Jefferson City, TN 
Carson-Newman College DGC Share
Uploaded By: wesford Hole #7 (Taken 5/2011)
4 / 338ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7/#16 Basket



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Good Luck!

1    5/4/2013   4/5/2014
Review By: Baysinger
Played: 40  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Best part about the course is holes #4 and #2. Reason I say this is because of the obsticles in place. On hole #2 there are some kind of concrete structures (columns) to the right side of your drive. Just kind of neat to throw along outside of the norm obsticles I think. On hole #4 there is a tunnel/bridge that you can choose to throw either through or over the top. Of course the funnest way to do it is to throw through! Check it out in the pictures its actually pretty neat! Besides that the only other pro I can think of is that it would be a fun way for college students to get some outdoors activity after class. And it is also great to put courses on college courses to get people who have never heard of disc golf to gain interest! The more courses on college grounds the more people will hear about it and more interest means more courses! So you gotta commend this course for that at the least!
Cons: No tee pads and no signs! Markers are VERY hard to find... even with the "course map" located on here. They are basically just a brick with a mailbox number. My suggestion is to print the map out so you can at least have a basic idea where to throw from. Definitely could be a saftey hazard of a course as the holes weave their ways in and out of the different buildings on campus.
Other Thoughts: When we played this course, we had the map and ended up pulling out a sharpee and marking on it with the propper driving paths that lined up with the markers/baskets in case we ever played this course again. It is about 25 minutes from my house and I haven't went back... it has been close to a year. Hope this gives you an idea of my desire to play this course again. Although I am sure I will evently give it another try it's not a desire. We spent most of our time looking for the tee markers than we did playing disc golf. We looked for the marker for hole #10 for about 15 minutes and never found it so we left and didn't finish the course. I had put pictures of holes 1-9 from down on the ground where the tee markers were looking up towards the baskets to try and help better chances of people finding the markers but DGCR took them off. The addition of above ground level markers would be a huge plus. Tee pads and signs are not 100% necessary on a course but you gotta know where to tee of or there is no use in even trying it out. Until they make some changes to make the markers easier to find I wouldnt waste your time on this course. I'm sure it's fun for college students who frequent it and know exactly where each tee position is but its a nightmare for first time players. Oh and it's been close to a year since I have played it so i'm not 100% sure but I think the whole #2 marker is in a completely different position than what the map shows.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 To hard to find tees

1    9/21/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: JRick
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The only pro i found is that it would be hard to loose a disc.
Cons: Tees are hard to find i had a map that i found online and it did not help at all. Even when i did finally find a tee spot i walked over it because its one little brick in the ground with a number on it. Could not finsh just got tired of walking around aimlessly.
Other Thoughts: Maybe find a student that might help. They could just out a pole in the ground with a number that would help alot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/21/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: DiscGolfFreak
Played: 25  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with some fun and unique shots, such as throwing through a tunnel, which I believe to be the signature hole. Dual tees increases it from 9 to 18. Many obstacles such as trees and buildings making some holes a little more technical.
Cons: Very difficult to find markers in the ground as the tee stations. Could use signs to identify holes. Had it not been for joining up with some locals I would never have found my way through the course. Several holes throwing over walkways, must be very careful as not to hit anyone. Buildings also come into play on several holes. No long holes to air it out.
Other Thoughts: They have done a good job with what they had to work with. Not too many options as far as course layout on such a small campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Play during the summer

1    7/3/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: GRHE
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A quaint course that was a lot of fun if just for the atmosphere of a small college campus. Granted I did play during the summer so foot and car traffic was all but absent. A fun course with a variety of holes.
Cons: As so many have mentioned, the hole markers were difficult to find but if you don't mind winging it on a couple of holes the map posted on the site can be a great aid in finding the others.
Other Thoughts: I've heard rumors that the students are attempting to develop the course further. The map is currently out of date and a few of the hole markers are not in the space indicated or were switched. A fun course to play overall as long as you're not too tied to formalities and having well indicated tees. Just remember that the whole sport used to be improvised object golf :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wish I Hadn't Hit THAT

1    4/22/2011   4/22/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 361  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Throwing through a tunnel created by a pedestrian overpass was kinda unique.
Cons:
Many obstacles man-made, or mankind itself
Other Thoughts:
Course plays throughout the sparsely tree-populated green spaces separating red-brick buildings of a small college campus. While the trees vary greatly in size (large, majestic hardwoods, small flowering trees), all the buildings are huge. The corner or length of a building will potentially come into play on many holes. Pedestrian walkways will be thrown over on practically every hole - and a couple holes are blind from the tee. Streets, benches, lampposts also nearby on a few holes.

