Chesterbrook, PA 
Wilson Farm Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Good for what it is

5+    5/22/2016   5/24/2016
Review By: In The Rough
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: I gave the course a "passable" rating because a 4-hole course really can't earn more than that. However, as a location for practicing, this park is pretty awesome. I frequently start on the lacrosse field near the course (but still in the same park), and use it as a space to work on arm strength. Then, I walk over to the course where I can spend time on approach and putts. The holes can be played forward or backwards, and they are used so little you'll most likely have the space all to yourself.
Cons: As stated, its only 4 holes; so, there is only a tiny bit of "course" to be played.
Stinging thorns in the rough will make some errant throws turn into lost discs, and I find at least one tick after each time I play here.
Kids sometimes play in the space that is supposed to be a fairway, but they usually realize this and disappear once they see what I'm up to.
Other Thoughts: This is far from a destination course. However, if you're in the area and want to work on your game, it can be an ideal place to practice.

Small practice course

1    5/17/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: gbikofsky
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in the back of a pretty park. There are markers instead of tees and the baskets are fine. The grass was cut around baskets and fair ways. Since there are only four holes, I played it 3 times. Good putt and approach practice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

4 short ones

1    3/7/2016   3/13/2016
Review By: MikeyH
Played: 49  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a cool little course that used to be the only one anywhere near here until Sweetbriar recently appeared in King of Prussia. Good for a putter or putter and midrange round, no need to bring a bag. Nice place to teach kids how to play.
Cons: It's only 4 holes and there's a drainage ditch separating it into pairs because there's no easy way to get from 2 to 3. When its dry you can cross the rocks. I don't know why there's no path to go through the woods, but there's not and it has sticker bushes. Have to watch out for people walking, picnicing or biking.
Other Thoughts: Played here a lot when it was the only thing local and gas was over $4. The holes are really nice but I hardly ever come here any more now that there are baskets closer to home and if I want to drive somewhere, this isn't where I'm going to pick. But if you live near here it's a good place to work on your short game or come bang some chains on your lunch hour or whatever.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Course

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tee signs and very short holes. The course is very well maintained.
Cons: No signs in the park for the course, no sign from the parking lot to hole 1. The flow is wonky.
Other Thoughts: The course is a giant X or +. Since the course is only 4 holes I played it 5 times.
Hole 1: (2,2,2,2,3)
Hole 2: (2,2,2,2,2)
Hole 3: (3,3,3,3,4)
Hole 4: (3,3,3,3,4)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Little Gem

5+    4/17/2015   4/20/2015
Review By: wookieebeck
Played: 41  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Yes, there are only 4 holes. But they are nice DG holes. The first tests your 200' anny. The second is a test for 150' approach. The third is green in a wooded pocket on a hyzer line. And the last is the longest hole with tough tunnel shot.
Cons: You just can't spend a day here (it is not a destination in itself). But if you are local, come get in some good practice. This small gem is growing on me more and more and we hit it on the way to Camp Sanc sometimes to warm up.
Other Thoughts: Recently, it seems like the rough has been thinned out alot. Can't really lose a disc right now. We will see what the summer brings.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 SMALL

1    5/20/2014   8/19/2014
Review By: Philly_DG
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: its a DG Course, with chains....
there is a great chance you will be alone
Cons: Its very, very small. If you live close, its a perfect place to practice.

its very small
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't go out of my way to come to this course, but if you live close, its not a bad place to practice.
There is a huge football field nearby where you can practice your drives.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    5/3/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: kafbucks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park, very quiet, holes are short, easy to navigate through, holes usually lead right to the next tee, even if the discs go into the bushy rough, there is plenty of space to go get it so you shouldn't have to worry about losing discs.
Cons: No tee pads, I was really surprised by that, the course just has a pole that has a small map showing where the hole is and i guess you have to tee off beside it, would be nice if they even had a mat there or something, which brings me to the next point, some of the holes have dirt where alot of people have tee'd off from, and on hole 4 i actually slipped on mud during the tee, hence why they should have at least mat tees, but time to move on. One little thing is there were some low hanging branches that kinda ruined my throw, but that's just nit picking honestly they were only at one hole that i remember, one thing that bothered me is that this park is huge, therefore they should've had signs pointing toward the disc golf course in the main parking lot, by the way, if you use a GPS to get there turn right in the parking lot and follow that road all the way around and it should lead you to a parking lot in the back of the park, follow the path past the picnic tables and the volleyball nets and then the path will fork, take it to the right and you'll see the sign for the first tee on the left
Other Thoughts: Let's get this out of the way, yes the course has only 4 holes, which honestly didn't bother me that much. Despite the bad stuff and it only being four holes it is a really nice course, and i wouldn't mind playing there again. Someone complained about deer, but i didn't see any. There was another reviewer that gave a way to turn it into a 9 hole course, but i just played through the course twice. I did see a lot of people disc golfing there, but no one got in my way and everyone seemed really respectful

