Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: branden14 Hole #15
3 / 230ft.   3 / 245ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15A Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Not bad

2-4    7/16/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: Fleet
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mainly wide open, any trees on a hole will come into play mainly as you get closer to the pin, with a couple of exceptions.

Good mix of short and long holes. Just enough of a mix between right-to-left and left-to-right to keep it interesting.

Practice basket near the parking lot.

Course is split between holes 1-9 and holes 10-18, so you can pick/choose where to start.

Two water shots to spice it up a little bit. The first one can be a bit of a challenge, the next one is a good "starter" water hole. Both holes have alternate tee pads if you don't feel like risking it.

Not uncommon to see a deer or two and lots of geese... if you're in to that stuff...
Cons: Even if you want to go over the water holes, you may not be able to since both of them play around a popular fishing area in the park. Lots of people park their cars on the course here. You may have to play hole #14 from the alternate since everyone is clear on the opposite side from you, near the basket. Hole #15 is a bit easier to ask people to watch out since they're fishing on the teepad - everyone I've asked to move has been friendly, so don't be scared.

Hole #2 plays *REALLY* close to a basketball court, though whenever I go there it's not in use. Could be a problem on very busy park days.

Goose poop. Everywhere. Specifically holes 14-17.
Other Thoughts: Not a bad course overall, though if you're looking for a difficult/technical course to play then this may not be for you.

Not a bad course to bring a beginner/date. Front nine is really good to get some fundamentals down and have a good time, I think.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fields...with baskets...

1    10/20/2010   11/20/2012
Review By: nyrblue2
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in a somewhat crowded county park. Plays mostly in open fields near a big lake.
- Easy to find, adequate parking, pavillions, bathrooms, water fountains, mowed grass, etc. - all things you'd want from a nice, used, family-friendly county park
- Good course for beginners - plays mostly through open fields, with some obstacles and unique aspects on certain holes
- Course map for front 9 located near a practice basket and tee #1 - course map for the back 9 located near tee #10
- Uses elevation fairly well - there are a few hills here and a handful of the holes go up down or diagonal across the inclines
- Concrete tee pads on all holes (2 tees on a couple holes - see below)
- Multiple basket locations on most (I think) of the holes that presumably get changed every so often
- Tee signs with hole map, all basket locations, distances, par - most were in pretty good shape
- Front 9 has almost all open holes around the fields (no real shot shaping needed), with maybe 2 holes having trees come into play
- Back 9 has a few more open holes, but some holes introduce a bit more variety with trees, water and the necessity to throw a certain line
- Holes 14 and 15 are nice challenging drives over water (coves in the lake), but offer alternate tee pads that avoid throwing over the water - I also liked hole 11 (I think), which was downhill through some trees, then a right hand turn with the basket at the end of a tree-lined chute with the lake as a treacherous backdrop for approaches gone long
Cons: - While good for beginners, this course is probably too open for most regular players - there is some unused wooded area on the front nine that could be better utilized
- I thought a couple holes (6 and 7 in particular, I think) had tee pads that were very askew from the required flight path, almost like they weren't aimed at the basket - After I made my drive into the opening in the trees on #7, this was somewhat explained when I got back to the course map and found that their suggested flight path had you go way out and around the trees to the left, instead of a more direct line at the basket through the reasonable tree openings
- A bunch of the distances on the tee signs were suspect - I probably came up 50 feet short on hole #3 (I think) and the sign was listed at 210 feet - I don't have the longest arm, but definitely longer than 160 feet (although the hole listed at 310 feet on this site, which would make more sense) - On the flip side, hole #15 is listed at 358 feet on the sign (330 feet on this site) and I sent my drive 20 feet past the basket - I wish I had this long of a drive, but I don't yet
- I got lucky I saw the course map near the pee pad for hole #10 as I drove in, or else I might have been hunting for it, since the course map for the front nine doesn't show where hole #10 is
- No "next tee" signs that I remember
- First few holes play near benches, basketball court, etc. and could be hazardous on crowded days - even the holes around there themselves kind of run into each other a bit so you need to keep an eye out
- The drive over the water on #14 could be hazardous as well, if there are a lot of people parked there for fishing (which there were while I was there)
Other Thoughts: - Current basket position was not marked on the tee signs in any way, but luckily the course is open enough that you can see exactly where you're shooting
- Benches and trash cans available near some holes
- As mentioned, there is some unused wooded area, as well as more open land "behind" the font 9 that maybe could be explored for more course/hole options

Certainly not a bad course by any means, but I found more challenging and enjoyable alternatives around Nashville. Since I'm only in town once a year, I probably won't make a point to return, but if you live nearby, this is a good option for a relaxed, casual round or a place to teach a new player.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Silly Sanders Ferry

1    1/29/2012   2/6/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket available near the first tee . . . location could have been better because it was set right amongst a couple pavilions and play areas which I can only imagine are busy at many times.

