Ringgold, GA 
Jack Mattox Recreation Complex Share
Uploaded By: Bensontbjj Hole #4
3 / 233ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 My Home Course

5+    11/26/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: .DLB.
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2012
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: •Easy to follow layout
•Beginner friendly
•Parking now always open at hole #1 Tee
•Some holes easily allow you to tee off from a farther position (un-marked long tees) for more of a challenge
•ChainStar baskets.
•Bench at hole #3 tee and #9 basket
•Trash cans at holes #1, #5 and #9
•Well maintained (grass is always mowed in summer)
•Good for a lunch time round
•Great location
•Always open, always free
Cons: •Not a lot of technical challenges on several holes
•Short holes. All are reachable in 1 drive.
•Noise from I-75 (visible from the course)
•Bathrooms not close by
•Not so much a con, but something to be aware of - This is a multi-use facility. A walking track is around the course, so use common sense when throwing.
Other Thoughts: Since I live so close to this course, I have played it easily in the hundreds of rounds. Even given its length and sometimes lack of challenge due to obstacles, it is still a blast to play. Here's a quick hole rundown.

#1 - Tee pad is elevated about ~10' above final basket elevation. Basket sits slightly off center to the right. Trees line both side of fairway with some branches that can easily be hit on either side if thrown too high.

#2 - Straight shot with fairway on about a +3' grade to pin. Pine trees just to right of basket make a late turning hyzer shot null.

#3 - Short, wide open hole that drops ~10' to basket. Wind can make it a tough hole.

#4 - Level from pad to basket, straight shot. Tree line sits about 15' in front of basket, but can be woven through in several lines.

#5 - A lot like hole 3, just a bit farther. Large pond if you throw to far right. Watch for wind.

#6 - 2nd longest and most drastic elevation change. Wide open, so you can throw whichever way you like. Wind can really carry discs on this one by the way it crosses.

#7 - Short and straight and you're in good shape. In the woods, so straighter is better.

#8 - A lot like #7. Between tee and basket is a pretty drastic gully, but no navigation issues.

#9 - Most challenging hole, but favors RHBH throwers. Several trees can play into factor.

I gave it a 3.5 rating because it is a great course that I play almost daily. You can hone your throwing skills and practice a variety of shots. This course is definitely worth stopping by if you are traveling through the area. 3 minutes off the interstate, and you can play 9 holes while the family stays asleep in the car! (Just leave a window cracked).

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Easy 9 Hole in NW GA

5+    9/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: ponygirl74
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good 9 hole course for beginners. At a nice park off I-75. Uncrowded; nice scenery. First 6 holes are wide open and the last 3 have trees for more challenging throws.
Cons: Not very challenging for the advanced player. Holes are short and mostly without obstacles.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and kids. All holes are par 3.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to disc golf!

5+    8/27/2009   8/30/2009
Review By: ShopTom.com
Played: 27  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great place to start and then develop your game, open course, distance markers, friendly locals, drink machine behind the building, discs inside.
Cons: Some places muddy in the rain so wait an hour like swimming after you eat, some tees not level.
Other Thoughts: This is where I bring anyone new interested in the game. They get 6 holes of grasping the basics and then an introduction to what the game can be with the last 3 wooded. Highly recommended for noobs, families, or anyone that just wants a relaxing game.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jack Mattox

1    6/18/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very clean park, lot of fun, mostly straight and flat shots with some elevation, good variety of wooded and open holes. Not much skill needed so great for beginners or warming up for some of the other great courses in the Chatt. area. Turf tee pads are nice but can be slippery. PVC pipes show hole number and distance. Flow of course is very easy to follow.
Cons: No real distance on any holes as most are under 250' so not much challenge for advanced players, holes play very close to each other so watch out for other discs, course is very close to highway I-75 the noise can be annoying at times, no benches or trash cans but trash wasn't a problem at all.
Other Thoughts: Very enjoyable short course with chance for aces on just about every hole. Wouldn't drive far for this course but since there are other highly recommended course in the area I would def. go again!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun course

1    4/10/2009   4/12/2009
Review By: craigd
Played: 99  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 7.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little nine hole course that you can run through in a matter of minutes, literally. The park is right off I-75 so if you are traveling though the area it is well worth the stop to play. While advanced players won't find any challenge to speak of it is still a very fun course. If nothing else, stop so you can add this to your played list. You can work on your short game and shoot for twos on every hole as a nice goal to keep you somewhat challenged. Newer players will love the fact that every hole is reachable and good scores can be recorded and will help build confidence. Families would also love this course with its tame layout and safe park atmosphere.

