Russell Gulch, CO 
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: lteppen Hole #8 (Taken 11/2014)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
DGC of dreams

2-4    6/20/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: bcos4life
Played: 21  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.6 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course will challenge everything in your game in multiple ways.

It has the best level changes I've ever played. Consistently moving the level of your shots will add to the round.

Distances go from true ace shots to bombs.

You will have the tightest of windows, followed by wide open shots. It's awesome how quickly the layout will change.

The amount of blin shots makes you really pay attention to your disc location, and focus on the shot... not a lot of recovery to be had.

A lot of people don't like the excessive OB, but in a tight mountain course surrounded by private property, what are you gonna do?

Signage is legendary. Shovel heads everywhere, beautiful park sign, and OB markers that fit in with the scenery.

Best views I've ever seen.
Cons: Very few things to complain about... but if I am nitpicky:

The tee pads are super short. Almost impossible to bomb on the distance holes. He has a good reason... hard to pour concrete up there... but still too short.

While I like most of the OB's, the island ones are a bit trivial. You throw a good disc dead down the fairway and get an OB? No thanks.

The hike to one is a little rough. At 9,000 feet, it is already hard to get around, but that hike is killer.
Other Thoughts: I've heard from multiple people that you "play through a ghost town"... it isn't true. You play next to one, and are punished if you happen to hit a building. Never the less, THE most beautiful and interesting course I've ever played. Totally lives up to the hype.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Flatlander got WOWED!

1    10/13/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Guitarlos
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Im a flatlander and this was my first DGC in any mountain setting. I was awakened as to how tough uphill shots can be!

This course was rather tight width of the fairways, lots of trees which added to the scenery and accuracy of your shot. Each hole seemed to offer a different throw and philosophy as to how to approach each tee basket. Peeps seem to not like the "unofficial" baskets, to me, it added to the theme of the course!! Left handers, uphills, downhills, doglegs, blind shots as well as a few distance open shots. This place has it all with the exception of long (over 350) holes. If it had one, I would have rated it as a 5 and not a 4.5.

I though that the course was designed very well and the upkeep was great conditions! Brian and Beth put in lots of time with marking the OB area. I've read where some think it was overkill, but my opinion is that it added to the play altogether. They do have neighbors, so if you have any inherit etiquette, you would realize why the OB was so meticulous to detail! OB markers ranged from old logs, sticks, old fences, rocks etc. Great variety.

I played 18 by myself and I just wanted to enjoy myself and take it all in hole by hole. I wasn't rushed at all, no one was creepin on me nor I to others. The call ahead tee time was a fantastic idea and I think it adds to your game experience. The $5.00 fee was minuscule compared to the great experience I had today!
Cons: Only can I can stretch to be nitpicky was more my fault than the design of the course, but there were areas that were rather soggy and I did get my feet wet a little. Had I stayed on the preferred flight path, this wouldn't have been an issue at all, a couple of slight degrees and off ya go. ;)

If you should get hit with a rain storm, there are two home made rain shelters on the course, rustic and cool!
Other Thoughts: I did not get to meet Brian, but Beth's hospitality was second to none! She took the the time to show me the course in a detailed hand to scale map (that Brian had drawn) of the course. She gave me a run down, hole by hole, being a noob to the mountains, it was very beneficial for me. She warned me to take it wasy on teh first 4 holes, as I wasnt being rushed at all and I may not be used ot the mountain climbing (she was right btw) She treated me as a friend and not a business entity. Great hospitality.

I had no issues getting to the course from downtown Denver. If you are new to this area and are staying in Denver area, I highly suggest taking 119 to 6 to go via the Canyon, unbelievable scenery! Thanks for that tip Beth!

The club house was awesome! Brains art adorns the walls inside. Discs with their logo, t shirts, coozies, and stickers were all for sale. Be sure to check out the cool art on the outside of the clubhouse.

The entire theme and setting of this course was like going to a theme park of Disc Golf. Awesome time was had by me, awesome weather, awesome day, just all around an awesome, fun, truly memorable day!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Must for ALL players!!

