Ringgold, GA
Jack Mattox Recreation Complex Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #7
3 / 207ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Very fun course

1    4/10/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 90  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 5.7 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little nine hole course that you can run through in a matter of minutes, literally. The park is right off I-75 so if you are traveling though the area it is well worth the stop to play. While advanced players won't find any challenge to speak of it is still a very fun course. If nothing else, stop so you can add this to your played list. You can work on your short game and shoot for twos on every hole as a nice goal to keep you somewhat challenged. Newer players will love the fact that every hole is reachable and good scores can be recorded and will help build confidence. Families would also love this course with its tame layout and safe park atmosphere.

Most holes are pretty open and so you will be able to throw whatever you want to reach the basket. This is a "go for ace" course on every hole. While numbers seven through nine are in the woods, nine offers the biggest challenge. Its basket is tucked behind a few trees. In my opinion it favors a RHBH thrower so it will still be mastered by most. Overall you should just come out and enjoy the birdies!

PVC pipes with hole numbers and distances mark the tees and are sufficient to lead you through the course with absolutely no chance of getting lost. The flow of the course makes enough sense that even without signs you could just about make it through without too much navigational issues assuming you have some disc golf experience.

The tee pads are indoor/outdoor green carpet/turf. They are in good enough shape that there are no noticeable problems that are found at other courses (roots, trenches, etc.) Evidence of continuing progress is all around. New bridges and pathways especially on the last three holes are nice. I'll bet the locals are really proud of this course. It really has the potential of being a must play eventually.

Cons: Short. I can't say that you wouldn't be somewhat disappointed if you planned to drive hours to come and play. It's lacking challenge of any kind. Fun for sure but a little bland. The hole can get a little repetitive but the ace runs are so temping that you won't notice. Everyone seems to like the benches, signs, concrete pads, and other amenities; you won't find them here. Bathrooms?

Other Thoughts: Defiantly stop by if you are in the area! This is a really fun course. There is a little construction going on as of April 2009 and based on other reviews has been going on for some time now. It is a little messy; I played after a lot of rain. Obviously it won't last forever. It did come into play on a few holes with mud and debris here and there. Once it is finished you should be good to go. I travel from Atlanta to Nashville three or four times a year and plan on stopping by on every trip! You should too!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Starter Course

2-4    3/8/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: TheGuid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open, hard to get in trouble for beginners/new players. Free to play!
Cons: Construction area quite muddy when rainy. Short holes for long throwers. Parking area closed on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Good place to take people for their first time out. Very close to the interstate and easy to find. One hole you do have to be careful as it is very easy to throw one onto the interstate! Construction areas a fairly easy to play through/around.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course

1    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 193  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and pretty easy to follow. Nice design as well as the holes don't cross each other.
Cons: Short and not many obstacles to challenge the experienced player.
Other Thoughts: The addition of the "next tee" arrow is a bonus more courses should have. Though it still wasn't hard to follow, it sure helps out when a new player isn't sure where to go next.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

1    1/6/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting layout of holes. First hole you throw your disc following a ditch all the way down to the basket sitting to the left of the ditch. Not a very long course... only 2 holes I remember that were of great length. The last 3 holes are really fun to play and you can tell those are the holes they have worked on the most. The last 3 holes are in a small wooded area.
Cons: Windy. The wind is pretty constant. On a good day it doesn't affect the discs too much. Hole 5 has a chance for you to throw your disc into the interstate or the water. They are currently digging on the course... for what, I don't know, but it makes it difficult, muddy terrain.
Other Thoughts: Another one of those courses you should at least try out if you feel like trying something new. Really fun with a group of people.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

