Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: branden14 Hole #2
3 / 310ft.   3 / 310ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Not bad

2-4    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mainly wide open, any trees on a hole will come into play mainly as you get closer to the pin, with a couple of exceptions.

Good mix of short and long holes. Just enough of a mix between right-to-left and left-to-right to keep it interesting.

Practice basket near the parking lot.

Course is split between holes 1-9 and holes 10-18, so you can pick/choose where to start.

Two water shots to spice it up a little bit. The first one can be a bit of a challenge, the next one is a good "starter" water hole. Both holes have alternate tee pads if you don't feel like risking it.

Not uncommon to see a deer or two and lots of geese... if you're in to that stuff...
Cons: Even if you want to go over the water holes, you may not be able to since both of them play around a popular fishing area in the park. Lots of people park their cars on the course here. You may have to play hole #14 from the alternate since everyone is clear on the opposite side from you, near the basket. Hole #15 is a bit easier to ask people to watch out since they're fishing on the teepad - everyone I've asked to move has been friendly, so don't be scared.

Hole #2 plays *REALLY* close to a basketball court, though whenever I go there it's not in use. Could be a problem on very busy park days.

Goose poop. Everywhere. Specifically holes 14-17.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course overall, though if you're looking for a difficult/technical course to play then this may not be for you.

Not a bad course to bring a beginner/date. Front nine is really good to get some fundamentals down and have a good time, I think.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fields...with baskets...

1    10/20/2010   11/20/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a somewhat crowded county park. Plays mostly in open fields near a big lake.
- Easy to find, adequate parking, pavillions, bathrooms, water fountains, mowed grass, etc. - all things you'd want from a nice, used, family-friendly county park
- Good course for beginners - plays mostly through open fields, with some obstacles and unique aspects on certain holes
- Course map for front 9 located near a practice basket and tee #1 - course map for the back 9 located near tee #10
- Uses elevation fairly well - there are a few hills here and a handful of the holes go up down or diagonal across the inclines
- Concrete tee pads on all holes (2 tees on a couple holes - see below)
- Multiple basket locations on most (I think) of the holes that presumably get changed every so often
- Tee signs with hole map, all basket locations, distances, par - most were in pretty good shape
- Front 9 has almost all open holes around the fields (no real shot shaping needed), with maybe 2 holes having trees come into play
- Back 9 has a few more open holes, but some holes introduce a bit more variety with trees, water and the necessity to throw a certain line
- Holes 14 and 15 are nice challenging drives over water (coves in the lake), but offer alternate tee pads that avoid throwing over the water - I also liked hole 11 (I think), which was downhill through some trees, then a right hand turn with the basket at the end of a tree-lined chute with the lake as a treacherous backdrop for approaches gone long
Cons: - While good for beginners, this course is probably too open for most regular players - there is some unused wooded area on the front nine that could be better utilized
- I thought a couple holes (6 and 7 in particular, I think) had tee pads that were very askew from the required flight path, almost like they weren't aimed at the basket - After I made my drive into the opening in the trees on #7, this was somewhat explained when I got back to the course map and found that their suggested flight path had you go way out and around the trees to the left, instead of a more direct line at the basket through the reasonable tree openings
- A bunch of the distances on the tee signs were suspect - I probably came up 50 feet short on hole #3 (I think) and the sign was listed at 210 feet - I don't have the longest arm, but definitely longer than 160 feet (although the hole listed at 310 feet on this site, which would make more sense) - On the flip side, hole #15 is listed at 358 feet on the sign (330 feet on this site) and I sent my drive 20 feet past the basket - I wish I had this long of a drive, but I don't yet
- I got lucky I saw the course map near the pee pad for hole #10 as I drove in, or else I might have been hunting for it, since the course map for the front nine doesn't show where hole #10 is
- No "next tee" signs that I remember
- First few holes play near benches, basketball court, etc. and could be hazardous on crowded days - even the holes around there themselves kind of run into each other a bit so you need to keep an eye out
- The drive over the water on #14 could be hazardous as well, if there are a lot of people parked there for fishing (which there were while I was there)
Other Thoughts: - Current basket position was not marked on the tee signs in any way, but luckily the course is open enough that you can see exactly where you're shooting
- Benches and trash cans available near some holes
- As mentioned, there is some unused wooded area, as well as more open land "behind" the font 9 that maybe could be explored for more course/hole options

Certainly not a bad course by any means, but I found more challenging and enjoyable alternatives around Nashville. Since I'm only in town once a year, I probably won't make a point to return, but if you live nearby, this is a good option for a relaxed, casual round or a place to teach a new player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

1    10/17/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: Spinefarm
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super easy to follow layout, great signage.

Front 9 are fairly easy but super fun.
Back 9 are harder but still a lot of fun with water options.

Great place for starters and experienced players alike.

Lake access for arriving/leaving on boat, fishing and swimming.

Pavilions with cooking stations, great bathrooms and a good water fountain.

