Russell Gulch, CO 
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: pxlwiz Hole #11 (Taken 8/2008)
3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket looking toward basket #13 and the Ghost Town beyond

Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Well worth the drive outside of Denver

1    7/3/2015   7/3/2015
Review By: bengal4life11
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.6 Years
Pros: Updated baskets as noted in other reviews.
Excellent course location in this authentic ghost town.
Great mix of shots and the multiple OBs add to the difficulty of this course.
Brian does a great job of going over all of the course rules and a course map is provided.
Even though most holes are not long, the challenge of the OBs and trees make even the short shots challenging (a con I guess as well)
Cons: Some of the baskets are elevated or near the edge of decent drop offs which can be troublesome if your shot is not dead on or if it is windy so be prepared to trek.
Some pads are not a smooth surface which can be hazardous if not paying attention but given the course design and being a private course this is a small con.
Other Thoughts: Very pleasantly surprised about this course after reading the reviews as I didn't know quite what to expect. I live in Iowa but take every opportunity to play courses in the states I visit. Came across this course while our family was looking for some activity outside of Denver. I don't regret traveling to this course and would definitely play it again when in the area.

Great course worth the drive

1    9/27/2014   6/22/2015
Review By: iconoclastes
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Such a fun course to play even with the gimmicks
*Difficult enough that it will let the better players shine but not so much that the lesser players will get frustrated
*Great boxes and baskets

Cons: *Not the easiest course to navigate but far from the worst
*Getting here was not easy (don't go the back way up the winding road that looks and feels like it's about to wash away)
Other Thoughts: This was a very fun course with a few gimmicks and rules and OB's that don't make the most sense at first but they did what they did bc of what they had to work with. Get passed that and enjoy yourself. It's not going to disappoint. And if you have the time, there is a small brewery in town called doctal alley brewing that has some good beer and the best pizza I've every eaten. Next time I travel through Denver, I'm throwing this course, eating a pizza and drinking a beer in this small town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Ghostly Mountain Course

1    10/14/2013   4/11/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Very unique mountain setting in a real 'Ghost Town'. Great character at this course.
+Lots of fun ups and downs
+Probably never crowded to due the need for a reservation and P2P
+Some tight holes and some pretty open holes
+Brian gives you a map and all tees are marked. It was always obvious which basket I was supposed to be shooting at. Navigation was solid here. The shovel heads at each tee were helpful and added to the charm of the course.
+Tees were good enough for this course. You don't need a long run-up, if you did the tees might be a little short.
+A pro shop with many cool items including discs, shirts, paintings, etc.
+Between actual hole variation and variation in scenery, this course kept me guessing and never was boring.
Cons: -Not a lot of variation in length. Most holes were on the shorter side.
-Manufactured OB all over, I do understand why it is in place but it still isn't my favorite obstacle. There are other rules regarding noise and hitting things but again, I understand why they are in place. Still worthy of a mention.
-Some of the baskets were older, often single chained and didn't catch quite as well as others. Many baskets are replaced and I assume the remaining old ones are being replaced as money comes into the course.
-I played alone, near dusk and it was a little creepy! Maybe this ghost town is haunted.
Other Thoughts: -I had first played this course last fall and wanted to have the chance to play it again before I reviewed it. I don't do that often. I also don't want to come back and play courses as often as I do this one. I wanted to play on my 3 day trip last week but was unable due to recent snowfalls.
-This course is definitely worth the $5 donation and drive into the mountains. If you are traveling here in the summer, there are many courses in the mountains beyond here to check out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A very cool, fun course.

1    9/7/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: OG Neal
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 20.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Unique course with some challenging shots.
-Old mining equipment and ruins of old buildings make for fun OB.
-Beautiful scenery
-Camper-shell dugouts on course for shade and relaxation
-Informative host who explains course (and a GD fan!)
-Interesting clubhouse/curiosity shop
Cons: -Starts really fun but kind of gets average towards the end
-Some OB is kind of arbitrary
-Extra short hole on #4 is unnecessary
-Really hard to find
Other Thoughts: I took my girlfriend who had never played a real course and she loved it. Definitely pleasing for females who like kitschy things.
I think the course could use a little fine tuning. There are some mandys that don't force your shot because of too much space on the mandy side. A few shots could be longer and if you play you will see some makeshift tees back and away from the tee pads.
A super fun course that I would recommend to anybody willing to make the drive.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost towns & gold mines

1    9/1/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: Wook1
Played: 22  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 19 unique holes that zig-zag across an old gold mining claim. Call ahead of time and see how busy the course is & being able to line up your round was a nice touch you don't get at many courses, the clubhouse is also an added bonus. After paying the $5 fee, course owner gives you a full run through of the layout. Detailed hand drawn course maps add to the rustic & somewhat gritty vibe you get at this course. Tee signs with hole # and distance are painted on old rusted shovel heads very clever use of "junk" also the homemade "rain shelters" throughout the course are great.

