Russell Gulch, CO 
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: markjfun Hole #1 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 170ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Troll's Review

1    10/12/2012   10/5/2013
Review By: Eric troll Biscuits
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Super cool course that plays through an old mining town
19 one of a kind baskets, tee signs and more!
loads of technicalities
Private Action!
Fantasy quality
A must do! it worth the fee and trip!
Cons: It could be longer in spots... as a disc golf junkie I always want more, holes, and fantasy featured courses will leave wanting more!
Other Thoughts: I hope I will see more of these private style fantasy courses!

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: collinse
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: - Best kept course I've ever played!
- Each hole is unique in its own way with lots of care and thought.
- Scenery is unbeatable.
Cons: - Extremely tough to find.
- Wish the holes were a bit longer.
- GPS does not help.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 68  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was the most unique course I've ever played in my life! You could tell that the owner spent a lot of time with the OB's and layout. The Clubhouse was cool, and has souveniers for purchase. Very Technical course with some good elevation.
Cons: No Cons, other than some of the baskets were homemade, with rusty chains. I had a few spits but was playing casually and it was worth the trip for the overall expierence!
Other Thoughts: I'll be back!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A real treat!

2-4    9/4/2010   3/30/2011
Review By: petsounds85
Played: 39  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is a treat. It's fun and challenging- Hey, you're in the mountains- playing disc golf through ruins of an old ghost town that lays on "the dude's" property.
Cons: I cant think of any!

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 This Course will Haunt You!

2-4    10/19/2010   10/31/2010
Review By: RogueArtist
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A truly unique disc golf experience.
A fun tight course that is a complete departure from any other high rated courses.
Makes great use of the topography.
Overnight camping... a must for any disc golf road trip.
Really nice staff.
Challenging - Despite several holes that are sub 300 ft. birdies are tough to come by.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed the handcrafted nature of the course from the hand painted signs and baskets cobbled together from a wild assortment of items and materials.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome

1    8/7/2010   8/9/2010
Review By: Dalisllama
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One-of-a-Kind! A must Play. Unique and Fun. Very scenic and interesting. If you follow the directions, you will get there. Brian was a great host.
Cons: Baskets!? They look cool but I feel it would be best to have baskets that are solid and sound. I can handle the OB's but I hate bounce outs specially from questionable baskets.
Other Thoughts: OBs are many and that IS part of the character of this course, deal with it. Old baskets with character, i guess i should deal with it. That makes this course just short of perfect. Thanks Brian! I will be back.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Funnest Course Yet!

1    7/18/2010   7/18/2010
Review By: hevyevie
Played: 39  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent use of terrain. Awesome rustic and historical feel and views of an old mining town. Short and very challenging. Well marked and groomed course. Extremely clean of trash, but not old mining artifacts. Plenty of resting spots.
Cons: OB, OB, OB! The biggest con has to be the excessive OB. Easy to lose discs in the tall swamp grass with an errant throw. Lack of parking.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the play to travel from Michigan. Many things come to mind and couldn't decide if it was a Pro or Con like the older home made baskets. They seemed to work in my favor so it must be a Pro. OB was excessive however helped to make it more challenging. The greens fees are minimal and the course is well worth twice the cost! Over all an excellent and super fun course!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 The Ghosts of Disc Golfing!!!

1    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: Drew Heintz
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/10/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ~This was truely an experience!!!
~Everything looks like it was takin from the 1930s or earlier. Very authentic!!!!
~Not only do you get to throw some discs in some very cool settings, the whole trip is an adventure!
~Abandoned buildings with glass broken out, old rusty oil cans laying around, very rustic looking baskets that were made with outstanding craftmanship, ridge to ridge shots, tee boxes on the top of boulders and hills, a camper-style smoke....er...rain shelter, creepy looking remains of stone made buildings, and a history packed story that goes with the course. A must play for and adventure seeking disc golfer.
~I saved the best for last.....Brian was the host, and what a host he is!!! After he showed us the basic layout of the course, told us some history of the ruins, and gave us some tips and tricks to use along the way, we were all too excited to get on the first tee and begin our adventure.
Cons: Some would say that paying to play is a con. In my opinion, it secures the fact that this course you just payed to play will be a one in a kind. My con would be the OB's. Why so many? Seems like to me he kinda went a little crazy and started abusing his OB privledges. Especially the holes right before you cross the street. There is OB's surrounding trees, a fake lake, and just random circles of OB's (and no, me nor anyone in my group counted those as OBs. Rules or no rules, that was rediculous.)
Other Thoughts: I would strongly recommend two rounds. the first round to get to know the course, than the second round to really play the course. (+5 my first round, -1 my second) All-in-All , an awesome course and a must play for any discer. We will be back!!
Thanks Brian!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wow

1    11/10/2009   11/21/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Big information board, Quite and spacious.
The course is clearly marked, has a wire array of elevation.
The owner is very friendly and informational.
Plenty of room to take your time and relax with lost of benches and bazaar obstacles.
Cons: Some of the OB is private property and you may not retrieve lost discs.

Lots of loose terrain.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice 4 wheeling road you can take into Ghost town with lots of killer views.

Bring hiking boots if you have them!
You can cycle through many different discs on this course so go prepared for all kinds of situations like blind shots, straight open shots, sloped shots, crowded shots, you get the idea.

Over all this course met my expectations and left me wanting more!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Don't miss this one!

1    10/18/2009   10/25/2009
Review By: ryyedogg
Played: 37  Reviewed: 30
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good variety of open and wooded holes that will challenge all skill levels. The course owner is friendly and will guide you through most of the holes. The course is well layed out and easily navigable by a course map and from signs throughout the area. Narrow fairways and "wet" islands on the front nine make the things challenging and interesting. The theme throughout the course is great and really captures the ghost town feel! Away from city noise and crowded parks, this area is perfect for disc golf.
Cons: It is pay to play and you have to make reservations but it is well worth it. The location can be tricky to find for the first time. If you don't have an accurate game you may end up crossing over the boundary line and taking a penalty stroke often. At least half of the goals look homemade and should be upgraded.
Other Thoughts: This fell easily into my top three courses after playing it. The course maintenance is great and I believe the baskets are being upgraded over time. The trip is definitely worth it for disc golfers in the denver/northern colorado area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.