Woodsboro, MD 
Woodsboro Regional Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #6 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 232ft.   3 / 262ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Approach



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Course Begs for A Re-Design!

1    7/16/2013   7/19/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Woodsboro Regional Park 9 hole course plays on a fairly interesting piece of land. The first 7 holes play up this steep, grassy wonderful looking side of a hill. There are two signs for each hole, the Blue (Longs) and the Red (Shorts). There is usually very little difference between the two, sometimes as little as 30 feet with not much appreciable angle change. There are no tee pads. You just throw off the grass or sometimes off worn places in the grass. The baskets are Discatchers with most showing some rust coming through.
# 1, 2, 4 and 6 all have you throwing up this steep hillside. # 3 is a slight downhill while # 5 is flat. Finally # 7 is the big downhill you've been dreaming about and when you finally get there, it was a huge disappointment for me. Then 8 and 9 are flat throws over near the lake area.
Cons: This course was quite the enigma for me. First off, starting at sea level and playing to the top of the world is not the best idea. The trouble here is, I'm not quite sure of how to remedy this problem? But I have a couple of suggestions.

I hated starting off by throwing 310 feet uphill. That's not fun for anyone. I'd make #'s 8 and 9 the first and second holes.

Next....Move the current # 1 basket. Make it shorter and get it out of the middle of the fairway. Then have a longer walk up to the current # 2.

The current # 3 which is blind, semi-downhill into the woods. The current basket placement is in a ridiculous position tucked up to the right. Leave it in a hyser position, slighly downhill and left. Make this a possible ACE hole or an easier birdie.

Current # 4. Someone please cut away the downed tree which is totally eliminating the Blue tee. It's already a tough enough hole. Move the Red tee closer to the basket.

Current # 5. Spread out the distance between the Red and the Blue tees to at least 100-150 making you feel like you're playing two entirely different holes.

Current # 6. It's just foolish to throw uphill to the highest point on the course and THEN WALK HALFWAY DOWNHILL TO TEE OFF for your big downhill. Make # 6 a shorter uphill throw. Place the basket well to the side or in the woods. Make sure it's out of way for the big finale.

# 7. This giant hill should be a really memorable, wonderful finishing hole. Make it # 9. Place the Blue tee at the very top of the hill. Put the Red tee where the Blue tee currently is. NOW, the basket (#7) is currently is in a horrible spot right on the side of the hill. Anyone throwing here has to ease up so as not to see their disc fly into the trees and never be seen again.

SOLUTION!!! DING. DING! Place this now finishing (#9) basket lower on the hill right in the middle of the grass between the parking lot and the soccer fields. You would now have an EPIC finishing hole! Imagine standing at the very top and looking down at the basket (Estimated distance) 800 feet below.
Other Thoughts: Very few courses are blessed to have this kind of an EPIC mountain to throw off. Woodsboro is wasting this golden opportunity at this time by throwing from halfway down the mountainside.

Another possibility would be to make two cool downhill throws. Make # 8 a cool downhill ACE toss from the very top to a basket located somewhere where the Blue # 7 tee currently is. And then put the # 9 basket at the bottom of the hill in the middle and throw from where the current Blue # 7 is. That way, you'd get not one, but two great downhill throws.

That's the way I'd re-design this course.

Faithfully submitted,

18 July, 2013

Douglas Niedemayer

Sargent Of Arms

Or

The Valkyrie Kid

Lover Of Epic Downhills Throws

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 OK for a quick 9

2-4    9/30/2011   9/30/2011
Review By: Jimb
Played: 73  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to all of the eateries, shopping, etc. in Frederick. About 5 minutes from 18 more holes at Heritage Farm Park. The course begins and ends relatively close to the parking lot (within a couple hundred yards). Bathroom on site, but it's out of order. So they have a port-a-jon on site currently.

Baskets are in good shape with just a little rust starting to show on some chains. Navigation is pretty simple. The baskets are clearly numbered. The two sets of tees are easy to find with simple posts in the ground, marked with the tee color and hole number. The course map is very helpful if you do run into any navigation issues at all. The grass was well manicured when I played.

