: Not sure all of the measurements are correct. I normally throw max 315-330, and on 8 it states 375 from the white tee. I overthrew the basket on both rounds. Some of the others seem off by a bit, but I was not walking around with a measuring device either.
Parking was fine, however I can see how this could be an issue on busy days.
Scary to wonder how bad this place can flood during rains. There is a flood gauge between 4-5 that shows 6 feet depth.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. I played pushing my kids in a double jogger and flew through the course. Played for 30 min at playground, then played another round.
Easy to get to, great park, and some really friendly players there. Fun times

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 First Time @ Paschall

1    3/10/2010   3/11/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 83  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Clean concrete tee pads with dual locations
Nice quality signs
Clean park
Quiet and not crowded
Mix of trees and open shots
Water on several holes
Restrooms and water fountain
Plenty of parking
Discatcher Baskets
Cons: Bad drainage in many areas
No elevation changes throughout course
Some holes lack challenge, especially from the short
Other Thoughts: Hole one is labeled as a par 4, even from the short pad. It should definitely be a par 3.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.