Leander, TX 
Block House Creek Share
Uploaded By: Cody Hole #3 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 286ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
family friendly pitch & putt

1    11/25/2015   4/9/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 235  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good discatchers, signs
-lots of short open holes that are good for beginners
-holes 1-4 have subtle uneven ground, not quite rolling hills
-a couple of holes with a number of trees on the back half
-even the some of the open holes have 1 tree to avoid
-clean neighborhood park with lots of other amenities
Cons: -very few obstacles on all but 2 holes
-walking path present on most holes
-some rutted natural tee pads
-limited street parking but there won't be many other people parking here, the course is not a big draw
Other Thoughts: Block House Creek is a great place for families and people from the neighborhood to be introduced to disc golf. It is a simple course, easily navigated and easily played. The baskets are in good condition and the signs are adequate.

Beyond that, this course has little to offer for most golfers. It has little to challenge anyone but the most inexperienced players. All but two holes are wide open with no more than 1 or 2 easily avoided trees. With the number of great courses around the Austin area, there are better options for almost any level player not far from this neighborhood.

Bottom line: neighborhood residents, families, and course baggers only.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Your Friendly Neighborhood Pitch 'n Putt

1    3/3/2016   3/3/2016
Review By: markmcc
Played: 144  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am reviewing this course as a neighborhood Pitch-and-Putt type course. In that light it is fine. What is isn't is a challenging, destination type course. For that head over to Williamson County DGC or Benbrook.

This is a short 9-holer, with hole lengths ranging from 150' to 286'. Five of the holes are less than 200' so this is a great place to dial in approach shots and putts.

Lots of mowed grass with no brush, so you won't lose a disc here unless you throw it over a fence, and even that isn't likely.

Holes 6 and especially Hole 7 bring large mature trees into play, but that is about it for obstacles on the course. Other holes are essentially wide open shots to the basket. It was very windy the day I played and that is where the challenge came from. On a calm day this would be a birdie-fest.

Simple tee signs with hole number and distance are all you need since every basket is easily visible from the tee. Tee pads are small dirt/gravel spots. Baskets are Innova DiscCatchers in very good shape.

Course navigation is simple. Holes 6 - 9 play start and finish near the parking area and I played them first. You then have to cross a road and walk a bit to find Holes 1 - 4. Hole 5 is on a separate spot of land that brings you back to the parking lot.
Cons: This is a short little course with little variety or challenge. Most holes are flat and open with only the wind to challenge an easy "drive" to the basket.

Some of the tee pads were uneven enough to be an issue. Even on short holes lumpy tees are no fun.
Other Thoughts: This is probably a perfect course for neighborhood kids and families to get introduced to disc golf. This is not a course that I'd ever go out of my way to play again as there are more challenging courses in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Novice Course - Bring a couple putters

2-4    3/11/2015   3/11/2015
Review By: MakeItMali
Played: 93  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for practicing 150-200 ft shots in lots of wind. Well maintained fairways & course in general.
Cons: Very short. Hardly any real technical shots. Beginner's course. Muddy teepad with any moisture. Very basic signs with footage only. No directional analysis.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/11/2013   3/19/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 161  Reviewed: 70  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Block house is a short, private course that has has good tee signs. Nice clean DISCatchers. You can tell that they keep the park area nice for the residents. Holes 6 and 7 were short wooded holes but they were enjoyable because they provided obstacles.
Cons: The holes are extremely short, nothing farther than 286. The navigation is a little tricky. Hole one is on the opposite side from the parking lot. It starts by the mail box, then it is pretty easy to follow. After hole 4 you cross the street again and play 5 then cross the parking lot to finish the last couple of holes. Holes 1-5 and8 and 9 are completely wide open. They provide no challenge at all which makes the course a little boring. This is a private course but I still was able to play. I think there was a neighborhood watch guy in the parking lot staring at me but nothing was said. I think you will be able to play it if you are just nice and act like you belong there.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Practice course only

5+    2/2/2013   2/13/2013
Review By: MrDarkHorse
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good place to practice putt & approach shots.

Not too busy, so no waiting at holes.

Good place to bring your family/kids, with a park nearby.
Cons: Almost no challenge, with the possible exception of hole #7, which I call the "pin ball machine" hole.
Other Thoughts: I bring beginners here for a couple of weeks to get a feel for the game, then we go somewhere else.

