West Gardiner, ME 
CR Farm Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Beautiful Wooded Farm

1    10/5/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: el_duder
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Basics: Baskets are all in great condition, concrete tee pads are nice.

+Layout Navigation: I didn't have any issues. The place has nice paths and next tee signs.

+Challenge: This course is a nice technical test and really forces a good variety of shots and gives players an opportunity to work out their mids.

+Extras: There are garbage cans everywhere, I believe there were a couple port-a-potties around, nicely stocked pro shop, dog friendly, pretty good value at $5/rnd and excellent value at $8/day.

+Scenery: I suspect most courses in Maine get a little boost from the scenery up there. It's just a very pretty place.
Cons: -Tee Signs: Very basic and carved into wood. They function well and are only barely worth pointing out as a con.

-Repetition: I feel like some of the holes were a little repetitive. I'd have to play the course a few more times, but I recall getting that "I've seen this before" feeling while standing on a few of the teepads.

-Par 5's: I don't think I played particularly well on the par 5's and managed to birdie two them and par the other. I think they would be very challenging par 4's but they're kind of easy par 5's. I guess it will depend on your skill level, but I'm barely an 880 rated player and felt they should be par 4's. Note, I didn't play 19-21 so those holes aren't factored into this minor con. I'll have to re-evaluate this whenever I get back to play again.
Other Thoughts: This was my first course in Maine, a beautiful place to go for a relaxing vacation. My brother and I hit this place up on our way from Portland to Surry. CR Farm is located within a short distance of 295 and it takes very little effort to hop off the highway for a round. I'm not really accustomed to pay-to-play courses, but this seems like a fairly priced course, especially at $8 for the day. You get great scenery, an superbly maintained course, great amenities, and a solid challenge with a healthy dose of fun.

Unfortunately, I only played through 18 holes due to a sore elbow. The last three holes looked like some great bomber holes, but I just couldn't let them rip without agitating my elbow.

This course is a technical one and as such, I was right at home with pulling mids and putters and focusing on shot placement over distance. For the most part the course is a bunch of par 3's that will reward a great shot with a birdie and punish bad shots. The par 5's are all really nice holes I'm just not sure they should be par 5's (as mentioned). Holes 9 and 17 also stood out to me a great holes. 9 throws a short distance over a small pond and then up a narrow tunnel. 17 is one of the few holes I can think of that had some elevation factor into the layout.

I really wish I could have aired out some throws on the final three holes but I really had a great time playing through 18. There is enough of a challenge for all skill levels, although newer players will struggle, until they develop a good variety of shots. My brother has only played disc golf twice and threw a lot of bogies, but not too many double bogies. He commented a few times that he wished he had a flick. Overall, I'd definitely recommend spending the day at CR Farm and look forward to stopping next time I'm in Vacationland.

I'd like to give this a 3.75, because I can't quite give it a 4 so I'm going with the 3.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/15/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: seano2222
Played: 58  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: .
.
Setting:

Have played CR Farms on two separate occasions now, two rounds each. This review is based on the most recent April trip to the area on a warm, dry, light wind day. No leaves on the trees yet, too early for black flies or mosquitoes, notably dry conditions the previous month and a very early snow melt.

Two miles off the interstate, surrounded by farmland, the course is cut into an oasis of woodland. A variety of services are available near by at the off-highway accessible turnpike plaza.

Technically Speaking:

Every hole has a variety of interesting and often unique challenges, but never annoyingly tight or unmanageable. CR is worthy of many superlative comments, but this simple one should be lost in them --> This is an extraordinarily FUN course to play.

By my count, for RHBH, eleven holes require stable or hyzer and usually some intended low speed fade. Eight holes favor an anhyzer, some forced short ones and others longer by turning it over just a little bit. At least five holes have elevation change that cannot be denied when you plan your shot. There is some water, but nothing imposing enough to lose a disc in, unless you really want to.

The woods never feel too tight along the fairways and the tree obstacles are generally established trees with no low branches. Players of all levels have a manageable shot off the tee box on all but maybe two holes, however risk rewards the brave on most of the tee shots, which is what makes this course so exceptional.

Overall the total length is less than average, but the hole lengths are nicely assorted for use of putters, mids and drivers out of the box.

Newly added bonus holes 19-21 are like suddenly being transported to an entirely different course. All around Five Hundred Feet each, these are wide open Grip -n- Rip opportunities. If your rounds didn't go so well, make sure to play this stress relieving 3-hole loop. An outstanding supplement to the course.

Pro's

CR Farm is a truly relaxed and enjoyable atmosphere. The owners/operators are very friendly and accommodating. The regulars are welcoming and helpful. No trouble playing through and never felt rushed. Decently little pro-shop and facilities on sight stocked some discs plus packaged snacks and chilled drinks. I didn't ask but by the number of dogs we saw, it is surely dog friendly. Around the club house there is ample parking, picnic tables, practice baskets and even a driving net. I'm not sure what the Renault Le Car is for, but they got one.

