Disc Golf Store
Troutdale, OR 
Dabney State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wonderful & Scenic

2-4    8/9/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Dabney is a wonderful course in a beautiful setting. The holes are fun and challenging and at the same time they're all different. With variety in elevation, hazards, LHBH/RHBH shots, open holes and tight technical holes, this course has it covered.

-The course is almost never crowded, and the course is almost exclusively used by other disc golfers. So you're never waiting for a dog walker or jogger, etc.

-Lots of benches at this course are great if, like me, you don't have a chair.

-With lots of parking, a lost disc return, a practice basket, restrooms, and clean fairways/teeing areas Dabney offers a comfortable and enjoyable disc golf experience.
Cons:
-The tee signs could use updating. While the course has multiple pins, the signs do not reflect this. This is especially frustrating when playing one of the courses many blind holes.

-The last few holes play next to a large ravine and through the most wooded part of the course. It's easy to get a bad kick and end up in the ravine. This is a rather frustrating way to end your round.

-The Tee for hole #4 is halfway down the fairway for hole #3 so after holing out on #3 you have to walk back down the fairway.

-First timers can easily get lost after hole #11, not realizing where to go for hole #12. This spot needs a 'Next Tee' sign.

Other Thoughts: Attn: iPhone users - Apple maps won't get you to this course if you just get directions to "Dabney State Park" - It will take you to some random dirt road on the back side of the park (Hocker Rd). Make sure you put in the proper address when getting directions.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Woot! Woot!

5+    2/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, Multiple pin placement, Pin placements are changed weekly , Practice basket, Challenging, -/+ elevation, Clean, Plenty of parking, Restrooms, Trash cans throughout, Benches at all pads, Pavilion w/tables and BBQ, good mix of shot variations RHBH & LHBH, Defined fairways, Great bunch of locals and usually never crowded.
Cons: $5 per car or $30 for annual pass. During winter, holes 5-7 are prone to be soggy. No dogs. Some baskets are not visible from the tee can be frustrating for first timers, tee signs are currently not accurate with distances or show all pin locations.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course was three years ago. It had underbrush and berry bushes that were unforgiving. There have been many improvements from the local disc golf community since then and is still making improvements. The course is designed strictly for DG, eliminating any other distractions. It has made my favorite list since the first time and I keep going back for more. The pin placements make this course diversified and challenge all calibers of players. New tee signs are in the making for this course, which will improve my rating for the course once it is done. Oregon has many beautiful courses and this one in my opinion is under rated and under the radar. If you are in the area or coming to the Portland area this is a must.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Deadshot Jack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety! Every shot is different than the last! Only one hole (11 I believe) is a wide open bomb, every other hole has some kind of obstacle to shoot around, over, under, or through!
Great tee pads
Good tee signs, only show 1 placement though.
Very nice flow and setting!
Cons: Can be windy
Can be muddy in places
Other Thoughts: This is what disc golf is all about!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/10/2011   4/15/2011
Review By: Vidar
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Good course. Varied play. Trees and water hazards kept things interesting. Traffic was light.
Cons: Very muddy grounds. Holes weren't always marked well, and could be hard to find.
Other Thoughts: Nice course to play on the weekend, easy drive to get to.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Sink or Swim

2-4    8/12/2010   2/17/2011
Review By: CaptianTrilogy
Played: 58  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Awesome Course. All together extremely fun... Water hazard on 2 can be intimidating but if you want to swim, just throw your disc in... I did and came up with three more...
Cons: Some mud but not much and there was quite a bit of garbage.
Other Thoughts: Great Course to take the family to for a picnic and some golf...

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Arrive Early on Hot Days

5+    8/15/2010   8/16/2010
Review By: Andrew332
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has had park staff cutting grass and trimming bushes to the course is in good shape. If you like blackberries the bushes are full on ripe berries for a snack along the way! The baskets were recently moved so if you play this course you might want to take a second look for the baskets before shooting.
Cons: On hot days during the weekend you will want to arrive at this park prior to 1130 am because this park is popular with river use users. Parking will run out by noon.
Other Thoughts: On hot days take water with you on this course because a drinkable water source is difficult to find at this park.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Str8 & Arrow

2-4    9/14/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You are going to love playing this course. It requires accuracy on nearly every hole because mature trees are in play. If you hit the gap then it's a birdie, but if you hit a tree it could be double bogey. High risk, high reward as it should be.There did not seem to be many other people in the area besides players. The front 10 are more open and play differently than the back 8. You must utilize different skills throughout the course. You can get a birdie on several holes but only with a perfect shot. There are multiple pin positions, but I seem to always play when the course is toughest. Great signs for navigation.
Cons: Thorns and brush. In the summer, the rough consists of unmitigated plant growth with swampy conditions. Very easy to lose a disc with the right ricochet. The thorns make searching for discs very hazardous. Not a lot of ace opportunities. One tee box per hole. You need a spotter as several holes are blind. A map is necessary for your first time.
Other Thoughts: Blackberries! I ran this course with my friend and we asked to play through a group of 2 on 18. They looked at us like we were crazy and said no. They both missed their putts. Karma. We birdied and bolted over to Rooster Rock. The course is just outside of Portland, but the drive along the river is great.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Of all the courses in Portland... Dabney keeps me coming back

5+    6/21/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: PSUdiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes, an insane amount of variety, and plenty of alternate placings to keep it even fresher,

Its beautiful out there as well. Almost every hole has a garbage can AND recycling bin, which is essential since its a state park and therefore legal to have an open container.

BBQ spots, river access, boat access and a practice basket!

Awesome tee pads and baskets, good signs with frequent sharpie updates on target placements.

Disc drop for lost discs, with a list of lost ones and a contact e-mail. (ive heard it actually works!)
Cons: Booty when it comes to blackberry/thistle combo plants. If you cant throw in control, bring pants and long sleeves or write your number all over your disc.

Can get soggy.
Other Thoughts: Over all, when I sit down and think of where to play, Dabney always seems to win. its got everything you could want.

Just be aware of how god awful looking for discs can be there,

A good tomahawk can make or brake this course, with lots of shots on target that need to go around obstacles, or over trees.

People rip on all the trees and obstacles, but i think it just goes to improve your game. I learned to play on this course, and now when i play it with folks who normally crush on their drives, i can actually stay even with them because the course has forced me to develop my throws. If you can figure out how to get your disc to turn and fade when you want it to, you can realllly thread the needle on some of these holes. it is very satisfying to see your disc make it through an absurdly dense stand of trees because you got your accuracy perfect, and then have one of your pro rated friends get a double bogie because they are too used to open drives.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wet day in July

1    6/15/2007   8/30/2008
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Like this course allot just wish it hadn't been raining. Great mix of of open and tight holes back 9 can kick your butt. Can't wait to make it back out to play again.
Cons: Back 9 has a nasty drop off and you can bet on a disc going off that edge. Loved the course other then that.
Other Thoughts: Lost a beast there first hole went straight long into the pond.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.