Disc Golf Store
Anchorage, AK 
Service High School Share



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Course

1    6/27/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A more difficult and more fun course to play than Hanshew down the street.

The high school grounds are way nicer than when I graduated in '93. The ice rink is nice, the soccer field is nice, the football field is now astroturf, the track is something besides asphalt, and there are sand volleyball courts (not to mention a disc golf course.)

Nice, varied design on the course. Some ups, some downs, some wide opens, some tight shots. Some lefts and one mild right.
Cons: No tees. No signs. No intro sign. It would be very tough to find the first tee without good directions or a guide (go down the hill past the shotput circle, basically Northeast from the NE edge of the track to a dirt area marked by a 1 foot hexagonal piece of concrete on the ground). Fifth tee is also very hard to find. Come to think of it, a bunch of "next tee this way" signs would be very helpful. At least they have baskets I guess.

There seems to be plenty of room to put in 18 holes (unlike Hanshew). Really disappointing to only see 9.

This course really has a lot of potential, but needs some money and some TLC.
Other Thoughts: It's fun to see disc golf courses at my old junior high and high school. Too bad they're not awesome courses. Worth playing at least once though, especially if you live on the hillside. Looking forward to trying Hilltop and Kincaid.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not bad

1    5/5/2012   5/7/2012
Review By: AK-Vstrom
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Fun, not too crowded, variety of challenges to the holes
Cons: Couldn't find the first hole at all, tee locations sometimes hard to find, kind of muddy/mucky along one of the routes.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a fun course. It's set up in a schoolyard, so I didn't expect it to be a top-of-the-line disk golf course, with lots of signs pointing out each hole or tee -- and it wasn't. However, except for the first hole, which we never found, it was easy enough to find the rest of the holes, although we probably only found half of the tees (and took reasonable guesses on the rest). The routes were easy to follow, and there was a nice variety of challenges (length, narrow fairways, etc.). I look forward to playing this course again...on a warmer day ;)

 Fun course

2-4    7/26/2009   7/28/2009
Review By: Nord117
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun Holes a lot of variety. Has a good mix of short and long holes. Not busy at anytime of the day.
Cons: Holes are not very well marked i have played there a few times already and have walked passed the "tee pads" They are marked with a hexagon stone on the ground that is not very noticable,
Other Thoughts: This course was put together by a local kid and is a great course to try and use all of your throws.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/15/2008   10/23/2008
Review By: RraTim
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Not very busy; good mix of long and short holes
Cons: No clear tee pads; one basket was missing; no real signage to direct to tee pads
Other Thoughts: Only played this course once, but appreciated the fact that it wasn't busy.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center