2) Nice signs with Hole #, distance, and a map. There are also sponsors listed on the sign.

3) Benches and garbage cans are available at many places.

4) Nice map of the back 9 located by the 10th tee which was weird because there was no sign by #1. I assume this reason is because the back 9 can be much more confusing.

5) Nice big concrete tees on this course. I always prefer concrete because they are always playable.

6) Turf seems to be in pretty good condition overall. I had seen a lot of bare turf areas in Kentucky due to dormant turf, but the turf here seemed to be more full despite the same dormancy.

7) Water is used on the back 9 on a few holes. It is only of moderate risk/reward because the carries are not extreme. I would have made the road OB on the left of the longer carry #14 to really make you think about how much you want to bite off with the risk of skipping left into the road on a shorter shot.

8) I love seeing discatchers even though I hate putting on them . . . the reason it helps a travelling disc golfer find the basket so much easier on new courses.

9) For the most part the course is beginner friendly except for the one water carry because it is mostly open.

10) Bathrooms, pavilions, and playgrounds located right in between the two separated nines. Plenty of other activities in the park like a remote control aircraft field, boat launch, and more.
Cons: 1) The water makes this course a little unforgiving for beginners and I like to see courses appeal to all levels of play. While #15 has a shorter tee with no water carry and a bailout area also, 14 is a much longer carry.

2) There are a couple dangerous areas out here . . .#4 tee is completely in the range and fairway of #3, #5 tee is definitely in a big bombers range trying to turn the big corner and it is blind from the 4th tee, and #7 tee is very much in play from the #6 tee despite being a few trees around it. There is also a danger for the people playing basketball along the #2 fairway. A big hyzer puts you out over the basketball court. The road is also in play on a couple holes.

3) Goofy transition between hole #11 and #12 because you end up turning around and walking backwards quite a ways.

4) This course just doesn't challenge me enough except with distance. Most of the holes on the front 9 are easily thrown and it is all about how far can you throw instead of how good of a shot can you throw.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately the ratings on this course do not portray an accurate picture of this course. I really didn't think it was as good as the prior reviewers I guess. Was it fun sure, almost all disc golf courses are fun, but the holes just were not that exciting and the water holes simply do not make up the difference for me. I am not saying this is a bad course at all, just not as exciting as others seem to think it is. I now I had just played Holler in the Hills and Cedar Hill just before I came here and those are two rock solid courses with great variety. This course was simply too open for me to enjoy. The entire front nine only had a few trees in play, the water holes were not challenging enough for me to enjoy the throws and the adrenaline. Fortunately the back 9 has enough challenge and cool basket locations I could play this regularly. I am giving this a 3 disc rating, and know that the front 9 has way more potential than in its current setup. I see a goldmine of basket locations down in that low wooded area where #6 basket is.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in a scenic setting

5+    2/26/2011   2/26/2011
Review By: weeman
Played: 223  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The layout for Sanders Ferry makes good with the elevation changes and scenic views of Old Hickory Lake and other parts of the park. This mostly open course rolls back and forth across a large, well manicured field for the front nine and then stays close to the lakeside along the back nine. None of the holes are tricky in that if you throw a good shot you will be rewarded with a good lie for the next. Even bad shots won't be overly punished except on the water holes where you have a good chance of losing a disc. The existing trees come into play sparingly on the front nine but more so on the back. Many of the holes have multiple pin placements though sometimes the tee signs don't indicate it. Two of the holes on the back directly cross over the lake with four more coming close to water's edge. The tee pads are nicely sized and grippy for a good run up. The tee signs show both pin placements and distances. There are seasoned Innova baskets used that catch well and are easy to spot from the tees. Most tees also have nice benches and trash cans.
Cons: There are several spots in the layout that could be potential hazardous. Looking from 3's tee to the basket, you are looking almost directly at 4's tee area in between. This can be a big concern with groups on each hole. The same with 4's tee to basket. You can't see the basket but you're looking directly at 5's tee and if you go straight instead of turning right, you'll be on or past the next tee. Multiple holes play along the road entering the park (11, 18) with others (11, 12) playing along a frequently used walking path. Number 12 is actually a blind shot over the hill along the walking path that could be hazardous. This is a popular park and not just for disc golf. People oblivious to disc golf can be found throughout the course, especially on the water holes, on good weather days. So just be patient with them and be sure they know you're throwing. Several of the tee signs are missing (6, 7, 8 that I can remember) and others have been vandalized with spray paint and other gibberish. With the multiple pin placements, the tee signs make no indication of which sleeve the basket is in but since practically every basket can be seen from the tee, this isn't that big a problem.
Other Thoughts: Sanders can be a lot of fun for players of all skill levels. Less skilled players may get frustrated with the length and prospect of throwing over water but its all good practice. More skilled players won't find a lot of challenge in the layout but may use this course to fine tune long accurate driving. The course can be very popular on nice weather days. Personally, I'd like to see some more water shots here and wooded shot shaping holes but that would require extensive redesign of the course and moving of other park features (model airplane field and several picnic pavilions). This is one of the two best open courses in the Nashville area with Crockett Park in Brentwood being the other. Its definitely worth the time to play it but don't expect to be blown away.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ler 'er rip!