The land is used well to take advantage of both the open grass areas and the woods. The course has both up-hill and down-hill holes. It has both left and right turning holes. And it has open and wooded holes. When the skating pond has water in it (and isn't frozen over) holes #8-9 could both have water in play.

The length is OK for me with several holes over 350' from the blue tees.
Cons: I didn't take this into account as a con in my rating, but pin #1 is still missing, apparently due to some sort of construction. Although I couldn't see any work being done that would have prevented a basket from being in place. From the looks of the tee locations and the map, hole #1, even if in place, wouldn't have done anything to change my overall opinion of the course.

When you're in the wooded holes, #3-6 (and maybe 7 if you go too far left), the brush gets thick quickly. And there are a lot of sticker bushes in there. It's my fault for going off the fairways or greens, but I don't think that it would hurt the course to clear out the rough a bit deeper.

I just didn't find any "wow factor" here at all. Even on the big down-hill #7. It just called for a mid or fairway driver for me on a simple hyzer line. Even with the wind whipping up the hill in my face, it just didn't play as cool as it could have. It seems as though there was a lot more space to make this a true "bomb" hole.

I have a couple "design" items that I'd like to mention. I wasn't fond of #2. There are evergreen trees that parallel the fairway and you have get to the other side (to the left) of the tree line, through a narrow gap between the trees, to get to the pin. I can see myself spending a lot of time trying to get discs out of the trees.

#3 is a pretty cool little right turner. But I can't see there being a reasonable chance of ever being able to shoot for birdie, even though the hole is short (262' & 271'). There's a nice landing zone about 50-60' from, and well below, the basket. So even the perfect drive leaves me only a hope and a prayer for birdie. And I couldn't figure out any other way to approach the hole better. There might be one, though.

#8 has you throw across a walking path that is lined with big trees on either side of it. Then the basket is behind an even bigger tree. It seems that from the shorts, I could (RHBH) a big spike hyzer or a big anhyzer into the pin. But from the longs, without the kind of distance needed to go over the trees (351' hole) it seems to leave too much to chance and not skill. I hoped to make it through the first row of trees, only to then have to deal with the 2nd row of trees. And unless you throw a low screamer, with a 10' maximum ceiling, there's no room in-between the branches of the trees at all.

The low lying areas were holding a lot of water when I played. And even some of the hillside holes were muddy and slippery.
Other Thoughts: Highlights. I like uphill, right turning #4. But from the blue tees, the brush from above is growing into the fairway and consuming almost the entire throwing lane. It definitely needs some maintenance. If the line is re-created from the blue tees, this is a cool little hole.

#5 is my favorite on the course. It's just a nice disc golf hole. You have to play around a couple big trees early (no problem) down an open fairway, lined with trees on both sides, to a pin tucked behind a really big tree. There's a decent gap to the left of the big tree and not much of one to the right unless your throw is really low. I just think that it's a fun, and pretty, hole.

And #6 is also neat. It's an uphill, left turner. There's a clear fairway with a severe dogleg in it. I don't have the length to go for the pin from the longs and so a well placed tee shot left me with a nice approach for par. I'd love to see a "big arm" play the hole, getting a big hyzer all of the way back into the pin.

On hole #9, there are also two red tees. One is on the same levee as the blue tee, just a little closer the basket. The other red tee is down on the flat ground, in front of the levee, between the skating pond and the trees. I'm not sure why there are two red tees.

This is a decent little 9 hole course. Unless I have reason to be on the NE side of Frederick, though, I doubt that I would bother going back. I wouldn't call it road trip worthy. But if you're hitting Heritage, just down the road, then you might as well check out Woodsboro.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Promises, promises...