Each hole has a concrete poured or large concrete forms tee pad, mostly landscaped such that they drain and wouldn't seem to hold snow or ice. Trash bins, recyclable bins, rugged benches and wire spool tables accommodate each box. Rustic carved or routered signage adds a nice signature touch. No navigation trouble for a first timer.

The grounds were immaculate. There had clearly been a great deal of effort spent on cleaning up sticks, blow-downs, brush and leaves, both on the fairways and bordering woods. The fairways were for the most part stump and trip hazard free, leaving decent footing for most shots. We visited during a prolonged dry spell, so there was no issue with water, but there appeared to be a fair amount of drainage ditches, culverts and crushed stone put it to manage the wetter times. I can never emphasize enough how far good grounds keeping goes towards making a great course - These folks did well.

Eight dollars to play all day and kids under 12 were free. According to my score card app, on a clear warm, Sunday it took our card of three 1:39 to play the first round, including the bonus holes and then 1:03 to play the last round of just 18.
Cons: .
.
Con's

No issues when we played, but I have to imagine the water holes in proximity to the course could be good mosquito generators?

They've done a good job landscaping and adorning the tee boxes to provide some character to the course, but there are not really any particularly stunning holes. The woods the course is cut into is a bit ordinary with no memorable elevation changes, rock formations, old growth tree centerpieces, scenic vistas or the like. In fairness, the sudden twenty foot rise and granite steps on hole 10 is pretty damn cool and the first bonus hole does play across a decent sized pond including a bridge crossing.
Other Thoughts: .
.
Favorites:

Hole 10, that plays up onto the shelf with the granite stairs, begs for and rewards a towering midrange or putter hyzer. Hole 7 lets you throw out a long high drive, with some restraint and then fade through the obstacles towards the basket. The kind of hole that will drive you crazy because you just know you can deuce on the strength of the first shot.

Least favorites:

Hole 9 across the little frog pond was imposingly tight for the newcomer, but I have a feeling it would come around after a few confidence building drives. Hole 13 seemed to lack any repeatable tee shot.

Opportunities for improvements:

This goes for all wooded courses, it would be awesome if twice a year they could run a leaf blower out there and blow the leaves not just off the fairway, but deep into the woods. Discs that skitter under leaves are frustrating to search for and cause log jams in the course. This is not a chronic problem here, just could be better. I'd also consider adding some grass in places to spruce it up and maybe define some walkways a little with crushed stone to add some character. Such an incredibly fun course to play that could only benefit from a couple visual tweaks to make it more memorable.


4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    9/11/2010   9/26/2010
Review By: badpenny
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: This course is one of 4 courses within 5 miles of my house. Not for lack of choices, this is by far my favorite. The owners of the course are excellent as well as some of the locals that frequent the shop. The course has a little of everything for everyone. A relativly short course, but very challanging.
Cons: There really is very little elevation change throughout, but the abundance of trees almost makes up for it.
Other Thoughts: This is one of central Maine's best courses and it would be well worth the drive for anyone.

 great course

1    8/5/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: dukdukgolf
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
Pros: challenging technical course. Very well kept course,,easy to follow,,well maintained with great concrete tee pads. Really liked the layout and alot of the holes. Back 9 was all 3 par,,basically technical fun holes that require just about every disc type to avoid the trees. Front 9 had a few nice par 5's that were real nice and challenging. I really liked some of the crazy dog legs on this course. Also had a great pro shop.
Cons: Not a ton of elevation. I could see it getting very muddy if it rains alot. It was good when i went though.
Other Thoughts: i live in MA but really hope to go back here soon.

 CR Farm

1    6/27/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: hollywoodser
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Very friendly staff! Very easy to navigate. Nicely cared for. Great proshop. Nice use of all throws.
Cons: Some swampy hazzards.
Other Thoughts: Nice course cool proshop. Heavily wooded but fun! A little more techinical. Bring insect repellent if its warm.

 CR Farm

2-4    4/5/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: Huff
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is primarily a technically challenging wood course, but a few holes are field-ish or more open wooded fairways that do offer the big arms a chance to rip a few discs. Very nice concrete Tee Boxes with a broom hanging at every hole (see photos). Almost every hole had benches as well as trash/recycling buckets. Tee signs are nice and after each hole there are clear directional arrows signs to the next tee. Well stocked Pro Shop that offered snacks + drinks as well.
Cons: It's clear that the spring clean up of the course hasnt finished yet as there were a few winter blow downs throughout the course. From the looks of the rest of the course they will be taken care of soon. Sections of the course we're a little soggy, again something I suspect is a spring problem. Day rate is now 8.00
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play, and when time allows I'll go back.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.