Ringgold, GA 
Jack Mattox Recreation Complex Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #5
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
 Perfect for beginners

1    6/7/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: Hyzer_Monkey
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: - easy, open course that is great for young children and newer players.
- for the advanced player throwing by themselves or introducing newer players to the game, it is a good place to practice different flight paths to a basket.
Cons: - Jogging path runs close to the DG course and you must watch out for joggers (especially Senior citizens walking).

The Chattanooga Area Beginner's Course

1    7/11/2014   7/14/2014
Review By: WestGooch
Played: 22  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
- Simple course layout perfect even for first-time visitors.
- Concrete tees and baskets are in great condition.
- Easy course, you can certainly play well with little frustration, but this also has its negative side... *
- Clean complex, free of trash and graffiti.
- Fairway conditions well maintained, grass is cut.
- All holes are a par 3 which makes for easy score-keeping.
- Very quick course, can be played by almost anyone in about half an hour.
- Lack of variety; as aforementioned in previous reviews, the first six holes are very spacious and then the final three take you through a moderately wooded area, making for a predictable round.
- *For the intermediate and professional players, this course may very well be too easy.
- There is only one tee to every one basket, which can be rather typical, and it seems as though this will not be changing any time soon.
- Be weary of the walking track around the complex, a stray disc may wind up closer to the track than you think.
Other Thoughts: I played this course last weekend for the sole purpose of getting my cousin excited about the sport. Jack Mattox is definitely the place to bring beginners because it is easy to play and easy to have fun. I finished in just under par (-1) and my cousin was one stroke behind me on almost every hole. I would definitely recommend this course to all beginners and intermediate players in the greater Chattanooga area. For professionals and travelers, I recommend researching other courses as well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    5/31/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: doddworley
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Clean, well-maintained. Nice pads with distance etched in the concrete. No markers but finding the next tee was not an issue. It is a fun little course you can play in about 20 minutes.
Cons: Only 9 holes, they are simple and pretty much straight-forward. Requires little thought or technique. Interstate can be a distraction on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: First six holes are wide open, but the last three are wooded. Loved the last three holes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Too short

2-4    5/24/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: carpan09
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Nice clean course
2. You can finish in 20 minutes
3. Almost no places to lose discs
4. open with 3 wooded holes
5. occasional shade
Cons: 1. All par 3s
2. Crowded
3. people walking around the track constantly
Other Thoughts: Good although short course that is in a good area and is woth it if you are in the Chattanooga area

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and sweet

5+    6/2/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 49  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a nice, small 9 hole course that I would describe as beginner friendly. Course navigation is very easy and #9 puts you right back at the parking lot of #1. For an experienced player, it shouldn't take you longer than 30 minutes to complete a round.

Course is very clean. It is rare that I have seen any rubbish on the ground. Concrete tees are now up on each hole and all of the baskets are in perfect shape. Tee signs at each hole are accurate and display the needed information of distance.

Since this is in a county park, this gets mowed quite often and it is rarely overgrown. The three wooded holes are very cleared out and it is next to impossible to lose a disc here.

A few baskets are protected and force an accurate shot (4 & 9). Good for the advanced players. Elevation is used well, fairways are well defined, next to no overgrowth.

A great place to practice different shots.
Cons: A few holes are a shot straight into a field with a basket. Once you play it a few times, you may get bored.
Other Thoughts: This is in a mixed use park, with many baseball fields, a walking track and I'm sure more activities to do. Paved parking lot and easy access to I75 is nice too. While I would not call this a destination course, it is very nice for what it is, a neighborhood course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wish This Was My Neighborhood Course

1    7/25/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 93  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 40.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/6/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Wonderful rec/neighborhood course in beautiful, hilly north GA.

Nice concrete pads with hole # and distance, and nice baskets.

Very easy to navigate.

The 1st 6 holes are on a very nice and well maintained grass field with enough trees to force some shot shaping. The last 3 holes are in a light woods with hills and valleys.

There are enough picnic tables and garbage cans.