1    11/11/2010   11/11/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tee pads for every hole. Signs that show multiple basket positions and hole lengths. Take distances on signs with a grain of salt. Navigation is easy. A few walks are a little long, but in a big open park that is going to happen. Nothing that will get you lost though.

Good use of available elevation, and the wide open fairways. Not many obstacles on most holes, so the ups and downs offer something to challenge you.

Two nice water holes. Both are not really trouble, but do add some nice scenery and risk. The Cumberland River and Hickory Lake provide a nice background for a round here. Bathrooms and gazebos are also on site.
Cons: Very open. If you have a good arm and can throw semi-controlled shots around 400' this course will offer little challenge. Only a couple true shot-shaping opportunities.

Some tee signs are missing, and the distances are definitely off a little.

In a couple spots roads and/or sidewalks come into play. In one case, #11, you throw uphill, and the walking path is out of sight. Could be dangerous for bikers or pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 is a nice uphill shots into some woods. Takes a couple nice shots to get to par. Hole 10 is a nice long downhill, over a small drain/creek and back up into some woods. Another nicely designed hole.

Also make sure you stop by the Cloud 9 Disc Golf Shop at 111 Sanders Ferry Road. It is about 3 miles down the road from the course. Please support your
local shop. They have a great selection of Innova, Discraft, Discmamia and Gateway putters. Buy a disc so they are thief next time you visit.

All in all, this is a decent course worthy of a round. It could get dull if it was your only option, but being the most open course in the Nashville area, it provides a good change of pace. It would also be a good place to practice or bring newer players. Accuracy is not a necessary skill on this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Round in a Clean Park

1    3/20/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry Park sits on a beautiful piece of land on Old Hickory Lake. The views are very nice and the course (and park) is very well maintained. Tee pads are adequate for any style of driving. Most tees provide the opportunity for a solid run-up, if that is your preferred method of driving. Baskets are all in excellent condition. While the course is predominantly open, there are some well-placed trees to add certain elements of design. The length of the holes varies pretty well. Water shots; I love them even though some people, inexplicably, would call this a "con".
Cons: Challenge; it's really not here. This is not a difficult course. While there are some tricky pin placements, the open design of the course really lends itself to an absence of true challenge. In my opinion, distance does not make a challenging hole. Obstacles requiring adept shot-making, make a challenging hole. I can think of at least 2 holes on the course right now, that are nothing more than ace runs in an open field. Throw-away holes drastically diminish the design of the course. Hole #2 also plays over a basketball court which wasn't a problem on Saturday, but could be a major problem if there are people playing there. My last complaint I will label as "Weekend". Do NOT try to play this course on a nice weekend. It might sound like a good idea. However, this past Saturday there were old men fishing off the TEE PAD on 1 hole, and the "greens" for 2 others. Plus there cars were parked in play. There were probably about 16-18 people fishing on the course during our round....and they don't move...and they don't understand what a tee pad is...and they don't comprehend that a polymer of hard plastic flying at them from afar will hurt.
Other Thoughts: Sanders Ferry is a really nice park and has a very nice course. There are a few design flaws. Add that to the inconsiderate other users of the park, and I think it sits as a "Good" course. There is just not enough of a challenging aspect to give it a better rating. I base my ratings on the course being both fun and challenging. Sanders Ferry is fun...but not challenging. If anyone is looking for a comparison, I played Cedar Hill in Nashville on Saturday morning and played Sanders Ferry after eating lunch. I shot 13 strokes better at Sanders Ferry. It is true that Cedar Hill is hard, but Sanders Ferry really is not. It is a fun round, however, and if you are in the area, definitely give the course a shot. I think you'll enjoy it, and I hope the fishermen are not out in full force.