Nice practice basket with trees to putt around if you choose. Also can hop over to hole 10 and practice mid-range and putts if the practice hole is congested.

Easy to play the front 9 twice through without blowing your arm out.

Front 9 offers a 0.03% chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Front 9 although fun, poses little challenge for seasoned players.

Park can be crowded at times which most non-dedicated courses can be.

Some of the alternate pin locations take the great away from the holes.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite places to play. Fun course even though the newer drivers have outgrown it. Great for casual play since you can have a cookout, go swimming/boating/fishing or fly model airplanes in between play. I highly recommend this course!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Silly Sanders Ferry

1    1/29/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket available near the first tee . . . location could have been better because it was set right amongst a couple pavilions and play areas which I can only imagine are busy at many times.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance, and a map. There are also sponsors listed on the sign.

3) Benches and garbage cans are available at many places.

4) Nice map of the back 9 located by the 10th tee which was weird because there was no sign by #1. I assume this reason is because the back 9 can be much more confusing.

5) Nice big concrete tees on this course. I always prefer concrete because they are always playable.

6) Turf seems to be in pretty good condition overall. I had seen a lot of bare turf areas in Kentucky due to dormant turf, but the turf here seemed to be more full despite the same dormancy.

7) Water is used on the back 9 on a few holes. It is only of moderate risk/reward because the carries are not extreme. I would have made the road OB on the left of the longer carry #14 to really make you think about how much you want to bite off with the risk of skipping left into the road on a shorter shot.

8) I love seeing discatchers even though I hate putting on them . . . the reason it helps a travelling disc golfer find the basket so much easier on new courses.

9) For the most part the course is beginner friendly except for the one water carry because it is mostly open.

10) Bathrooms, pavilions, and playgrounds located right in between the two separated nines. Plenty of other activities in the park like a remote control aircraft field, boat launch, and more.
Cons: 1) The water makes this course a little unforgiving for beginners and I like to see courses appeal to all levels of play. While #15 has a shorter tee with no water carry and a bailout area also, 14 is a much longer carry.

2) There are a couple dangerous areas out here . . .#4 tee is completely in the range and fairway of #3, #5 tee is definitely in a big bombers range trying to turn the big corner and it is blind from the 4th tee, and #7 tee is very much in play from the #6 tee despite being a few trees around it. There is also a danger for the people playing basketball along the #2 fairway. A big hyzer puts you out over the basketball court. The road is also in play on a couple holes.

3) Goofy transition between hole #11 and #12 because you end up turning around and walking backwards quite a ways.

4) This course just doesn't challenge me enough except with distance. Most of the holes on the front 9 are easily thrown and it is all about how far can you throw instead of how good of a shot can you throw.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately the ratings on this course do not portray an accurate picture of this course. I really didn't think it was as good as the prior reviewers I guess. Was it fun sure, almost all disc golf courses are fun, but the holes just were not that exciting and the water holes simply do not make up the difference for me. I am not saying this is a bad course at all, just not as exciting as others seem to think it is. I now I had just played Holler in the Hills and Cedar Hill just before I came here and those are two rock solid courses with great variety. This course was simply too open for me to enjoy. The entire front nine only had a few trees in play, the water holes were not challenging enough for me to enjoy the throws and the adrenaline. Fortunately the back 9 has enough challenge and cool basket locations I could play this regularly. I am giving this a 3 disc rating, and know that the front 9 has way more potential than in its current setup. I see a goldmine of basket locations down in that low wooded area where #6 basket is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in a scenic setting

5+    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout for Sanders Ferry makes good with the elevation changes and scenic views of Old Hickory Lake and other parts of the park. This mostly open course rolls back and forth across a large, well manicured field for the front nine and then stays close to the lakeside along the back nine. None of the holes are tricky in that if you throw a good shot you will be rewarded with a good lie for the next. Even bad shots won't be overly punished except on the water holes where you have a good chance of losing a disc. The existing trees come into play sparingly on the front nine but more so on the back. Many of the holes have multiple pin placements though sometimes the tee signs don't indicate it. Two of the holes on the back directly cross over the lake with four more coming close to water's edge. The tee pads are nicely sized and grippy for a good run up. The tee signs show both pin placements and distances. There are seasoned Innova baskets used that catch well and are easy to spot from the tees. Most tees also have nice benches and trash cans.
Cons: There are several spots in the layout that could be potential hazardous. Looking from 3's tee to the basket, you are looking almost directly at 4's tee area in between. This can be a big concern with groups on each hole. The same with 4's tee to basket. You can't see the basket but you're looking directly at 5's tee and if you go straight instead of turning right, you'll be on or past the next tee. Multiple holes play along the road entering the park (11, 18) with others (11, 12) playing along a frequently used walking path. Number 12 is actually a blind shot over the hill along the walking path that could be hazardous. This is a popular park and not just for disc golf. People oblivious to disc golf can be found throughout the course, especially on the water holes, on good weather days. So just be patient with them and be sure they know you're throwing. Several of the tee signs are missing (6, 7, 8 that I can remember) and others have been vandalized with spray paint and other gibberish. With the multiple pin placements, the tee signs make no indication of which sleeve the basket is in but since practically every basket can be seen from the tee, this isn't that big a problem.
Other Thoughts: Sanders can be a lot of fun for players of all skill levels. Less skilled players may get frustrated with the length and prospect of throwing over water but its all good practice. More skilled players won't find a lot of challenge in the layout but may use this course to fine tune long accurate driving. The course can be very popular on nice weather days. Personally, I'd like to see some more water shots here and wooded shot shaping holes but that would require extensive redesign of the course and moving of other park features (model airplane field and several picnic pavilions). This is one of the two best open courses in the Nashville area with Crockett Park in Brentwood being the other. Its definitely worth the time to play it but don't expect to be blown away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Awesomeness

