Troutdale, OR 
Dabney State Park Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #16 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 

6/7/2008   6/7/2008
Review By: radsnowsurfer
Played: 115  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course with good hole variety, longer and shorter holes, doglegs left and right, tight holes and a few wide open shots.
Tee signs and maps before hole 1. (A rarity it seems around here.)
Good tee pads and baskets.
Hole 2 offers a rare over water shot.
Weekly league through the summer.
Course has a nice overall setting when the weather holds up.
Other courses not too far away allow for a good day of disc golfing.

Cons: Element of luck is very present, course can be very fickle.
As mentioned course can get overgrown and the park itself is not in the best shape.
Tweakers have been known to break into cars (don't leave any valuables)
Some might find the lack of longer drives a minus factor.
Other Thoughts: On the whole Dabney is a very nice course, some of the smaller factors can take away from the overall impression but the course itself is well designed, it challenges pretty much all ability levels and gives those with less distance a fighting chance. It's also one of the closest 18 hole courses to many in Portland. If you live somewhere in the metro area definitely play Dabney, if you're in Portland for a few days come check it out, but after you play Pier park Milo Mciver and maybe even Trojan once they put the new tee pads in.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5/17/2008   5/17/2008
Review By: Brody Cannon
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: An excellent variety of challenging shots with many elevation changes. Well layed out and a great place for an all day outing. This course ranks up there as probably my favorite course. I love the pressure and adrenaline rush that some of the intimidating holes give.
Cons: Many of the holes get very soggy and muddy during the winter and in the summer, the bushes take over and make it much more difficult. A tough course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Like it was said in an earlier review, you might want to bring extra discs because you will likely lose some if you aren't playing well or are getting unlucky.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/14/2008   3/14/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 161  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 13.6 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
-Mostly decent tee pads (hole three is an exception!)
-Decent Tee signs
-Baskets acceptable
-Nice variety of tee shots
-Fun in winter & early spring (before things grow)
-Good variety in hole length
-Good variety of woodsy tight shots
-Fair for lefty and righty
-Plenty of trash cans to dispose of beer
-Fun events to participate in
-Multiple pin positions add awesome variety
Cons:
-Too many shots where luck is the biggest factor
-Even with the trash cans everywhere, ppl still feel a need to throw their beer cans in all over the course
-During spring, summer, and early fall, I don't suggest playing this course. The stinging nettles grow rampant all over, up to six feet tall, the blackberry bushes mask any possibility of finding a disc that ricocheted off a tree. The "gorge" on the last few holes is inaccessible and even if you can get into it, you won't find your plastic.
-Car vandalism is a big problem at Dabney. Cars are often broken into and the thieves steal everything inside they can take. This is a problem for all Oregon State Park parking lots, but Dabney is worse than most.
Other Thoughts: Dabney is a fun course in winter, if you're accustomed to Oregon winter golf. For the summer, I avoid Dabney like the plague. I don't enjoy throwing excellent drives, that somehow knick a tree you didn't see, and then soar off into nowhere land, never to be recovered. I don't mind losing discs, but losing discs from good throws is really frustrating.

The overall course design is decent, there are some really fun tee-shots, and the greens are all well protected, sometimes a bit too much.

If I could give this course a rating for how it plays in the winter, I'd give it a 3.5. For summer golf, I'd give it a 2. It's a Dr. Jekyl and Mr Hyde kind of scenario in my opinion.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 They Don't Call It Grab-Me For No Reason!

8/8/2001   2/22/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/14/2008
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a nice physical setting to work with including water to challenge, deep, deep gorges, lovely NW forrests, big open air throws and elevation changes. It's well marked with excellent tees signs and has nice benches everywhere. I especially like the #2 hole where you have the choice to throw over the pond (not that far) or you can play safe and go around. A deuce is the reward, probably a lost disc is the penalty unless you brought snorkling gear..
Cons: I don't really like courses where there is too great a risk of losing discs, I'm sorry, I grow too attached to my favorites. And at Dabney there are a couple of holes where if your disc sails wide left, it's lost into the deepest, darkest, most meanacing thorny-ass, filled gorge and there's no need to even bother looking. And the worse news, your best option might be to tee it up again! Some players thrive on that pressure.
Other Thoughts: The locals have nicknamed the course "Grab-Me" because this course tends to grab your disc, never to be seen again. In spite of this, it's lovely! it's worth the trip, it's challenging! Just bring extra plastic!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing

7/30/2004   7/30/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I can't say anything bad, ok maybe a little, but man is this a nice course. It starts with beautiful t-signs and benches, and then you start playing. The front 9 is relativly open with small trees, a pond and blackberry bushes to challenge your accuracy. Then the back 9 goes into the woods and 4 or 5 holes skirt along a nasty gorge that will cost you some strokes if you can't stay out of it. Wow, now I wish I was in Oregon.
Cons: You might lose a disc, but if that is going to stop you......I know where there is a shuffleboard court you can play on, I'm sure the old folks will teach you how to play.

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.