Russell Gulch, CO 
Ghost Town Share
Uploaded By: bcos4life Hole #12 (Taken 6/2014)
3 / 265ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Deep gap putt. No babying this one.



Reviews: 42
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
One of a Kind

2-4    8/4/2013   8/4/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 122  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 5.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -The front eight play up and down a heavily wooded hillside. The fairways on the front 8 are very tight, but there is always a fair line to the basket.
-The last 10 holes are more open but play through the ruins of an old ghost town, which is the most unique thing, I've ever seen in a course.
-About half of the baskets are in good shape and catch well
-While the tee-pads are not concrete, they are bricks set into the ground and are pretty even and make solid tee-pads.
-Course flow is very easy to follow, especially since Brian walks you through the whole course on a map at the clubhouse before the round begins.
-Due to the tight fairways and the out of bounds on every hole, this course requires a ton of good accuracy to score well on. You will use most of the shots you have available if you want to score well on this course.
-Benches at a lot of the holes and there are places to leave your recycling. (Brian asks that any trash that is not recycling, be packed out of the course).
-The charm and atmosphere of this course is awesome. From the the shovel head at each tee-pad that tells you the hole number and distance to all of the random old items found around the course, this course has an atmosphere and feel unlike any other course I have played. Playing disc golf in an old ghost town is one of the coolest experiences ever.
-Brian is a great host and very helpful
-Great scenery throughout the course
-Since this is a private course that requires a reservation, it doesn't get overly crowded.
Cons: -Some of the baskets are homemade baskets that don't catch very well and you will experience some spit-outs on the homemade baskets. (As a side note, based on the older pictures on this site of the course, it looks like Brian is slowly replacing the homemade baskets with newer baskets as he is able to).
-Some of the out of bounds and rules on this course can seem a little restrictive at times (Overall, I didn't think this was a huge con as the different rules helped add to the charm of the course a little bit).
-I wish one or two of the tee-pads were slightly longer
-A few holes on the course have some wet swampy overgrown areas (mostly holes 9-11) and if you throw into the wet swampy areas, there is a chance of losing your disc.
-A few holes (mainly 9-11, and 17 and 18) play very close to each others fairways. If the course got super crowded this would be a bigger con. Even if the course is not very crowded, you will still probably have to wait for people to throw through on a few holes to avoid hitting other people.
-Probably the biggest con of this course, is the lack of distance. If you long throwing long bombs and your drivers on every hole or most holes, this is not the course for you. Pretty much every hole is under 300 feet and most are under 250 feet.
Other Thoughts: This is the most unique disc golf course I have ever played. It has a charm and atmosphere that I have never seen at any other disc golf course. The course may have a few flaws, but overall it is a must play if you are planning a disc golf trip to Colorado.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Unique Setting for Disc Golf

1    7/18/2013   7/23/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is one of the most unique courses you will ever play. It is in a great setting- looks like a place you see on American Pickers- old mining town, lots of old buildings, miscellaneous items all over from an old bike behind hole 17 to the scary dummy on the clubhouse porch and so much more. You see things here you won't see on any other disc golf course.

The main characteristic is being tight and technical with lots of o.b. due to the narrow tract of land Brian has to work with that borders several neighbors. The o.b. might seem a little over the top, but remember everyone is playing the same course. Just view it the same as other unlucky breaks like spit-outs and roll-aways- you will throw o.b. at some point. Although you can always play safe and avoid the borders so there is good risk/reward and you still have to execute a well-placed shot to avoid the o.b.

The 1st half the course is more wooded, rocky, with elevation. The 2nd half is more open around the buildings and a creek, making for a nice mix of styles- no two holes are the same.

This course is private, so chances are you will get the course to yourself.

Brian, the owner and designer, is friendly- he talks you through the course, gives you a map, and then turns you loose. Along with disc golf, Brian is a great artist and has paintings covering the walls of his clubhouse (many of disc golf scenes) available for sale, along with cool looking t-shirts, discs, etc.
Cons: A little smothering because of the tight borders, the multitude of rules regarding neighbors, areas where you can't make loud noises, restrictions on how to play, etc. (all understandable, but it is different than most other courses in this regard).

Some rules/o.b are a little extreme- avoiding the o.b. flower beds in the fairway are mostly luck, having o.b. right behind the basket where you might have a spit-out that goes o.b. is unfair. The first time playing you don't know where all the o.b. is so there is a big luck factor. Plus there are the odd rules of hitting buildings and signs yielding 2 or 3 stroke penalties. It was almost like playing RIPT built in to the course! (As long as you have the approach coming in that this is the style with all its quirks, then you will have a great time.)