1    7/11/2011   7/15/2011
Review By: Old Swampy
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Attractive landscape for a course. Adequate parking and a nice course map. First tee obvious from parking. Good baskets. Some holes interesting/ challenging. Some water hazard potential. Two tees for some holes.
Cons: Course map not accurate since two holes are partly gone. No information on construction that has altered course. Odd layout. Some tees and some tee signs missing.
Other Thoughts: This course is located in a nice local park, partly in a creek bottom and partly on the hillside above. The course map, conveniently located beside the parking lot, includes hole locations and lengths. Unfortunately, as soon as you attempt to actually play the first hole you realize something's wrong... there's no basket. Apparently it was once located in or near an area that is now a construction zone - it looks to me as though a small soccer (?) field is being put there. Along with the first basket, the second tee is missing... or at least I couldn't find it, despite having a copy of the course map with me. I did see a couple of signs on posts that might have indicated the second tee locations, but one was simply leaning against a wooden bench, and was wet and couldn't be read in any case.

Once you've located the basket for hole 2, you can play the remaining seven holes like normal, which is what we did. Holes three through five have a nice flow to them, with fairly narrow fairways and trees to cause trouble left and right. Hole six is an uphill shot that is fairly straightforward; when it gets odd is when you realize that you have to turn around and walk back down the fairway of six to reach the tee for seven. And then that tee's not there, though I think we found where it should have been by virtue of a square hole (former tee signpost location?). Hole seven is something of a downhill bomb, a decent hole aside from the missing tee, but then you have a bit of a walk to the tee for eight (across the parking lot), again interrupting the flow of the course. Nine is interesting, with an out-of-bounds creek to the right, but I'm not sure that the two tees are justified here.

The landscape at this park promises a pleasant disc golf experience. A few of the holes deliver, but the course as a whole is currently incomplete, and even if the first two holes were replaced, there would be a couple of "flow issues" in regards to the layout. Despite all this I enjoyed playing the course; here's hoping it will be rebuilt soon and fulfill its promise of nine nice holes of disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Disappointed

1    5/13/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: realgm
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: good baskets
Cons: In my view, the course lacks imagination. After playing the course a couple of times the average player will card monotonous 3s, hole in and hole out.
Other Thoughts: I would like to see tee pads installed. The ground could be leveled and topped with rubber stall mats without breaking the bank.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 under construction

1    4/9/2011   4/12/2011
Review By: aDedhed
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 14.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: it was a beautiflul course. nice layout up and down a hill.
Cons: the first hole currently does not have a basket and the second hole does not have a tee. it looks like they are digging a new pond right where the two were.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course Begs to be Expanded!

1    7/19/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice elevation changes. Plays mostly up and down a hill, but still has some level shots for those who aren't big fans of elevation. The views from up top are great and very scenic!

- Nice manicured greens and little overgrowth on the fairways. Navigation from tee to tee is pretty easy and a map really isn't required IMO.

- Multiple tees, although there are no defined teepads (see cons)

- Shot selection is unique for each hole in that a number of methods (hyzers, anhyzers, thumbers, rollers, etc.) will probably be needed to par or birdie (or ace?)
Cons: - Only 9 holes. The front nine are so good that you almost feel like there should naturally be 18.

- No teepads. Just grass. Some are part of the hill, so you have to literally run "up" for your run-ups.

- There's a beautiful pond by #9, but it doesn't come in to play! Come on! I know 9 plays over a little skating pond, but it's often drained that's no fun. Move the tees over to the one that's actually filled! It would be a great memorable finish to the course.
Other Thoughts: Hole for hole, this is a better course IMO than the nearby Heritage Farm. It's less monotonous and feels more like a disc golf course with changes in topography and the presence of trees. The variety is evident here, and the elevation changes make for some nice shots and scenery. Beginners shouldn't be too frustrated here and more advanced players should be satisfied with the shot selection. If they add another 9 and put one of those holes across the pond, I'll definitely be back!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 good work out for a 9 holer

