Disc Golf Center
North East, MD
Sandy Cove Conference Center Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 147ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Very basic 9 Hole

5+    8/22/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: bnbanbury
Played: 36  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not much in the way of pros. This course has baskets and distances marked on rocks set in the ground.
-Nice place to bring younger kids
Cons: -Very short and mostly wide open.
-Geared towards campers who have never seen the sport of disc golf before, really the course and layout are about as basic as it gets
-I'm not entirely sure if i'm supposed to play here. The course is on private camp property, but no one seems to mind me coming to throw a little on my lunch break.
Other Thoughts: I've played this course a number of times due to its close proximity to where i work. Its certainly not a course i would play if it were further away and don't recommend a trip here to serious golfers. Basically i consider it a decent place to do field work, take a stack of putters to the 250' open field hole and practice shot shapes. One thing that this course is excellent for is children. If you have 7-10 year old kids that struggle with getting through an 18 hole course this is a great place to bring them to teach them the game and build some confidence. All the negatives aside, i'm glad this course exists as i'm sure it exposes a lot of campers to the game who might otherwise never learn about disc golf.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Provides Loaner Discs!

1    7/14/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Course plays in a counter clockwise direction around the soccer and ball fields. Most of the holes are wide open field shots although the tennis court fence comes into play on hole # 9. There is a wide range of distances ranging from the downhill # 6, a 82 footer, to # 8, a 418' Par 4.

There is a container at the beginner with a variety of beginner type discs to use. They're probably not worth stealing but it's a very nice Christian gesture on Sandy Grove's part to have them there.

On # 9, it would be possible to bank you tee shot off the tennis court fence and park or even ACE the hole. I banked it off the fence and landed right under the basket.

# 6 is a 82 foot ACE run to a wide open basket. ACE away! And then # 7 is a 103' downhill throw across a road to an unguarded basket. ACE away again!
Cons: The wide open field shots are pretty boring.
The two very short holes don't offer much challenge.
The course could get wet and boggy during any kind of wet weather.
It's out in the middle of nowhere.
The tee markers are small, white and hard to locate the first time playing here.
Other Thoughts: This is another course that's pretty well designed for it's target course, the camp attendees. They're not looking for intermediate DG challenges. They've probably never played and are just looking for a little socializing and recreation.

I liked the variety of hole lengths. Let them have the thrill of maybe coming close to an ACE. They'll probably come closer on the 81' # 6 behemoth than I did.

Thanks to Sandy Cove for letting me enjoy your course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice, Quick Round

5+    6/28/2013   6/29/2013
Review By: DonB
Played: 69  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Convenient location if you are staying at Sandy Cove, or working there for the summer (my situation).

A 1-disc, 9-hole speed round can be played in under 15 minutes. A normal walking round averages 30 minutes.

Nice baskets. Clean, well-kept grounds. Friendly people to play with. Discs provided for players (please do not keep them).

Some shaded holes, some wide open.

Hole #7 provided my first Hole-In-1 ever!
Cons: Out of the way unless you are in the close vicinity.

Not a tough course, with few challenge shots.

If a soccer game is playing, hole #8 could be tricky, as you are only left with a narrow window to fly through without potentially landing on the field.

Private grounds, with no garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: LOCATION INFORMATION: Sandy Cove Ministries is a Christian conference center, where families spend time together, doing activities, as well as learning how to better this world through their Christian faith.

I've worked here 4 summers, and to the reviewer that makes light of Sandy Cove, using words like "cult" and "voodoo", face it, not every disc golfer is a littering pothead. There are many great people that play Disc Golf. Some are trying to improve their lives, as well as their families.

I think it's great that they provide a disc golf course to the camp attendees to try out, as well as allowing outsiders to play here also.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 that smell

1    3/22/2011   3/23/2011
Review By: Metatron
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2011
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Course is easy to follow. There were about a dozen or so discs available to use near the first tee including putters and approach(dont steal them). There are bars, food, and fishing opportunities close by. beginners course.
Cons: incredibly simple. some holes are more like putts.
didn't see any signs of life but the course plays around a baseball and soccer field.

this place is some kind of christian voodoo magic retreat center. you could be sucked into the cult.
Other Thoughts: kevin do not drive an hour to play here. go to scarboro hills instead.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Calling all Cubbys, this is your course.

1    10/31/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The most unique feature this course had was a pile of DGA discs available for use by hole 1. If you forgot a disc you can try out a Reef or a 150 class Squall while you play.
Ace run after ace run, 5 out of 9 are under 150 feet. Holes 3 and 4 are wide open 250-270.
Course was very well maintained.
I would love to have a course like this near me for children, it is perfect for introducing the sport!
Cons: Course is a beginner course, that lacks challenge for experienced players.
Tees are just small white markers level with the grass, no tee signs or method of finding the markers if grass is longer than an inch.
Soccer feild can be a danger on hole 8, it should be OB.
Other Thoughts: Experienced players should bring a friend because trash talking is the most fun thing at this course. You can play a putter round, swap discs, do amini ace race, buy course is too small and simple to take seriously.
This course is similar to Hyatt in MD, Cubby would love empting his bag on every hole.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very Basic Introduction

1    4/10/2010   4/11/2010
Review By: swatso
Played: 327  Reviewed: 324  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Minimal chance to lose a disc. Beginner-appropriate discs near tee #1.
Cons:
Single tee (small white blocks flush with thick grass)/single basket. Corner of t-ball field, soccer field, tennis court could come into play.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise-direction in the open grassy areas between various sports fields. Almost entirely wide open. A 420' hole, a couple mid-200's, remainder from upper 100s all the way down to 82'! A suitable course to introduce younger kids to the game - as long as the other fields aren't in use.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Take a first timer here.

2-4    11/20/2008   12/11/2008
Review By: Tolbert
Played: 237  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets are nice and new. There are plenty of discs available for new comers, which I think this is basically what the course is for- newcomers. Lots of other activities at the center, tennis, baseball etc. Props for including a course as well.
Cons: Tees can be a bit hard to find as they are just bricks planted in the ground. Course is extremely easy, 2 or 3 holes are wide open shots with no trees or other obstacles. On 3 holes I used my putter from the tee. For anyone with experience course offers little more than putting practice.
Other Thoughts: With those cons said, I still think its nice they put a course in here. If you're introducing someone to the sport its a great place to take them as its not at all overwhelming.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.