Clinton, MS 
Brighton Park Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #5 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Hate to admit it, I like this course

5+    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Tacoma4x4
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.5 Years
Pros: Well maintained. I love throwing out over the tennis courts on Hole 1 when there are preppy tennis players playing. Makes for great reactions. The city does a great job with that park....bathrooms are spotless, tables, picnic areas. I know guys, that has little to do with the course. BUT, anybody can join in and play. Had a good player with me and he used the day to try and add to his ace count. Best holes...love 9. And number 5 is fun. The rest are just bomber holes for the decent player.
Cons: Short...9 holes only.
Other Thoughts: Still love this course. Oh, when you play 6, ignore the tee box and instead climb to the top of the hill and throw from the backyard of the family up on the hill. Those people are super nice, and it makes the hole a blast to navigate.

Quick Warm Up or Confidence Booster

5+    5/10/2013   5/10/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
Pros: -Clean, VERY well maintained
-Easy to follow course
Cons: -No benches or trash cans (on the course itself)
-Short
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to teach the game, but not very challenging. My recommendation, if you're in Clinton, is to start here... this quick little 9 will get you warmed up before tackling Buddy Butts DGC (and the 1000 ft+ Hole #3) or Flying Eagle DGC (Hinds CC campus, Raymond)

  Confidence Booster!

5+    5/2/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: halford36
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: Located in a clean, safe Clinton park, Brighton provides a beginner-friendly atmosphere. Most holes are bordered by a treeline to the right. The course is easy to navigate and each hole has a decent tee box with which to work.
Cons: The first four holes in particular are adjacent to the park's walking path, which will undoubtedly cause a few delays in your game due to the many walkers and runners.

If you do so happen to throw into the woods on a couple of the holes, you may experience difficulty in finding your disc due to steep slope on number 3 and even thick thorns on number 6. Throw it straight and this won't be a problem.

Only one hole (number 8) provides any obstacles to the thrower, other than a few minor obstacles on other holes. A good flick on number 8, however, will curve right around the trees anyway. On all the other holes, a solid straight throw will suffice; so unfortunately, there isn't a need for many different discs or types of throws. The distance to the hole is very short on average at Brighton.
Other Thoughts: Despite the course offering little challenge to your average disc golfer, one can still enjoy playing at Brighton - every hole is potentially ace-able!

 Short and not so sweet

1    12/29/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Course is fairly beginner friendly. It is mostly open, mostly short (200 or less on 7 of the 9 holes).

2) Course is obviously a well maintained park and it also looks well used. There were at least 1 dozen people here when I played, although I was the only one playing DG.

3) Concrete teepads are always a plus (also a negative below though because of size). They are also needed on this course as some of the tee areas are wet and muddy. Not sure if this is always the case or if a recent rain contributed to the saturated soils, regardless the tees take away some of this concern, especially because most of the holes are short you won't generally have much of an approach shot, just a run at your birdie.

4) Other park amenities include horseshoes, shuffleboard, tennis, playground equipment, a walking track, and according to someone else ADA certified playground. I didn't look in or around the building in the park but I would have to guess they have bathrooms and water available.

5) Grounds of the park are in great shape. The turf looks full (although dormant when I played). While there aren't many trees in play the ones along #8 are in good shape and do their job in protecting the only protected basket on the course. The perimeter areas could use some yearly attention to keep things from spreading or sticking out into the in play areas.
Cons: 1) Course design was average, but they did about all they could with this property. The perimeter of this course was guarded by deep bamboo and other foliage, fences keeping you from a retention pond or also densely wooded areas. There were dangerous encounters with the walking path on Hole #1, 2, 3 and you throw along or near the road on holes 5, 6, 7, 8, 9 and across the service road on #4. All things that were unavoidable for this course to have disc golf, but also things that should always be considered and avoided at all costs. It does a disservice to the game and can do more harm than good.

