Leander, TX 
Block House Creek Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #7 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/11/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Block house is a short, private course that has has good tee signs. Nice clean DISCatchers. You can tell that they keep the park area nice for the residents. Holes 6 and 7 were short wooded holes but they were enjoyable because they provided obstacles.
Cons: The holes are extremely short, nothing farther than 286. The navigation is a little tricky. Hole one is on the opposite side from the parking lot. It starts by the mail box, then it is pretty easy to follow. After hole 4 you cross the street again and play 5 then cross the parking lot to finish the last couple of holes. Holes 1-5 and8 and 9 are completely wide open. They provide no challenge at all which makes the course a little boring. This is a private course but I still was able to play. I think there was a neighborhood watch guy in the parking lot staring at me but nothing was said. I think you will be able to play it if you are just nice and act like you belong there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Practice course only

5+    2/2/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
Pros: Good place to practice putt & approach shots.

Not too busy, so no waiting at holes.

Good place to bring your family/kids, with a park nearby.
Cons: Almost no challenge, with the possible exception of hole #7, which I call the "pin ball machine" hole.
Other Thoughts: I bring beginners here for a couple of weeks to get a feel for the game, then we go somewhere else.

It's close to my house, so sometimes I come here to practice approach shots, but even beginners should be able to play even par here without too much practice.

 Block House Creek

5+    2/9/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: ian j.
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Signs at tee boxes
-Good for practice
-Good if you live close by
Cons: -Dirt tee boxes
-Very short
-Very easy
-"Private"
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course to anyone unless they are just starting out or they have young children playing with them.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Putt and Approach Course

5+    11/25/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Chezzbaca
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you live within 5-10 minutes and only have time for a quick run then this is a solid place to play. In no way do I rate this course against others in the area (Wilco or Cat Hollow comes to mind) but it's a short and fun course for putting/approach shots or for beginners. Again if you live in the area its a great find (I live minutes away) but in no way would I travel over 15 minutes to play here.
Cons: Short course, watch out for people or cars when throwing on several holes.
Other Thoughts: It sufficient if your not looking for a 2-3 hour round. You can easily complete 9 holes in 30 minutes. Also, there is a decent park up the street with soccer fields to chuck your discs before or after you play ;-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It Is What It Is and It Is Fun

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: bayouace
Played: 38  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 22.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Get the right mindset. This course is meant to be a fun course for subdivision recreation. It it not a tournament course. Advanced players are doing this course for approach/putting. Average players are doing second shot/approach/putting. It is a fun, beautifully maintained course with holes from 150-280 feet. The first 4 holes and holes 6 and 7 are the fun ones. 5, 8, and 9 are wide open. 1-4 has you seeing the basket from the mulch tees. Each tee has the distance and is well-marked. Print out the map on DGCR and you will have no trouble finding anything. 1 and 2 each have a well-placed tree in the fairway, forcing you to hyzer or annie around them. 3 is the 280 across a field of knee-high grass and wildflowers. Very pretty and you can spot your disc just fine. 4 also has a small hill. 5 is wide open and short. 6 and 7(for me) are well-guarded by multiple trees I didn't think these were too easy. More dependent upon luck to get to the hole. 8 and 9 were open and you just had to not fade too much or you hit the street or gravel path respectively. Plenty of shade from 6-9. No shade elsewhere. Great course for beginners and GF or wife to play and not get frustrated. Good parking.
Cons: Sidewinding is corrrect. There is a sign at the entrance that says "recreational facilities are for residents only". There were 4 other DG'ers playing. No one passing by ever questioned us or looked at us like we were not welcome. No water. Rest rooms were probably available at the pool
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty course. Its a fun course. My wife is a beginner and she enjoyed it very much. I think if you go there and enjoy yourself and are friendly and courteous, you will have no trouble.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Quick 9 Hole Course

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Flat Armadillo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one is great for a beginner since it's difficult to lose a disc and the shots are all relatively short. The foothills on holes 1-4 are a fun challenge to navigate. The baskets are nice and you can always see them from the tee.
Cons: Watch where you walk. There are many dogs in the neighborhood with lazy owners.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-5 can get very windy. I don't recall ever seeing a 'residents only' sign there. I play this course whenever I have a little time to kill and no one has ever asked me to prove residency.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed super short course that is a load of fun to play. Seven of the nine holes are open and two are guarded by trees. For experienced players the challenge becomes "How many holes can you birdie?". Every tee shot is also an approach shot. All holes are aceable. The course is well marked and easy to follow with distances on the signs.
Cons: The first 4 holes are in a triangle surrounded by busy roads with a steady stream of traffic. You have to be careful not to turn anything over into the traffic. The tee pads are dirt. Tee box #1 is hard to find. It is in the traffic triangle across the street from the #5 basket.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time driving to this course. There is now a huge sign at the entrance that says "For Private Residents Only". They can have it but they get a 0 disc rating from me for not sharing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.