Saint Elmo, IL 
Eagle Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: HighFlyer88 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2010)
3 / 226ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
The Purge!

1    3/26/2014   3/27/2014
Review By: sstieg
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Awesome lake view
*Great for hiking
*Great for working on your scramble game
*Great feel for how playing disc golf after a zombie apocalypse will be like
Cons: *Briar patches everywhere
*Minimal signs
*No directional signs
*Not maintained...at all
*Missing #11 basket
*Camouflaged rusty barb wire fence by a few holes
Other Thoughts: I have many thoughts on this course, so read Cannon15's review if you don't have any popcorn left in your cabinet to get you through the rest of my review. I played with him and two others, so his review is the cliff note version.

Please listen to the theme song of THE WALKING DEAD in order to get the full experience of this review. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=csRuImS8e-M)

First of all let me begin by saying we heard this course was not maintained, so we knew we were in for a rough disc golf experience, but we had no idea what was about to unfold.

When we arrived, we were greeted by two friendly large dogs that were happy to see people at this course. When we were getting our gear ready and gathering our trash from our Arby's stop on the way over, we realized one of the dogs was already across the parking lot with one of our Arby's bags. We quickly ran over to snatch our trash back before the dog ripped the bag to shreds looking for those crunchy curly fries at the bottom of the bag. Once we got our trash back and our gear ready, we headed to Hole 1, only to hear the sound of tornado sirens blaring. With no storm cloud in sight, we immediately realized it was the warning of THE PURGE, about to commence (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K0LLaybEuzA). Since we were far away from home, we decided to go on and play, hoping no one would find us in the woods. After playing many holes, looking for tee pads and baskets, about running into a rusty barb wire fence, getting cut and mangled in the thorns, stumbling down the rough terrain; we finally got towards the end of the front nine when we first encountered other people. At first we thought they were golfers too, but we were greatly mistaken. I could be mistaken, but this was a family out purging. I asked them how they are doing (to gage if they were after us or not), the family of two parents and three boys said they are out looking for bike thieves, as the dad brandishes his hacksaw with a grimacing grin. Luckily for us, they kept on walking past us. We continued to play on and as we were looking for Hole 11's basket, which we could never find, the friendly family comes back out of the woods. I'm not sure if they found the bike thieves or not, but they continued on their way and our lives were spared. Also, the whole time we were playing, one of the dogs (not the Arby's bag stealer) was following us around and running after our thrown discs various times throughout our journey. When I teed off on Hole 15, the dog ran after my trusty firebird that was parked under the basket, and carried it off in the woods. This dog was never found nor the disc during the rest of the round. After our final putt on the 18th hole, after we had to make our own tee since it was nowhere to be found, the sirens blared once more. After our relentless round, we made it through The Purge. We gladly left the course, without ever looking back. This is a trip that will never be talked about, acting like it never happend is best for everyone.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Only the strong survive!

1    3/26/2014   3/26/2014
Review By: cannon15
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you dare to you play this course and survive you deserve a medal. It will make you appreciate people that maintain golf courses..... I'm just saying if you want a peek into disc golfing post zombie apocalypse then St Elmo is for you..... Good luck... Be safe
Cons: If you complain about courses being to hard then avoid this course. The dogs will carry your disc away. Basket 11 missing

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

as of December 2012

5+    0/0/0000   12/28/2012
Review By: airspuds
Played: 99  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation, up and down , great workout .
Course will challange big arms to be accurate and amaze the amatuers. It;s a challange just to walk the course, good for hikers.
Cons: Tees overgrown currently, basket 11 missing ,
tee signs lying around. Bathroom was open but no toliet paper. Neighbor dogs barking at you when you play 18. Most players will not like the challange of elevation, over growth, wet ness and location.
Other Thoughts: This course just needs some attention.
Tees can be easily cleared of weeds and re limestoned. I personally love this course. Nothing has changed since my older review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mud boots and discs

1    5/1/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: fulker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/4/2012
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: - Elevation varies is the key to this course.
- Would be a good starter course. Key word would.
- Diamond in the rough best describes it in my view.
Cons: - Hole 4 is a steep fall down if play on a wet week. No steps to walk down the 20+ foot fall hazard.
- 80% of this course is in a flood zone so check the past weather before you play. Its below the dam of a Lake and one hole is part of the Lake overflow area.
- I have attempted to play this course 4 times and have made it thru once and that was in mud boots. All the other times standing water in low areas.
Other Thoughts: Played this course this last weekend agian and it has been dry and there was still mud and a water fairway in the flood area. I see 5 say not helpful go play it in the summer when the briers are knee high after a rain and get back to me.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate

1    1/2/2011   1/7/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 417  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in an area that is mostly forest, with some open areas mixed in. The terrain is very hilly, including a large sloping dam. Doesn't seem like anything other than disc golf goes on here.
- The best feature of this course is the constant hilliness, with many uphill shots, downhill shots, valley shots, and one big downhill run. It goes: #2 down, #3 up, #4 down, #5 up, #6 down, etc. etc. Great mix of steep uphills (#17), uphills (#3), valley shots (#14), downhills (#4), and big downhills (#16).
- Holes also have a good variety of lines to hit. While a lot of the course demands a straight shot, there are some good RHBH anhyzers (#5, #13) and hyzers (#1, #18). The rough off the fairways is particularly nasty in spots; inaccurate shots make saving par almost impossible.
- Big slopes lead to some big sloped greens, with tons of rollaway potential. #14 is sloped in front and behind the basket, for instance. Almost every hole with elevation has a tricky green, and many are protected by trees as well.
- Water is in play in a few spots, like the creek on #4 and #16, and the lake on #14. Usually, a shot has to be way short or way long to get wet, but it is definitely possible.
- Good signage, and baskets. Navigation isn't too bad, especially when marked on the previous tee signs. Good crossings in spots, but many other places are very tough to traverse. Not for the faint of heart or knees. Teepads are in horrible shape as well; at least a big run-up isn't needed for nearly every hole.
Cons: - Biggest drawback with this course is the very short length. Many, many holes under 250', with four under 200'. The only longer hole is very much downhill, too, so most players will rarely, if ever, need a driver.
- Overall, course is not taken care of very well. Lots of overgrowth, dead branches or piles of logs, definitely still rough around the edges. Some hills are very treacherous, especially when wet.
Other Thoughts: - This course is a harsh lesson in elevation; with nearly every hole having a pretty significant hill of some sort. #4 is a great cliff shot over a creek, #17 is a tight, steep uphill shot with a protected basket. Lots of obstacles on each hole, like numerous trees or some thick, thorny rough. The short hole lengths can be easily countered by lots of hazards.
- Probably a good course for players right in the middle; beginners will find it too challenging, and experts might find the short holes too easy to reach. But, there are many memorable shots that can be very fun or very frustrating for everybody.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

1    12/20/2010   1/6/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is on a very cool piece of land. There are some rolling hills and some severe elevation changes with a tall grassy dam and a couple nice drop offs. The elevation is used very well to add interest and challenge. There are a few great downhill shots, some tricky uphills, and a couple that use a small valley area to make some down and up shots. One hole shoots up over a rise, then sharply downhill into a ravine, tricky but aceable if you hit exactly the right line.

There's a fun mix of hole shapes that have you pulling all kinds of discs and shots out. It feels nicely balanced for lefties or righties, and you'll need a good selection of different shots if you want to score well. The holes tend to be shorter, but there's enough variety and elevation to keep it exciting and interesting, the lack of length isn't a major con here for me. The tee signs that are still in place are descriptive and helpful, including even the elevation change. The baskets are fairly new, and catch fairly well. The flow of the course is good enough that it's not hard to follow despite the missing tee signs.
Cons: The tees are in terrible shape, they are crushed limestone that doesn't seem to have been fully tamped down. Many of the boxes aren't in the greatest shape, so the tees are rutting out and spreading, and many have depressions that hold water. Several aren't on level ground, and it's a bit treacherous to tee off up or down hill. The tee signs are nice, but unfortunately a lot of them are missing.

There are lots of places on the course that seem to hold water, and some of them are hidden under long grass with lumpy ground, so you never know when you're going to fall through into a deep puddle. Watch your ankles walking here, there are lots of wooded areas with stumps and sticks that aren't cleared, and grassy areas that have lots of holes waiting to catch your foot. A long set of tees would be cool here, adding some challenge while keeping the fun shorter set of tees.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun layout, and the features on the property are used really well. Unfortunately, it's not well taken care of, with bad tees, missing signs, and lots of trash and dead branches and brush laying around on fairways. Beginners might be frustrated by the more technical holes and punishing rough, though it's a nice short course that will push learning different shot shapes. More experienced players won't find it too terribly challenging, but will find lots of fun and unique holes. With some work and a set of long tees, this could easily be a great course that would be worth going way out of your way for.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not a Walk in the Park

1    4/11/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: ruzz2112
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for the precision shooter. Very challanging and entertaining. The dense wood makes up for the lack of distance. Elevation changes are as drastic and exciting.
Cons: A little on the short side for the distance thrower. The hills you are expected to assend and descend would be very difficult for some people. Holes 4-10 are literally through a river bottom with mud and standing water. Would not reccomed wearing sandles unless you're a 365 sandle person. Alot of trash throughout the course. High potential for lost discs.
Other Thoughts: Mosquitos, snakes, salamanders, spiders, they're all waiting for you. I got bit by a tick and lost a disc in the algae filled lake. Bring water, bug spray, and hiking shoes.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Super fun short course!