The first 6 holes are very tight with fairways being 20-50 ft wide at the most with a strict OB on each side. Ghost town has a mix of homemade and "official" pins. A few spots on this course you will tee off 2 discs and walk down to play your first and play the 2nd drive, hole 4 is the first of these. After finishing 3 climb up on rock face to your right and the tee off for 4s is in a crows nest on top of the rock. Dont go to your disc yet, climb down and walk over to the 4L tee and drive. Walk up and play your first drive to 4s pin, after continue play from your second drive. Cross the intersection to 6&7, which loop and re cross the intersection to 8. 9,10, & 11 are very close cutting back and forth across a Gully, reminded me of driving over a pond except with no water. This is also where the course starts to open up and you see the ruins and abandoned buildings that give this course it's namesake. 15 & 16 youll be teeing off 2 disc again, separate boxes for each, on the left side of this fairway is a ruined stone blacksmith's forge one of the coolest bunkers I've seen. 17 & 18 use the same fairway going in opposite directions be careful and if there's other players be sure they see you
Cons: Some of the homemade baskets need work, its obvious this course has a lot of personal touches and is a work of love, and like most works of love is continuously in progress. Since this was my first time experiencing ghost town Im not sure of their layout progress but it seems they are adding permanent "official" pins over time replacing the homemade.
Other Thoughts: Lots of OB but it's all fair and adds to the challenge of this course. Beautiful hand painted signs @ a few tee offs showing a detailed layout of fairway and pin placement

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Scary Drive ... Cool Course

1    7/18/2013   8/6/2013
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 144  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 11.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ambiance - Ghost Town is a really cool place, and one of the more unique courses I have seen. There definitely is not another course that I have seen playing through ruins of an old mining community. The place has a great vibe. Brian is a really cool guy and has done an amazing job here.

Design - Elevation was used very well. Multiple shot-shapes are required. I used more discs in my bag at Ghost Town than on any other course in the Denver area.

Terrain Mix - The first 8 holes play up the ridge and back down. These holes are mostly wooded and provide a distinct challenge. The remaining holes are in the open, but there are plenty of challenges including a creek that is probably dry most of the time. However, we played during the "monsoon season" in the Rockies.
Cons: Baskets - Some of the baskets are home-made and simply don't catch as well. they're cool and all, from a novelty perspective, but expect a spit-out or four.

Random OB - There is OB on this course...everywhere. There are random OB gardens, often in the fairway and often very close to the baskets. As long as everyone is playing the same rules, it's a fair game. But if you're looking to shoot a low score and you have a putt hit the chains and land OB, you might get pretty heated.

Occasionally Eerie - I may get made fun of for this, and I didn't say anything to my friends during the round, but there were distinct times when I felt like I was being watched. Never felt so uncomfortable that I was ready to leave, but definitely odd. Maybe it was the elevation...or the creepy mannequin on the porch...who knows?
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the Ghost Town course. It was quirky, but still fun. I managed to stay out of OB for the entire round, which is nothing short of miracle. Brian is an excellent host and a very skilled painter. Shirts are for sale in the club-house and they are really neat.

If you're not in great physical shape, the first three holes can be a little bit demanding. But after that point, the hike becomes much less grueling.

My favorite holes are #15 and #16 (I think) in which you throw from each tee box, before going down into the shared fairway. #15's pin is tucked to the left (RHBH hyzer) with the ruins down the left side of the fairway and OB down the right. #16 is long and you can either play for the 3 and just throw down the fairway and upshot, or go for the birdie with a long hyzer or flex shot...but both are risky for RHBH with OB down the right.

Ghost town is an excellent course and if you're in Denver, you should make the drive and give it a shot. If your game is predicated on throwing 400 feet off the tee, you probably won't like it as much as others. $5 is a very reasonable price for the course.

As an aside, if you've made the trek out to Ghost Town, get back on I-70 West and go another exit or two farther and eat at Tommyknockers Brewery. Good food and a cool atmosphere. I also hear Beau Jos Pizza is good, but we opted for Tommyknockers. Great post-round meal.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of a Kind