Also, On Sanders Ferry road is a new disc golf store in Nashville called Cloud 9. We got to stop by and they have the best selection of discs I have seen in the Nashville area. They sell all brands and have some pretty cool stuff, so check them out if you're on your way to play Sanders Ferry.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

They have messed this course up...

5+    8/23/2012   11/7/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 47  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine allows you to practice your drives and still has challenging approach shots. The back nine is much more difficult with bushes, trees, or water as hazards. The course is kept in good shape. It is mowed and several holes are even mowed around them to show you the putting area. The water holes have alternate tee boxes.
Cons: They have mucked with the pen placements and the pars. I understand that really long throwers may want a more challenging course...but there has to be a course for the average or beginner player. This course use to be a great course for a an average or beginner. On August 23, 2012, the basket placements were once again in horrible positions. Many of the "new" placements were not in the original design and are horrible. The long placements on 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, and 17 are just poorly designed. They have also changed all of the pars to par 3's even though most of the holes are par 4 or greater according to PDGA guidelines. A good example is hole #11. The long placement cannot possible be approached for an ace or even a likely easy 2. This is an example of good players trying to make a course harder for their amusement. If you discourage beginners, then you kill the sport. Good players can go to Cedar Hills or a number of other courses if this course was not challenging enough for them. Another unrelated problem is that the tee boxes refer to alternate basket placements and you cannot tell which placement is correct on that given day on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course use to be listed among my favorites. Not anymore. It use to be fun and a different type course from the usual technical courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than challenging

2-4    7/22/2001   6/22/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful course is a state-park-like area, with rolling well-mown grassy hills surrounded by a lake.

A fair number of chances to grip-n-rip, and with some pretty open areas, you're not likely to spend time looking for discs.

The 2 holes over water give you the chance to decide how much water you want to try to carry; a short safe route, or a longer, more dangerous throw to reach the pin.

Players with a wide range of skills can find something to enjoy here.
Cons: There aren't any real great holes here; just a lot of good ones.

Other Thoughts: I played here Am Worlds 2001, so didn't have to deal with the non-playing public along the lake.

Not as challenging as some other Nashville-area courses, but a fine place for a less-intense round of throwing discs.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definatly worth checking out!

1    4/11/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 6.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course in a great park. You can enjoy the views of the large Old Hickory Lake on most of these fairly open holes. Mature trees are peppered in and around the fairways that range anywhere from about 210'-550'. You'll find alternate tees and pin placements on a few holes which is great to change things around a bit. The two holes where you throw over water are a nice addition and they help keep things changed up in an already fairly good variety of hole types. Some "let um rip" shots and some that will take a little accuracy are found throughout. Rolling hills also play in on this course and were taken in to account by the designers pretty well. Even with some of the longer holes this course is relatively easy. With that said if you are having an off day you can rack up the strokes. But overall if you are looking for a relaxing round on a great course with minimal frustration this is perfect.

You'll find concrete tee pads, good signs, and newer Innova baskets. There's even a practice basket near hole one to brush up on some pre-round putting. Bathrooms, convenient parking, and covered terraces with picnic tables all add to the amenities as well. I understand the course itself is maintained well with the grass frequently mowed during growing season. It is a very clean park and feels very safe.

Cons: It can be little crowded in some areas. The pavilions near hole one could create a problem if it is being used by large groups. I happened to play when there was an Easter egg hunt going on. Granted that is not going to happen very often but if a lot of kids are running around just be careful. The water shot on hole number fourteen was a little tricky. The bank between me and the baskets had fisherman standing around. Depending on the personalities of some of these guys it could get a little tricky to convince them to move. After all you are in the south. You might just look like a couple of guys throwing a Frisbee (if you know what I mean). Again, be careful.

The course flows well except for the fifteen/sixteen/seventeen transition. It involves a little backtracking but no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Over all I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Even with a lengthy drive it is well worth the trip. Numerous other activities in the park could round off a nice family day if you were so inclined. Several other nice courses are in the area too if you wanted to go that route. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 6.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintaned course that has a few multiple pin locations as well a 2 forced carries over water and a few hole beside water. The back nine is has a few really great holes. holes #11, #13, #14, #15, #17 are all very nice with #11 and #13 really being great holes if the pins are in the back locations.
Cons: This course is way to open with many shot were you are just throwing in an open field. Often the best holes on the back nine are unplayable due to people fishing everywhere on the banks blocking the holes. This course in very easy and a good play can easily shoot in the 40's even though the sign list several holes a par fives and par fores.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play in the winter when noboby is out fishing. It is also very beginner friendly with pretty much no woods.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.