Troutdale, OR 
Dabney State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 34
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    9/10/2009   10/14/2009
Review By: karottop420
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: it's a very well kept course, easy to navegate. hole signs accurate, they even have a lost disc return box. beautiful course with apple trees for mid course snacking
Cons: lots of places to lose plastic, daily parking fee, some holes have sink holes that retain water

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice drive, nice course

5+    10/3/2009   10/3/2009
Review By: tonymccoy007
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Pro's this course is for the pro's. Dabney is nice and well maintained. Water, hills and fields.
Cons: Water hole is deep and will eat discs…
Other Thoughts: This is a cool course that has not only technical shots but some long ones to. Good course and lots around it Rooster Rock and Benson and your tired.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  All Time Favorites

5+    6/30/2008   9/30/2009
Review By: Beastmaster
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trees!!! Very challenging course. I Like the mixture of holes where one can rip it from the tee, and holes that require precise drives. This is an excellent course to hone one's skills. Has a good balance of backhand and forehand holes. Beautiful place. Course designers did a fine job of placing the holes without altering nature. Great place to find unmarked discs during winter.
Cons: None course wise. Gets crowded, and slow. Lots of large groups. If caught behind any group with beginners, intoxicated players, or people who are just unfamiliar to the course you can get stuck waiting forever. But the spacing between holes 10 & 11 makes it easy to jump in on the back 8 instead of starting from hole 1.
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned earlier this is a great place to learn disc control. This course forced me to learn many shots that just are not needed at those lame, open courses with less trees. Ride your bike from the MAX in Gresham, great scenic ride, good exercise, and avoid day-use fees!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Str8 & Arrow

2-4    9/14/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: DGRunner
Played: 67  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: You are going to love playing this course. It requires accuracy on nearly every hole because mature trees are in play. If you hit the gap then it's a birdie, but if you hit a tree it could be double bogey. High risk, high reward as it should be.There did not seem to be many other people in the area besides players. The front 10 are more open and play differently than the back 8. You must utilize different skills throughout the course. You can get a birdie on several holes but only with a perfect shot. There are multiple pin positions, but I seem to always play when the course is toughest. Great signs for navigation.
Cons: Thorns and brush. In the summer, the rough consists of unmitigated plant growth with swampy conditions. Very easy to lose a disc with the right ricochet. The thorns make searching for discs very hazardous. Not a lot of ace opportunities. One tee box per hole. You need a spotter as several holes are blind. A map is necessary for your first time.
Other Thoughts: Blackberries! I ran this course with my friend and we asked to play through a group of 2 on 18. They looked at us like we were crazy and said no. They both missed their putts. Karma. We birdied and bolted over to Rooster Rock. The course is just outside of Portland, but the drive along the river is great.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hm, tough for a beginner

1    7/20/2009   7/21/2009
Review By: didy22
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great walk through the course with very few people. It's off the road enough to be quiet and you can listen to the birds do their thing. The course has varying elevations and tight turns to navigate. It's one of the few courses in this area that incorporates a water hazard.
Cons: Certainly an element of luck if one throws well. Awful if you do not bring a map with you. Most baskets are not visible from the pads and if you don't know where you are going you will be throwing blind. Very overgrown in areas and some baskets are placed behind tree groves.
Other Thoughts: Don't throw it into the pond on hole #2. I attempted to go in to get a disc someone threw in there and it's not possible. It looks benign...only about 2-3 feet deep, but there is another foot of sludge that will cement you in the second you put weight on your first submerged foot. I don't recommend taking that second step :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Of all the courses in Portland... Dabney keeps me coming back

5+    6/21/2009   6/25/2009
Review By: PSUdiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of holes, an insane amount of variety, and plenty of alternate placings to keep it even fresher,

Its beautiful out there as well. Almost every hole has a garbage can AND recycling bin, which is essential since its a state park and therefore legal to have an open container.

BBQ spots, river access, boat access and a practice basket!

Awesome tee pads and baskets, good signs with frequent sharpie updates on target placements.

Disc drop for lost discs, with a list of lost ones and a contact e-mail. (ive heard it actually works!)
Cons: Booty when it comes to blackberry/thistle combo plants. If you cant throw in control, bring pants and long sleeves or write your number all over your disc.

