Hendersonville, TN 
Sanders Ferry Park Share
Uploaded By: ambroze Hole #15
3 / 230ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15A Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 3 Next >
 Length & Accuracy with a Lakeview

1    6/6/2008   12/6/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 73  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/1/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sanders Ferry park is a well kept park on the edge of the lake in Hendersonville, TN.

This course requires distance and accuracy to score well. Many of the holes have multiple basket and teepad options. This is a huge asset, as there are some very challenging layout possibilities. Some pins have 4 or 5 locations, with the longer positions playing between 400 and 500 feet. Playing from the pro pads with the long placements will add up to scores in the 60's.

The course uses fairly new Discatcher baskets, with a practice basket located 30 feet from the parking lot. There is a map of the front 9 located at the first teepad. Alternatively, there is another 9 hole map located on the 10th teepad. The grass is consistently kept very short, making it perfect for throwing rollers. OB comes into play on 7 or 8 holes, with a road meandering through the course and the lake coming into play on the back 9.
Cons: I don't have any real problems with this park, except that it can get very crowded in the summer. There is a playground/picnic area and several pavillions throughout that can attract a crowd.

Hole 8 and Hole 9 feel a little open with no real obstacles. Although they require good distance, the wind is the only thing to take into account.

The wind at this course can be brutal, with gusts up to 25 or 30 mph near the lake. Accuracy is important on the water holes if you want to stay dry.
Other Thoughts: This is a very enjoyable course that will test many areas of your game. The course requires length, accuracy and the ability to hold your line in strong winds. The front 9 is nice, but the back 9 is phenomenal, with more elevation and more technical shots. 4 of the holes on the back 9 play around or over water.

This course is on par with Cedar Hill in terms of challenge. I would say this course is in the top 3 or 4 courses in the greater Nashville area. It is a nice change from the other courses, as it plays very long and across gently rolling hills.

I would recommend this course to players of all levels. If you are coming to Nashville and can play only 1 course, go to Cedar Hill. If you have anything left after that one, this is a nice change of pace.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic Course On The Lake!

1    8/13/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 869  Reviewed: 819  Exp: 38 Years
This review was updated on 11/13/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The setting is flat out beautiful with Lake Hickory often in view. Gently rolling hills are great for some big air throws. The course is very well signed. It has these clever little A-B-C buttons on the poles to tell you which position the baskets are in. Saves times walking up the fairway trying to find out yourself. The teepads are good, there's restroom facitlities. I played early in the morning so there were only a few people in the park. You're playing on mowed grass which is always nice. There are throws over water and both have alternate pads if you don't want to risk splashing your favorite. I like having that option.
Cons: There were two designs flaws which I wasn't exactly thrilled with. # 11 throws down a fairly narrow fairway with rough on the right side and the incoming park traffic on the left. Hopefully, there isn't really enough traffic to make that a problem. And # 16 throws 400' towards the lake, which is fine. But then you have to walk back up the same fairway to get to # 17. With all the room available here, it seems this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly easy at times, open with many holes birdable. But even professional golfers sometimes shoot 12 under par. I'd love to have this course in my area. But then, I'd just love to take these gently, rolling Tennessee hills home. They're perfect for disc golf courses!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 DG on the lake

2-4    7/12/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 254  Reviewed: 246  Exp: 19.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/6/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course as the park is surrounded by water. There are views of the lake from almost every hole, and water comes into play on a few of them, including 2 that require over-the-water shots.

Good signs. Picnic shelter near the parking area and restrooms.
Cons: People often fish and picnic on the landing areas of the 2 over-the-water holes. (Locals don't seem to realize they are in the way and are about to be hit in the head with a hard fast projectile!)

The bad thing about throwing over the water is the long walks around the inlets to get to the basket. #16 and #17 teepads are next to each other, meaning you have to walk back up 16 after you play 16 to get to 17.

I believe this is a course that started out as 9 and later became 18. 18 holes is great but the flow is just not the same as it would have been if all 18 were planned from the beginning.
Other Thoughts: Pretty course. Not too difficult.

The course as a whole is not too thrilling for me to play, but it is not a bad course either.

Others are rating it very high, but I don't see this course nearly on the same level as others close by like Cedar Hill.

Keep in mind a 2.5 rating is still a good course to play, just not a "must play in the US" type course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent course

5/9/2008   5/9/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very well maintaned course that has a few multiple pin locations as well a 2 forced carries over water and a few hole beside water. The back nine is has a few really great holes. holes #11, #13, #14, #15, #17 are all very nice with #11 and #13 really being great holes if the pins are in the back locations.
Cons: This course is way to open with many shot were you are just throwing in an open field. Often the best holes on the back nine are unplayable due to people fishing everywhere on the banks blocking the holes. This course in very easy and a good play can easily shoot in the 40's even though the sign list several holes a par fives and par fores.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to play in the winter when noboby is out fishing. It is also very beginner friendly with pretty much no woods.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  nice,clean park

4/12/2008   4/12/2008
Review By: thomasa93
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: *Very well maintained
*nice mix of holes (both water and land)
*some long holes
*some short holes
*restrooms/water available
*nice launch pads


Cons: It can be a little crowded; but certainly not bad enough to stop me from playing there.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a very nice course. I especially like the variety of holes.

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 -

3/14/2008   3/14/2008
Review By: gwillim
Played: 169  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 15 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Excellent Teepads
-Excellent Signage
-Decent baskets (eventhough I don't care for Disccatchers, personally)
-Tee shots are very fun with nice mix of distance and elevation
-Park is maintained very well
-Multiple pin placements add variety
-Just beautiful
-Restrooms available onsite
-Never crowded (at least when I've played it)
-Course design is planned well to use the trees appropriately, rather than haphazardly.
Cons:
-None really, my only complaint was that I played it in mid spring, and didn't bring any bug spray. Huge mosquitoes swarmed me pretty badly for about 5 holes!
Other Thoughts:
Sander's Ferry is a beautiful course. It's got some great "big arm" pumps, as well as a few, more technical shots, with OBs coming into play on a few holes. There is one shot where you shoot directly over the water, and that's always a blast!
I love going to Sander's Ferry and playing a few rounds when I'm in the area, which is about once a year. I'd suggest anyone passing through Nashville to take the 15-20 minutes and drive up to Hendersonville and shoot a round or two at Sander's Ferry, you won't be disappointed.

P.S. The course bears an odd resemblance to La Mirada. Most likely with the slight rolling hills and such, but it reminds me of LaMa quite a bit when I play it.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 A favorite

3/7/2007   2/7/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Other Thoughts: May be my favorite course. Beautiful scenery and challenging holes including one over water. Mostly open but good use of trees.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Good Openish Course

8/1/2007   8/1/2007
Review By: shaggydabomb
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Good Course mainly open, but good use of available trees, good mix long & shorts, good shot combinations. Very well maintained..Play this course you'll enjoy it!
Cons: water/restrooms availablity

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.