Troutdale, OR 
Dabney State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #9 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 237ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Gateway to the Gorge

1    9/5/2015   9/9/2015
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2015
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Very aesthetically pleasing course set in the western end of the Columbia River Gorge near the Sandy River. Huge conifers, rushing streams, and misty air are one of a kind to the Cascade Mountains.
-Super peaceful and serene way out here in the boonies.
-Great variety of holes: water holes, short tree lined holes, longer open holes
-Fun pin locations
-Not too many players when I played on a Saturday morning
-Signs were present but not that helpful.
-Mach 5's were in good condtion.
Cons: -Was wet. I played during summer and it was a bit damp. It'll be very nasty and muddy, I'm sure, during wintertime. It is the Gorge, after all.
-On a decent number of holes, including the last four, if you miss the fairway left you'll go down a steep hill. The undergrowth isn't too thick, so you can find your disc, but the problem is managing to make your way down TO it. I slipped way too many times.
-A little far out from civilization. It's not very easily accessed.
-Transitions between holes are tricky if you don't know the place.
Other Thoughts: -Holes 1 and 3 were long carries, not good for beginners. My younger brother went to the other side of the hazard and threw from there.
-Very good course to practice shot placement with mid-ranges, but not a good one to try a new driver
-Definitely a course I'd play again

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1    5/20/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: JerichoBronco
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/1/2015
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful area
Long tee pads
Cons: The signs are horrible. Many of the pictures on the signs don't correlate with the actual basket position. For example one hole showed a 298 shot straight up the middle, but the actual basket position was a hzyer shot. Not even close. I noticed this on 3-4 signs. Add to that the 2-4 missing ones and that's almost 1/2 the signs that are actually correct. The distances were off way off on some of the signs too.
[EDIT] went back and they had changed the course, signs now lined up with the layout. Didn't know there was a winter layout, that's the kind of thing that should be posted!!!
Other Thoughts: I had high hopes for this course with the high course rating on this site. I walked away feeling cheated. They really need to help transition between holes with arrows. Lots of undergrowth, if you miss your line you could easily be spending quite a bit of time searching for your disc. Caution on hole #5 if you go left too far say goodbye to your disc. Knee high growth in a marshy area.
I liked the front 1/2 of the course better than the back. Good variety of shots needed. I liked the over the first hole nice technical anny, 2nd hole was a nice pond throw, although the tee sign was way off for the basket position. Next few holes were ok, then I think it's hole #7 is a tight hzyer which was a great hole and then #8 was my favorite hole a downhill anhyzer with lots of brush if you don't turn it over. I'd rate the front half a 3.5.
The backside had several holes that seemed the same, 250ish foot slight anhyzer shots. Would like to have seen more variety. Back half was nothing special, there were a few holes with some nice technical lines but I'd rate the back half 3. So if there was a 3.25 option that's how I would rate the overall course.
Course isn't long. I used my mids almost as much as my driver for tee shots (I'm not a long driver 325ish on avg). So the course is definitely more about the technical shot over long distance.
When I wrote this review this course was the 9th highest rated course in the entire state. Sorry but NO it's not. If you make a special trip to play this over the other courses in the area you are making a mistake There are better courses close by. If you pick this course over Milo you chose wrong.
If you have played all those other courses and are looking for a new course to check off your list then it is definitely worth playing. It's not a bad course at all, it's just overrated on this site. It's like that movie you hear so much about then you watch it. It's not that it's bad, you actually like but, it's just you just had your hopes artificially set too high by hype.
[EDIT] Played again but my review doesn't change much. Let me be clear, this is a good course. You should play this course. But it's just over hyped on this site.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Very pretty retro style course

2-4    3/23/2015   3/23/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dabney is a really pretty state park, and a lot of their land is reserved for a very beautiful and diverse disc golf course.

The holes are widely varied starting out with some shorter technical holes where water and elevation come into play, then mixing in some open park style holes on 4 and 11 with more technical holes mixed in.

There is only one 400+ ft hole, number four, according to the signs. I think some of them are a little longer and a few shorter than listed.

The technicality of the course was very cool. Tons of interesting lines and really cool routes that are up to you to hit.

Basically hit your line and you can be a hero and get the birdie. Miss it and you limp to par, miss it bad and you an end up in the water or down some huge hills.

The signs were easily read, though a few were missing.

The teepds were pretty nice and long. They were also placed well, which I feel is something a lot of people mess up.
The course really is beautiful too, with all the evergreens mixed with orchard like rolling hills.
Cons: A few missing signs, a couple spots where you can see two baskets and they are really closer than they should be.
For having a course that takes up half te park there is almost no signage for it as you come in.

It's $5 for your day fee at the park, but I'm not counting that against it. It's pretty well maintained so it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a darn good albiet a bit short.

And I say it's retro because as you play some courses it seems that the hole was designed with a specific disc in mind.

And this course had me thinking shoot I wish I still bagged a Viper or Stingray. Would be willing to be the designer bagged both of them back in 1998 when it was installed.