Can get soggy.
Other Thoughts: Over all, when I sit down and think of where to play, Dabney always seems to win. its got everything you could want.

Just be aware of how god awful looking for discs can be there,

A good tomahawk can make or brake this course, with lots of shots on target that need to go around obstacles, or over trees.

People rip on all the trees and obstacles, but i think it just goes to improve your game. I learned to play on this course, and now when i play it with folks who normally crush on their drives, i can actually stay even with them because the course has forced me to develop my throws. If you can figure out how to get your disc to turn and fade when you want it to, you can realllly thread the needle on some of these holes. it is very satisfying to see your disc make it through an absurdly dense stand of trees because you got your accuracy perfect, and then have one of your pro rated friends get a double bogie because they are too used to open drives.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Somewhat Overrated

1    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: RedSoxRob
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The best parts of this course are the tee pads, parking and some of the hole maps.
Cons: As many of the reviewers below establish, this course has a lot of TREES which lowers the skill involved in your drives and approaches. Many holes there are no way to go except through full forests of trees. When I first played this course I though hole two would be the only real hazard. Not the case. Be CAREFUL on holes: 8, 14, 15 & 17. These holes for the inexperienced RBHT can be a problem. I lost a disc on 8 to the left of the tee. Thats a complete abyss of overgrowth.

Additionally, most of the hole signs are currently outdated. Thus some players have resorted to amending the maps themselves, buts not always that accurate.
Other Thoughts: This course has so much potential. To bad the layout contains many holes of dense trees. If you're in Portland, Pier Park is far better.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 i lost my virginity to the game on this course

1    4/13/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: Matt aka N.G.S.P.
Played: 22  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.6 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging course. Beautiful scenery and friendly people. Concrete tee boxes w/ well maintained baskets. Wooded areas and diverse terrain elevations/obstacles. Great workout for both your body and the playability of your game. Some benches provided for resting. And a clean park overall.
Cons: if I recall correctly one of the holes runs along an adjacent hole and if you shank it to the the left it is hard to recover the disk if lost (being time spent as you play 2-3 holes before getting to that area located down side of the cliff covered in blackberry bushes).

Not really crowded but the locals there are extremely talented and you should let them play through… if you are a beginner or in a big group.

Other Thoughts: This was my very 1st course/game of DG that I played… after not knowing what I was doing it really got me hooked into the sport as I learned along the way throughout the course . I've been playing almost daily since my experience at this wonderful course. And I can't wait to get back to it and play it again but it's a tad far for me to drive to from Beaverton. I highly recommend you play it if advanced and if you are a virgin like I was to the park skip past the pond unless you wanna go swimming ;)

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Wet day in July

1    6/15/2007   8/30/2008
Review By: Thunder3434
Played: 22  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Like this course allot just wish it hadn't been raining. Great mix of of open and tight holes back 9 can kick your butt. Can't wait to make it back out to play again.
Cons: Back 9 has a nasty drop off and you can bet on a disc going off that edge. Loved the course other then that.
Other Thoughts: Lost a beast there first hole went straight long into the pond.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with good hole variety, longer and shorter holes, doglegs left and right, tight holes and a few wide open shots.
Tee signs and maps before hole 1. (A rarity it seems around here.)
Good tee pads and baskets.
Hole 2 offers a rare over water shot.
Weekly league through the summer.
Course has a nice overall setting when the weather holds up.
Other courses not too far away allow for a good day of disc golfing.

Cons: Element of luck is very present, course can be very fickle.
As mentioned course can get overgrown and the park itself is not in the best shape.
Tweakers have been known to break into cars (don't leave any valuables)
Some might find the lack of longer drives a minus factor.
Other Thoughts: On the whole Dabney is a very nice course, some of the smaller factors can take away from the overall impression but the course itself is well designed, it challenges pretty much all ability levels and gives those with less distance a fighting chance. It's also one of the closest 18 hole courses to many in Portland. If you live somewhere in the metro area definitely play Dabney, if you're in Portland for a few days come check it out, but after you play Pier park Milo Mciver and maybe even Trojan once they put the new tee pads in.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.