5+    1/30/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of wide open holes and wooded holes, good landscaping, easy to navigate,
Cons: Huge parking lot where disc golfers COULD park is locked up at 5 pm. A public park that locks people out of the parking lot??? Locked restrooms also serve no purpose. One kind of gets the feeling that the Recreation Center Staff considers disc golf an annoyance.
Other Thoughts: I love the course but the last 7or 8 times I have been to Jack Maddox Park there is some local kid ( I think he told me his name is Wolf or Dragon) who shows up and wants to play with myself and my son. Usually, if we want someone to join us WE ask them but this guy butts right in on us and tries to tell us how to play! I have been playing since 1994. I am no pro but this clown continually offers unsolicited advice and makes unwelcome and annoying statements. I try to be nice but he seems to have no idea that my son an I just want to play without being bothered. Others have told me that he butts in to their groups as well. From what I have heard, this has been an ongoing problem but most folks are too nice to tell him to get lost.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course in nice park. Short holes with few to no obstacles- great for beginners or bring the whole family. Water on one hole, but it should not come into play. Every hole is a birdie opportunity for the experienced player. It might be fun to shoot for 9 under!!
Cons: Turf tees and small PVC markers as tee signs are ok, but not real easy to see the first time.

There once was a lot of construction going on for the park that interfered with the course, but most of that is finished now.

The gates close at 5pm Eastern time, but there is alternate parking.
Other Thoughts: After 5pm parking is past the entrance and there is a place in the fence to walk through.

Course is right off I-75 and very close to Chattanooga.

Overall, I had fun on this course as it provides the opportunity to shoot very well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open

2-4    12/13/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is excellent for beginners.

Holes 7-9 are a fun challenge in the woods.

The park was clean and seemed like a nice atmosphere.

Even in the woods, there is no underbrush to worry about -- just some mud at the bottom of the hill.
Cons: The first six holes are bland.

If the park center parking lot isn't open, it's a five-minute hike from the other parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The first six holes are in open field with only an occasional tree as an obstacle. Holes 7-9 are in the woods and a little more difficult.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Family/Beginner Course!

2-4    8/19/2008   8/20/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course in which to introduce someone to the game or to bring your wife/girlfriend/children for a round. There is very little chance of losing any discs. The course sits in a pretty park beside a baseball/softball complex. The teepads are covered with indoor-outdoor carpeting and the tee signs are simple little PVC pipes sticking up which give the distance and hole number. I'm afraid they might be prone to some vandalism. Because the course was so recently built, everything is currently nice and new. The course has a nice combination with the first six holes playing out in the grassy, wide open park area and then finishing with the final three baskets in the wooded area. Every hole is birdieable for the average player. Players will shoot 8 or 9 under on this course.
Cons: The course will not challenge the average player. Most holes are in the 240' range without many obstacles in the way. I think there are a few holes where the baskets could have been placed in slightly more difficult positions making the course more interesting/challenging for the average to more skilled player. It is a long walk from the far parking lot to the first tee. During working hours, I guess you can park in the park department's parking lot right near the 1st tee. The course is basically flat with no water to worry about.
Other Thoughts: I played early one morning. There were a few walkers out. There would have to be a whole lot of them out walking for them to affect anyone's game. This is a nice course to work on your short game or just get in a quick practice round or two.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Family Fun

8/7/2008   8/7/2008
Review By: Bensontbjj
Played: 27  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great open course for beginners. If you are alergic to poison oak, ivy or sumac you will like this course since you don't have to worry about that. If you take someone who doesn't want to play but enjoys walking the track is a plus. They added a disc golf parking area just to the south of the 3rd hole outside the fence. Sign says they sell some discs at the office (I didn't check the offerings). I really liked the directional arrow to the next hole on the pole at each basket, I don't believe I have seen them on others but maybe I just wasn't paying attention.
Cons: Today track wasn't in the way but could be an issue if there were a good deal of people.
Other Thoughts: Bridge being built next to the 9th tee box is going to be cool. Don't be careless to the right of #5 or you could get wet. Astro Turf on the tee boxes.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Another good beginner course

5+    7/4/2008   7/8/2008
Review By: Fender088
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2008
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's great for beginners and very well marked. They made great use of the land that was available and it's a free course that's a lot closer than The Sinks. The course is also very accessible from the main road.
Cons: The course is on an extremely small amount of land and some holes run very close to one another. If you're a beginner then you might cross over to other fairways, and if you're an old pro you will probably get bored.
Other Thoughts: If you want a good place to practice or learn to play the game then this course is right off of 2-A.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.