Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #16
3 / 417ft.   3 / 417ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Fun Round in a Clean Park

1    3/20/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry Park sits on a beautiful piece of land on Old Hickory Lake. The views are very nice and the course (and park) is very well maintained. Tee pads are adequate for any style of driving. Most tees provide the opportunity for a solid run-up, if that is your preferred method of driving. Baskets are all in excellent condition. While the course is predominantly open, there are some well-placed trees to add certain elements of design. The length of the holes varies pretty well. Water shots; I love them even though some people, inexplicably, would call this a "con".
Cons: Challenge; it's really not here. This is not a difficult course. While there are some tricky pin placements, the open design of the course really lends itself to an absence of true challenge. In my opinion, distance does not make a challenging hole. Obstacles requiring adept shot-making, make a challenging hole. I can think of at least 2 holes on the course right now, that are nothing more than ace runs in an open field. Throw-away holes drastically diminish the design of the course. Hole #2 also plays over a basketball court which wasn't a problem on Saturday, but could be a major problem if there are people playing there. My last complaint I will label as "Weekend". Do NOT try to play this course on a nice weekend. It might sound like a good idea. However, this past Saturday there were old men fishing off the TEE PAD on 1 hole, and the "greens" for 2 others. Plus there cars were parked in play. There were probably about 16-18 people fishing on the course during our round....and they don't move...and they don't understand what a tee pad is...and they don't comprehend that a polymer of hard plastic flying at them from afar will hurt.
Other Thoughts: Sanders Ferry is a really nice park and has a very nice course. There are a few design flaws. Add that to the inconsiderate other users of the park, and I think it sits as a "Good" course. There is just not enough of a challenging aspect to give it a better rating. I base my ratings on the course being both fun and challenging. Sanders Ferry is fun...but not challenging. If anyone is looking for a comparison, I played Cedar Hill in Nashville on Saturday morning and played Sanders Ferry after eating lunch. I shot 13 strokes better at Sanders Ferry. It is true that Cedar Hill is hard, but Sanders Ferry really is not. It is a fun round, however, and if you are in the area, definitely give the course a shot. I think you'll enjoy it, and I hope the fishermen are not out in full force.

Also, On Sanders Ferry road is a new disc golf store in Nashville called Cloud 9. We got to stop by and they have the best selection of discs I have seen in the Nashville area. They sell all brands and have some pretty cool stuff, so check them out if you're on your way to play Sanders Ferry.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

They have messed this course up...

5+    8/23/2012   11/7/2009
Review By: UKfan
Played: 45  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The front nine allows you to practice your drives and still has challenging approach shots. The back nine is much more difficult with bushes, trees, or water as hazards. The course is kept in good shape. It is mowed and several holes are even mowed around them to show you the putting area. The water holes have alternate tee boxes.
Cons: They have mucked with the pen placements and the pars. I understand that really long throwers may want a more challenging course...but there has to be a course for the average or beginner player. This course use to be a great course for a an average or beginner. On August 23, 2012, the basket placements were once again in horrible positions. Many of the "new" placements were not in the original design and are horrible. The long placements on 3, 4, 7, 11, 15, and 17 are just poorly designed. They have also changed all of the pars to par 3's even though most of the holes are par 4 or greater according to PDGA guidelines. A good example is hole #11. The long placement cannot possible be approached for an ace or even a likely easy 2. This is an example of good players trying to make a course harder for their amusement. If you discourage beginners, then you kill the sport. Good players can go to Cedar Hills or a number of other courses if this course was not challenging enough for them. Another unrelated problem is that the tee boxes refer to alternate basket placements and you cannot tell which placement is correct on that given day on some holes.
Other Thoughts: This course use to be listed among my favorites. Not anymore. It use to be fun and a different type course from the usual technical courses.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A tale of two courses.