1    10/24/2010   11/13/2010
Review By: alvis.randal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: *Course was wide open. This was our first time ever playing.
Cons: *Course was very long...did not see alternate tee boxes (dad)
Other Thoughts: *Extremely windy that day; made the course extra long / hard (dad).

8-yr old son rated this course.

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Ler 'er rip!

1    11/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads for every hole. Signs that show multiple basket positions and hole lengths. Take distances on signs with a grain of salt. Navigation is easy. A few walks are a little long, but in a big open park that is going to happen. Nothing that will get you lost though.

Good use of available elevation, and the wide open fairways. Not many obstacles on most holes, so the ups and downs offer something to challenge you.

Two nice water holes. Both are not really trouble, but do add some nice scenery and risk. The Cumberland River and Hickory Lake provide a nice background for a round here. Bathrooms and gazebos are also on site.
Cons: Very open. If you have a good arm and can throw semi-controlled shots around 400' this course will offer little challenge. Only a couple true shot-shaping opportunities.

Some tee signs are missing, and the distances are definitely off a little.

In a couple spots roads and/or sidewalks come into play. In one case, #11, you throw uphill, and the walking path is out of sight. Could be dangerous for bikers or pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 is a nice uphill shots into some woods. Takes a couple nice shots to get to par. Hole 10 is a nice long downhill, over a small drain/creek and back up into some woods. Another nicely designed hole.

Also make sure you stop by the Cloud 9 Disc Golf Shop at 111 Sanders Ferry Road. It is about 3 miles down the road from the course. Please support your
local shop. They have a great selection of Innova, Discraft, Discmamia and Gateway putters. Buy a disc so they are thief next time you visit.

All in all, this is a decent course worthy of a round. It could get dull if it was your only option, but being the most open course in the Nashville area, it provides a good change of pace. It would also be a good place to practice or bring newer players. Accuracy is not a necessary skill on this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Fun Course

2-4    8/1/2010   8/11/2010
Review By: JBrew04
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course for beginners like myself. Most holes are very open, so you won't have to worry about losing discs, except for the water holes (get it across or it's gone... not too difficult though). And there are many long holes that allow you to rip it off the tees. This was my first real course (I've played a bunch on an easy homemade 9-hole course) and it was a great 1st course for me.
Cons: I've played it twice now, and the first time it wasn't very crowded (on a Friday evening around 5:00). The second time though (on a Sunday afternoon around 2:00), the course was very crowded. I was by myself, so groups let me go ahead of them, but there were about 3 or 4 groups that let me pass. I had to wait on the first 3 or 4 holes. Also, some of the tee positions have changed and aren't marked very well. I questioned some of the pars based on where the baskets were.
Other Thoughts: Fun first course. Again, very open, long holes. Watch out for the water! Nice touch. :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course!

5+    8/13/2010   8/3/2010
Review By: johnnyfoodstamp
Played: 25  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/18/2010
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Front and back 9 separated by bathrooms and one very warm but delicious water fountain. Nice signage w/ distance and pars listed. Nice place off of hole 11 by the water to take a smoke break. Hole 14 is a sweet over the water shot that makes me feel good. Nice concrete tee pads.
Cons: D-bags park on the fairway for hole 13/14/15/16/17.
Tee Signs missing for 7 & 8 after flood in April. (bummer)
Kids play in Hole 18 fairway on nice days.
Hole 16 doesn't flow right in the course design.
Other Thoughts: I play this course a lot as Cloud 9 pro shop is located conveniently nearby. Great course!

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful course on the lake

5+    3/27/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: vibe
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 3/3/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front 9 is very basic, laid out in a circular pattern. Great place for beginners. Several open holes, not too many places to lose your disc.

Back 9 hugs the beautiful lake for a relaxing round.
Some difficult options with water hazards at tee shots, and narrow fairways with road on one side and lake on the other.

Very picturesque setting, and a disc golf store is just down the road from this course.
Cons: First and last hole border picnic areas and playground that often overflow into course.
Other similar overlaps also, including roads and basketball court.
Can be very muddy in some areas.
Other Thoughts: Good course for beginners and intermediate players.
Excellent place to practice.
Wonderful place to introduce others to the sport.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.