The course is very close to I-75. Getting a quick round in to stretch your legs here is highly recommended.

Friendly locals.
Cons: This is a multi use park, and there is a jogging track that runs around the course. Children also play in the park, so care must be taken while throwing here.

The course is somewhat short and can be played mostly with mids and putters.
Other Thoughts: Clean, fun, and family friendly. Lucky you, if you live in this neighborhood, and can play it every day.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Quick Play off I75

2-4    6/29/2012   6/29/2012
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 121  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very well-maintained. All grass was cut and most fairways were clear of debris.

-Amenities. Trash cans were available on several holes and there were a few benches. In reading the other reviews, I saw a lot of people say there was no bathroom, but I just walked in the REC Center and they allowed me to use the bathroom.

-Discs sold onsite. I didn't thumb through, but it looked to be all Discraft.

-There were some fun shots to be had. I particularly enjoyed the last 3 holds which were decently wooded.

-Ace runs to be had!
Cons: -Open shot after open shot. Hole 1 is a solid hole, very fun, but until it gets into the woods it gets to be pretty repetitive.

-Not very challenging. If you're looking for a course to take beginners, this is it! For more experienced players, you would want to play with a putter and a couple of midranges.

-There is a very nice pond closeby holes 5 & 6 that I really wish they had incorporated...

-An alternate set of teepads or another 9 altogether, could really improve upon this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a reasonable course and definitely worth your time if you are passing through. It's not one I would go out of the way to play, but I would be perfectly fine if this were my home course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

5+    11/5/2011   11/13/2011
Review By: Chigger Hamby
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great beginning course to work on some basic skills. Wide open holes, 3 wooded holes gives a good mix of shots required. Double chains on baskets, marker at tee tells feet to basket.
Cons: Hardly any, but if I had to list some:
Would like to see concrete tee pads and signs for each hole. No restrooms either. Would like to see a 2nd tee at each hole, there is room.
Other Thoughts: Go on a Saturday or Sunday and probably will see a few others out there. Midweek, will have it to yourself, untill the evening when folks get off work. I've picked up trash at baskets left by teens.(even though there are trash cans spread out on the course)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 easy course

2-4    7/23/2011   7/23/2011
Review By: chrishank
Played: 25  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very easy course for beginers. I believe longest hole is around 300. A very easy to follow course, expecially since the pins point to next hole. My favorite hole would be the 3 in the woods. They are not very hard still being in the woods but definally beautiful with the wooden bridges. Its a rec center so there is a walking track you can walk on after playing if you like to walk.
Cons: In my opinion it is to easy of a course for people who played for a year or more. No teepads are concrete but still you can tell where they are at. No signs, but do have pipes with distance marked. I think you could improve this course by adding a second teepad to the holes making it longer shots for advaced players. Oh and no bathrooms!!! I thaught all rec centers had one.
Other Thoughts: A good course to go to for a family with little children, except for no bathrooms. But it is stroller friendly, the woods is a little rough but not bad. Plenty of birdie chances even for a beginer. A real confidence booster. :)

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great introudction to beginner

5+    5/21/2011   5/25/2011
Review By: bama9125
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its trick than it looks. every hole is birdie opporunity for pro player. great for beginner to learn the game and more room to practice throw disc. hole 1 need to aim between 2 big trees to have chance for biride. hole 2 and 3 are straight ahead. hole 4 is straight ahrad but aim between 2 trees. hole 5 is easy but if windy is in the weather then trouble come! hole 6 is hard for those who cant throw that far and its little uphill. hole 7 and 8 need to throw straight because you are entering wood area. last hole is lot of trees in play. aim on right of big tree go straight.
Cons: too easy for experience thrower. and no bathroom! i will make recommended to Catoosa co recreation center about add bathroom if possible because the nearest bathroom is in softball complex. usually the gate is closed most of time so have to drive at least 1.5-2 miles to go bathroom.
Other Thoughts: great for family gathering to play. i have seen some report say hard time play at hole 6-8 bec of noisy from interstate 75. well i have no plm with that because i am deaf . :)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.