Course was a little tricky to get to, some dirt roads, but follow the directions on DGCR and you will find it ok.
Other Thoughts: This is a one-of-a-kind course that is truly a unique experience, but don't let that fool you. If you abide by all the rules, this course will really make you work to score well. It is also a mental test of how you handle unlucky breaks. Accuracy and precise placement is way more important than uncontrolled distance here. It may not be the best course ever, but it is one of the most memorable boosting my rating.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Denver Trip

1    6/16/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: DGTEXAS
Played: 68  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This was the most unique course I've ever played in my life! You could tell that the owner spent a lot of time with the OB's and layout. The Clubhouse was cool, and has souveniers for purchase. Very Technical course with some good elevation.
Cons: No Cons, other than some of the baskets were homemade, with rusty chains. I had a few spits but was playing casually and it was worth the trip for the overall expierence!
Other Thoughts: I'll be back!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

A Must for ALL players!!

1    5/15/2013   5/16/2013
Review By: Mooser81
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Absolutely everything! We decided to wait out the rain in nearby Central City and boy was it worth it! This charming course changes on you throughout and provides plenty of challenges to golfers of all levels. Brian (owner) is extremely helpful and explains the route from beginning to end. With many similar courses charging much more, this course is worth $5 all day long!
Cons: Some people below complain about the 'home-made' baskets but we found them to be cool and unique.
Other Thoughts: The detail on this course is absolutely amazing. The four of us decided that we weren't gonna keep score this time to get a feel for the layout, but next time we will use the very detailed Out of Bounds markers to keep an accurate score. Awesome course!

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Old School Rules!

1    11/21/2012   11/22/2012
Review By: ddevine
Played: 126  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 35.6 Years
10 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: An extremely charming course in a unique setting that will have you grinning with delight as soon as you arrive. Bring the kids, this is a short, recreational course with narrow pathways and wonderful personal touches courtesy of Brian, the deservedly proud owner and operator. Experienced players will throw putters on most of the holes, with a few mid-range and possible drivers. Short, technical and joyful, with "Old School Rules" (penalties for hitting buildings, signs, cars, etc as well as an abundance of OB). A good portion of the baskets are home-made which, for me at least, was a delight. Yes, they might not catch as well, but they are a clear indicator of Brian's "the most fun wins" approach.

Most of the front nine consists of short, very tight L-R, R-L and straight shots that reward finesse and control. The course opens up after that, with plenty of ace-runs (mostly with putters for the experienced players) and an ever present abundance of OB.

The personal touches are what makes this course so enjoyable and charming. Home-made signs and baskets make for a unique experience that should be savored. Bring the kids, they will enjoy the ghost town setting. My four star rating is primarily based on the "charm" of the place. Big armed lovers of wide open crush shots will most likely disagree.
Cons: Some folks might balk at the $5 per round fee, but in my opinion it is a small way of saying "thanks" to Brian for his work and dedication. (Be sure to call ahead, this is a private course).

Very short by today's standards, but the early tight holes provide some compensation. Some of the distances are misleading (one hole listed at 395' is closer to 300'...or maybe I misread it). Some of the tee pads are sketchy, with deep depressions and loose rocks (I played on an unusually balmy day in late November)..but the holes are so short that this is not much of an issue.
Other Thoughts: If you started playing in the 70s you will love this place. Brian should be commended for his dedication and hard work at making the most of a very limited set of land. Those of you who enjoy windy mountain dirt roads will want to hang a left on Virginia Canyon as you leave the property and head down "Oh My God" road that drops (literally) into Idaho Springs. If you like Pizza you might try BeauJos in the "downtown" area (although they no longer put the napkins on the walls due to fire hazards).

10 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 ghost town

1    8/24/2012   8/25/2012
Review By: disc dunker
Played: 52  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was quite an experience. There was an overwhelming amount of intrigue as we got out of the car and started to walk around. The many collections of antiques and artifacts are nothing short of impressive. I couldn't help but wonder what we were about to experience. The first 8 hole were very tight and technical. I will be using strictly a gummy putter on these holes next time. The last 10 holes opened up quite a bit which was good because I was starting to feel claustrophobic. Overall there were a large variety of shots needed.
Cons: Almost too tight. there were many places where I was just laying up repeatedly because of no other options. I think the penalty strokes were excessive.
Other Thoughts: Thank you for building this course it is a treasure for the Colorado disc golf community.
I will play this course again with hopes of lowering my score.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, extremely technical course

1    8/20/2012   8/20/2012
Review By: EvergreenJC
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a cool course that will challenge even the best players. Lots of thought put into the layout which gives both some tight tree shots and open field shots.