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  there is REAL potential here

2-4    11/10/2013   11/12/2013
Review By: TSivhar
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Despite this currently being a rudimentary & unremarkable 4 hole layout, there is plenty of scrubby woodland in the immediate vicinity of existing holes to conceive of a 9 hole course... which in terms of the terrain could become an excellent layout. Perhaps someone or group will adopt that goal. Wilson Farm Park is a tranquil park since Valley Forge (which is within a couple of miles) absorbs a huge proportion of local recreation. The terrain at Wilson is nice enough that a skilled designer could produce a very fine course.
Cons: Four mostly unremarkable holes... though one reviewer has squeezed 9 holes out of his "safari" layout, which creative effort is really admirable. But in current conditions even the original 4 holes (let alone the safari layout) are a pretty brushy, rough affair. I think the effort might be better spent lobbying local parks a/o pols to invest in course expansion.
Other Thoughts: Perhaps the trickiest aspect of lobbying for expansion of this course from 4 holes to 9 is that it can't possibly attract many users in its current form --particularly intermediate and experienced players-- it just isn't interesting enough. Therefore it presents a conundrum as far as demonstrating the value and interest in an improved, expanded course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 It's just a little guy.

1    8/22/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: Dublicious
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained fairway and catchers.

Good for practicing your short game.
Cons: Only 4 holes.

Narrow fairways.

Roughs are easy to lose discs in.

Thin creek bed running between 1-2 and 3-4 can be tough to retrieve discs from.
Other Thoughts: The course designer obviously did the best with what he/she was given. I went here to practice when I had a couple of hours after work. It's probably also good for introducing kids to the game who will get bored with more holes or don't have the arm for longer runs. Introducing an adult would probably be underwhelming.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  It is what it is

5+    10/16/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: freedom298
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Full disclosure: This is my home course. No, nobody is going to confuse Wilson for Tyler, Camp Sankanac or several of the other world class courses suburban Philadelphia has to offer.

That being said, I've played this course probably close to 200 times and have developed a safari layout that will allow you to enjoy much more then the simple 4 holes listed.

Start off with the regular course. 1, 2, 3, 4 in order- As the pictures and reviews mention all relatively short holes. A decent midrange game and some accuracy should have you in the conversation for a 2.

Now, "4 to 2". It is the basket of hole four up to basket of 2 - Probably the most challenging hole of the safari layout. A little under 400 feet slightly uphill with a narrow fairway for the first 250 feet. Missing left or right can leave you struggling for a 4.

"2 to 3" As you're walking towards hole 2's basket you should notice a small pathway behind and slightly to the left of it. Follow that, you will see a small clearing that we have developed. From here throw to basket 3. It is a straight 200 foot shot but quite narrow with a few hanging limbs to avoid.

"3 to 2" Continue walking past basket 3 on the line you came from 2. You will see a clearing that we have developed. From there throw back to 2's basket. Approximately 250 feet with a narrow opening that includes having to avoid 3's basket. A fun hole

"2 to 4" - Reverse of 4 to 2. A little under 400 feet slightly downhill. The best route is an anhyzer down the left path.

"4 to 1" - Walk past 4's basket to where the rocks begin. From there play to 1's basket. Approximately 350 feet which crosses the creek bed and you need to avoid a bunch of trees.

"Long 1" - Walk back towards the teebox at one. Continue past it to the trees about 100 feet behind. Throw from between the two trees. A slightly different line and a little more distance then 1 itself.

"1 to 3" - From behind the manhole play to 3. 250 ft with a protected basket make it a fairly difficult par 3.

"3 to 1" - From the right of 3's basket play back to hole 1. Favors a heavy tomahawk and better played during the winter months when it is easier to find your disc.

Play 2 again

"2 to 1" - From the basket of 2 play back to 1. A little over 200 feet with a bush that needs to be navigated at the end if you want to have any chance at a 2.

Rinse and repeat as you like.

Other benefits - You will usually have the course to yourself. Which is obviously a benefit given the safari layout is difficult to play with multiple groups on the course.

Cons: The cons have been pretty well established in previous reviews and agree with them. The course is small, but I do believe the designer did the best he could with the parcel of land he was given.

Foliage can get pretty dense in the summer but it has died off significantly already and it is much easier to find discs right now.

First time finding the course can be difficult. As others have mentioned park by the basketball courts and follow the path down past the pavilion.
Other Thoughts: Like I mentioned earlier, nobody will mistake Wilson for a championship caliber course. However, I think the safari layout above provides a more fulfilling disc golf experience than you would get from playing the 4 established holes over and over.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.