Woodsboro, MD 
Woodsboro Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #3 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 262ft.   3 / 271ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very nice short course

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The grounds are beautiful, with picnic like environment. Every hole plays differently. Some are short, a few are a real distance stretch.
Cons: Only 9 holes, and no pin variations cut down on replayability. Poison ivy arund many trees/rough is a negative -- bring extra drivers and a plastic bag.
Other Thoughts: The two tee locations really do not play differently from each other.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A fun course

1    6/9/2009   6/10/2009
Review By: raj5021
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very unique layout as it is mostly on the side of a hill.
Provides a great opportunity to work on up and down hill throws.
Some nice variety with a few tight holes, a few moderate holes and some good old open holes.
Cons: Only 9 holes right now but still fun to play a quick round
May be a little open for some folks but I feel like it is a good mix
Other Thoughts: Fun to play and worth the visit if you are in the area. Hopefully 9 more holes can be added to turn this into a full DG experience.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Fun for a beginner

5+    3/7/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: claudius753
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
*A good first course for a beginner, as it was the first course I ever played.
*The holes are varied enough to provide a challenge, yet not so hard as to discourage a new player.
Cons:
*Only 9 holes.
*No tee pads
*No signage as to distance/par for each hole
Other Thoughts: This was my first ever course and brought me into the world of disc golf. Holes 3 and 4 are pretty hard for a new RHBH player. Hole 7 is a blast of a downhill hole. Hole 9 can eat some discs when the skating pond is filled yet not frozen over.

I would love to see this course expanded into a full 18 holes. There seems to be plenty of area for some more holes to be added, for instance back the trail behind the basket for 6.

If you are not 100% accurate and hate thorns beware, as a newbie I've got several "battle scars".

This course is only about 7 miles away from my house, so as the weather gets nicer, I have been trying to play at least twice a week before work.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best Glow Golf in Maryland!

5+    12/29/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 21.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees with different looks makes the nine play like 18.

Great shot variation required, some tight holes that are very hard to par.

The skating pond was filled in late December, which doubles the water hazard on #9. There is an alternate tee where you take a stroke on this hole.

This course is open year around until 10PM! Get your Glow On!
Cons: Only 9 holes right now.

Thorns can be a bit of a pain, and there is some poison ivy.

When there is snow on the ground, 6 & 7 are not playable due to sledders using the hill.
Other Thoughts: Playing a forehand flick only round I put a led lit disc in the skating pond twice! The led made it easy to find, but it was still a very cold retreival.

This is the most difficult course of the three Frederick County Courses (See Heritage & Middletown)

Course Record from Monday Singles
Eric Grolton - 50

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Looking forward to improvements

1    9/20/2008   9/24/2008
Review By: harpsm
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diversity - each hole offers something different - uphill, downhill, tight woods, water hazards.
Big elevation changes.
Nice scenery from the top of the hill
Cons: Only 9 holes (though apparently will expand to 18 eventually).
The 2 woods holes could use some grooming.
Some very thorny OB areas.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good course, but I can imagine it being much better if redesigned as an 18-holer. Stay tuned....

Favorite holes:
Hole 7 is an awesome downhill bomb, but beware the thick thorns in the OB!
Hole 9 has a narrow fairway between a sludgy pond and a creek. You'll need power and/or precision to keep your disc dry.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.