Despite the mis-numbering, the on-line map was quite useful in navigating the two-tee/single-basket course. Managed to find about half the actual in-ground tee markers, and was able to roughly determine the other tee locations.

There was actually a decent amount of variety in distance, up/down/cross slope or flat, and turn-types needed from the tee locations. Definite glow/safari possibilties. Don't plan on playing when any students are milling about the open spaces.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course Designer's Insights

5+    5/8/2008   5/16/2010
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Other Thoughts: I originally designed the course. Though it has been two years since I have been able to play it, I hope my insights still have some value since some have had trouble locating the tees, and the course has not changed since then.

For those of you who would like a map, I uploaded one to the files on this page. This map is correct except that the hole numbers are all off by one. The hole in front of the library is actually #1 instead of #2 as the map says, and so forth. But it should still be helpful when looking for the tees.

Two official course rules you might not otherwise know:

1. Roads are out of bounds.

2. On tees 4 and 13 there is a mandatory fairway. One is required to throw the disc under the walkway that leads into the Dougherty building at street level. Failure to use the fairway is a one-stroke penalty.

I installed the tees myself. Though I wish they were easier to find, the ability of the course to be invisible during homecoming (the baskets can be removed) was essential to getting original approval. I hope the map helps for those of you who were frustrated.

Enjoy.

btw, the Course's actual name as approved by the student government association is "Mossy Links DGC"

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    4/23/2010   4/23/2010
Review By: jacu2003
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and intermediate players. I have been playing for a year and am still consistently challenged.
A good blend of short and longer holes.
Opportunity for aces (but not too easy)
A blend of technical and more open holes that demand both accuracy and distance.
Elevation changes and foliage make unique holes.
Cons: Probably pretty short for more experienced players.
At times the course has a lot of traffic. (evenings are usually have minimal traffic.
If you overshoot or shank really hard on a couple of holes there is a potential for dominating cars.
Other Thoughts: Excellent for students.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  none

5+    10/25/2009   10/26/2009
Review By: cncsax11
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of Technical shots and open shots, Campus is well taken care of and the baskets are in good condition, Very hard to lose a disc
Cons: Tee Boxes can be hard to find, especially hole 4, people tend to get in the way a lot, some buildings are in risk of being damaged by discs, back 9 is too similar to front. (9 holes double teed to make 18)
Other Thoughts: This course was designed and is mostly used by the students of Carson-Newman College but has the potential to hold its own as a solid 9 hole course. There are quite a few things in the works to make the course flow better and make the tee boxes (which are marked by bricks in the ground) more noticable to those who don't play the course regularly. Sometimes variables are thrown into the holes such a people or even vehicles. Some people may see this is a pro, some people may see this as a con. Overall it can be a fun course. Just don't expect many of the students to know that a disc Golf course exists here...or even know what disc Golf is for that matter.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course with a bad wrap

5+    10/23/2009   10/23/2009
Review By: TCXJWAGONEER
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Tech. shots abound on this course
The designer made great use of space
Great 9 holes. the back 9 tee's are very similar so 18 is only worth doing if nothing else is available.
Cons: Tee box's can be difficult to locate...Maps will be available soon to help with the confusion..

Students/ People can be abundant making some shots difficult
Other Thoughts: The Tee box issue is currently being addressed. Each will be marked better. Signs are not possible due to college policies, but the bricks will be easier to find. Directional bricks will be also installed at baskets to help direct players to the next tee box. The College just recently supported a Disc Golf Club and they have started these projects...Watch for this course to get better and better over the winter.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overall, a fun course

5+    10/12/2009   10/12/2009
Review By: odimus prime
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As a student, my friends and I have mapped out the course and know where the tees are, so that eliminates the confusion of searching for the bricks. There are maps of the course, but they are not readily accessible...yet.

There is a good mix of open and technical shots on the course, as the trees, buildings, and conditional objects (cars, people, etc.) offer some good obstacles to the shot. A couple of holes (1, 4, 8, 9, and their sister holes on the back 9 tees) provide for very technical experiences, there are a couple of wide open holes (like 3, 5, and 7). My favorite hole is hole 2 because it offers a chance to shoot from the top of the center hill of campus, between two buildings, to a basket near the street at the bottom.
Cons: The tee markers can be hard to find, and the majority of students are oblivious to the presence of the course. If you are lucky enough to find myself or one of the members of my group of disc golfers, however, you will have a good time with the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.