Troutdale, OR 
Dabney State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #6 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4
My home course

5+    10/30/2014   10/31/2014
Review By: LaserShot
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
Pros: -Different selection of holes
-beautiful layout
-Pin changes alot
-Inspired hole design
-Huge disc selection needed
-No dogs allowed (sorry I love dogs but not on a chamionship level course)
-Low risk of losing discs
-Cool players
-awesome parking
Cons: -Some holes need to be par 4 (hole 4, 5 and 11 & 14) or better yet move pins to a more technical location.
-can get damp so bring water proof shoes if it rains or rained the night before
-Can get crowded during peak times (sunday sat afternoon)
-discs WILL hit trees. trust me.
Other Thoughts: I average even to -4 on Mciver but this course I have yet to crack even. Its tough! Pin placement has a HUGE impact on your score. I really love this course but some holes are hard to earn a par. daily pass cost unless u buy a year for 30$ totally worth it.

Dabney

1    2/4/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: mbressler13
Played: 47  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Plenty of mixture of shots. From wooded to open back to wooded again.
-Baskets are just fine. No issues there.
-Tee pads are great
-Beautiful little state park
-Tee signs are helpful
Cons: -The course "flow" was a little off. Make sure you have someone that knows the course with you so you dont have any navigational issues.
-No enough trash cans or benches
Other Thoughts: Played this in the early spring. Great course. Good mixture of holes. When I was out there my group of 6 were the only ones on the course. Close to other outdoor activities. Well taken care of park.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

18 different holes!

2-4    1/31/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: longandwrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 4.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Every hole plays different...you just don't pull out your main driver at every tee box. Long holes/short holes in trees/right hand benders/left hand benders and plenty of trees to make it technical but not overly hard. Even in the winter is was a good time. Good pads and mostly good signs. (I did download the map from this site and I used it for the first until hole 11, then after that the course is pretty easy to follow.)
Cons: Oregon parks are pay to park and it works okay for me. Don't remember any trash cans or bathrooms. Hole signs for a couple holes (4 & 5 I think) are mislabeled. I heard that the course route was changed. Hole #6 for first timers needs a arrow down before the bridge showing that the basket is up and across the bridge. It didn't match the map. Not really major cons.
Other Thoughts: I liked playing here. It is a decent course and fun.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful & Scenic

2-4    8/9/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
-Dabney is a wonderful course in a beautiful setting. The holes are fun and challenging and at the same time they're all different. With variety in elevation, hazards, LHBH/RHBH shots, open holes and tight technical holes, this course has it covered.

-The course is almost never crowded, and the course is almost exclusively used by other disc golfers. So you're never waiting for a dog walker or jogger, etc.

-Lots of benches at this course are great if, like me, you don't have a chair.

-With lots of parking, a lost disc return, a practice basket, restrooms, and clean fairways/teeing areas Dabney offers a comfortable and enjoyable disc golf experience.
Cons:
-The tee signs could use updating. While the course has multiple pins, the signs do not reflect this. This is especially frustrating when playing one of the courses many blind holes.

-The last few holes play next to a large ravine and through the most wooded part of the course. It's easy to get a bad kick and end up in the ravine. This is a rather frustrating way to end your round.

-The Tee for hole #4 is halfway down the fairway for hole #3 so after holing out on #3 you have to walk back down the fairway.

-First timers can easily get lost after hole #11, not realizing where to go for hole #12. This spot needs a 'Next Tee' sign.

Other Thoughts: Attn: iPhone users - Apple maps won't get you to this course if you just get directions to "Dabney State Park" - It will take you to some random dirt road on the back side of the park (Hocker Rd). Make sure you put in the proper address when getting directions.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Woot! Woot!

5+    2/10/2013   7/11/2013
Review By: JMONEY
Played: 225  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.5 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, Multiple pin placement, Pin placements are changed weekly , Practice basket, Challenging, -/+ elevation, Clean, Plenty of parking, Restrooms, Trash cans throughout, Benches at all pads, Pavilion w/tables and BBQ, good mix of shot variations RHBH & LHBH, Defined fairways, Great bunch of locals and usually never crowded.
Cons: $5 per car or $30 for annual pass. During winter, holes 5-7 are prone to be soggy. No dogs. Some baskets are not visible from the tee can be frustrating for first timers, tee signs are currently not accurate with distances or show all pin locations.
Other Thoughts: The first time I played this course was three years ago. It had underbrush and berry bushes that were unforgiving. There have been many improvements from the local disc golf community since then and is still making improvements. The course is designed strictly for DG, eliminating any other distractions. It has made my favorite list since the first time and I keep going back for more. The pin placements make this course diversified and challenge all calibers of players. New tee signs are in the making for this course, which will improve my rating for the course once it is done. Oregon has many beautiful courses and this one in my opinion is under rated and under the radar. If you are in the area or coming to the Portland area this is a must.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

5+    6/8/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: Rusty Shackleford
Played: 27  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 2.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I like every hole on this course. There's only one that's an open field throw. The rest require some shot shaping, have a good mix of obstacles and are legitimate par 3.

The tees and baskets are all great.

Signage is great. Easy to navigate.

Good facilities bathrooms/trashcans.

No other activities taking place on the course.

Where there is rough it's out of the way. You're not going to spend much time looking for discs unless your throws are crazy (that said- don't end up in the valley on 17-18).
Cons: Can get crowded especially on weekend afternoons.