1    5/15/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: Mooser81
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Absolutely everything! We decided to wait out the rain in nearby Central City and boy was it worth it! This charming course changes on you throughout and provides plenty of challenges to golfers of all levels. Brian (owner) is extremely helpful and explains the route from beginning to end. With many similar courses charging much more, this course is worth $5 all day long!
Cons: Some people below complain about the 'home-made' baskets but we found them to be cool and unique.
Other Thoughts: The detail on this course is absolutely amazing. The four of us decided that we weren't gonna keep score this time to get a feel for the layout, but next time we will use the very detailed Out of Bounds markers to keep an accurate score. Awesome course!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Wonderful course

1    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: bnekolny
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well maintained and great maps! Fun course, easy to keep track off discs. We thoroughly enjoyed playing, the owners were welcoming, the course was not crowded, and very easy to follow.
Cons: Easy to go out of bounds.
Other Thoughts: Technical corse.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Giddy about Ghost Town

2-4    9/25/2011   9/27/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 75  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2012
14 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Ghost Town Disc Golf Course is the brilliant result of a man's love for a hobby, his ingenuity, his creativity and most important of all, his hospitality. Brian O'Donnell did his best to not overlook a single aspect of the game of disc golf when designing, building and patenting his disc golf "sanctuary", as he calls it. Playing the course is as much a fun adventure as it is a challenging round of disc golf. Historic mining equipment is cleverly integrated into the course signage and amenities, such as benches, bag hooks, tables, and even the baskets themselves. I really liked his tee signs made from old rusted mining shovels with hand-painted instructions and diagrams on them.

The tee pads are generally level and give room for a few approach steps, with the exception of the really unique "standing-room-only" tee atop a rock platform on the optional hole 4B! As you grab your disc from the handmade basket on hole 3, you find yourself walking up to an abandoned campsite, complete with a picnic table of half-consumed food and beverages, opened ice chests and 2 eerily deserted vehicles (each of which will add 2 additional strokes to your score if your errant disc strikes them). The scene is a fun addition to the motif of a haunted ghost town. After a few more holes, you peek out of a hilly aspen grove to a sweeping view of Russell Gulch and the buildings of a long-forgotten mining town. Clearly marked out of bounds areas on holes 14 - 16 add a challenge to players whose discs tend to have a mind of their own. The course is essentially divided into four sections by dirt roads, with each section presenting its own "feel". The final two holes play in the front yard of Brian's house where the fairway (mowed lawn) and the rough (4 ft high weeds) are clearly distinguished. Throughout the course, you'll be paying attention to the gauntlet of obstacles that penalize between 1 - 3 additional strokes, such as the side of a crumbling stone building and the Ghost Town welcome sign out front.
Cons: Some would consider the location of Ghost Town a hassle, but in reality its path through a mountainous ruin of man's struggle to find subterranean riches is actually the thing that makes it unique. The need for setting an advance "T" time is also a double-edged sword, because although it may hinder "drop-by" disc golfers from enjoying an impromptu round, it allows Brian to stagger groups in 10-15 minute intervals so that you have space to yourself in the disc golf "sanctuary". The fee of $3 / 1 round or $5 / multiple rounds goes directly toward upkeep of the historic area and the creative course. Some of the homemade baskets could use some TLC as well.
Other Thoughts: Upon arrival, you'll most likely be greeted by Brian standing on the driveway where he'll invite you into the clubhouse to give you lowdown on the course, hand you a map, and direct you to the first hole. T-shirts (short and long sleeve), bumper stickers, koozies, hats and second-hand discs are sold in the spooky clubhouse. There are small trash cans at about every other hole. There is a shady picnic table, a portable restroom and some informational signage in the parking lot just beyond the main welcome sign.

In summation, if you like disc golf in the least and want a fun-loaded, quirky way to spend a day outside at a place with an uplifting vibe, find your way to Ghost Town.

14 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 Historic, beautiful and private!

5+    10/26/2010   6/26/2011
Review By: Vintageskis
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This is such a beautiful and wonderful place. Brian and Bethany do a great job keeping the intergrity of the area in tact. The course is challenging and well laid out. I can't wait to play it again!
Cons: Zip.

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.