1    9/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 26  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The first half of the course is great with logical flow, shot selection, maintenance, and comfort. Our groups lefty was very happy to have an advantage on a couple holes at our skill level. Not crowded, safe and scenic drive.
Cons: The second half of the course is a lot of criss cross walking with no pay off. The water holes are an interesting twist, but not worth the effort in the end.
Other Thoughts: Play the first 9 twice and skip the other side of the tracks! Signs were updated with paper inserts which greatly helps when they match the course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 More fun than challenging

2-4    7/22/2001   6/22/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful course is a state-park-like area, with rolling well-mown grassy hills surrounded by a lake.

A fair number of chances to grip-n-rip, and with some pretty open areas, you're not likely to spend time looking for discs.

The 2 holes over water give you the chance to decide how much water you want to try to carry; a short safe route, or a longer, more dangerous throw to reach the pin.

Players with a wide range of skills can find something to enjoy here.
Cons: There aren't any real great holes here; just a lot of good ones.

Other Thoughts: I played here Am Worlds 2001, so didn't have to deal with the non-playing public along the lake.

Not as challenging as some other Nashville-area courses, but a fine place for a less-intense round of throwing discs.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of Fun

1    6/6/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: brettmartin
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I am staying here for the summer in Madison, TN so I have only played at Cedar Hill Park. I went out and played by myself and this place is gorgeous.

There were a decent amount of people playing and I loved how open the park was. Lots of flat areas with not many hazards so that you won't be in fear of losing your discs.

I loved how on two holes, you had to throw over bodies of water. The bodies of water are very easy to throw over if you are somewhat decent, but it made it tons of fun.
Cons: Lots of people around on pavilions and fishing that don't seem to really be in touch with being on a disc golf course. When I went to shoot on, I believe hole 14 with the first water shot, fishers were on the concrete. I introduced them to disc golf and they loved watching me throw over water. My shot landed nicely but hit some fishers across the water who were not in reality with disc golf.

Other Thoughts: Beautiful course. One of my favorites of all time because of the water and I have played tons.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Definatly worth checking out!

1    4/11/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 92  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course in a great park. You can enjoy the views of the large Old Hickory Lake on most of these fairly open holes. Mature trees are peppered in and around the fairways that range anywhere from about 210'-550'. You'll find alternate tees and pin placements on a few holes which is great to change things around a bit. The two holes where you throw over water are a nice addition and they help keep things changed up in an already fairly good variety of hole types. Some "let um rip" shots and some that will take a little accuracy are found throughout. Rolling hills also play in on this course and were taken in to account by the designers pretty well. Even with some of the longer holes this course is relatively easy. With that said if you are having an off day you can rack up the strokes. But overall if you are looking for a relaxing round on a great course with minimal frustration this is perfect.

You'll find concrete tee pads, good signs, and newer Innova baskets. There's even a practice basket near hole one to brush up on some pre-round putting. Bathrooms, convenient parking, and covered terraces with picnic tables all add to the amenities as well. I understand the course itself is maintained well with the grass frequently mowed during growing season. It is a very clean park and feels very safe.

Cons: It can be little crowded in some areas. The pavilions near hole one could create a problem if it is being used by large groups. I happened to play when there was an Easter egg hunt going on. Granted that is not going to happen very often but if a lot of kids are running around just be careful. The water shot on hole number fourteen was a little tricky. The bank between me and the baskets had fisherman standing around. Depending on the personalities of some of these guys it could get a little tricky to convince them to move. After all you are in the south. You might just look like a couple of guys throwing a Frisbee (if you know what I mean). Again, be careful.