2-4    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The front eight play up and down a heavily wooded hillside. The fairways on the front 8 are very tight, but there is always a fair line to the basket.
-The last 10 holes are more open but play through the ruins of an old ghost town, which is the most unique thing, I've ever seen in a course.
-About half of the baskets are in good shape and catch well
-While the tee-pads are not concrete, they are bricks set into the ground and are pretty even and make solid tee-pads.
-Course flow is very easy to follow, especially since Brian walks you through the whole course on a map at the clubhouse before the round begins.
-Due to the tight fairways and the out of bounds on every hole, this course requires a ton of good accuracy to score well on. You will use most of the shots you have available if you want to score well on this course.
-Benches at a lot of the holes and there are places to leave your recycling. (Brian asks that any trash that is not recycling, be packed out of the course).
-The charm and atmosphere of this course is awesome. From the the shovel head at each tee-pad that tells you the hole number and distance to all of the random old items found around the course, this course has an atmosphere and feel unlike any other course I have played. Playing disc golf in an old ghost town is one of the coolest experiences ever.
-Brian is a great host and very helpful
-Great scenery throughout the course
-Since this is a private course that requires a reservation, it doesn't get overly crowded.
Cons: -Some of the baskets are homemade baskets that don't catch very well and you will experience some spit-outs on the homemade baskets. (As a side note, based on the older pictures on this site of the course, it looks like Brian is slowly replacing the homemade baskets with newer baskets as he is able to).
-Some of the out of bounds and rules on this course can seem a little restrictive at times (Overall, I didn't think this was a huge con as the different rules helped add to the charm of the course a little bit).
-I wish one or two of the tee-pads were slightly longer
-A few holes on the course have some wet swampy overgrown areas (mostly holes 9-11) and if you throw into the wet swampy areas, there is a chance of losing your disc.
-A few holes (mainly 9-11, and 17 and 18) play very close to each others fairways. If the course got super crowded this would be a bigger con. Even if the course is not very crowded, you will still probably have to wait for people to throw through on a few holes to avoid hitting other people.
-Probably the biggest con of this course, is the lack of distance. If you long throwing long bombs and your drivers on every hole or most holes, this is not the course for you. Pretty much every hole is under 300 feet and most are under 250 feet.
Other Thoughts: This is the most unique disc golf course I have ever played. It has a charm and atmosphere that I have never seen at any other disc golf course. The course may have a few flaws, but overall it is a must play if you are planning a disc golf trip to Colorado.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Rules!

1    11/21/2012   11/22/2012
Review By: ddevine
Played: 133  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 36.5 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An extremely charming course in a unique setting that will have you grinning with delight as soon as you arrive. Bring the kids, this is a short, recreational course with narrow pathways and wonderful personal touches courtesy of Brian, the deservedly proud owner and operator. Experienced players will throw putters on most of the holes, with a few mid-range and possible drivers. Short, technical and joyful, with "Old School Rules" (penalties for hitting buildings, signs, cars, etc as well as an abundance of OB). A good portion of the baskets are home-made which, for me at least, was a delight. Yes, they might not catch as well, but they are a clear indicator of Brian's "the most fun wins" approach.

Most of the front nine consists of short, very tight L-R, R-L and straight shots that reward finesse and control. The course opens up after that, with plenty of ace-runs (mostly with putters for the experienced players) and an ever present abundance of OB.

The personal touches are what makes this course so enjoyable and charming. Home-made signs and baskets make for a unique experience that should be savored. Bring the kids, they will enjoy the ghost town setting. My four star rating is primarily based on the "charm" of the place. Big armed lovers of wide open crush shots will most likely disagree.
Cons: Some folks might balk at the $5 per round fee, but in my opinion it is a small way of saying "thanks" to Brian for his work and dedication. (Be sure to call ahead, this is a private course).

Very short by today's standards, but the early tight holes provide some compensation. Some of the distances are misleading (one hole listed at 395' is closer to 300'...or maybe I misread it). Some of the tee pads are sketchy, with deep depressions and loose rocks (I played on an unusually balmy day in late November)..but the holes are so short that this is not much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: If you started playing in the 70s you will love this place. Brian should be commended for his dedication and hard work at making the most of a very limited set of land. Those of you who enjoy windy mountain dirt roads will want to hang a left on Virginia Canyon as you leave the property and head down "Oh My God" road that drops (literally) into Idaho Springs. If you like Pizza you might try BeauJos in the "downtown" area (although they no longer put the napkins on the walls due to fire hazards).

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 ghost town

1    8/24/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was quite an experience. There was an overwhelming amount of intrigue as we got out of the car and started to walk around. The many collections of antiques and artifacts are nothing short of impressive. I couldn't help but wonder what we were about to experience. The first 8 hole were very tight and technical. I will be using strictly a gummy putter on these holes next time. The last 10 holes opened up quite a bit which was good because I was starting to feel claustrophobic. Overall there were a large variety of shots needed.
Cons: Almost too tight. there were many places where I was just laying up repeatedly because of no other options. I think the penalty strokes were excessive.
Other Thoughts: Thank you for building this course it is a treasure for the Colorado disc golf community.
I will play this course again with hopes of lowering my score.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, extremely technical course

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a cool course that will challenge even the best players. Lots of thought put into the layout which gives both some tight tree shots and open field shots.

While the OB was frustrating when I found it, I left liking how much strategy this course requires.
Cons: We found ourselves wanting basket upgrades on quite a few holes. I tried to convince myself it was part of the "charm" of the course, but they just need to be upgraded in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Well worth going a little out of your way if you live within driving distance. I highly recommend playing twice and planning on 2hours/round if you're new to the course. $7 is worth it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.