It's close to my house, so sometimes I come here to practice approach shots, but even beginners should be able to play even par here without too much practice.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Block House Creek

5+    2/9/2011   2/9/2011
Review By: ian j.
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Signs at tee boxes
-Good for practice
-Good if you live close by
Cons: -Dirt tee boxes
-Very short
-Very easy
-"Private"
Other Thoughts: I would not recommend this course to anyone unless they are just starting out or they have young children playing with them.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Solid Putt and Approach Course

5+    11/25/2010   11/29/2010
Review By: Chezzbaca
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you live within 5-10 minutes and only have time for a quick run then this is a solid place to play. In no way do I rate this course against others in the area (Wilco or Cat Hollow comes to mind) but it's a short and fun course for putting/approach shots or for beginners. Again if you live in the area its a great find (I live minutes away) but in no way would I travel over 15 minutes to play here.
Cons: Short course, watch out for people or cars when throwing on several holes.
Other Thoughts: It sufficient if your not looking for a 2-3 hour round. You can easily complete 9 holes in 30 minutes. Also, there is a decent park up the street with soccer fields to chuck your discs before or after you play ;-)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It Is What It Is and It Is Fun

2-4    5/31/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: bayouace
Played: 42  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 23.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Get the right mindset. This course is meant to be a fun course for subdivision recreation. It it not a tournament course. Advanced players are doing this course for approach/putting. Average players are doing second shot/approach/putting. It is a fun, beautifully maintained course with holes from 150-280 feet. The first 4 holes and holes 6 and 7 are the fun ones. 5, 8, and 9 are wide open. 1-4 has you seeing the basket from the mulch tees. Each tee has the distance and is well-marked. Print out the map on DGCR and you will have no trouble finding anything. 1 and 2 each have a well-placed tree in the fairway, forcing you to hyzer or annie around them. 3 is the 280 across a field of knee-high grass and wildflowers. Very pretty and you can spot your disc just fine. 4 also has a small hill. 5 is wide open and short. 6 and 7(for me) are well-guarded by multiple trees I didn't think these were too easy. More dependent upon luck to get to the hole. 8 and 9 were open and you just had to not fade too much or you hit the street or gravel path respectively. Plenty of shade from 6-9. No shade elsewhere. Great course for beginners and GF or wife to play and not get frustrated. Good parking.
Cons: Sidewinding is corrrect. There is a sign at the entrance that says "recreational facilities are for residents only". There were 4 other DG'ers playing. No one passing by ever questioned us or looked at us like we were not welcome. No water. Rest rooms were probably available at the pool
Other Thoughts: Its a pretty course. Its a fun course. My wife is a beginner and she enjoyed it very much. I think if you go there and enjoy yourself and are friendly and courteous, you will have no trouble.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Quick 9 Hole Course

5+    3/8/2009   3/9/2009
Review By: Flat Armadillo
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This one is great for a beginner since it's difficult to lose a disc and the shots are all relatively short. The foothills on holes 1-4 are a fun challenge to navigate. The baskets are nice and you can always see them from the tee.
Cons: Watch where you walk. There are many dogs in the neighborhood with lazy owners.
Other Thoughts: Holes 1-5 can get very windy. I don't recall ever seeing a 'residents only' sign there. I play this course whenever I have a little time to kill and no one has ever asked me to prove residency.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/23/2008   7/24/2008
Review By: sidewinding
Played: 81  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 8.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well groomed super short course that is a load of fun to play. Seven of the nine holes are open and two are guarded by trees. For experienced players the challenge becomes "How many holes can you birdie?". Every tee shot is also an approach shot. All holes are aceable. The course is well marked and easy to follow with distances on the signs.
Cons: The first 4 holes are in a triangle surrounded by busy roads with a steady stream of traffic. You have to be careful not to turn anything over into the traffic. The tee pads are dirt. Tee box #1 is hard to find. It is in the traffic triangle across the street from the #5 basket.
Other Thoughts: Don't waste your time driving to this course. There is now a huge sign at the entrance that says "For Private Residents Only". They can have it but they get a 0 disc rating from me for not sharing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.