If your close you need to play this one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    10/30/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: LaserShot
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Different selection of holes
-beautiful layout
-Pin changes alot
-Inspired hole design
-Huge disc selection needed
-No dogs allowed (sorry I love dogs but not on a chamionship level course)
-Low risk of losing discs
-Cool players
-awesome parking
Cons: -Some holes need to be par 4 (hole 4, 5 and 11 & 14) or better yet move pins to a more technical location.
-can get damp so bring water proof shoes if it rains or rained the night before
-Can get crowded during peak times (sunday sat afternoon)
-discs WILL hit trees. trust me.
Other Thoughts: I average even to -4 on Mciver but this course I have yet to crack even. Its tough! Pin placement has a HUGE impact on your score. I really love this course but some holes are hard to earn a par. daily pass cost unless u buy a year for 30$ totally worth it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    2/4/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 50  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Plenty of mixture of shots. From wooded to open back to wooded again.
-Baskets are just fine. No issues there.
-Tee pads are great
-Beautiful little state park
-Tee signs are helpful
Cons: -The course "flow" was a little off. Make sure you have someone that knows the course with you so you dont have any navigational issues.
-No enough trash cans or benches
Other Thoughts: Played this in the early spring. Great course. Good mixture of holes. When I was out there my group of 6 were the only ones on the course. Close to other outdoor activities. Well taken care of park.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

18 different holes!

2-4    1/31/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 37  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Every hole plays just don't pull out your main driver at every tee box. Long holes/short holes in trees/right hand benders/left hand benders and plenty of trees to make it technical but not overly hard. Even in the winter is was a good time. Good pads and mostly good signs. (I did download the map from this site and I used it for the first until hole 11, then after that the course is pretty easy to follow.)
Cons: Oregon parks are pay to park and it works okay for me. Don't remember any trash cans or bathrooms. Hole signs for a couple holes (4 & 5 I think) are mislabeled. I heard that the course route was changed. Hole #6 for first timers needs a arrow down before the bridge showing that the basket is up and across the bridge. It didn't match the map. Not really major cons.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing here. It is a decent course and fun.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful & Scenic

2-4    8/9/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
-Dabney is a wonderful course in a beautiful setting. The holes are fun and challenging and at the same time they're all different. With variety in elevation, hazards, LHBH/RHBH shots, open holes and tight technical holes, this course has it covered.

-The course is almost never crowded, and the course is almost exclusively used by other disc golfers. So you're never waiting for a dog walker or jogger, etc.

-Lots of benches at this course are great if, like me, you don't have a chair.

-With lots of parking, a lost disc return, a practice basket, restrooms, and clean fairways/teeing areas Dabney offers a comfortable and enjoyable disc golf experience.
-The tee signs could use updating. While the course has multiple pins, the signs do not reflect this. This is especially frustrating when playing one of the courses many blind holes.

-The last few holes play next to a large ravine and through the most wooded part of the course. It's easy to get a bad kick and end up in the ravine. This is a rather frustrating way to end your round.

-The Tee for hole #4 is halfway down the fairway for hole #3 so after holing out on #3 you have to walk back down the fairway.

-First timers can easily get lost after hole #11, not realizing where to go for hole #12. This spot needs a 'Next Tee' sign.

Other Thoughts: Attn: iPhone users - Apple maps won't get you to this course if you just get directions to "Dabney State Park" - It will take you to some random dirt road on the back side of the park (Hocker Rd). Make sure you put in the proper address when getting directions.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Woot! Woot!

5+    2/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 224  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 6.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, Multiple pin placement, Pin placements are changed weekly , Practice basket, Challenging, -/+ elevation, Clean, Plenty of parking, Restrooms, Trash cans throughout, Benches at all pads, Pavilion w/tables and BBQ, good mix of shot variations RHBH & LHBH, Defined fairways, Great bunch of locals and usually never crowded.
Cons: $5 per car or $30 for annual pass. During winter, holes 5-7 are prone to be soggy. No dogs. Some baskets are not visible from the tee can be frustrating for first timers, tee signs are currently not accurate with distances or show all pin locations.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course was three years ago. It had underbrush and berry bushes that were unforgiving. There have been many improvements from the local disc golf community since then and is still making improvements. The course is designed strictly for DG, eliminating any other distractions. It has made my favorite list since the first time and I keep going back for more. The pin placements make this course diversified and challenge all calibers of players. New tee signs are in the making for this course, which will improve my rating for the course once it is done. Oregon has many beautiful courses and this one in my opinion is under rated and under the radar. If you are in the area or coming to the Portland area this is a must.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/8/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like every hole on this course. There's only one that's an open field throw. The rest require some shot shaping, have a good mix of obstacles and are legitimate par 3.

The tees and baskets are all great.

Signage is great. Easy to navigate.

Good facilities bathrooms/trashcans.

No other activities taking place on the course.

Where there is rough it's out of the way. You're not going to spend much time looking for discs unless your throws are crazy (that said- don't end up in the valley on 17-18).
Cons: Can get crowded especially on weekend afternoons.

Not a place to take beginners.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my 3 favorite courses (the others are Milo and Horning's).

It costs $5 to get in or you can get the Northwest Forrest Pass for $30/year. The NWFP gets you into other parks too. Are you going to play Milo/Rooster/Dabney/Others more than 6 times? You should. Get the NWFP.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of bathroom facilities in the upper and lower parking lots
- Good signage and tee pads are in great shape
- For a par 3 course it is challenging but not daunting
- Good chance to work on all sorts of shots
Cons: - Muddy!!!
- Due to the fact that this review was done in the late winter please note that most of the course is on run off so there can be lots of water. Waterproof shoes are recommended.
- Pay $5 for parking rather sucks but you can play this in about 1.5 hours so play it multiple times and get your money worth.
Other Thoughts: This is a much needed step up of a par 3 course. I really enjoyed playing it even as muddy as it was. Watch the back 9 as there are chances to loose disc's over the hill side and it can be a challenge to retrieve them. Also big shout out to the gentlemen walking the entire course cleaning up trash and making notes about the course on his own time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.