The course flows well except for the fifteen/sixteen/seventeen transition. It involves a little backtracking but no big deal.
Other Thoughts: Over all I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Even with a lengthy drive it is well worth the trip. Numerous other activities in the park could round off a nice family day if you were so inclined. Several other nice courses are in the area too if you wanted to go that route. Enjoy!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Open course worth playing

1    3/23/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: kuhlbeans
Played: 48  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 9.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a good course to air your discs out; plenty of shots in open fields with no hazards to worry about. A couple of holes along or over water to play with your nerves. I was told by a guy I joined up with that the course is well maintained in the summer (grass kept short, etc.).
Cons: Unfortunately the open nature of this course means that it does not provide much of a challenge. Most holes are fairly straight and there aren't any tight shots to fret over. In the end it is very beginner friendly and is worth playing occasionally for the better players. A few holes were missing signs to let you know the hole layout and they did not mark the next tee location. This isn't too much of a problem, the course flows from one hole to the next fairly well, with only a couple holes where you have to walk back up the one you just played.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/29/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: branden14
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Best course I have played yet!
Gorgeous scenery! Each hole was different and unique. The back 9 were the best. I especially loved the water shots; I have never been so nervous about a shot!
Cons: I really cannot think of any!
Other Thoughts: If you are passing through Nashville, definitely stop and play this course. It was a great place to just get out of the car a relax as well.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Length & Accuracy with a Lakeview

1    6/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry park is a well kept park on the edge of the lake in Hendersonville, TN.

This course requires distance and accuracy to score well. Many of the holes have multiple basket and teepad options. This is a huge asset, as there are some very challenging layout possibilities. Some pins have 4 or 5 locations, with the longer positions playing between 400 and 500 feet. Playing from the pro pads with the long placements will add up to scores in the 60's.

The course uses fairly new Discatcher baskets, with a practice basket located 30 feet from the parking lot. There is a map of the front 9 located at the first teepad. Alternatively, there is another 9 hole map located on the 10th teepad. The grass is consistently kept very short, making it perfect for throwing rollers. OB comes into play on 7 or 8 holes, with a road meandering through the course and the lake coming into play on the back 9.
Cons: I don't have any real problems with this park, except that it can get very crowded in the summer. There is a playground/picnic area and several pavillions throughout that can attract a crowd.

Hole 8 and Hole 9 feel a little open with no real obstacles. Although they require good distance, the wind is the only thing to take into account.

The wind at this course can be brutal, with gusts up to 25 or 30 mph near the lake. Accuracy is important on the water holes if you want to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course that will test many areas of your game. The course requires length, accuracy and the ability to hold your line in strong winds. The front 9 is nice, but the back 9 is phenomenal, with more elevation and more technical shots. 4 of the holes on the back 9 play around or over water.

This course is on par with Cedar Hill in terms of challenge. I would say this course is in the top 3 or 4 courses in the greater Nashville area. It is a nice change from the other courses, as it plays very long and across gently rolling hills.

I would recommend this course to players of all levels. If you are coming to Nashville and can play only 1 course, go to Cedar Hill. If you have anything left after that one, this is a nice change of pace.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course On The Lake!

1    8/13/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 611  Exp: 36.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The setting is flat out beautiful with Lake Hickory often in view. Gently rolling hills are great for some big air throws. The course is very well signed. It has these clever little A-B-C buttons on the poles to tell you which position the baskets are in. Saves times walking up the fairway trying to find out yourself. The teepads are good, there's restroom facitlities. I played early in the morning so there were only a few people in the park. You're playing on mowed grass which is always nice. There are throws over water and both have alternate pads if you don't want to risk splashing your favorite. I like having that option.
Cons: There were two designs flaws which I wasn't exactly thrilled with. # 11 throws down a fairly narrow fairway with rough on the right side and the incoming park traffic on the left. Hopefully, there isn't really enough traffic to make that a problem. And # 16 throws 400' towards the lake, which is fine. But then you have to walk back up the same fairway to get to # 17. With all the room available here, it seems this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly easy at times, open with many holes birdable. But even professional golfers sometimes shoot 12 under par. I'd love to have this course in my area. But then, I'd just love to take these gently, rolling Tennessee hills home. They're perfect for disc golf courses!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.