2) Course is beginner oriented. There is minimal challenge on this course because it is short and there isn't much imagination with basket locations. You should never make more than a 3 on any of these holes unless you play the walk path and roads as OB.

3) Other manmade objects get in your way on multiple holes. #1 the tennis court fence could get in your way if you throw with any angle on the disc. A straight shot is easy here but I do not like other shots being taken away by manmade objects. #4 has a fence both to the right and long of the basket. It is tall enough to get in your head, but if you need to climb it I am sure you could, but you may also get tossed from the park for doing so. Same fence on #4 is on #5. #6 has a telephone pole and support cable in your way on a big anhyzer shot. #7 had the same thing.

4) DIscatcher baskets in ok shape but they all seemed to be too tall. Normally I am used to seeing the lock tab near grade, but these lock tabs were about 6-12" above grade.

5) Course is nearly all anhyzer or straight shots and this is due to the fact that the course raps around the park in a counter clockwise fashion. The only hole that would allow for a hyzer would be #8. #9 is actually about a 75 degree anhyzer around some scrubby trees.

6) No tee signs, no benches, and no garbage baskets on the course. The park was very clean however, so it may be taken care of with a maintenance crew but I would think putting a couple garbage cans at the tees would help out somewhat. Benches aren't essential because it is a 20 minute course and you likely aren't able to finish a drink in that amount of time anyways. The only identification on this course is the # on the Yellow Chastity Belt on the Discatchers, and the little # that is concreted into the teepad.
Other Thoughts: All in all this is an allright course. It is outside the metro Jackson MS area, but it could be helpful to promoting the sport to youngsters. While every city needs a short easier open course like this, this one can do a disservice to the game and promoting the sport because of the dangerous areas. I can only imagine what it is like throwing discs there in the summer when there are hundreds of people in the park. Hopefully the park enforces the multi-use aspect of the course and informs all people to be aware of others. Would I play it over and over . . . no, but if I was a beginner, wanted to teach someone the game, or had nothing better to do while I was in the area I would go play it again. There are a lot better courses in the area according to DGCR so I recommend those, but it is worth a stop if you have some spare time and are in the area. Head about 20 miles west and hit up Historic Vicksburg to see the Vicksburg Battlefield Museum or the National Military Park.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Aviar is all you need...

5+    6/16/2009   6/17/2009
Review By: halplunkett
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice Baskets, Concrete Tee Pads, Grass is mowed regularly. You can also really build up your aces on this course.
Cons: Very Short Holes, Baskets were installed incorrectly - almost over a foot too high. Course design is very poor - 8 out of the 9 holes are straight/anhyzer and wide open.
Other Thoughts: As a Clinton resident who lives literally 2 minutes from this course, I play it fairly often. However, I really wish some of the baskets could be lowered.

I rarely see anyone else playing there, but lots of track walkers often force you to delay your throw.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lit for night play!!!!!

1    2/15/2009   2/26/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 2/18/2010
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Safe park. Even though it's short, you still must throw with accuracy. No traffic background noise. Not busy when I played it on a Sunday at 4 PM. I liked hole 8 as it is the only basket that is guarded by a tree. Literally 30 seconds off I-20. If you are driving by with 30 minutes you can spare, there will never be an easier course to find and quicker course to get to. At sun down the lights around the walking track and some that line the park road came on and 4 of the holes were super lit and the other 5 were playable without a flashlight! Nobody playing golf from this site has ever been there at sundown to be able to witness this Lit 9 holer come to life. I am raising my rating to a 2 because of this rare attribute. You go Brighton with your bad lit self.
Cons: Only 9 holes. People hitting golf balls, walkers. It was soggy in places. Like most 9 hole courses, park has got a lot going on besides disc golf. Around 5 PM first 4 holes have blinding sun shots.
Other Thoughts: Overall I suggest you stop by and play here. Thank the Gods for disc golf, Keep the Mississippi courses coming. To be honest, I hold 18 hole courses to a higher standard. Probably because I naturally expect less of the 9 hole course before playing it, therefore easily being pleasantly surprised. Lit for night play!!!!!! I think the park closes about 9 PM.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Short but fun... bring your putter

