Disc Golf Store
Willoughby, OH 
Osborne Park Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: Brall Hole #5 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/15/2013   8/15/2013
Review By: jlangr
Played: 28  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 31 Years
Pros: - Very attractive-looking course with almost-perfect green grass spans.
- Easy to run, nothing to trip you up
- Great views of Lake Erie
- Hole #8 is challenging
- Holes #3 & #4 provide the challenge of avoiding losing your disc in the lake
- Hole #2 is about the only hole with any real elevation differential (you have to land your disc midway up a hill)
- Hole #9 provides a little bit of tree challenge
Cons: - Otherwise you're dealing with a number of straightaway shots
- Hole #9 ends far too close to the edge of a makeshift soccer field, used for little kids games and practice. Almost hit a woman when my disc bounced off a tree and went left
- I was about to move onto hole #3 when a handful of youth football coaches brought their team down the hill; they circled up and down the hill and ran through practice drills right across the fairway for #3. (I'm sure they would get upset were we to traipse around their football field during practice.) They didn't get it; I asked 'em to take it somewhere else next time, because it was inconsiderate and not safe for the kids. Some people are just stupid
- Too many groups with golf carts and such taking 15 minutes per hole or more
Other Thoughts: Had the potential to be a nice course. Too many dumb people walking across the fairways into the path of discs, though.

 a little breeze for you

2-4    8/28/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 41  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Plenty of parking
- Very nice water park with slides, pavilions, playground, swings, basketball, soccer, tennis, baseball and football fields
- Entrance is marked by the park sign
- Natural Tees are in decent shape but Tee #2 can collect water when the waves breaking inland
- Very nice Tee Signs
- Baskets are in good condition and well labeled
- The upkeep seems decent. The grass was well cut and the weeds were cut in the wooded area.
- Even though there is a beautiful view of Lake Erie, the landscape and scenery is otherwise boring and flat
- Lake Erie provides a fun obstacle for Holes #2, 3 & 4, especially on a windy day!
- Low traffic by both disc golfers and locals
- Trash cans located at parking area. The course is very clean.
- There's a bench to take a break overlooking the lake
Cons: - There is a kiosk back by the disc golf course which is a long walk from the parking area toward the water but there is nothing at the parking area telling you where to go from there to find the course
- No map provided. It would be handy not only in navigating the course for the first time but simply finding the course.
- A little too open and bland. You get to throw some long bombs and test your distance discs in the wind but this course has to many plain wide open shots with nothing in between you and the basket but a breeze.
Other Thoughts: - The flow is neither a Pro nor a Con. The actual course does flow pretty good but Hole # is so far from the parking area and Hole #9 ends hundreds of feet from Hole #1 making you have to walk back toward #9's Tee to play another round.
- The course has 5 holes that are over 300', one of which is currently listed as 410', so the overall distance for this course at 2767' is decent, but I wouldn't put it as a Pro.
- Excellent place to practice your windy putts and drives. The wind off the Lake is very strong and knowing how to throw in it is no small thing.
- Holes #3 & 4 are difficult because they are along the lake and on a windy day there is the risk of a shanked drive taking a dip. But the most challenging hole is Hole #8. Very short, only 196' but there is a sharp turn to the right in the small wooded area.
- Good place to bring a beginner as long as it's not windy.
- I guess Hole #4 is my favorite. /meh
- This is not a destination course to travel too but I'm glad that I got to see it. It is a fun course to hit but if I'm in the area again I will just hit Sims. I would consider hitting this course again if I bring my family for the lake view, a round of golf, and maybe lunch and water slides.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/2/2011   5/17/2011
Review By: dkoz
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: great views, are some diff variety of holes.
Cons: no concrete tee pads the last hole is close to a soccer field so if kids are playing you need to be careful
Other Thoughts: not a bad course to get out and play, friendly people but if its real windy DONT WASTE YOUR TIME!!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Playing Disc on the coast of Lake Erie

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: rtiedemann6
Played: 49  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 3 & 4 are really scenic and very unique. Decent distance on most of the holes, allows you to open up with your driver. Occasionally, the holes have elevation changes. Park is really nice, with lots of parking, playground, and city pool.
Cons: Very open. Most holes have unabated shots from the tee box. I'm not the biggest fan of courses that consist of mainly baskets in an open field. It's not the most difficult course ever; I played poorly the day I played it.
Other Thoughts: The course wasn't bad. I'd rather play 18 than 9, but I actually liked it better than Sims Park. I probably wouldn't make a special trip up to it again, but if I was in the area, I would play it. Holes 3 & 4 on Lake Erie are cool and are the signature holes of the course. Having those memorable holes help boost its rating.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place to practice

2-4    11/21/2011   11/19/2009
Review By: charkboy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/25/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course was a fun place to play. Playing right next to the lake was very pretty and used the space interestingly. Holes 8 and 9 played through woods and were the more challenging holes but not overly difficult.

We played on a weekday so there were only 2 other players on the course.

It would be a good beginners course and a change of pace maybe for other players.

Cons: Bit of a walk to the first tee, but not a big deal really...easy enough to find. Could use more trees in the open areas, but it's a multi-use park so I get that.
Other Thoughts: Overall a good practice course with nice scenery.

Holes 5, 6, and 7 were wide open shots across the park which were a little boring but at least gave a different feel than 2, 3, and 4 which play across the lake front and the wooded 8 and 9.

Just played it on a day with a strong wind from the NE (coming off the lake) and boy did it effect game play across the entire course! Might not be worth it unless you want the challenge.

We played this course, Cuyahoga County Airport, and Sims Park in one day, so it was nice to have that many courses close together enough to do so.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice little course on the Lake Erie shore.

1    9/28/2008   9/28/2008
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 50  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good number of holes right on the shore of Lake Erie, beautiful scenery. Brand new course as of 2008.

Muti-use park, but the disc golf course is for the most part on it's own. Tee signs have basic hole maps. Clean, maintained park.

Relatively short drive off the freeway exit.
Cons: Not much in the way of challenges either technical or distance. Dirt tees.
Other Thoughts: A nice little 9-hole course, great for a casual game or casual players. As of this review the tees are just dirt patches, but the course is brand new so all the equipment is new. DGA baskets.

Holes 1 through 4 are all right next to the Lake Erie shore, so the scenery is nice and the lake breeze adds a unique challenge component to those holes.

Where possible, trees are used as obstacles, but overall a pretty open-field course. Holes 8 & 9 are through a wooded area of the park; hole 8 has a right-dogleg and hole 9 demands a bit of accuracy.

Overall a pretty decent mix of holes for a 9-hole course. Nothing too challenging in the way of technical shots or distance holes, but overall a decent casual course. Very much beginner-friendly. If I lived in the area I could see playing this one a lot more, especially for a quick, casual 9-hole round.

No crossing fairways, and hole 9 leads you back to the parking lot.

Out-of-bounds brush was not dense and I didn't see any poison ivy, some prickly weeds here and there but easily avoided.

There's a bit of a walk from the parking lot to get to the course, but the trade-off is that this allows relative seclusion in this multi-use park, and also the nice lake view mentioned above.

Locals were friendly. Park crowd was low on a beautiful Sunday at 5PM. No one else throwing discs while we were there.

Lots of other park activities for non-disc golfers, including swings/playground, soccer/football fields and a pool with waterslides. Restrooms as well. No concession stand.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.