Not a place to take beginners.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my 3 favorite courses (the others are Milo and Horning's).

It costs $5 to get in or you can get the Northwest Forrest Pass for $30/year. The NWFP gets you into other parks too. Are you going to play Milo/Rooster/Dabney/Others more than 6 times? You should. Get the NWFP.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    2/24/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: SmaptyII
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of bathroom facilities in the upper and lower parking lots
- Good signage and tee pads are in great shape
- For a par 3 course it is challenging but not daunting
- Good chance to work on all sorts of shots
Cons: - Muddy!!!
- Due to the fact that this review was done in the late winter please note that most of the course is on run off so there can be lots of water. Waterproof shoes are recommended.
- Pay $5 for parking rather sucks but you can play this in about 1.5 hours so play it multiple times and get your money worth.
Other Thoughts: This is a much needed step up of a par 3 course. I really enjoyed playing it even as muddy as it was. Watch the back 9 as there are chances to loose disc's over the hill side and it can be a challenge to retrieve them. Also big shout out to the gentlemen walking the entire course cleaning up trash and making notes about the course on his own time.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Awesome!

1    1/3/2013   1/3/2013
Review By: Deadshot Jack
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Variety! Every shot is different than the last! Only one hole (11 I believe) is a wide open bomb, every other hole has some kind of obstacle to shoot around, over, under, or through!
Great tee pads
Good tee signs, only show 1 placement though.
Very nice flow and setting!
Cons: Can be windy
Can be muddy in places
Other Thoughts: This is what disc golf is all about!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Some fun lines

2-4    7/20/2012   7/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 117  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 6.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Set in a state park along a windy road, this is a pretty fun course. Nearly every hole has a tee protected by trees somewhere along the way, which isn't unusual, but this course forces you to throw over, under, and aroundůsometimes on the same hole.

The first half of the course features decent elevation changes and some pretty fun shots. The trees are the leafy variety, and the gaps to the hole felt different than most courses I've played. The second half of the course flattens out but has you throwing among the wide-bodied firs that make so many Oregon courses fun. The lanes are there, but a bad shank will leave you with some awkward approaches.

Holes mostly range from 250 to over 350 feet. The shorter holes are not necessarily ace runs (some are very tough birdies), but there are several aceable holes.

Tee pads are all concrete, and every hole has two positions. There is very little undergrowth in the fir sections, and hole 18 is the only one with much of a chance for a lost disc (if you shank it off the left into the ravine).

The wooden bridges leading over the shallow creeks on the front half provide some nice character.
Cons:
I think navigation here isn't too bad (I was led around by a friend who lives in the area, so it's tough to say). However, many of the pin positions are not visible from the tee. If it's your first time, you'll spend a good deal of time walking most of the fairway to find the basket. Unfortunately the tee signs aren't helpful since they show only one position.

There are no alternate tees.

There were significantly more shots favoring RHBH players than not.
Other Thoughts: This is a course best played multiple times. If you have time for more than one round, you'll definitely enjoy your time. If you're in a hurry or only have time for one round, you may get a little frustrated. This is definitely a course I could see playing a lot if I were local, figuring out the best lines and the unique ways to get to the hole.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Dabney Holeman

5+    11/16/2011   1/20/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 164  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/28/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was where I first played golf with "true" discs starting fall of 2002 [though I first played "Frisbee" golf in '79 at USM], so I have great affection for it.
Its matured beautifully in the 11 years I've known it. Gone are the impenetrable walls of blackberries that stole many a disc from hole #4 on. Hole #s 1-7 cross or parallel a creek and small pond, with much elevation variation, while traversing nicely manicured fairways through the second growth oaks, pears and apples that are overtaking an ancient orchard. At #8 you'll enter the forest and the lines get woodedly tighter among the alders, though at # 11 you'll return to the field for one last airing before you enter the Douglas fir forest on the next plateau down. #s 12-18 have little elevation change[unless #14 is in the upper position], but you'll be too busy shaping lines through the maze of trunks to think you're being cheated by the flatness of terrain. 30-40 ft below the immediate left of #s 15-18 is a soggy, openly-treed riverbottom that will really get the score meter ticking if you go exploring.
An incredible variety of shots are required here-you need BH, FH, anhyzer, straight, and among the trees, sometimes a prayer.
The tees, baskets and upkeep are excellent, and the links are a dedicated 40 acres separate from other human intervention. Benches at every hole and trashcans at most holes. Only crowded during tourneys and the perfect sunny summer weekend.
Cons: About 3/4 of the baskets are hidden from the tee, so a local, scout or map is handy.
#2 has the road to the lower parking pretty much as the right half of the fairway. Fortunately this end of the park is all DG traffic, so cars pass only sporadically.
If its a wet winter, it will be soggy and muddy on a number of the holes, notably #s 1, 2, 5-8, and 13.
Discs are easily recoverable from the creek, but the pond is quickly over your head on the west and north, 2 ft. of mud on the east, and becoming solid ground on the south.
Other Thoughts: $5 per car, so carpool, use a yearly park pass or hunt for parking nearby outside the park[a lot of this has been eliminated, thanks to the ODOT] The new #1 is in by the practice basket next to the upper parking lot. Bathrooms are in the lower lot and the boat ramp area, which also has the only functional water faucet. A decent local store is 1 mile east on the road, where yearly or daily passes are available. Great full-day loops exist with Dabney, Timber and Milo McIver; or Dabney, Rooster Rock, Locks Approach and North Bonneville. .

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.