While the OB was frustrating when I found it, I left liking how much strategy this course requires.
Cons: We found ourselves wanting basket upgrades on quite a few holes. I tried to convince myself it was part of the "charm" of the course, but they just need to be upgraded in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: Well worth going a little out of your way if you live within driving distance. I highly recommend playing twice and planning on 2hours/round if you're new to the course. $7 is worth it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ghost Town Course Is Gold!

1    7/11/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Ghost Town course is one of most unique courses you'll ever play. Owner/Designer Brian has really put his heart and soul into his piece of historical gold rush era property here and it's a pleasure to be able to play and enjoy it.
You'll be given the royal welcome starting with the rules clinic and walk through of the property. Because the property is so tightly squeezed between the neighbors, the OBs are extremely tight. There are so many features which make this one of most unique disc golfing experiences you'll ever have. They range from the many artifacts you'll encounter, everything from the historical old mining buildings, to Brian's personal touches all over the course such as using old shovel handles as tee signs. I thought a couple of the more clever ideas were on # 4 where you throw two throws on two different tees to two different baskets. This actually counts as two holes making this a 19 hole course. Then on # 15 and # 16, you play both throws down the same fairway thus saving a walkdown.
There is a clubhouse here selling hats, koozies, both used and new discs, tee shirts and more. Brian says they're averaging 4000-5000 rounds a year out here now. I think people are starting to discover Ghost Town Disc Golf.
Cons: The course is extremely tight in places. I was happy to only go OB once. Also, all the additional rules Brian has in place do feel a bit stifling at times. This is basically a recreational course. The distance is not there for advanced players although I think they would be challenged by the over-all tightness and would enjoy the quirkyness of the place.
Other Thoughts: My favorite part of the course were the three holes playing over the marshes in the middle, 9-10 and 11. The basket placements were extremely clever and challenging here but also aceable for most players. Also the altitude of 9000' might factor in to your game here.
As much as I'd love to rate this course higher, I have to go with a 4. The length and challenge just isn't there to give it any higher than a 4. It's great, I loved it and would love to come back.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Wonderful course

1    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: bnekolny
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Well maintained and great maps! Fun course, easy to keep track off discs. We thoroughly enjoyed playing, the owners were welcoming, the course was not crowded, and very easy to follow.
Cons: Easy to go out of bounds.
Other Thoughts: Technical corse.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Sanctuary!

1    5/10/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: h0pe
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is truly a "Disc Golf Sanctuary" meticulously maintained and winding through several dilapidated period buildings.

-Brian was very helpful, going over the rules of the course and walking us through each hole on a map.

-The pin placements are challenging creating a highly technical course that rewards a laser accurate mid-range game.

-The first 7 holes wind through a narrow corridor of pine trees, dry ponds and boundary lines before opening up into the Ghost Town.

-The ambiance is simply amazing! You are literally playing in a ghost town and driving around the ruins of old buildings.

-Individual tee times make for an intimate experience.

-Lots and lots and lots of flavor here. The marsh on #9 is called the "Mekong Delta" and Brian's kitsch is littered throughout the course.
Cons: -The homemade baskets are wonderful for flavor but are awful to play.

-Rules, rules, rules. There are specific OB rules for this course, both to protect the neighbor's property and privacy as well as Brian's signs and the old buildings. Quite regulated with little freedom for shots.

-The wide swath of OB rules and narrow boundary lines left me feeling suffocated and stifled. Really got the sense that all the neighbors were hostile to this place.

-The pin placement, while challenging, seemed to favor a medium range sidearm throw. There was some variation but I kept coming back to this particular shot. Really felt like there was ONE (and only one) particular way to play a few holes on this course.

-Never had to take a driver out of my bag.

-5 dollars a round was rather steep considering its 3 dollars to play at Beaver Ranch, one of the best courses in the U.S.
Other Thoughts: -Control, Control, Control is the name of this course. Only had to uncork a couple of drives. Everything else was tight and mid-range.

-Beautiful scenery. Serene trees and views. The cool ambiance of crumbling buildings makes it worth playing at least once.

-Leave the power at home. You can 1-disc this with a Roc or a Buzz.

-Lots of OB rules specific to this course. Has a "backyard" feel to it.

-Truly a Disc Golf Sanctuary... at least when you're in-bounds and not annoying the neighbors.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.