5+    11/22/2008   11/22/2008
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is set up in a pretty peaceful park. the park itself has a number of things you can do like play HORSESHOES! That's rare to me at a park. Think I saw around 4 sets of horseshoe poles. The course brings some OB's into play which makes it fun.... that is if you want to play the walking paths as "temp creeks" like we did. It has plenty of space to give you a nice upshot if you mess up on your drive. There is numerous ace runs...... well pretty much every hole is a ace run but a few. Very great course to practice your upshots for longer courses. I will even say peaceful again it was that peaceful. Oh yea and the bathrooms are VERY CLEAN which is rare for a park. So clean you could almost eat off the floor though I wouldnt recommend doing it...... ha
Cons: for starters the pins are way to high in the air.... they probably should have dug down another foot before setting the basket up. There is a few chances to get hit by a disc from other people... no doubt on the first 3 holes so watch it if people are playing behind you. Think it's number 2 where the basket is father away than the tee for number 3 which is a pretty bad placement considering people have to pass you on your box to play the hole behind you. The walking path that i mentioned earlyer also brings people into play as well on most of the holes. We had to wait for a few people walking or running to get out of the way before we could throw. There is a huge playground area there for little kids so if its a saturday or sunday that might be a problem if you can't play around loud noises. The tees are way to short on a couple of the throws that you need more power for... but it's not really a problem if you have a nice flat hyzer bomb already.
Other Thoughts: With a little work the course could be a lot better. Like for starters there is no signs next to the tee pads.... Instead they are layed into the concrete and then the par is stencil spray painted onto the tee. So when you first get there number 1 can be hard to find if your not watching for it when you pull in. It's over on the back right side of the tennis courts just to help out some.... If you are in the area this course is worth playing.. We drove from Ridgeland/Madison to play it and didn't mind the drive. We felt like it was worth the time it took to get there. This is a GREAT PLACE to practice your open up shot skills. that is if you make all concrete OB. If the basket is on one side of it you can't cross or if the hole has to cross it you can't land on the concrete as it's a "Temp Creek".... you don't have to play it this way as there is no signs to say whats OB and what isn't.... but it seemed to make the game a lot more fun for us..... Anyways.... get out there and ace one!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: litespeed
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Convenience and great park. Well maintained by City of Clinton.
Cons: No obstacles and short. The tee pads are too short.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and very easy course. It is great for beginners and/or children learning to play. I play there when I don't have much time and want to get in a quick 9 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Trip to Brighton Park

6/17/2008   6/22/2008
Review By: manglin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2008
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New course in a suburban setting. The baskets and teepads are good quality. Markings on the course clearly designate the hole. Good facilities.
Cons: Baskets are set too high. The course is short in general and lacks challenge or variety. It has only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Take away any one of my cons and this is a good course. The course is set in a small city park so space was limited for the design. The tee pads, although they're concrete, are a bit small. The holes basically circle the parameter of the park, and there's very little change in hole type. Most holes are flat and straight with little or no vegetation or obsticles. Holes 6 and 9 bend to the right while hole 8 offers some tall trees to navigate. The baskets are way too high by at least a foot to 18 inches. It's a shame because the baskets are nice Innova Discathers. On a positive note, the facilities are great. They are air-conditioned and very clean, and they offer some vending machines.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/11/2008   5/11/2008
Review By: noahat
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2008
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are not many pros except the course is in a nice peaceful community setting.
Cons: Baskets are set very high. The course is way too easy. You will probably only need your driver on 1 hole. Every hole is ace-able. very few trees, no water, and no elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This course is fun to play, but there are better ones around the area. I will only likely play it if I am actually in Clinton already. This was the first course I've ever played, and luckily I decided to play the course at the rez or I probably wouldn't have gotten into disc golf.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.