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of elevation.
2 tees for each basket.
Kiosk with giant map, but no take along maps or scorecards.
3 tees on hole 9 (wuss out tee if you are afraid of the skating pond)
Disccatcher baskets
Cons: No tee pads or tee signs, just sticks with numbers on them.
Poison ivy in trees.
Hole 1 pro tee and both hole 8 tees play across walking paths which is a safety issue, but the paths were not busy enough to severely impede the pace of the game.
Not a lot of variety in distances: 8 out of 9 are between 262-362.
only 9 holes, but I am glad no one tried to squeeze 18 in this area.
Other Thoughts: A tree has fallen in font of the pro tee on 4 making it a very difficult shot, but you could move to the am tee if you don't like it.
7 pro tee plays differently if you throw from the left side of the tee stick or the right side, make sure everyone agrees on which side you all will throw from before you start the hole, and do not over throw hole 7 or you may lose your discs in thorns and poison ivy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2010   6/14/2010
Review By: ski daredevil
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice beginner course. Is a course that you can play if you want to practice but don't have a lot of time to play 18 holes. My son liked the fact that he had a little of all the different elements. The course was well marked and had a map to guide you at the start of the course.
Cons: Would be nice to have a par indicator at the course map location or at each hole. Map indicates that hole 9 has water for skating pond but no water was in that location. The course does not indicate any out of bounds locations.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/4/2010   2/5/2010
Review By: cblack129
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Discatcher baskets are in excellent condition. There is an excellent course map posted next to the parking lot. Dual tees for every hole, Red Am and Blue Pro, marked with hole number. The course flows pretty well. No fairways cross into each other. Elevation comes into play on about 5 of the 9 holes. Water is in play on hole 9. For those worried about throwing a disc in the water, there is an alternate tee that costs you a stroke but takes the water out of play. The park stays open until 10 pm if you wanna play a night glow round.
Cons: Tee pads are marked by posts in the ground. No distances marked at tees. If you want distances, get them from course map and write them on your scorecard. Off the fairway in some spots are thorns.
Other Thoughts: Most distances aren't very long but the uphill holes make the hole longer than it looks. It's not a very long course but walking up and down the hills will give you a workout. With dual tees for every hole, you could play this as an 18 holer. Most holes are open with a few trees. Hole 3 and 4 have the tightest fairways.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice start

1    7/19/2009   12/20/2009
Review By: tmahan
Played: 86  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 31.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park near the foothills of the Catoctin Mountains. Very scenic considering it's proximity to some densely populated areas. The first 7 holes play up, across and down a large grass hill with several stands of trees as you approach the top. One and two are wide open tosses that take you halfway up the hill and give you a chance to get loose. #3 is a bear and one of my favorites, an extremely tight left to right bender through some thick foilage that wants nothing more than to snag your disc, a very technical shot that demands precision and punishes anything short. #4 is an uphill shot with a fairway guarded on both sides. Go left on this one and you'll be hating life. #6 goes back across the hill to a nicely placed pin and #6 curves left and up. Standing next to the #6 pin stop and take a look down the hill and enjoy the view, it's a good one. Then turn around and look into the woods, this area is the future of this course, I didn't walk very far but the potential back here is nicer than anything you'll have played so far. Before you walk down to the #7 tee, make sure there's no one in front of you and if not, consider tossing one from here to the #7 pin, this is the epic downhill shot that your were salivating over when you first drove into the parking lot and looked up the hill. #8 and #9 are down at the bottom of the hill with #9 probably the toughest hole on the course when the pond isn't drained. Course is open late and hosts a regular glow night after DST ends (Tuesdays I think).
Cons: Tees are marked by small 4 x 4 posts, and only one pin position per hole. Pretty open, you'll definitely work up a sweat schlepping up that hill druing the summer. Where there is foilage it can get pretty thick and thorny.
Other Thoughts: While there are some nice holes and a great hill to exploit, the real fun here will start when you can continue on into the woods after #6. This course went from rumor to reality pretty quick, I hope the driving forces are as successful with expansion. In the mean time some additional pin positions would like rate another notch. I'm not sure, but they may be holding off on improving the tees in case the existing layout is changed as part of any expansion.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.