1    3/30/2009   1/16/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I had an absolute blast playing this course. It is located on an awesome piece of property. Nice lake with some awesome views. It is very peacful and quiet. It has great elevation and woods. I did not see any wildlife but i'm assuming it's out there. I'm not usually a fan of super short courses but this one is unique and fun. This is a challening hike and there are a couple of dangerous areas. Be careful!

New Innova Discatchers.

Several technical tight wooded holes.

Some unique holes with elevation.

I'll pick my favorite holes on this course.
#4. 260ft. The tee pad sits atop a cliff about 40ft above the pin. Think West Park cliff shot on Arod Steroids. There is a gap in the trees you have to hit to get to the basket. Right in front of the treeline is a wide/deep disc eating creek.
#14 205ft. You throw from an elevated tee in the woods across to another elvated green. Behind the pin is a view of the lake. What a tricky birdie to get! If you go deep you are in the lake.
#2. 255ft. The pin sits 25ft below you with a major road to the left (OB). A pine tree splits the fairway so you can go left of right. The natural fairway runs downwards to the pin.
#16. 333ft. throwing from the top of the damn. The pin is at the bottom of the hill. Trees and schule on the right. Deep of the pin is a creek and damn wall opening.
Cons: Limestone/Gravel tee pads are not level.

I played this course in the early spring and there were several holes with standing water and mud.

This course is very short.
Other Thoughts: Bring a treat for the friendly dog on the property.

This course is located about 5 to 10 minutes off the interstate. To me it was worth the drive.

Check out my Illinois Top 10.
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun shorty full of elevation change

2-4    12/18/2009   12/18/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 363  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The elevation changes at this little course are both extreme and abundant. Elevation changes on 14 of 18 holes ranging from slight ups and downs to extreme ups and downs. The elevation changes are marked on some of the teesigns and range from 10' to 40' over the distance of short holes (all less than 300')
-In addition to elevation, the course has many tight wooded holes, 7 for instance is an up hill shot that has to be thrown high and straight at the basket to make it through the tight line. about 1/2 the holes are heavily wooded, the other half is open.
-Decent risk/reward for a short course, if you take the risk and go for the park job on some of the longer holes, you could end up in the rough which is JAIL.
-Navigation is fairly intuitive, it's pretty tough to get turned around here.
-Ample parking, a shelter and a pit bathroom.
Cons: -My biggest con for this course is the immense amount of garbage on the course...it looks like the locals take al their plastoc glass and aluminum and dump it on the park ground. it's seriously ridiculous, there are no garbage cans(except a dumpster at the entrance) to be seen and it looks like people don't pack any of their garbage out. I think a lot of the problem is probably not from golfers, but campers and fishermen.
-The tees here are that crushed limestone in a 6x4 box of lumber. They are seriously rutted and grass is growing on some of them.
-A lot of the teesigns have been uprooted or are missing.
-The course is just too short to pose any serious challenge, at 4100' and no holes over 280' it's pretty much a hilly, wooded pitch and putt. If 1000' were added, it would add a lot to the course.
-There are also maintenance issues here, the city is slow and infrequent to mow so it can get to be a lost disc haven in the summer.
-Steps should be added on some of the holes ie hole 4, 12, 14 because the hills are so steep and worn, it can be hazardous
The lowland holes 4-6, 16 are pretty muddy and hold water for a while after rains, just be advised,
Other Thoughts: I really like this course, and if they took care of even just the garbage issue, I'd bump the rating up, but as it is right now, it only deserves a 2.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Little Par 3

2-4    11/28/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: cooktastic
Played: 58  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed playing this short par 3 course. While it is short (longest hole is 335ish I think)...most of them are difficult little par 3's because they use the landscape so well. Very hilly course with several steep uphill shots, very steep downhill shots, and even some shots where you have to cross a valley. The tees were not concrete (as listed on here) but pea gravel instead. While I really liked the pea gravel tee pads...they needed some work as many had settled in the middle forcing you to use only a small area of the tee pad. It was very easy to navigate...even though a few of the signs had been stolen. Where there were signs...they were very helpful. Eagle Point is located on a pretty little lake and it really doesn't come into play...unless you go way past the basket on 16. Most holes are very wooded...with only a couple wide open shots on the entire 18.
Cons: The teepads needed more pea gravel put down to level them out...several signs needed replacing where people had taken them...there were a ton of beer cans and bottles everywhere (looks like a high school party took place on the course the night before I played...it was holding a little water on holes 4-6 due to heavy rain in some of the preceeding weeks. Maybe a few more shots where you can get out the driver.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course...my hometown is ten times the size of this little community and yet it has a MUCH nicer course (a little jealous). I can't wait to play this little gem some more when I am visiting my in-laws who live in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.