Most holes are pretty open and so you will be able to throw whatever you want to reach the basket. This is a "go for ace" course on every hole. While numbers seven through nine are in the woods, nine offers the biggest challenge. Its basket is tucked behind a few trees. In my opinion it favors a RHBH thrower so it will still be mastered by most. Overall you should just come out and enjoy the birdies!

PVC pipes with hole numbers and distances mark the tees and are sufficient to lead you through the course with absolutely no chance of getting lost. The flow of the course makes enough sense that even without signs you could just about make it through without too much navigational issues assuming you have some disc golf experience.

The tee pads are indoor/outdoor green carpet/turf. They are in good enough shape that there are no noticeable problems that are found at other courses (roots, trenches, etc.) Evidence of continuing progress is all around. New bridges and pathways especially on the last three holes are nice. I'll bet the locals are really proud of this course. It really has the potential of being a must play eventually.

Cons: Short. I can't say that you wouldn't be somewhat disappointed if you planned to drive hours to come and play. It's lacking challenge of any kind. Fun for sure but a little bland. The hole can get a little repetitive but the ace runs are so temping that you won't notice. Everyone seems to like the benches, signs, concrete pads, and other amenities; you won't find them here. Bathrooms?

Other Thoughts: Defiantly stop by if you are in the area! This is a really fun course. There is a little construction going on as of April 2009 and based on other reviews has been going on for some time now. It is a little messy; I played after a lot of rain. Obviously it won't last forever. It did come into play on a few holes with mud and debris here and there. Once it is finished you should be good to go. I travel from Atlanta to Nashville three or four times a year and plan on stopping by on every trip! You should too!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Decent Starter Course

2-4    3/8/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: TheGuid
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wide open, hard to get in trouble for beginners/new players. Free to play!
Cons: Construction area quite muddy when rainy. Short holes for long throwers. Parking area closed on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Good place to take people for their first time out. Very close to the interstate and easy to find. One hole you do have to be careful as it is very easy to throw one onto the interstate! Construction areas a fairly easy to play through/around.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner course

1    3/10/2009   3/10/2009
Review By: wi2ny05
Played: 194  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and pretty easy to follow. Nice design as well as the holes don't cross each other.
Cons: Short and not many obstacles to challenge the experienced player.
Other Thoughts: The addition of the "next tee" arrow is a bonus more courses should have. Though it still wasn't hard to follow, it sure helps out when a new player isn't sure where to go next.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Windy

1    1/6/2009   3/3/2009
Review By: Dan_Dizzle
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Interesting layout of holes. First hole you throw your disc following a ditch all the way down to the basket sitting to the left of the ditch. Not a very long course... only 2 holes I remember that were of great length. The last 3 holes are really fun to play and you can tell those are the holes they have worked on the most. The last 3 holes are in a small wooded area.
Cons: Windy. The wind is pretty constant. On a good day it doesn't affect the discs too much. Hole 5 has a chance for you to throw your disc into the interstate or the water. They are currently digging on the course... for what, I don't know, but it makes it difficult, muddy terrain.
Other Thoughts: Another one of those courses you should at least try out if you feel like trying something new. Really fun with a group of people.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course!

5+    1/30/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: disccrazy
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good mixture of wide open holes and wooded holes, good landscaping, easy to navigate,
Cons: Huge parking lot where disc golfers COULD park is locked up at 5 pm. A public park that locks people out of the parking lot??? Locked restrooms also serve no purpose. One kind of gets the feeling that the Recreation Center Staff considers disc golf an annoyance.
Other Thoughts: I love the course but the last 7or 8 times I have been to Jack Maddox Park there is some local kid ( I think he told me his name is Wolf or Dragon) who shows up and wants to play with myself and my son. Usually, if we want someone to join us WE ask them but this guy butts right in on us and tries to tell us how to play! I have been playing since 1994. I am no pro but this clown continually offers unsolicited advice and makes unwelcome and annoying statements. I try to be nice but he seems to have no idea that my son an I just want to play without being bothered. Others have told me that he butts in to their groups as well. From what I have heard, this has been an ongoing problem but most folks are too nice to tell him to get lost.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/16/2009   2/16/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 245  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 19 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice 9 hole course in nice park. Short holes with few to no obstacles- great for beginners or bring the whole family. Water on one hole, but it should not come into play. Every hole is a birdie opportunity for the experienced player. It might be fun to shoot for 9 under!!
Cons: Turf tees and small PVC markers as tee signs are ok, but not real easy to see the first time.

There once was a lot of construction going on for the park that interfered with the course, but most of that is finished now.

The gates close at 5pm Eastern time, but there is alternate parking.
Other Thoughts: After 5pm parking is past the entrance and there is a place in the fence to walk through.

Course is right off I-75 and very close to Chattanooga.

Overall, I had fun on this course as it provides the opportunity to shoot very well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.